Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tub Solutions Inc

Founded 1994 • With Angi since July 2009

4.7

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10335 Bear Creek Dr

Manassas, VA 20111

Description

If you're tired of your old bathroom, you might think a complete remodel is the only way to go. But before you make such an expensive decision, think again. A simple bathtub refinishing can help your bathroom look as good as new at a fraction of the cost. When you decide on bathtub refinishing in Arlington, VA or any surrounding areas, call Tub Solutions Inc. We have decades of experience reglazing bathtubs and showers to make homes in the area look beautiful, fresh, and new....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

07/20/2020


Laura E.

Do you have a job? Would you be held responsible at that job if you made a mistake that cost people money? Or would you yell at the problem until it went away? Tub Solutions will do the later. If they give you inaccurate advice, they will deny all responsibility for "your tub." We have a cast-iron clawfoot tub that needed refinishing. Our plumber disconnected it and moved it out of the bathroom as part of a larger renovation. Tub Solutions told us that refinishing should be the last step in the process - to call them when the faucet and drain were hooked up again. The plumber wasn't sure that was a good idea, but Blaine (the owner?) told us the plumbers should stick to plumbing and that they've refinished hundreds of tubs with the fixtures on and it would be fine, so we had the plumber put the new faucet on. When Tub Solutions arrived to do the refinishing, the installer warned us that the acidic fumes from the glazing process could damage the faucet's polished brass finish. I would need to have the plumber come back and remove the fixtures and put them back on again, and we all know how much it costs to get a plumber out of bed in the morning. While Brian stripped the tub, I called Blaine and suggested that I would order an upgraded package of work, but would ask that Tub Solutions cover the cost to remove the faucet since we would not have installed it absent Blaine's assurances. I hoped that adding the extra work and asking him to cover $100-200 would allow him to roughly break even, but Blaine called this proposal stupid and yelled at me that he "wasn't going to pay to refinish [my] tub." All I was asking was to help me fix his mistake. He never asked about the finish of my faucet, he just assumed it was chrome. People on Yelp! exaggerate about being yelled at all the time but this dude was legit yelling. I told him to take it down a notch and stop yelling at me and he suggested I find another tub refinisher. If you're reading this, I suggest you do the same. Tub Solutions employs skillful refinishers (from what I can tell), but if anything goes wrong, expect no compromise from this company.

Description of Work
Tub Refinishing

Category bathtub refinishing

5.0

03/18/2020


Wayland P.

I would highly recommend Tub Solutions Inc. for tub reglazing! Brian did a great job prepping and reglazing our tub and it looks brand new. It's obvious he takes great pride in his work and craft. Best of all, Brian and Blane were friendly, helpful, and courteous. We'll definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Tub reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
5.0

03/08/2020


Timothy C.

Looks beautiful! I initially talked to Blane and he walked me through the process and then Brian arrived and did the work. It took two days as the tub and tiled walls needed to be stripped and prepared for a re-glazing. Brian worked extremely hard for two days. He was professional, very courteous and just a great guy. He explained everything to me before he did it and any issues he addressed and we were able to work through. The tub and surrounding tiled walls look amazing, brand new and exactly what I wanted. I was extremely happy and satisfied with the job and would hire again.

Description of Work
Re-glazing of standard tub, tiled walls around tub and portions of adjoining tiled walls

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
5.0

02/08/2020


Maggie W.

Tub Solutions was very friendly and was able to schedule our tub reglazing very quickly. Brian was our technician for the work and was extremely professional. He called the night before to confirm the appointment and was on time the next morning. He explained the process thoroughly and consulted us about any unusual issues that came up like our drain being a little loose and a small chip he found in the tub. He did a great job cleaning up and left our bathroom with a sparkling tub. We would highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Tub reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
5.0

12/12/2019


abraham N.

The experience was great with Brian, he was very professional and got the job done quickly and without any problems. I would highly recommend Brian in the future for anyone that needs this type of service.

Description of Work
Tub Reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you taking the time to write this review
5.0

07/11/2019


Iris C.

I previously had a contractor to paint both my tubs, but it started peeling off and became very messy. After doing some research online (I love google searches), I found out about the reglazing process. I read the contractor reviews and got some quotes through Angie's list, and then selected Tub Solutions. It went very well. Originally, I spoke with Blane the owner, who explained the entire process, upkeep and pricing. I paid $550 for each of my 2 tubs, including getting the non-skid material included in the glaze. This alleviates the need to use a non-skid mat in the tub. Brian and Terrence did the work on both tubs. One tub had a slow leak which I didn't know about, so they did half the work on that one, and came back and finished the other half once the leak was fixed. I didn't know what a slow leak was. It's an invisible leak the drips a little at a time out of the tub faucet. The way to see it is to put a paper towel or shop cloth in the tub and come back in a half hour. Then you'll see that the towel/cloth is very wet. Both guys were very pleasant, professional and efficient while working on both tubs. My tubs look great. It's guaranteed for as long as I own my condo. Many thanks to them and Blane.

Description of Work
Strip, recaulk, non-skid & reglaze 2 bath tubs.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
1.0

06/10/2019


Starria G.

Our tub liner (just shy of 3 years old) got water trapped under it. We called tub solutions and at first, our service was okay. Other than a delay in arriving at the time of our appointment, the two refinishers were professional and clear about what to expect. After the liner was removed, I was told we has a very slow leak coming from our tub spigot and that we needed to have a plumber come in and fix the leak before the original tub (in working condition) could be re-glazed and warrantied by Tub solutions, before the service men left, they puttied the gap between the tub and tile and told us the tub was just fine to use, and to give them a call back when we were ready to finish the job. Although frustrating, we understood and called a plumber. Well, that’s when it all when DOWNHILL. Later that day, my husband went to clean the tub in preparation to use the shower and all of a sudden, our dog went crazy and my husband heard the dreadful sound of water pouring into our living room! The short of it, tub solutions had cracked our drain connection which ended up being a much more costly job for our plumber and caused water damage to our floor and living room ceiling. What’s worse is Blane Foster, the owner, handled the conversation TERRIBLY when I called to inform him of what happened. He was disrespectful, refused to take responsibility for the ill advisement and hung up on me. For a company with such high ratings on Angie’s list, I was horrified. You should be ashamed, Blane Foster for treating a client in the way that we were treated. I will be contacting Angie’s list at the corporate level to be sure they are aware of the way in which tub solutions dealt with clientele.

Description of Work
Tub refinishing. The tub liner had been compromised, we called tub solutions and they were fairly certain water was trapped under the liner.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

On behalf of Tub solutions I would like to apologize for your experience and slow response (dealing with personal issues). Not sure what transpired on the phone call but would like to explain why we choose not to take responsibility for this particular situation. As stated we were called out for those reasons. Once we began the job we noticed a slow drip and was unable to get the overflow off so we insisted on her to get a plumber out before we completed the work(we would not have been able to give a full warranty). Since our job is based on the aesthetics of a tub we're professionally able to take care of issues that are seen above the surface an anything unseen we leave to another professional. Since we're unable to say if this issue was prior to or after we started we choose not to take responsibility (if we were able to continue on with the job and this happened we would take responsibility).Tub Solutions is willing give you 10% off of the price that Brian quoted you to complete the reglazing of your tub. We truly apologize for hanging up on you and hope this small gesture shows you our appreciation for pointing out things we need to work on.
5.0

05/21/2019


Karen F.

Looks beautiful, the work, care and maintenance were well explained, technician was very professional and friendly. My questions were answered to my understanding. My bathroom was left completely clean!

Description of Work
Bathtub stripping and reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time and review
5.0

01/14/2019


Fred G.

Brian and Terrence did an amazing job, the bath tub looks brand new. They arrived a few minutes early and wasted no time getting down to business. They explained every step of the process to my wife and I, especially the best way to take care of the bath tub in the future. Both men were very professional, knowledgeable about the work being performed and friendly. I would not hesitate to hire Tub Solutions again.

Description of Work
Re-glaze and re-caulk the bathtub

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time and review
5.0

05/22/2017


Lynda H.

The technician, Brian, and his helper were amazing! Very professional! The weather was bad that morning and he called to say his GPS had him running about 10 minutes late. He kept me informed about each step he was completing. They did a perfect job and did a wonderful job cleaning up. It was well worth the money spent.

Description of Work
My bathtub was re-glazed.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
5.0

04/26/2017


Christopher J.

Made them look brand new, but was a sand type of feeling on the sides and floor of tub. We did not get the sand additive for anti-slip so this was surprising. There are a lot of maintenance rules to refinished tubs. No standing water for 30 days, don't put containers on surfaces, etc. Overall it looks great and the price is fantastic, but you need to follow the rules to make it last.

Description of Work
Refinish two older cast iron tubs.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time and review
5.0

10/10/2016


Edmond M.

All went fine. The worker (can't recall name) came on time and did the work. The result was fabulous.

Description of Work
As part of a bathroom remodel, we need to have the badly yellowed and stained bathtub reglazed.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
5.0

06/13/2015


Angela S.

I am very impressed with Tub solutions! Blaine, the owner, gave me great information the first time I called. He was extremely thorough in his explanations and I knew right away Tub Solutions would get my business. I liked that he was not pushy either. Anyway, yesterday Brian was sent to refinish my tub. Brian was great and very professional. He called the night be for to confirm my information. The day of service and he called when he was on the way. When Brian arrived, he was very porofessional and nice. He made sure to cover the floor, vanity, and Some of my furniture. He took about 4 hours and did an amazing job! I Can't get over the difference!

Description of Work
I had the tub in my master bathroom refinished. I also purchased the anti-slip protection.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
5.0

05/14/2015


Ava M.

t heThe technician "Brian" arrived at scheduled time (9 am) and explained what he would be doing that day to re-glaze my tub and shower tiles. Before Brian brought his equipment in he put plastic down on the carpeting outside the bathroom and began taping the area he would be working in in the bathroom. Brian worked diligently from the time he got there until after 6pm. The house was built in the mid 950 and the tub was the original tub. After finishing the re-glazing the tech meticulously cleaned the area and disposed of all the trash and even wiped down the bathroom to ensure everything was clean and dust free. Before he left he went over all the do's and dont's of the the tub. He had us inspect the tub area and asked us if we had any questions and gave us his card and informed us to call him if we had any further questions. Brian was both courteous and professional. We are extremely pleased at the work that was done and the manner i was accomplished. Tub Solutions and their Tech Brian Harling were outstanding.

Description of Work
Re-glaze tub and tiles.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

08/12/2014


CHARLES K.

Superb service from the initial telephone call to pick-up of final product. The tub looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Cleaned, stripped, and reglazed old (1928) clawfoot cast-iron tub.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed name] for your time and review
5.0

04/23/2014


DONNIE W.

It was a great experience. They communicated very well, were flexible with scheduling, and did a quality job.

Description of Work
I hired them to refinish a bathtub.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for your time and review
5.0

03/27/2014


Randy B.

I am very happy with the entire process. The ease of contacting the owner to the timely manner the technician has shown up. Brian was a good worker. Excellent work with the result. I was curious and asked a lot of questions. He answered them all with great patience. I recommend this company.

Description of Work
Reglazed shower pan.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure having you as a customer, if you any problems please call and let know
1.0

09/29/2013


Coreen B.

The technician arrived on time and was pleasant. The first thing I pointed out was that the bathroom had been professionally painted the day before and that I wanted him to cover the walls adjacent to the tub (about a 3x4 area on one side and 4x4 on the other side). He responded "OK." Later I noticed he covered the towel racks on these 2 walls but not the walls, so I reminded him of my request and again he said "OK." Issue 1- lack of customer service When he was about to start spraying the tub the 2 walls were still not covered and so I reminded him of my request a third time, but this time he responded that "it wasn't necessary." He said the spray "falls straight down and that it won't go on the walls." I said that may well be the case but I would still like the insurance of having the walls covered with some of the plastic from the roll he had brought. Much to my surprise he then proceeded to debate me on what I felt was a small request. He said he would touch up paint the walls if need be. That was unacceptable to me as he was not a professional painter and I felt that protecting the walls would be a simple and practicable solution. So I said I would cover the walls if he wouldn't. Much to my surprise, he then said it would cost an additional $50 to compensate him for the plastic and for the 5 minutes he would have to wait while I performed the task. That struck me as so unreasonable that I asked to speak to his supervisor, who then waived the additional $50 charge. I then covered the walls with plastic and the technician began applying the spray. Issue 2 - lack of communication The quote given over the phone was $625. Upon arrival I was informed there would be an extra charge for the 4 jacuzzi jets, bringing the total to $785. However, after he finished the job I noticed the jets had not been sprayed. He said "that is not done." So then I asked what the additional charge for the jets was for and he said it was "to cover the jets with paper." So now the tub is gleaming white but the 4 jets are still the original dis-colored yellow. I asked if he could at least spray the outer ring on each of the jets (i.e., the stationary areas) to minimize the discolored area around them and he simply said "No." I feel he should have told me before he did the job that the jets would not be sprayed and that the additional charge was just to cover them with paper. I was under the impression that spraying the jets somehow required extra work or time and hence the additional charge. Issue 3 - lack of full clean up After he left I noticed he did not remove the paper covering 2 of the 4 jets nor the plastic and tape covering the shower head and attachments. Issue 4 - lack of good quality finished product The next day I checked the finish and found that he did not remove all the residue from sanding the tub prior to spraying so the floor of the tub is grainy and bubbly and not smooth as it should be. Based on the preceding issues therefore I prefer to have no further dealings with this company, even if they were to offer to come back to smooth out the finish for free. No thanks.

Description of Work
In preparation of selling my condo, the job was to spray a white coat of paint to freshen up and older but normal size tub that had 4 jacuzzi type jets.

Category bathtub refinishing

5.0

07/29/2013


Jayne B.

Fantastic service! From start to finish, Tub Solutions was easy to work with. The technicians called the night before to confirm the appointment. They called before the appointment to ask if they could come an hour earlier. The team was exceptionally respectful and clean. They covered the hardwood floor outside the bathroom (and the threshold) and cleaned up after they finished the coating. And best of all, the tub looks amazing!

Description of Work
Refinished our bathroom tub.

Category bathtub refinishing

5.0

05/21/2013


Janet C.

When I contacted Tub Solutions, Inc. by email, I received a call back almost immediately from Blaine. He answered all my questions and provided a estimate over the phone, which was the actual finished price. They were right on time and put in a full days work, they were here 8:00-6:00. It does smell bad as some of the reviews mentioned, but that's to be expected. I was impressed by their professionalism and attention to detail. Bryan even taped plastic sheeting the length of my basement to cover my new carpeting while they walked back and forth. The outcome is a completely new looking tub and tub and tile. I would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Refinished/reglaze one tub and one tub and tile surround, patched grout and chips in tub finish.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

11/16/2012


Donna N.

Rearranged their schedule to accommodate my requests, then they found the tub had too much rust to salvage, so I had them do my second tub and it is beautiful. They could have covered up the rust and continued to collect the fee but they were honest and I appreciated it very much. They covered my carpets and cleaned up everything around their work. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Removed old caulk, cleaned tub and refinished in white. Added non-slip suface.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

10/25/2012


Pierre E.

Guy gave an estimate over phone came out next day exactly on time was friendly and did a great job. (After he left I did notice a spot that seemed he had missed and called and they came right back) It turns out dust may settle while drying which will give it a bumpy look (if you look carefully but will come off after first use) It did come right off (They had give me a sheet explaining this but I hadnt read it. Very pleased. Cant speak to much to how competitive their price is as I just hired him after contacting several Angies list people who never replied to my inquires.

Description of Work
Tub was refinished

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

03/15/2012


James I.

Our fiberglass bathtub developed a visible crack and there were other non-visible cracks developing. It was necessary to have the tub repaired and refinished. The work was completed on time and on budget as described.

Description of Work
Repair crack in fiberglass bathtub and refinish the tub and recaulk around the tub and tile wall.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

10/24/2011


Robert S.

It seemed like the price was certainly reasonable. They did a wonderful job. They were professional and polite. The technician that came in set up and cleaned up. He explained everything to me in terms of the care and feeding of the tub. When we went to sell the house it still looked very good. We were very pleased. They don't come out to give you estimates, it's all on the phone. Some people we talked to were hard sell which always scares me, but these people were not.

Description of Work
Tub Solutions Inc refinished our bathtub.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane
5.0

10/11/2011


Francesca W.

Our technician, Brian, is the most punctual hard working, polite man in the tub business. That is hard work! Stripping the old glaze took hours , meticulous sanding and patience on his part. Then several coats of glaze. At he end of the day he gave us careful instructions and his card. The next day when I was painting the bathroom I noticed a small defect in the tub and called him ( at 5 PM on a Friday) and he came out at 7 AM on a Sat to reglaze the tub without a complaint. He had to sand the tub and apply 2 new coats of glaze. Truly a fantastic job by Brian of Tub Solutions! Give that man a raise! It has only been a week or so but we hope that our experience with this company continues to be a good one and we will keep Angie's listers posted on any continued contact with Tub Solutions. They have a 5 year warranty on the glaze and if we nick it by dropping something sharp on it or not following cleaning instructions etc, they use a prorated scale to charge for repair. Another thing, we paid by check. If you use a credit card there is an additional 3% charge. Ours was $1250 because we had to pay an extra $400 for the stripping. We also had the wall tile stripped and glazed as well as the tub. If it's just a tub it really is much more economical than bath fitters. Tip about re glazing: The chemicals are strong, arrange to have pets and kids out of the house for the day!

Description of Work
We had a tub and tile that had been glazed once before just before we bought our house seven years ago. After we moved in it began to peel almost immediately. Over the years we tried to peel and scrape it ourselves and were considering ripping the whole thing out and re-tiling, using bath fitters and finally deciding the most economically sound thing to do was reglaze. We needed wall tile and tub to be completely stripped of old glaze and reglazed. It was a mess! We picked Tub Solutions based on Angie's list reviews and couldn't be happier with the result so far.

Category bathtub refinishing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time ,to write this review and I hope we can help you in the future. Take care Blane

    Other local Pros in your area

    Renken Remodeling Exclusive Luxury Bath

    We have built a company based on what we know our customers expect and deserve. We make it a priority to communicate thoroughly with you from our first encounter to the final punch list. Because we specialize in one thing, you can expect superior product knowledge, an efficient proven process, an experienced and courteous crew, and guaranteed results. Whether you are looking for a top-to-bottom design overhaul, or greater safety and accessibility, our experienced crew will renovate your bathroom in a way that meets your needs and exceeds your expectations— on time and within budget.  

    Al's Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Custom Tub & Tile Resurfacing LLC

    Bathroom, tub, and countertop resurfacing is the ideal low-cost remodeling solution. Our remodels are typically finished within a day and our rates are far lower than that of a general contractor. Contact us today in Monrovia, Maryland, at (240) 668-4208 for extraordinary bathroom remodeling services, including tub resurfacing, tile resurfacing, tub liner removal and kitchen countertop refacing. We're now open on Saturdays, by appointment! Call us today to schedule!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705107751
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Reglazing of tubs, sinks, wall tile, countertops, appliances and kitchen cabinets.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tub Solutions Inc

    How is Tub Solutions Inc overall rated?

    Tub Solutions Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tub Solutions Inc open?

    Tub Solutions Inc is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Tub Solutions Inc provide

    Tub Solutions Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does Tub Solutions Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tub Solutions Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Tub Solutions Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tub Solutions Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tub Solutions Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Tub Solutions Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Tub Solutions Inc?

    Yes, Tub Solutions Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Tub Solutions Inc offer?

    Tub Solutions Inc offers the following services: Reglazing of tubs, sinks, wall tile, countertops, appliances and kitchen cabinets.