Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond

Founded 1992 • With Angi since November 2006

4.6

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11230 Turnley Ln

Midlothian, VA 23113

Description

Welcome to CertaPro Painters With every painting project, we're committed to providing the highest quality work and professional service in the area. Residential painting or commercial painting, we're dedicated to the process of certainty - of a job well done. Whatever your needs, big or small, CertaPro will provide a professional quality paint job and an experience you'll be thrilled with. That's our promise, that's Certainty...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/08/2017


David D.

Awesome, effient painters. They go the extra distance to make sure the customer is happy. The guys doing the painting were very friendly. Certapro painted my upper level a few yrs ago, which why we used them again. They will come back after the holidays to finish rest of rooms. Highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Painted and repaired den. Painted hall way, and repaired and painted kitchen ceiling

Category drywall, interior painters

1.0

05/31/2017


Charles N.

Once the price was agreed upon they told us they would call prior to coming out. This is where the trouble started. The painters showed up a week early and we were not told that they would be coming out. The deck was supposed to have been sanded and cleaned. We were told it was done but again they did not communicate that anyone would be coming to do this so we have no idea. If it was done, it was a terrible job as mill marks were still visible and footprints were visible. The deck furniture was not moved so there was no way the job could have been thorough. Again, absolutely no communication as to when anything was going to be done. We asked the owner, Dan Harrison, to come over and take a look. He did come over but in no way tried to resolve anything and was borderline rude, started rambling about how great his crew is and he would defend them but there was no issue with the crew. He admitted that the cleaning and sanding was not done properly but did not want to do anything about it. The only resolution he proposed was to part ways and not finish the job. I asked about rescheduling and he was not interested in even discussing this or continuing the job. I guess if you question anything they will just quit. The painters had started staining and now we have some white deck rails that they will not do anything about so I will have to sand them down. Simple communication probably could have prevented all this but there was none. Steer clear, the final product may be OK but complete lack of communication and unprofessionalism prevented that from happening. I would not consider using them again

Description of Work
Contracted with them to stain a new deck. ..

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

This customer has a beautiful new deck at a home in a beautiful neighborhood. They seem like nice people. We wish them well in getting the deck stained. That being said, I am surprised they think any business owner would allow their employees to work on a job where they were treated the way my employees were treated. Even if the facts were what they said they were, which they are not, nobody should ever be treated like that. After they ran my crew off, I made a decision to not allow another crew to have the chance of being subjected to the same treatment. Respect is one of our core values, one reason why we have the staff loyalty that proves time and time again to deliver a quality product. This crew had just come off a five week job working around the elderly in a retirement facility, receiving rave reviews. They communicate well, are highly skilled and they are proud of the work they do for our customers. They were actually sanding some of the mill marks the customer mentions when they were run off. We do not walk away from projects. If the project had been really started we would have finished it. Having time now to investigate the sequence of events and to talk with all involved, this outcome was the only reasonable outcome. The little bit of stain that is on the railing will be covered up with the new stain, so no sanding will be needed. Since there was nothing left to undo, shaking hands and wishing each other well was a good outcome. It is interesting that the same crew moved on to the next homeowner who received similar communications as this customer, and were welcomed with open arms.

5.0

07/16/2015


Heather M.

We got three estimates for the job from three companys. CertaPro was the most expensive, but their sales guys was just that a sales guy. He could sell the heck out of his company. And this is why we went with CertaPro... but the problem here is he is not the one painting the house or doing the job, nor was he present while the work was being completed. I didn't realize or think about this until after the fact the other two companies had the people who would actually be doing the work come out. They contracted the job out to another smaller company... now we got lucky... the company was amazing, the workers were amazing. They showed up on time and worked until it was dark. They even showed up when it was raining to tell us it was raining and they would come back the next day! I couldnt be happier with the work that was done to my home but I do feel we got lucky with the company they contracted and who ended up coming to our house.

Description of Work
Painter outside of our house and deck.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

06/08/2015


Anne R.

This was a wonderful experience. I met owner Dan Harrison at the Home Show. He came out for the bid and I was very impressed. He explained everything clearly and then took about 20 minutes to measure the rooms I wanted to be painted and worked up his quote on his tablet. Also, I liked how Dan's painting crews stay with his company and are not "hired-out." The job was scheduled for three to four days, but was done in two! Foreman Orlando and his three-man crew worked tirelessly and skillfully. They were very polite, professional and accommodating. You could tell that the men enjoyed working together. About a day and a half later I was contacted and asked to detail any touch-up areas that needed attention. A few days after that Orlando and one of his men showed up to complete the work. The main reasons I would recommend this company are the organized, business-like and professional presentation by Dan; Leslie, who was delightful as the competent person in the office, kept everyone connected; Orlando and his hard-working crew; and the fair price.

Description of Work
Painted the interior of my townhome.

Category interior painters

5.0

05/29/2015


Lynn B.

They are superior to any painters I've ever had. Very dependable and extremely neat. Great people to work with.

Description of Work
Interior and exterior painting.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

05/07/2015


David D.

Description of Work
Showed up on time and cleaned up each day. Great job repairing were tape in ceiling corned had come loose from builder bad sheetrock job. Awesome job painting 4 bedtooms, 2 baths, hallway and stairs. Well use them down stairs.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

03/26/2015


Rodney M.

Description of Work
We had them paint the outside of the house and 1 room inside. They did a great job.

Category house painters, interior painters

4.0

01/26/2015


Todd R.

The issues we had were resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. We would use them again.

Description of Work
Powerwash exterior, caulk and paint exterior of house

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/16/2014


Will W.

They did a great job of communicating what they were going to do. They also showed up on time and did they work exactly as they said. They were very careful with our furniture as they moved it around to paint and did a great job at cleaning up after themselves. The work was terrific. The project was then followed up on by the project manager. It was great service.

Description of Work
They painted several rooms in our house including two bedrooms and the living room.

Category interior painters

5.0

10/10/2014


David D.

The prices never changed at the end of the job. They made repairs as necessary. They painted well and there was no mess. It took them about 2 days. The main gentleman was pleasant to work with, the workers were too. I thought the price was very good.

Description of Work
That turned really well. They painted my whole upstairs; 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and closets.

Category interior painters

5.0

04/07/2014


James R.

They did a great job. The painters were timely and neat. I highly recommend this group.

Description of Work
Painted the interior of my home

Category interior painters

5.0

08/05/2013


Donald C.

A very good experience. They were on time, thoughtful and helpful in painting several large areas of an occupied place of business. Their professionalism showed as the crew (2 to 4 during this three day process) were meticulous in each step of the diversified painting process involved and offered suggestions and insights that were both welcomed and implemented. They also "rolled with the punches" with the change orders that presented themselves with minimum or no additional costs...

Description of Work
Provided prep and painting service for a commercial area...

Category interior painters

5.0

01/29/2013


Glen G.

Very well. Showed up on time and finished the same day.

Description of Work
Exterior painting very high 3rd story. Painted the areas I could not reach.

Category house painters

1.0

01/10/2012


Sheryl B.

The guy that came out initially was fantastic. He left me a colorful, informative brochure to let me know what I needed to do and what I could expect from them. I left hooks in per their instructions, moved books on the bookcase, etc. I also left a key for them, since I needed to be at work while they were there. The first day, they were supposed to paint my entire home, minus the master bedroom, where my cats were located. The bedroom was to be done the second day. When I got home from work the first day, my house was trashed. There was dust everywhere from the drywall sanding on every surface of my house, including my hardwood floors. There was paint everywhere; on my kitchen appliances, washer and dryer, etc. In my tub in the bathroom, there were leaves, grass, and other debris. I had to completely clean my house at 8pm, after a day at work, before I could let my pets out. They were also supposed to put everything back, but nothing was put back. My cat has respiratory issues, which I discussed with them beforehand. There were footprints all over the floor from dust, which is not healthy for my pets. I put my pets back up, and finally got ahold of the owner. He apologized and told me he could come out at 9pm to help clean up, but that wasn’t going to work with my schedule. The painters were sent out to my home the next day to clean, but I didn’t want them to paint my bedroom. They painted a laundry room and a few extra doors. When I got home that night, it was a bit better than the previous night. A few weeks later, I was washing my throw rugs. I found paint all over the bottom of the rugs, so basically they just used my rugs as a drop cloth. I called them yet again, including the corporate office, and they gave me a $100 gift card to Target plus a Merry Maid housecleaning service, but I would never use them again. I did get some sort of compensation, but I would never recommend them to others. I could’ve paid friends or neighbors a whole lot less for a cleaner job, but I was paying for convenience, which I didn’t get.

Description of Work
Certapro painted the interior of my house.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

The customer paints an emotional and slightly exaggerated picture of the issues that went wrong during her project. Understandably, she was concerned about the health of the cats. To that end, I recommended and we used a Low-VOC paint that would create fewer respiratory issues for her cats. After getting a call from the customer late on the first day, I volunteered to return to her house at that moment to clean-up the dust. She refused my offer. I returned with my crew the following day to do nothing but clean. The "paint everywhere" she describes was remedied with a few minutes of clean-up. When the painting was completed, the customer told me she was happy with the painting itself. It was the clean-up issues that had her upset. A part of the story that was not told is that the customer was in the process of trying to put her home on the market for sale. As her husband had already moved to Ohio, most of the burden of that effort fell on her. I think anyone in that situation, while working a full-time job, would feel additional stress. That said, I take responsibility for not fully meeting my customer's expectations. As the customer stated, I sent her a gift card and I paid for a professional cleaning service to clean her home after the project was complete.

5.0

01/09/2012


William P.

The work turned out very well overall. Many years ago, they painted our living room. Their estimates and final price did not vary. Their cost was within range, but I feel like Certapro does more with the prep work. The young man that completed the painting was polite, careful, and kept things clean while he was working. He also cleaned up well after the job was done. They told us it would take one day, and the technician worked a very long day to get it done within that time frame. It’s only been a few months, but as of now, we have no complaints. They even gave us an estimate on interior painting.

Description of Work
Certapro painted our back screened-in outdoor porch, including the metal support columns, ceilings, etc.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

12/13/2006


E B.

It went very smoothly and looks great. Very pleased with the work done.

Description of Work
Had painting done on the house.

Category interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    MIGUEL TORRES CONTRACTING CO.

    OWNER-OPERATED. USES SUBS FOR LARGE JOBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. LICENSE #-2705-072931. ASK ABOUT ANGIES LIST DISCOUNT.  

    Perfect Stroke Painting LLC

    Professional Painting Contractor. Commercial & Residential Painting. Insured Owner-Operated Sole-Proprietor Business. Over 30 Years of Experience In Interior & Exterior Painting. Perfect Stroke Painting pride itself in detail and professional painting done your way and timely. Small jobs and large jobs are welcomed.  

    B Lilly Custom Painting LLC

    B. Lilly was founded in august of 2006 & is owned and operated by Brent Lilly. We are located in Richmond, VA, have 15 years of experience, and will always take the time to ensure a job well done and will provide top-quality interior painting services. 100% satisfaction guaranteed. May contact through email (blilly@blillypainting.com), call or text (804) 334-8204  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial interior & exterior painting, deck refinishing, fence staining, light carpentry, power washing, popcorn ceiling & wallpaper removal.

    Services Not Offered

    N/A

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond

    How is CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond overall rated?

    CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond open?

    CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond provide

    CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offer free estimates?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offers free project estimates.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offer a senior discount?

    No, CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond does not offer a senior discount.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offer emergency services?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offers warranties.

    What services does CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offer?

    CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond offers the following services: Residential and commercial interior & exterior painting, deck refinishing, fence staining, light carpentry, power washing, popcorn ceiling & wallpaper removal.

    Are there any services CertaPro Painters® of Midlothian and NW Richmond does not offer?

    N/A