Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC

Founded 1999 • With Angi since August 2006

4.9

(102) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

357 WALTON PARK RD

Midlothian, VA 23114

Description

We are a family business established in 1999 by lee and wife Jean Burgwin.Lee started his plumbing career as an apprentice in 1983.We operate one service vehicle with an apprentice.Lee is a master plumber,master gas fitter and class B contractor. We have a 2 year no gimmick warranty on most

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Robert G.
5.0
04/13/2018
Lee Burgwin has been my go-to plumber for years now. He has done every imaginable job for me. He has installed new traps for a frequently-clogged drain. He has replaced toilet and sink fixtures. He has installed a gas fireplace. He has come to repair an outdoor spigot that broke in freezing temperatures. He is professional, responsible, reasonably priced, and quick to respond. He guarantees all his work and is a nice guy. I cannot recommend him more highly.
Description of Work
Leaking sink, broken spigot, and clogged drains
Category
plumbing, gas logs, home remodeling, drain cleaning
Stephen B.
5.0
12/06/2017
Excellent. Very professional, punctual and they explained what they were doing from beginning to end.
Description of Work
Adjustment and maintenance to a gas stove and a fireplace including replacement of a thermocouple.
Category
gas logs
Joanne R.
5.0
03/27/2017
Mr. Burgwin tried to unclogged the pipes using "the snake" from my roof and the snake would not make it completely through the pipe system. After checking the pipes in the basement, he concluded that "the snake" could not make it passed a curve in our steel pipes. Mr. Burgwin replaced two sections of pipe with PVC and kitchen sink is draining properly; he was very thorough and determined.
Description of Work
Kitchen drain was backed up/clogged and pipe leaking underneath the sink.
Category
plumbing
Douglass G.
5.0
11/08/2016
They are very punctual. They are very good at what they do. I had a few problems and he came right out to make them right.
Description of Work
I hired them to repair and refurbish my gas fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Tracy E.
5.0
07/15/2016
Excellent. Lee and his apprentice were fantastic. Professional, courteous, prompt, thorough and cleaned up after themselves. It is nice to feel I am getting a quality service from a professional at a fair price. Lee and his team are our home plumbers of choice. We also got several quotes from other companies and Burgwin's was the most affordable.
Description of Work
Install gas line for converting electric stove to gas range; install new kitchen faucet; install new dishwasher disposal.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
James S.
5.0
12/24/2015
It went well and everything was taken care of at a reasonable cost.
Description of Work
Lee Burgwin and his apprentice installed new gas logs in our den fireplace upstairs and checked a problem with our basement fireplace's existing gas logs. He called the manufacturer with a question about what the problem was and spent a generous amount of time looking for a solution even though he was here to work on the other fireplace. He and his apprentice were on time, courteous, and worked diligently in getting the job done. They left everything clean and in good order when they finished.
Category
plumbing, fireplaces, gas logs
Sandra R.
5.0
11/02/2015
Arrived same day I placed the call and was very thorough in his work.
Description of Work
Checked thoroughly for gas leak on gas logs. Found leak and promptly fixed.
Category
plumbing, gas logs, gas leak repair
Robert C.
5.0
08/03/2015
One of the most professional contractors I have ever done business with. He arrived exactly on time and performed the work within the estimated time frame. He contacted the county inspector and coordinated the rough in and final inspections. He was neat, courteous and I would certainly use this contractor again should the need arise. I've already recommended him to a friend.
Description of Work
Installed a new gas line to convert range from electric to gas. Determined a larger line was required due to increased gas consumption. Coordinated inspections with county and performed the final installation of new range.
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
bill F.
5.0
05/12/2015
Excellent...gave estimate ahead of time, was actually charged less than the estimate
Description of Work
Installed new faucet, conversion kit for showers
Category
plumbing
Donald M.
5.0
04/09/2015
Great. Mr. Burgwin is very punctual and a very good craftsman.
Description of Work
Installed new outdoor faucet on a part of the house where it previously did not exist.
Category
plumbing
John W.
5.0
04/06/2015
Only good things to say. Mr. Burgwin an helper arrived on time, they took care to wear shoe covers and do all of the things that show a healthy respect for someone else's home. Repairs and maintenence were completed in a timely manner, with professionalism and competence. The wall switch used to turn on and off the fireplace was diagnosed for me. I asked if he would not replace it as i would do that myself. No problem. Then it was on to the fireplace itself. He carefully removed the outer panels, and glass. The panels were taken outside for inspections, cleaning and painting. The logs were removed from the fireplace, thoroughly inspeced and cleaned as were the gas jets. The metal panels inside, were also cleaned and painted. The logs were returned to their proper place and Mr. Burgwin then added additional embers over the jet holes which provide the look and feel of a wood burning fireplace. Finally the glass was cleaned on both sides and returned along with the panels to their original places. My fireplace, looked and operated like new. I wholeheartedly recommend Burgwin Plumbing and Heating for your gas fireplace repair and maintenance.
Description of Work
I needed a wall switch repair and general cleaning and maintenance of my gas fireplace.
Category
plumbing, fireplaces, gas logs
SALLY L.
5.0
02/24/2015
I trust him implicitly. He is the only person I ever go to for plumbing issues. I trust him so much that even my neighbors use him.
Description of Work
Handles all plumbing concerns
Category
plumbing
Janet R.
5.0
01/21/2015
I have been using him for at least 10 years and he is great. Lee, the owner, always comes out and he is trustworthy and prompt.
Description of Work
The toilet was not working properly and he came out to repair it.
Category
plumbing
Wayne M.
5.0
01/16/2015
Mike wqs prompt on showing up on time and professional with his work. He also installed 2 "comfort height" toilets for us last November before we moved into our new home. We were very pleased with the price and his work.
Description of Work
replace kitchen sink valves and connect new dishwasher
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
BHAVESH P.
5.0
01/14/2015
The fireplace was not turning on in Winter. We tried to figured out but could not. The person came on time, figured out quickly and essentially had to just turn on a knob with ignition switch and it turned on. There was no defect in fireplace. Overall, I liked the service, but I had to pay 90 $ for just to turn on the fireplace. I think, that's too much. I don't mind paying more, if it was a complicated problem. I should have clarified upfront, what kind of charges should be there, if there was no major problem detected.
Description of Work
My fireplace was not starting. He came and help to turn on the fireplace
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Sandra R.
5.0
12/31/2014
We have called Lee several times over the last few years to resolve plumbing issues, gas fireplaces and hot water heaters in our current home and last home. To put it simply, we would not call anyone else. Lee is just one of those honest people you can rely on. Always quick to respond, fair price and he gives a 2 year warranty on his work. He is not one of those people that will try to sell you something new unless you really need to replace it. Highly recommend Lee and Burgwin Plumbing and Gas
Description of Work
Replaced leaking section of pipe in gas hot water heater on New Years Eve Day! Called him at 8:00 a.m. as we discovered the leak. Lee corrected our problem before noon.
Category
plumbing
George M.
5.0
12/22/2014
We called Burgwin last year for a similar problem, so when I could not get the pilot lit this year, I immediately called them again. The owner called me back within a very short time after I left a voice mail to say that he would check his calendar and contact me to set up an appointment. He called again two days later and said he had an opening on his schedule and asked if he could come by in a half an hour which was fine with me. He and his helper-son showed up on time and worked for 20-30 minutes to inspect the control unit and then light the pilot for the gas logs. He said that due to a problem with the control unit knob, he recommended that I do not turn off the pilot in the summer since the cost of the gas used to keep the pilot on would be much less than his charge for another visit next year. I appreciated his suggestion and will likely follow it.
Description of Work
Came and inspected our gas logs and lit the pilot.
Category
plumbing, gas logs
Richard G.
4.0
06/10/2014
As noted in my ratings, this service provider performed competently and in a timely manner. My only complaint is the cost of the service. The hot water heater itself was about $600, so installation labor would be $400. In my opinion, that's a bit high for two hours of work. As a further example, he suggested replacing a shutoff valve for $160. Keep in mind, that's an $8 valve and two solder joints likely completed in 15 minutes. So again, cost is a bit out of range.
Description of Work
Installed hot water heater.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Michelle G.
3.0
03/29/2014
The repair work was top notch - the gas logs are back burning again and we no longer have a gas smell coming in the house when we open the line in the floor. He used a protective layer of cardboard to work on and cleaned up afterwards. However, his professionalism was subpar. He was gruff, hostile, and condescending in his communication on the phone and in person. The overall impression was that he resented being here and doing the work. If you can handle a heavy dose of attitude with your repair work, then by all means, use this company.
Description of Work
The pilot light was repaired and a leak in the line was fixed. Total repair time was about an hour and a half. When we discussed repair options, it was $300 to fix the pilot light and tighten the gas valve or $600 to fix, clean and repaint the fireplace area, or $90 for showing up to do the estimate.
Category
fireplaces, gas logs, gas leak repair
Mark O.
5.0
02/27/2014
Lee is my guy for any plumbing issue. He is the only person I would ever think of calling as he is completely trustworthy. It feels like you are calling your neighbor to come help you.
Description of Work
Frozen pipes.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank-You............Lee
Mike C.
5.0
02/07/2014
Person was on time and took care to protect inside of the house. Explained the job and cost associated before work performed. Was thorough and took steps to protest the surrounding area from contamination from cleaning materials and paint. Got the project done in short order with minimal delays from not having right parts or necessary tools.
Description of Work
Cleaned gas fireplace, checked all wiring, adjusted pilot and provided new remote control
Category
plumbing, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank-You.........Lee
Tricia W.
5.0
02/07/2014
Lee came on the day and time that he said he would arrive. After looking at our fireplace, he estimated that the cost of repair would be $300 which would include a full cleaning and repositioning of the logs that were too close to the front of the glass. He arrived at 1 o'clock and said he didn't mind if I watched while he worked. After an hour though, I was called away. By 4 PM he had completely cleaned and restored the fireplace to its original condition and repositioned the logs so when it came on the flames didn't cause soot on the walls. He even restored some glowing embers underneath the logs that we didn't even know we're there! 😊 All in all a very pleasant experience and we would highly recommend and use him again.
Description of Work
We asked Lee to come and take a look at our fireplace. Even though it was working well, there were soot marks on our mantle and walls and we needed to have it inspected, assessed and wanted a quote for the repair. We found him here on Angie's list and, based on the reviews and excellent ratings, I called for an appointment. When I reached him, he told me it would be $95 for a service visit, but if we decided to have the work done by him, he would apply it to the cost of the repair.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank-You...........Lee
Jay M.
5.0
01/26/2014
Two years ago we had Lee install a gas line and gas stove when we were renovating our kitchen. He was extremely professional, efficient and punctual. At that time, we asked for a quote for replacing our hot water heater. He gave us the quote, but we decided to wait until several projects were completed. Two years later I called him back and mentioned the quote he had given us. He said he would honor that old quote. We wanted a gas hot water heater that had a longer 10 year warranty because they have a reputation for having better materials and manufacturing. He said he would have to special order that model, that it would take about a week to arrive, and we could set an installation date for the following week. He arrived exactly on time, installation went without a hitch, with no mess and no fuss. We also used him between these two jobs to service our gas log. He was here an hour after I called to service the gas log. Nothing beats professionalism and reliability.
Description of Work
Installed a new gas hot water heater.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank-You.............................Lee
Mark O.
5.0
01/23/2014
No one better in Richmond metro area. I have used him several times and will call no one else.
Description of Work
Lee Burgwin is the only plumber I will ever call. He is completely honest, very hardworking and knowledgeable. He will work on your problem until it is resolved and charges very reasonable rates. Too marks.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank-You..............................Lee
Daniel B.
5.0
01/06/2014
Mr. Burgwin, the company owner, arrived on time, and checked the areas that I mentioned might be in need of adjustment. He was very efficient in checking and adjusting the fireplace. He placed some vinyl caulking on one of the lines leading to the burner. He left me feeling very confident about his repair skills.
Description of Work
Checked for cold air leaks from the outside; then adjusted the gas burner.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank-You......................Lee

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zoom Drain

    A clogged-up drain is every homeowner’s nightmare. The thought of a sink overflowing or sewage backing out of a toilet can give anyone shivers. Who can you call when you need help with a problematic drain or sewer line – and fast? Zoom Drain of Richmond, of course! We are the trusted team of drain and sewer service experts in Richmond, Mechanicsville, Midlothian and the surrounding areas for residential, commercial and industrial properties. Our highly-trained team is equipped with top-grade tools of the trade and leading industry knowledge, so we can tackle anything that slows down your drainage system. Whether you live in a multi-story townhouse or an expansive ranch home, Zoom Drain of Richmond can handle all your sewer and drain needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Flinn's Rooter Service LLC

    Flinn's Rooter Service is a family owned and operated business since 1990. We specialize in clearing slow and/or clogged drains. Professional guaranteed work with results that last.  

    Angi Certified

    FOSTER PLUMBING & HEATING, INC.

    As a mulit-year Super Service Award Winner, Foster Plumbing & Heating is a family-owned business has been helping homeowners stay cool in the summer and warm in the winter since 1989. We have been in the industry since 1946. We pride ourselves in treating our customers and our staff fairly. For years Foster Plumbing & Heating has been servicing the Richmond area with quality and professional care. Our heating and cooling technicians are fully trained and provide the best service in the area. Our goal is to promote quality and professionalism in the plumbing, heating and cooling industry and the demonstration of a genuine concern for the safety, comfort and health of our customers by providing quality services.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705127801
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia
    Trade License Expiration
    06/30/2018
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    PLUMBING AND GAS FITTING FOR RESIDENTIAL REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT, NEW GAS LINES FOR ENTIRE HOME, GAS LOG INSTALLATION, WATER HEATERS AND DRAIN CLEANING UP TO SEWER.

    Services Not Offered

    NEW CONSTRUCTION, SEWER CLEANING, HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC

    How is BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC overall rated?

    BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC open?

    BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC provide

    BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC?

    Yes, BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offers warranties.

    What services does BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offer?

    BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC offers the following services: PLUMBING AND GAS FITTING FOR RESIDENTIAL REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT, NEW GAS LINES FOR ENTIRE HOME, GAS LOG INSTALLATION, WATER HEATERS AND DRAIN CLEANING UP TO SEWER.

    Are there any services BURGWIN PLUMBING & GAS FITTING LLC does not offer?

    NEW CONSTRUCTION, SEWER CLEANING, HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING.