Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

89-PAINT

Founded 2006 • With Angi since July 2007

4.5

(67) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13509 E Boundary Rd

Midlothian, VA 23112

Description

Residential, commercial, retail, and industrial customers alike have come to rely on 89-Paint as their preferred painting contractor. We are proud to provide our high-quality exterior and interior painting services in Richmond and throughout the Central Virginia region....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/24/2018


Eric A.

Jillian was our rep and fantastic to work with throughout the project. She was responsiveness to our interests but also not afraid to offer suggestions and opinions. There were one or two annoyances with the final product and other employees that had me give a slightly lower grade for professionalism, but some of the problem arose due to our changing colors after the primer coat. Overall highly recommend this company. They even called back to get a survey from me for their own use.

Description of Work
Exterior siding and bottom side of overhanging roof.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed]! It's Gaby, the employee who gave you a call to collect that survey! Thank you so much for posting such a great review and recognizing that sometimes mistakes happen but we always try to resolve them. We hope to work with you in the future and wish you all the best.

5.0

10/26/2016


Alex M.

This paint job happened even faster than we had planned and was completed within a day. Not only did they scrape and prime the surface as needed, but they painted my garage door as something extra. Rodrigo was great to work with, both friendly, attentive and professional. I would hire this paint company again.

Description of Work
Exterior paint on tall (3+) story house.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I'm happy to hear that you were happy with Rodrigo and the work he completed for you. Our goal is to provide excellent service to our customer. If you have any other painting projects in the future please think of us.

5.0

03/18/2016


George H.

Sandy was the best. His attention to detail was the best. He basically had to create a color to match our deck and he did it after several unsuccessful attempts. He handled it well, he was patient. It was a good experience. Will have them back!

Description of Work
Painted outdoor fence. Painted house trim.

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thanks for writing this amazing review about your experience with us. We love being able to help our customers have an easy process when it comes to finding the right painter for the job. Let us know if you ever have any future projects because we'd love to work with you again! Thanks 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

5.0

06/04/2015


Michael S.

The cost was reasonable. They are very professional and responsive and overall, they do a comprehensive. They even power washed my wooden vents outside because it was getting a little mossy though I did not ask them to do it- that was very nice for them to do that.

Description of Work
We used them to pressure wash the house and paint too.

Category pressure washing, house painters

1.0

05/01/2015


BRENDA T.

They used a sprayer and got paint on all my plants – I had to take them out, and was very upset. I wasn't home when they did it, I don't know why they thought it was acceptable to use a sprayer!

Description of Work
Called a company to paint columns and around my door.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], I would like to apologize for the experience that you had with our previous management, as it was completely distasteful on our fault. We are not aware if this issue has been resolved and understand that plenty of time has passed since but we would love to speak with you to make things right. Since we worked with you, we have brought on new management and painters onto our team and would like to show you how things have changed in case you have any current painting needs. Thank you again, 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

1.0

04/15/2015


LORI S.

89 Paint was a regrettable choice. Poor quality, sloppy workmanship, and a combative foreman who kept saying "you'll be happy in the end" top the list. I kept saying I wanted to be happy along the way; why do I need to wait until the end? Bottom line, six months later, paint is bubbling and crackling and I don't perceive my house as being painted professionally or properly. Details: The company that painted our home 10 years ago no longer operates in Richmond so we were on the hunt for a new company. We received three quotes. Each company commented how they thought they had the wrong home because the paint job was in such good shape. 89 Paint was highly recommended so we went ahead and signed the contract. They didn't arrive the Monday we had agreed on so I checked in on Wednesday. Millie was very responsive and apologized. She mentioned that Ronnie was supposed to contact me. He had apparently gotten behind at another job because of rain. I said I understood and just let me know when they plan to start. The only indication I had that anyone had started work was when I arrived home a few days later to see our back entrance littered with paint chips and debris scattered about the yard (e.g., rags, cardboard, scraper). I sent an e-mail highlighting my disappointment the workers left the job without cleaning up. Ronnie apologized and said he'd speak to the foreman. That should have been an indication of the frustrations to come in the next few weeks. As the job progressed, there seemed to be limitless issues. Specifically (but not exhaustively), - they didn't use the paint brand we had agreed on - damaged boards weren't replaced; they were merely painted over (apparently that's their method; they wait until the house is painted and then replace boards so they can "see the sheen") - light fixtures and doorknobs weren't being properly protected (had paint all over them) - they cracked a window pane in the storage room - trim wasn't being properly sanded and primed; peeling paint was merely being painted over - voids weren't being properly caulked and prepped; they were merely being painted over - the exterior part of the front door was so sloppily painted, we had to repaint the interior part of the door At the job's end, we had no less than three walk-arounds. Each time, I found a missed spot on the siding, missed trim, fixtures with paint on them, paint on the fence, paint on the patio, etc. At this point, I was underwhelmed and exhausted. I signed their little "page of satisfaction" sheet and said good riddance. But now, six months later, the poor quality is already showing. Crackling paint on the front porch ceiling, front door bubbling, siding bubbling, trim peeling, replaced boards bowing because they weren't properly caulked and sealed, garage doors peeling, etc. Just an overwhelming disappointment. I called last week for warranty work. I suspect that process will be as frustrating as the rest of our experience. Apparently, the scheduling delay is due to the rain. I pointed out it's not the rain that's the issue; it's the poor quality overall that requires them to return. The rain is interfering with their ability to fix their shoddy workmanship. So please save yourselves the frustration. We found a fantastic company ten years ago. I'm sure they still exist in Richmond. This is not one of them. We weren't happy at the beginning, middle or the end. Keep looking RVA!

Description of Work
They power washed, prepped and painted my home and garage.

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], I would like to thank you for posting your honest review, but more importantly like to apologize for the inconveniences we were the cause of. Since the last time we worked with you, we have gone under new management and are determined to making sure our previous customers can see the change in quality we are trying to provide. We understand that there had been previous conversation of making things right but would like to let you know we would be more than happy to talk things over with you and help establish a better relationship if you have any future painting needs. Again, we sincerely apologize. Thank you, 89 Paint

5.0

02/23/2015


Robert D.

Went with 89 Paint on recommendation of our real estate agent. Price was competitive and even better after they reminded us of the 5% discount to Angie's List members! First off, interior painting is a lot more of a disruption of daily life than exterior painting. That being said, we did a lot of prep work to get stuff out of the house and this really helped. They moved large furniture items and covered everything with plastic to protect it. The crew arrived on time on a daily basis but did not work the snow day on Tues 2/17. As a result, they worked over the weekend to finish up the job. The crew were friendly and attentive to any questions or if something needed to be fixed they took care of it. They were also cautious about how the paint was applied to avoid the inevitable small spatters. The cleaned up their stuff each day and did basic clean up after the job was done but still needed vacumming and dusting. Again, interior painting is a pain but the final product was excellent.

Description of Work
Interior painting of ceilings, walls, and trim.

Category house painters, interior painters

1.0

10/17/2014


Boyd J.

I signed an agreement with them online back in May 2014. Every time I called, they told me they would call me back roughly every two weeks. There was one day in July they said they could come out but it was too short of notice. They even commented that they weren't making enough money off the job I was hiring them for. At the end of September, they finally set up a date to do the job and started the work. I went back after they started to check on them and they were using the wrong primer paint and not doing a good job at all. I had to run them off the job. Then the field manager (who does the estimates and manages the workers) was very belligerent with. They did return my deposit after two weeks, but I would not recommend them to anyone. This turned out to be a six month long experience that was very bad.

Description of Work
I hired them to do some exterior gable and trim painting.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], We would like to apologize for the lack of accountability that we have shown in the past. Due to the new management and painters that have joined our team, we definitely have grown as a company since this review was posted and would like the opportunity to show you. Please, if you have any future projects keep us in mind so that we can make things better. Best, 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

2.0

09/29/2014


John W.

I can't comment on the quality of the work because none was performed. I can say that three separate appointments were made to get an estimate for exterior painting and repairs on my home, and no one ever showed up. The first appointment, I got a call an hour before to say there had been a delay and a new time was set. No one came, and no one called. I called back, got an apology and a new date and time. Again, no show and no call. A week after the date of the initial missed appointment, I got a call asking if I still wanted an estimate. I said no. Three strikes, someone else gets the job.

Description of Work
Nothing. Missed three scheduled appointments.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), I am so truly sorry for the interaction that you had 89Paint. I assure you that the lack of professionalism that was given to you is not how we conduct business. If there is anything that we can do for you in the future I can assure you that you will not get the same result. Again, my sincerest apologies.

5.0

09/19/2014


Deanna B.

Just about perfect is how it went! The one small problem that arose was resolved quickly and professionally. The crew was efficient, careful, and highly competent. The job boss, Lucio, was excellent. They will do all my painting from now on. I only have compliments and positive statements to make about 89 Paint (their phone number, by the way - it took me a while to figure that out...)

Description of Work
Properly power washed, prepped, and painted all house and garage exterior trim (eaves, 6 doors, 25 windows), 4 chimneys, walls in a below-grade stairwell, garage door trim, and a small toolshed.

Category garage doors, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

08/15/2014


Linda L G.

He was very knowledgable, polite, and professional. I am just waiting on the written estimate to come. I have had other estimates done that were almost double his price.

Description of Work
I had an estimate on replacing a fascia board.

Category woodworking

5.0

06/19/2014


Tiffany O.

They are very pleasant, very helpful, very clean, thoughtful and quick.

Description of Work
They painted the interior of my house.

Category interior painters

1.0

04/16/2014


Kimberly H.

Set up 2 different appts with 89 paint. Scheduled a specific time on both occasions. They didn't show up to either appt and never called me ahead of time to tell me they wouldnt be able to come. I had to leave work early both times to make it home in time, completely wasting my time. Don't use this unprofessional company.

Description of Work
89 Paint never showed up to provide an estimate on 2 sparate occasions. I will never use this company since they keep wasting my time.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], We understand that there has been more than enough to fix the inconveniences that we caused you, however we have recently come under new management and would love to show you that we are focused on our customer's experience from beginning to end. We apologize for the experience we have caused you and would love to help settle the matter. Thank you, 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

2.0

12/15/2013


Andrew D.

I requested a bid for some touch up exterior painting. I wanted some bad areas scraped, sanded, primed and painted. I have a brick house with white board trim. When the agent arrived, he immediately told me that I needed the whole house (trim) re done and the brick power washed to the tune of over $5000. He never did address my original request.

Description of Work
.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], We'd like to apologize for the experience that you have with one of our project managers in 2013. Since then, we have established different company values and goals due to new management and would love the opportunity to speak with you about your experience with us. Thank you for your honest review of us, it definitely has caused us to grow as a service provider. Thank you again, please reach out to us if you think there's anything we can do to help. 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

5.0

12/04/2013


wayne G.

I own several commercial buildings in the Richmond, VA area. For the last 5 years I have been using 89 Paint when the need arose for interior and exterior painting. 89 Paint has always been very professional from an accurate estimate to a quality paint job finished on time as promised.I would highly recommend them. Thank you 89 Paint and Ethan for making my life a little easier.

Description of Work
Exterior paint on metal building

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

09/30/2013


Connie B.

Although we had already received an excellent reference on Jeff of 89Paint, we wanted to get estimates from several painters prior to making a decision. First we called 89Paint. Not long after we called for an appointment, Jeff arrived when expected, made sure he knew what we wanted, asked helpful questions, and gave useful information so we could make a good decision. He knows more details about paint than I knew existed. We felt very comfortable with Jeff, his professional yet laid back approach, and he quickly gained our confidence. Shortly after our meeting, he emailed the estimate with the detailed contract. At that point, we felt we could get more estimates, and there is even a discount if you do and another estimate is lower, yet we did not think it was necessary. We thought it was possible to get a lower estimate based on lower standards, but not a better paint job. Of course, we could have gone without as many coats. As our house is older and we want good coverage to extend it's life, we went with 89Paint. Jeff made sure supplies were available to the crew and that they understood the details of the contract so they could follow through appropriately. Although there was a supervisor on site each day, Jeff came by to make sure it was going as he expected and we were happy with the work. He quickly resolved any issues to our satisfaction. After all painting was complete he made a final review to make sure the job was done to contract, at a minimum. On the last day, Jeff had a painter stop by with him as he had some areas he felt needed more work, and did not leave until we were happy with the job. He did not ask for a check, other than the original deposit, until he was sure everything was complete. In fact, I was the one to say it looks good, and I need to write you a check. Our house could not look better. Neighbors who were here when our house was built, say the house looks better than it did when it was build. Happy customers here, thanks to Jeff and his high level of customer service and dedication to the job. Overall, it is difficult to make a decision to have a quality painter paint one's house, versus a cut rate price with say a painter who paints part time, etc. Mainly because it's hard to be sure what you will get, even with a very specific contract. Not many people are use to writing contracts for painting work. Although we had a complete contract, with the details spelled out, the main thing was we felt we could trust Jeff. We felt he would hold up his end of the bargain, and provide a first class quality finish on our house. We were absolutely right. Although 89Paint is a large growing company, Jeff makes it seems like a small family business. He takes pride in his work, and is a man to be trusted. The end result is spectacular. I do not hesitate in recommending you call him for your painting needs, exterior or interior. It's hard to find a good painter. Jeff's your man.

Description of Work
Covered nail holes, caulking where needed, extra care to damaged areas to extend life of boards. Painted siding and trim except areas of PVC material.

Category woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us this review! We so appreciate the kind words and the patronage to our business. Sincerely, the 89-PAINT family

1.0

09/23/2013


Jill B.

After coming by to provide an estimate, they never submitted a quote. The salesman indicated it would not be my cheapest estimate, as I told him I was requesting multiple estimates. That was not a deterrent for me, I was still quite interested in the quote. He was well dressed and seemingly well educated on the topic. He never provided a quote, even after I sent him a follow up email (in case he spelled my email incorrectly.) Very disappointing.

Description of Work
After coming by to provide an estimate, they never submitted a quote.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], thank you for your feedback. We're so sorry you had that experience with the sales process. That associate is no longer with our company and unfortunately the record in our system is incomplete, so I couldn't find a record of the proposal either. Please accept our apologies and if you ever have another project, or still haven't made a decision on this project, I would love to send somebody out for you and get you a proposal on the same day! We truly do attempt to be as responsive and attentive to our customers needs as we can possibly be. Sincerely, Ethan Wirt

5.0

08/02/2013


Theresa G.

In an emergency we needed a painter the next day---very short notice. They were able to help us and got the job done. The painter--Raphael--did a great job with a difficult job with vaulted ceilings. He was on time and very pleasant.

Description of Work
painted living room, dining room, & hallway with vaulted ceilings

Category interior painters

5.0

06/10/2013


Brian C.

89 Paint was Quality I was not expecting much from painters they are thought of by me as pretty unreliable bunch as I was a painter one summer in college. I was very pleasantly surprised. Showed up on time every day. They finished on time! Always had my home clean! Very polite. And came in right on budget. I would highly recommend 89 Paint!

Description of Work
They prepped and painted many rooms, trim and doors throughout my home

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your business and the great review!

4.0

05/31/2013


Billy D.

They were very prompt in coming here, and they were good at following up. They have good customer service.

Description of Work
They gave us an estimate on some exterior painting on the house.

Category house painters

5.0

05/16/2013


Kristin C.

Jason came out and gave us a competitive estimate and answered all of our questions. Sandy arrived promptly on the scheduled day and did an excellent job. Drywall patches, trim work, and cleanup were exceptional. We would highly recommend Jason and Sandy in the future.

Description of Work
89 Paint painted our interior upstairs hallway above the stairs.

Category interior painters

5.0

05/06/2013


Benjamin A.

They were very quick response and were able to start right away. Good experience overall

Description of Work
Painted outside trim and doors.

Category house painters

5.0

04/28/2013


Karen H.

The quote was computative. Ronnie Evans was our contact and was very responsive. The crew showed up on time and worked hard every day. They were nicely dressed, polite and careful. They also cleaned up the area really well each day. They did what they said they would do. A good experience.

Description of Work
They pressure washed and painted house, including minor carpentry work.

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

04/10/2013


Jessica W.

I received three estimates, of which 89 Paint was clearly superior. Ronnie Evans came out to my home immediately upon my request, carefully examined what I wanted painted, and provided an estimate 24 hours later. Of the three estimates, his was the middle range price-wise. I chose his company and within a month had dates and a plan. All paint was purchased by 89 Paint (cost savings for me) including the specialized blend/color I needed for my shutters and doors. On the appointed day, five painters arrived promptly in the morning and proceeded to complete 98% of the work in 11 hours! They stayed, working diligently until the sun had set and they couldn't see. They returned first thing the next morning to complete the job in another 4 hours. They even painted a wrought-iron railing on the porch and my mailbox post! They were courteous, professional, mindful of my cats (strictly indoor) and hardworking. Frankly, I was stunned that they were able to complete in a day and a half, what I thought would take one week to finish. Not only that, but they ended up using two coats of paint rather than the quoted one coat -- and I was NOT charged for it. Wow. In this day and age, that's unheard of. I'm already planning to have 89 Paint do my interior rooms next year. I'm recommending this company to everyone I know.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of all trim, siding, soffits, doors, and shutters.

Category house painters

4.0

04/01/2013


Deirdre A.

They were very nice. They were good. I felt like they did not have a good concept with the construction for rotted wood on our home. It took them a while to send a contractor to assess the work.

Description of Work
They gave an estimate for exterior painting twice for the same work.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], We're sorry that you had a less than satisfactory time working with us, as we completely value any and all reviews that our customers post and have grown as a company since we last worked with you. Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review, due to new management, we are definitely taking into consideration of all past interactions with our customers. Please, if you think that there's anything that we can do to help or to show you that we have upgraded our service skills, let us know. Thank you, 89 Paint (804) 897-2468

    Other local Pros in your area

    W.W. MV & SON PAINTING

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!”  

    Offers by W.W. MV & SON PAINTING  on Angi
    A Fine Line LLC

    We appreciate winning the AngiesList Super Service Award several years in a row. That tells us we're doing something right! Whether your project is one small room or your entire house, we can take care of it just fine. If it is a rental house or a James River plantation, we know how to make it shine!  

    R & B Painting

    We are providers of construction services in the Richmond area. Our mission is to maintain the highest quality and professionalism from start to finish. We are confident in our results because all our jobs are custom needs to each home. We strive for the highest degree of quality products and workmanship. During the years in business, R & B Painting has satisfied many customers. It is our reputation of quality work, professionalism and customer service that our customers continue to rely on us for their needs. To understand the needs and expectations of our customers, we take great care to work and communicate with every customer in a professional manner. We base our reputation on service, safety, and quality. Call us today and find out how we can meet all of your repair, replacement, and installation needs!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by R & B Painting on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting Contractor, Residential Painting, Commercial Painting, Interior Painting, Exterior Painting

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 89-PAINT

    How is 89-PAINT overall rated?

    89-PAINT is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are 89-PAINT open?

    89-PAINT is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does 89-PAINT provide

    89-PAINT accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does 89-PAINT offer free estimates?

    Yes, 89-PAINT offers free project estimates.

    Does 89-PAINT offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, 89-PAINT offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 89-PAINT offer a senior discount?

    No, 89-PAINT does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by 89-PAINT?

    Yes, 89-PAINT offers warranties.

    What services does 89-PAINT offer?

    89-PAINT offers the following services: Painting Contractor, Residential Painting, Commercial Painting, Interior Painting, Exterior Painting