Allen Rasnake General Contractor

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2009

Allen Rasnake General Contractor has been in business since 1987 and is locally owned and operated. The owner has over 30 years experience and the crew is owner supervised. They provide residential and commercial services and will provide professional references upon request. Call today to schedule

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.8

(43) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

35

4

2

3

2

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (9)water damage restoration (7)decks & porches (7)deck cleaning (1)woodworking (12)handyman (9)flooring (8)door installation (7)roofing (6)siding companies (5)drywall (5)house painting (4)
Showing 1-25 of 43 reviews
5.0

05/10/2021


Nancy , George C.

allen always comes through and never disappoints

Description of Work
he does all contracting jobs - remodelling , landscapde , structure problem , drainage , ceiling repair

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2021

5.0

07/27/2020


Dan F.

Hire this guy. He knows what he is doing. I never liked the repair the previous owner did 20 years ago, so I called Allan for help. He sistered 6 joists and fully replaced another 8 joists, and replaced the patio door that was getting harder and harder to open. Now the floor is solid, the door opens and closes perfectly, and everything is better than it was. Thank you!

Description of Work
repair water damaged floor joists

Category picture framing, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

5.0

05/11/2019


Rich D.

Damage due to overflowing gutter was extensive. Removal of cedar siding revealed rotting 2x4's, throughout entire wall, plus a small portion of roof, two floor joists, one roof 2x10, and portions of the roof and floor of the Florida room. Allen and his crew of 3 worked M-F of one week and 2.5 days of following week to remove all rotted wood (including drywall) and rebuild the walls, and appropriate parts of floor/ceiling. Crew did a particularly good job of saving/removing two Pella windows that were not damaged and reinstalling them as good as new. Crew was punctual and on the job by 8:30 each morning and working to around 5 pm with about a 50 minute lunch break each day. Quality of the work was excellent. I was pleased enough with the quality and efficiency of their work that I added two smaller jobs I had been wanting to get done under the crawl space of my house that they were able to do one day when it rained. (replacing some concrete block and adding some support beams) I also had them install two new doors due to some rotting wood on the door jambs. Quality and Efficiency of these add on jobs was also excellent. I would definitely use Allen and his crew again

Description of Work
Rebuild of outside Florida Room wall due to water damage from overflowing gutter

Category drywall, flooring contractor, picture framing, remodeling, roofing, siding, water damage restoration, replacement windows, woodworking, doors, foundation repair

Cost $11,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2019

Images

Review for Allen Rasnake General Contractor - 1713 Old Hundred Road, Midlothian, VA - 37870684

+4 More

5.0

03/22/2018


Nicole M.

I was impressed from the first phone call!! Mr Rasnake was friendly and offered to come out for my free consultation the day after my initial contact. He then made my appointment, after giving me a reasonable quote, the following day. He is very professional, kind, knowledgeable, and friendly. I appreciate all he did. He was very thorough and explained if we had any questions. You can tell he takes pride in his work. I would definitely hire him again and trust any referral from him. 1000% satisfied.

Description of Work
Sub floor reinforcement

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2018

5.0

03/08/2018


Shirley N.

went real well-- re-placed rotten joints rather than just cut out the rotten part. re-placed some bad water lines. minor repair on cabinets cleaned up real good when finished. also re-placed hot water heater and washer hook-up

Description of Work
replace kitchen floor and floor joints from water damage.

Category plumbing, woodworking

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2018

5.0

06/21/2017


James E.

Project completed on time and on budget. Quality workmanship and construction materials throughout with attention to detail and long term durability.

Description of Work
Sun room floor structure repair/replacement due to wood rot including sill plates, band boards, joists and sub-flooring. Window (1) and sliding glass door (7) assemblies and associated interior/exterior trim removal and re-installation. Exterior wall repair/replacement including wall plates, wall studs, sheathing, siding and trim. Decking removal and replacement. .

Category decks, drywall, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for your kind review. It was indeed our pleasure in working with you repairing your homes structure back to good solid bones.
3.0

05/01/2017


Bridgett H.

It went OK. He brought 3 guys to do the 2 small jobs and charged me $800 plus materials. I had to sand and paint the drywall patch myself because they were only here for 6 hours.

Description of Work
I had a spot in the ceiling that needed to be replaced with a 18 inch by 12 inch patch and wanted to change a door frame to a casing instead of the typical door jamb.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2017

5.0

10/11/2016


Doris S.

It's been excellent. He has good service and great response if there is a problem.

Description of Work
I've been using him for small repairs around my home for a long time. The last time I used him was for some flooring repair.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2016

5.0

03/14/2016


Doris B.

We were in the midst of a horrible dispute with ORKIN who was responsible for seeing that the termites did not damage our house so we did not get to spend much time with Mr. Rasnake and I cannot remember so much about the relationship we had with him. I just remember being very impressed with the manner in which he was able to replace sills.

Description of Work
Replaced the sills under our house that had been damaged by termites.

Category plumbing, remodeling

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2002

5.0

11/30/2015


Ryan G.

Everything went smoothly. Allen showed up on time for both the initial inspection and the actual work day. Everything was constructed well and according to plan. I'll use him next time I need a handyman. One note: he didn't provide a hard price proposal up front, rather he gave an estimate, and then informed me about the final price after the work was completed. The final price was marginally higher than the initial estimate, so there is some uncertainty about pricing but perhaps this could work in benefit of either party depending on whether the work goes smoothly or has complications.

Description of Work
Allen, and one person assisting him, installed an access hatch to my attic.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Cost $675

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2015

5.0

10/23/2015


Edward R.

I requested bids from eight contractors (most on Angies List.) Two never responded. Of all the bidders, Allen was the most knowledgeable and thorough. He actually returned twice for additional measurements and analysis. He also contacted the county about what remedies were allowed as the original joists were engineered items (plywood and 2x3s formed to an I-Beam.) The strongest and most economical solution was to remove the engineered joists and replace them with treated 2x12s. He also changed the joist spacing from 24" to 16". The crew of three showed up on time and worked hard. They met the time estimate and were right on budget. The crew has been working together so long that they automatically knew what to do and when another member needed help. All of the work was done accurately. The crew was courteous and thorough in making sure our disruption was kept to a minimum. The finishing work around the door (inside and out) was clean and undetectable when complete. In retrospect I realized that Allen was not only the most thorough of the bidders, he was the only one that really knew how to do the job right. My guess was had I chosen another bidder, I would have encountered an overrun since there was more to the job than most envisioned. Also, two of the bidders proposed a solution that would not have passed county code. I can't say enough good things about this contractor. It was a pleasant surprise compared to some of my past experiences.

Description of Work
Removed water damaged LR floor joists and replace with newer and stronger treated joists. Also replace attached band board. Removed sliding door in LR and replaced with french door; required inside and outside framing and finishing as new door was three feet narrower. Flashed and repaired as necessary where door met outside deck. Removed soggy insulation and insulated whole crawl space with plastic.

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, doors, foundation repair

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2015

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed] Allen would like to thank you for your time in writing this review. Allen and the boys spoke highly of you and enjoyed their time working your home repair job(s). We look forward in working with you in the near future. Thanks again! Tammy
1.0

09/01/2015


ROBERT S.

First time on Angie's List and first company I called from the list. I spoke to female on Friday who took my information: punch down list and phone numbers. She stated they usually don't do estimates over weekends but that I would hear something on Monday. She even gave me a number he would most likely call from. It is now Tuesday afternoon. I would have preferred to have been told just too busy. Bad taste in mouth for site and for this company. Props for the professionalism when I called, major fail for not following through.

Description of Work
Never called me back

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 08/28/2015

5.0

08/09/2015


Carla K.

Allen and his crew arrived early in the day and were able to finish everything in one day. He repaired the front steps to make them level again, and replaced damaged and rotten boards in the deck. Allen explained how he planned to make the repairs and the job was completed with professionalism. He also gave us a few tips about how to complete some small repairs on our own. We found Allen and his crew to be personable and reliable. We would definitely use his services again.

Description of Work
Repaired front porch steps, replaced boards in the deck

Category decks, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $1,150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2015

5.0

07/01/2015


Lena N.

Allen and team (his brothers) were great. They arrived promptly each day and worked hard. They kept me informed of what was being done. They are very professional and trustworthy. They do not cut corners and treat the property as if it were their own. If you are looking for quality workmanship and a dependable work crew- these are your guys.

Description of Work
Removed portion of existing decking in order to replace 16' of band-board. Replaced existing french door with new door-old one was rotting at bottom. Rebuilt deck that was cut out. Replaced trim around french door with new trim. Removed several siding boards that were rotten, installed proper flashing, installed new siding boards and painted them.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing, deck cleaning, woodworking, house painters, doors

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2015

2.0

05/28/2015


paula R.

He called me initially but never called me back after he promised to do so.

Description of Work
.

Category drywall, handyman service

Work Completed On 05/09/2015

Service Provider Response

Dear Ms {member name removed}, We regret that we failed in getting back to you as promised with a home visit from Allen Rasnake. Unfortunately, Allen had been dealing with injuries from a car accident which interfered with him fulfilling his obligation to you and that is something he regrets. If we can assist you in the near future please give us a chance to correct our mistake. Again, please accept our apologies. Tammy
5.0

05/08/2015


gregory S.

Went great. Allen came out on a Tuesday evening and surveyed the work to be done. He promised it would be done Thursday. I left the door open for him and he had two of his men come out and do the work. I dropped by at lunch to find the work well underway. All the painting looks good. The repairs were done to spec. Fast turnaround. Highly Recommend.

Description of Work
Cleaned, painted, repaired front door. Repainted front porch, painted shudders, repaired and repainted siding, repaired and repainted shed trim. Removed rotting wood from rear yard.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking, house painters, doors

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2015

5.0

04/06/2015


Judy B.

Arrived when he said he would. He has a wonderful attitude and does great work. Very honest man.

Description of Work
Removed carpet in two rooms and took out damaged hardwood on floor and replaced wood.

Category remodeling

Cost $775

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2015

5.0

07/14/2014


Kevin K.

It went well. Allen used a sub-contractor for the roofing/siding. The work was completed on time and budget. Quality of the work was excellent.

Description of Work
Replaced some siding, roofing and a window after a tree hit the house.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2013

5.0

02/05/2014


Gregory E.

They are absolutely excellent! He's a very honest man, he lets you know exactly what the problem is, and he doesn't make up problems. They're here on time, they clean up well, and it was actually just a pleasure working with him. We knew we had some issues to take care of. He would show you other issues, and you need to see that there were issues, and he's really just an upfront honest guy. I'll have him back for sure. I would call him a home Joan Holmes. I thought he was very reasonable. I would use them in a heartbeat. I wish they would move in here with me and then I would have more opinion. I got them from Angie's List.

Description of Work
We had some water damage that rotted out a portion of the support under a wall and we needed to have that repaired. Allen Rasnake General Contractor came out and did the work that involved taking down drywall, pulling out flooring, and jacking up the house a little bit to replace the mold support area and replace wood. That was in the kitchen area so we just started to go ahead to do a kitchen remodel, take down a wall, and make one great big room. He did the drywall and he also laid my brand new wood floor just yesterday. Everything had to fit exactly right and everything had to be built exactly the right way.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, remodeling, water damage restoration, woodworking, home remodeling, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2014

Service Provider Response

Hello (Member names removed)! It has been a year now since we have had the opportunity in providing our services to you with your home repair/project(s) and just would like to thank you for that opportunity and for your positive reviews on Allen Rasnake and his crew. We look forward to working with you again on any future plans for additional work that may arise. Best of luck and we hope you are enjoying the overall finished project! Tammy
5.0

07/27/2013


Melinda M.

We were so very impressed with the work Allen and his brothers performed for us and they are a great bunch of guys to work with. We felt very comfortable with the guys here and they arrived between 7:45-8:00 and stayed till 4:00-4:30 each day. They are like Mike Holmes on HGTV. If you want it done right hire Allen and his brothers. In fact we told the window people don't hide anything because our painters will find it. Sure enough we had to have the window people back out because they hid part of the damaged window sill and Allan and his brothers found it. Allen brought paint samples to our house which we really liked and he even suggested painting the ceiling of the porch a darker color so with the trim it wouldn't be so much white. It was a fantastic suggestion and looks great. The guys removed the gutters to paint underneath and then replaced them, pitched the roof on the pergolas so it will drain properly, replaced the trim around the garage doors and other trim on the house with PVC to prevent further rotting, re-screened the porch, stained the house and shed and painted all the trim, pained the front door to match the shutters and put the shutters back on the house. They also cleaned up their mess each day. Great job, great guys. It was so hot while the guys were here working we provided bottled water daily and watermelon a couple of days. One day we even cooked lunch on the grill and had hamburgers and hot dogs.

Description of Work
The original job that we hired Allen for was to make repairs to the cedar siding on the house, calk, replace the trim around the garage doors, replace the top of the pergola, replace the screen on the porch, stain/paint the house, garage and shed in the contracted 3 weeks. Allen and his brothers ended up spending 5 weeks here because once they started replacing the siding that had weathered and cracked they discovered the underneath wood was rotten and had to be replaced as well as the cedar siding. When the house was originally built a lot of the flashing was incorrectly installed and therefore there were many issues the wood to rot. If it wasn't for the guys we would never have discovered the damage until there was more of an issue. The doors on the shed had to be replaced since they were falling apart and the shed looks brand new now. The prep work that was supposed to take several days turned into almost 2 weeks. There was also the issue of lots of rain during the period of time when the house was being repaired and painted. The house has replacement windows that had been installed and guaranteed by another vendor and there were many issues with those so there was a delay in repairing the siding while the the windows were being repaired. All the new cedar siding had to be primed and then 2 coats of stain had to be painted on. Every time there was a new issue on the house Allen and his brothers would bring it to our attention and we made the decision as to how to proceed.

Category handyman service, roofing, screen repair, siding, woodworking, house painters, doors

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2013

5.0

07/13/2013


Sybil P.

We were very pleased with the service we got from Mr. Rasnake. He was there when he said he would be, delivered the services he promised and did a thorough and professional job.

Description of Work
responded to water damaged apartment

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Cost $850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2013

5.0

05/14/2013


Gigi M.

Mr. Rasnake gave me a quote, but I went with another contractor I have used before who had a lower estimate.

Description of Work
I met with Mr. Rasnake for a quote on a rather large job at an investment property that I was about to begin renovating. There was extensive termite damage underneath the house in the crawl space - the main beam and about 20-25 joists needed to be replace. Mr. Rasnake was knowledgable about the best way to level and preserve the wood floor and very professional. He also thoroughly evaluated the damage and found another area that need to be worked on (a sill plate that was also damaged on the side of the house) but his quote was quite a bit more than another I had received, so I decided to go with another contractor, who I have used in the past already.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, foundation repair

Cost $7,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2013

5.0

12/19/2012


Chris M.

Out of all the companies I called, Alan was the only one that called me back. He met me at the property and he went under the house to see where the damage was. He explained to me in detail what needed to be done and gave me a quote the next day. The quote was a good price and he was able to start work the following week. He finished the job in three days. I am so glad I chose him. I highly recomme