Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SUNDECKS INC

Founded 1979 • With Angi since March 2009

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8195-C EUCLID CT

Manassas, VA 20111

Description

Sundecks, Inc. specializes in building decks, screen porches, front porches, gazebos and sunrooms. We have 7 employees. We offer free estimates. We are licensed in all the local counties....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

12/03/2020


george D.

Paid the deposit ($8K) for a deck in September, still no remote signs of construction... not even "a single hole in the ground." While understanding constraints associated with COVID-19, the company failed to offer updates for work that should have started almost two weeks ago (this is December). I'm sure to receive plenty of "oh we are sooo sorry... blah, blah, blah." If you need a deck, find a company that can deliver within your time constraints, and at a minimum, offers the customer courtesy calls addressing delays. Updates allows for the customer to plan accordingly

Description of Work
Deck (yet to be seen)

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], We apologize for not being more communicative with you. These are very difficult unprecedented times we are experiencing. We did speak with you before Thanksgiving, albeit it was you that called us. Some of the problems are severe material shortages and the different county jurisdictions going to online services only. We did get notice that the permit was finally approved just this Monday, Nov. 30th. We will be contacting you privately regarding your project. Sincerely, Sundecks, Inc.
5.0

02/06/2017


Judd S.

Excellent

Description of Work
They are putting in a large addition on my house

Category remodeling

5.0

03/05/2016


ANNE G.

From start to finish Sundecks provided excellent service. Rick came to give us an estimate and worked hard to help us with the local and county permits. The crew arrived promptly every day, even when it was below freezing, and worked hard all day. They remained cheerful even during the coldest days. The quality of the work is outstanding and the deck is beautiful. The site was cleaned up every day. Ray visited the site regularly to check on progress and meet with the inspectors. All round a great experience and we can definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
Removed old deck and replaced with new deck and support posts.

Category decks

5.0

02/05/2016


Paul W.

The job went as smoothly as possible given the 24-inch snow storm in the middle. Rick was extremely helpful in selecting materials and the deck pattern and Richard and his crew could not have done a better job. The workmanship is absolutely perfect. I recommend them without hesitation. The cost was greater than I had planned, but that is owing to the cost of the PVC materials - I really wanted great visual appeal and little maintenance.

Description of Work
Replaced old decking and railing system with Wolf PVC decking material and Trex Transcend railing system. Also, removed old decking material and rail system and replaced primary support posts.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

11/03/2015


Steven R.

From design to completion Sundecks personnel were professional and paid so much attention to detail. Their personnel are true craftsman and take pride in their work. The porch, deck and back porch all came out even better than we had hoped. One sub (electrician) held up the schedule somewhat but that was a very minor complaint and not the fault of Sundecks employees. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Constructed porch with roof as well as deck and back door entrance porch with roof.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and for emailing us pictures of the project. The porch looks great!
5.0

06/25/2015


Mary G.

Description of Work
They reduced my deck. I was really pleased with the results. | |

Category decks

2.0

04/02/2015


Scott M.

Deck and addition were completed very late. Overall workmanship poor. Lots of issues. A few years later and we are looking for contractors to replace portions of our disintegrating deck. We spent thousands trying to maintain deck (outside of what we gave Post/Sundecks), but to no avail. Had a large leak in the addition they built as well. They of course claimed it was somehow our fault, but since they built both the addition and the deck over it, I'm not sure how that was feasible. They did eventually fix the leak, but interior damage still remains. They poured a concrete slab for garage and portions of the edge are already breaking up. Again, they came out to repair it, but the fix didn't last as I don't think they really used proper technique. They were trying to knock out a punchlist, not really fix the problem. Sub they used for electrical never really met job requirements. We fought until we got tired and gave up. Issues were many, among them a home network that never worked as planned. Tried to resolve many of these issues with Post, but never really got anywhere. Some staff members were very courteous and professional, others were not. We gave up on them, but as we are now dealing with repairs, I thought we should share our experience to save folks some trouble.

Description of Work
Built addition and deck.

Category decks

5.0

03/15/2015


Michael M.

The entire experience was great! It all began with a very informative estimate from Dave. He walked us through all of our options and described everything we should consider. The contract and design process was efficient and easy. The hardest part of the process was securing the building permit. Fairfax County was challenging our deck design even though we were replacing our old 16x12 deck with a new 16x12 deck. Fortunately they were able to dig up what we needed from the county archives so the project could proceed. Once construction began, everything went smoothly. The crew arrived early just as the lumber was being delivered. After digging the holes for the footings on a Friday morning, actual construction began on a Monday. By the end of day 1, the old deck was completely removed and the new footings, main beam, and ledger board were installed. Day 2 started with finishing the frame, followed by finishing the deck floor and the first phase of the railings. Day 3 was the final day of construction where they finished the railings, added and tightened all the hardware, and installed the end grain wrap and sandwiched the pickets. All phases of the county inspection passed on the first attempt. In just 3 days, battling rain, sleet, and cold temperatures, the crew delivered the deck as budgeted and designed. I strongly recommend using Sundecks if you are interested in a new deck.

Description of Work
Replaced old deck with new pressure-treated wood deck.

Category decks

5.0

11/07/2014


Ray W.

Awesome start to finish. With house sale pending, Rick jumped in and not only gave us a great estimate but assisted with the claims process with Evergrain, the company who made the shoddy decking materials. Sundecks really helped us out when we needed it, we had a lot going on at the time, but this was something that went right.

Description of Work
Replaced faulty decking materials

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

08/11/2014


Diana S.

Exceptional customer service. Dave sat down with us on day one and sketched the perfect porch suitable for our budget. Dave was very clear as to what we would be responsible for (HOA approval, legal survey of our lot) and how our inaction or delay could directly affect the timing of the project so we knew what was in store and were well-prepared for them to get started right on time. The project started right on time, as promised, and was completed earlier than estimated. The lead contractor was frequently in contact with us for progress briefings. Workers were extremely professional, kind, and hardworking. They were at the house at 8am and left around 6pm. Only one well-deserved break taken for lunch. Very impressive. The screened porch is absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Built new screened porch and deck

Category decks, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful comments!
5.0

03/26/2014


Brad M.

It went great. They were very professional and efficient. They were really good workers and they were on time.

Description of Work
We used Sundecks Inc. about nine or ten years ago for putting in a deck for us.

Category decks

5.0

11/30/2013


Pamela L.

It was a refreshing experience dealing with Sundecks. We called several other companies to request estimates and most either did not return our phone calls or did not show up as promised. Rick Ward from Sundecks returned our call the same day and arranged to come by our home two days later. He gave us an estimate on the spot (which was an extremely fair price). Once we notified him that we would like Sundecks to do the work, Rick brought the contract by the same evening and they performed the repair the next week. Rick and the men who did the repair were extremely professional and were a pleasure to work with. They did what they said they would do, when they said they would do it!

Description of Work
In 2007, we had another company replace our 20+ year old wood deck with a composite deck. The new deck was built on top of the existing posts. Over the last couple of years, we noticed one side of the deck began to sink. We hired Sundecks to replace a post and re-level the deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback!
5.0

10/26/2013


Daniel S.

The entire process was fantastic. We met several times with Rick Ward to develop the design. Once the design was finalized, construction started about 3 weeks later. Ricardo and his crew were very professional during the construction phase. We are very happy with the outcome and highly recommend Sundecks to others.

Description of Work
Sundecks removed an old deck and built a new, elevated deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words!
5.0

08/15/2013


Shannon E.

I just wanted to share my experience with SUNDECKS Inc. (David Sams). Mr. Sams was amazing; his customer service, attention to detail, and dedication to ensuring that SUNDECKS Inc. designed exactly what you want is comparable to none. Our project included having our existing deck demolished and then a larger, new, composite deck that could support a hot tub with aluminum railing balusters, and pergola built. An additional part of our project also included a ground level, flagstone patio with sitting walls, a flagstone path across the backyard, and a concrete & flagstone stairway from the backyard, around the side of the house, up to the driveway which would need to be completed by another company. However, we contacted SUNDECKS Inc. specifically for the deck and pergola portions of this project. The deck design was INCREDIBLE and exactly what we were looking for and Mr. Sams even suggested a number of detail pieces and design tweaks to enhance the look and functionality of the deck. The pricing for the project was also VERY competitive with the other estimates we received. Mr. Sams was also able to recommend different decking products and explain the pro and con differences between them. He also provided an engineering design on graph paper and a detailed Scope of Work write-up. In the end, I must admit that we did not hire SUNDECKS Inc. to complete this project for us but not because they did anything wrong. In the end, we decided that it would be easier and most cost effective to go with a company that could handle all aspects of the overall project that we wanted done versus trying to coordinate between multiple companies. However, Mr. Sams made such an amazing impression with us and we were so pleased with SUNDECKS Inc.?s experience with decks that I just had to post this review for them. When it comes to getting a deck built, I HIGHLY recommend contacting SUNDECKS Inc., specifically David Sams, because I am sure you will be very impressed and happy with your decision.

Description of Work
Our project included having our existing deck demolished and then a larger, new, composite deck that could support a hot tub with aluminum railing balusters, and pergola built.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. We wish you the best of luck on your project.
5.0

04/02/2013


STEVEN R.

The entire process was smooth and problem-free. We met several months earlier with their deck designer. He walked us through various options, at varying price levels, as well as different design choices. There was no effort to upsell us...he was quite forthright in discussing both the pros and cons of different materials at all levels. We had certain design ideas of our own, and he worked them all into his design. The project started on the scheduled date, and was finished in less than two weeks (even including a few rain days). There were no problems whatsoever. The crew was friendly and careful. Whenever there were minor design decisions to be made onsite, they consulted with us first. We are delighted with the finished product. Even the county inspector commented on how beautifully it turned out.

Description of Work
Designed and built a deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for posting the photos, the deck looks beautiful!
5.0

03/29/2013


Paul D.

Great experience. Rick Ward (sales/design) was very helpful and spent considerable time with us during the design and permit stages of the project. Additionally, Rick helped us obtain HOA approval by completing detailed drawings of the deck along with addressing any questions or concerns that were posed by the HOA. Construction started on time and the quality of the work was excellent. There were a few cosmetic items that I wanted addressed, and the company took care of them in a timely manner. I'm really very pleased with this company. They may not be the cheapest contractor out there, but you're paying for quality and a management team that appears to care about customer satisfaction.

Description of Work
Sundecks installed an Azek deck with low voltage lighting.

Category decks

5.0

03/07/2013


Brad M.

It was an excellent experience. Almost 8 years later the deck is still great. They helped us with the design of the deck. The workers were excellent and were very efficient. Our neighbor would watch them work every day and he said that they never lounged around, they just worked hard the entire time.

Description of Work
New Deck

Category decks

5.0

03/07/2013


Jay B.

They were not the cheapest but they were worth it. The work they did was fabulous and their team was outstanding. They did a wonderful job and I have no complaints at all.

Description of Work
We had a screen in porch added to the house and a deck built out in the yard, and they came out gorgeous.

Category decks

5.0

03/04/2013


Ruby T.

The service was wonderful! They were very trustworthy; they showed up on time and did what they said they would do. They completed the job when they said they would. They did not cut any corners and we’re very pleased with the work.

Description of Work
They re-did decking and they also added a screened-in patio.

Category decks

5.0

03/04/2013


Susan L.

The technician helped me with the porch design and it was a good experience working with them.

Description of Work
Over a year ago, they provided an estimate for a porch.

Category decks

5.0

03/04/2013


DAVID W.

The service was great overall. They did a fantastic job!

Description of Work
About ten years ago, I designed a surround for my hot tub, and they built it. They put in all of the necessary structural additions.

Category decks

5.0

03/04/2013


Jorja F.

About fifteen years ago, they built a very large deck. They also installed a two-tiered deck that accommodated a hot tub along with a pergola over the hot tub.

Description of Work
About fifteen years ago, they built a very large deck. They also installed a two-tiered deck that accommodated a hot tub along with a pergola over the hot tub.

Category decks

4.0

03/04/2013


eldon R.

We are satisfied with their work overall. The initial sales man turned out to be unreliable and unprofessional, but the company made it right. Management came out and the apologized. They did a good job!

Description of Work
Years ago, they installed add a screened-in porch. They also installed an open porch.

Category decks

5.0

05/21/2012


Khanh H.

Very professional job by this company overall. We had several companies giving us estimates and some gave higher and some gave lower but none really gave a complete description of what they're building. Rick Ward from Sundeck gave us the complete picture including a detailed drawing, cost of project based on different types of decking & railing material, colors, dimensions, expected start/end dates. After we agreed to hire them, Rick helped us thru HOA approval process. Soon after the HOA approval came, they got the county permit done and completed the project within a week. The deck looks great and very solid.

Description of Work
12x20 azek deck. Remove existing gazebo/patio area

Category decks

5.0

09/10/2007


Victoria C.

The carpenter used by Sundecks was like a magician. He produced an amazing porch. When I contacted the company they sent a designer out and drew up a design for us to submit to our homeowners association for approval. The design was approved easily and the job started a week later. It took less than a month to complete and I feel it was a good value for the money. We can sit on our new porch and look out into the woods to enjoy the deer. We've also seen foxes and an eagle. We are truly enjoying the porch.

Description of Work
Sundecks built a screened porch for us. The porch is 8' x 20' has a mahogany floor; they painted white walls and it has a ceiling fan.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Century Siding Co Inc

    We believe that our remodeling experts, who have been working in the field for more than 15 years, successfully completing over 10,000 homes, will provide the highest quality work for you. Century Siding Co., inc. is among the highest rated companies in quality and value in the Northern Virginia area. We also guarantee the highest quality products at the most competitive prices. We proudly carry products from Mastic, Alside, certainteed, James Hardie, Simonton and many more industry leaders. All of our technicians are carefully selected based on their level of skill and experience. They must go through vigorous training and must prove their abilities before they can actually begin work on a customers home.  

    Windows on Washington

    Simply put - we believe that improving your home should be enjoyable. That is why we spent years designing our consultations, installations, and customer care experiences to minimize stress and provide every client with a fair and honest home improvement experience. Founded in 2005, Windows on Washington has become one of the area’s most respected home improvement companies because we make our clients' homes more beautiful, comfortable, and energy efficient. We are proud Angie’s Super Service Award winners, which we’ve now earned for seven consecutive years. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and have never had one filed complaint. In addition, we have hundreds of positive customer reviews on Angie’s List, Customer Lobby, Home Advisor, Guild Quality, Houzz, and Yelp.  

    Offers by Windows on Washington on Angi
    KCSI Construction Inc

    Residential Exteriors Contractor 20 Employees No Subcontracting - All Work In-House Class A Contractor Cost is determined by the job Owner operator Angie's List $250 discount for whole house siding replacement  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2701021881A
    Trade License Locale
    State of Virginia
    Trade License Expiration
    09/30/2016
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    DECKS, SCREENED PORCHES, FRONT PORCHES, GAZEBOS, HOT TUBS, SPAS & SUNROOMS.

    Services Not Offered

    Powerwashing, sealing and staining. Repair work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SUNDECKS INC

    How is SUNDECKS INC overall rated?

    SUNDECKS INC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are SUNDECKS INC open?

    SUNDECKS INC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does SUNDECKS INC provide

    SUNDECKS INC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa

    Does SUNDECKS INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, SUNDECKS INC offers free project estimates.

    Does SUNDECKS INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SUNDECKS INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by SUNDECKS INC?

    Yes, SUNDECKS INC offers warranties.

    What services does SUNDECKS INC offer?

    SUNDECKS INC offers the following services: DECKS, SCREENED PORCHES, FRONT PORCHES, GAZEBOS, HOT TUBS, SPAS & SUNROOMS.

    Are there any services SUNDECKS INC does not offer?

    Powerwashing, sealing and staining. Repair work.