Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

American Moving and Storage

4.6

(11) Verified Reviews

Founded 2010 • With Angi since August 2012

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
11:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Company Contact

1605 Waterlick Rd

Lynchburg, VA 24501

Description

American Moving and Storage is a professional moving & storage company that is owned by military veterans and we take pride in our work! If you need storage that's no problem we can move you into our storage unit and move you back out when your ready. When it comes to moving no job is too big or too small, we own 4 26' box truck for big moves, 2 16' box trucks for smaller jobs. With American Moving and Storage you will always get an experienced crew that has the proper training and tools to move you're belongings safely and efficiently and we will always have more than enough furniture pads to wrap you're furniture in and keep safe during transport. We will make you're move as stress free as possible! We specialize in: Local & long distance moves, moving piano's, furniture pick up & delivery, in house furniture moving, & any kind of cleanout or clutter removal! We also sell packing supplies and can deliver for free. If you're moving down the street or across the country or just have a heavy object that you want moved we can help! If you need trash or clutter took to the dump or goodwill we can help! We offer very reasonable rates and are very reliable, references are available upon request, if you have any question feel free to call 434-525-3444 or visit our website at www.americanmovingnstorage.com. Discounts: We offer military and senior discounts. Storage units: We have climate control & standard units from 5x10 up to 10x30 and always have the best rates in town, Moving tips: Make sure who ever you hire is licensed and bonded, if you hire someone not licensed and bonded and they get hurt in your house under Virginia law you are responsible for their medical bills and more! We are licensed, bonded & insured....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(11) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

10

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

movers (10)piano movers (1)hauling (1)
Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews
5.0

05/18/2019

great , friendly and very courteous.

Description of Work
moving large house to large house

Category hauling services

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2020

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business Mr. [Member Name Removed]. Thank you for choosing American Moving and Storage!
5.0

05/18/2019

The move went so smoothly and fast!! The guys wrapped up all of our furniture, and electronics so nothing would break or get dinged. The 3stoey townhouse we moved from was very narrow, filled with wall to wall furniture and at least 300 boxes. They moved like magic and had our whole house empty in record time! When we arrived at the new house, they were already here and ready to go! It was so comforting to know that they really cared about making sure all furniture was in the correct places. We had a huge heavy desk, but they got it upstairs without breaking it, the walls or themselves! I appreciated how upfront and honest they were regarding time and cost, no hidden miscellaneous fees as with some of the other moving companies. From the initial scoping call to the confirmation phone call , then when they had arrived, and again when they were done. We've had other movers where they cursed in front of our kids, left trash on the lawns, and in the house, from either their drinks or food, broke various fixtures from furniture and never called our attention to it. I'm so elated to report that this is absolutely not the case with this magnificent team! They worked so hard and well together, cleaned up after themselves and then some, and were nice to my kids. That really means a lot to me. One of our desks had a foot that came off, not only did they let us know about it but they also fixed it! Amazing, reliable and honest. I will be using them again and you should too!

Description of Work
Moving out of a 2,250 SQ ft. Townhouse into a 4,560 SQ ft. House.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing American Moving and Storage. It was a pleasure working with you. Jermaine Jones
5.0

11/15/2017

The guys worked hard and loaded everything in under 3 hours. Packed it very well.

Description of Work
Loading of all furniture for a 4 bedroom house

Category moving companies

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2017

Service Provider Response

We are happy hear that your move went smoothly and as planned! Thank you trusting American Moving and Storage with your belongings and we hope to serve you again in the future for all your moving and storage needs!
5.0

01/30/2017

Exceptionally well! Crew of three arrived on time and went right to work. We contracted only for moving furniture, no boxes. Everything wrapped and loaded in about 1-1/2 hours (two bedrooms, dining and living rooms, and one office. Everything unwrapped and placed in about 1-1/2 hours at the other end. As one item was unwrapped, one of the crew neatly folded each blanket and stacked it. No sloppiness with these guys! Courteous, clean. I'd rehire in a heartbeat (but I don't plan any more moves in my retirement).

Description of Work
move from Bedford VA to Monroe VA

Category moving companies

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2016

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] thanks for the kind words and your business! We take pride in helping our customers moves go as smoothly as possible and I'm happy to hear yours was stress free. If you ever need moving, clutter removal or self storage please keep us in mind we can help with anything moving related and truly appreciate all the work we get. Thanks!
5.0

01/24/2017

They were very good. We had them packed and then they also unpacked, unloaded and put stuff for my mom and they were very courteous, professional, just really really nice guys. I was impressed. I compared price to other companies and they were pretty much on the same line. I would use them again if I could.

Description of Work
I used American Moving and Storage for my mom's move from Williamsburg, RoanokeVirginia to here. Her move was in July last year. I do know that they did a pack and move for her.

Category moving companies

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2016

Service Provider Response

A long distance move of this size can be tricky business so Im happy you decided to use and get the job done right! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving in the future for all your moving and storage needs! Everyone here at American Moving and Storage thanks you!
1.0

09/12/2016

Terrible, horrible customer service. They moved my mother who is a senior citizen. The owner Jeremy and his crew were very unprofessional, took advantage of my mom. She paid them in full and they did not provide the services as promised or did not complete the job. They ripped her off and took full advantage of her and also tried to overcharged me as well. • Tuesday, August 9, 2016: I was scheduled to have a walk through and quote from American Moving & Storage , Lynchburg, VA, but they did not show up for their scheduled appointment. I contacted their office, informed them that they had missed their appointment, told them that I was moving on August 12, 2016 and needed a quote from them to transport my furniture from Forest, VA to Alexandria, VA. • Wednesday, August 10, 2016: Jermaine, from American Moving & Storage came by to look at all of my furniture. After his assessment, he told me that I would only need one 24’ truck and the cost for the total move including setup was $1650.00. • Thursday, August 11, 2016: The owner, Jeremy called again and said “it looks like you only need one truck.” My car broke down on 460 West as I was driving home and I had to get it towed to Jay’s Auto Service. Since, I would not have my car to leave the next morning to follow the moving truck; I called Jeremy and asked if he could change my move date to Saturday, August 13, 2016 or the following week. Jeremy said “no, absolutely not and to expect his guys at 7:00am the next morning.” My car situation was beyond my control; Jeremy gave me no options or suggestions for different dates to move, and hung up on me while I was on the highway. • Friday, August 12, 2016: American Moving & Storage arrived at 7:00am with four men to move my furniture and belongings. I paid them $1650.00 as quoted and received two receipts as proof of payment from LB (lead mover). They did not provide a contract. They loaded the truck until 10:30am, and then told me that they needed another truck. They informed me at this time that the additional truck would cost $350.00. I told them reluctantly that it would be okay to have another truck since we were scheduled to arrive at my townhome in Alexandria, VA that afternoon by 3:00pm. At 11:30am, Jeremy told the crew to go ahead and leave to drive up to Alexandria, VA, WITHOUT ME HAVING MY CAR and to call my leasing office to get permission to move my belongings into my property in Alexandra. I called the leasing office and got no response. American Moving & Storage did not have my approval to leave and left without me in route to Alexandria. I got my car back at 1:30pm, changed clothes, and left at 2:30pm heading to Alexandria. My cell phone was not fully charged, so it died after I passed Charlottesville, VA. At 5:00pm, I stopped in Warrenton, VA to charge my cell at Starbucks and returned the call from American Moving & Storage. I then called the leasing office in Alexandria and spoke to Johnny (leasing agent). Johnny said he needed an email from me to authorize American Moving & Storage to enter my townhome. I sent the email immediately then drove to Public Storage in Springfield, VA to meet American Moving & Storage to unload several items for storage. After waiting for the movers to unload at Public Storage, I followed them back to my townhouse. The crew had moved some furniture and boxes into my home, but was sitting down waiting for me to tell them where to move the property. They moved from 8:45pm to 11:45pm, but were unable to move anymore items because Jeremy called and told them to stop. Jeremy called and spoke to me at 10:00pm and was angry and out of control. He yelled at me and repeated himself at least five times and said he was worried about his guys so he told them to drop the furniture and don't set up, although setup was included in the $1650.00 fee that I had already paid to their company. The guys left without setting up my bed in the guest bedroom, took boxes and furniture that they did not unload. Additionally, they did not allow me to do an inventory of my furniture; therefore I was not aware of the items that were still on the truck that was now returning to Lynchburg, VA. • Saturday, August 13, 2016: I contacted Jeremy who was still arguing with me and speaking over me. Jeremy finally calmed down and apologized. He told me that he would waive the storage fees, but would charge $95.00 per hour to unload the rest of my furniture at my former home with a minimum of two hours. Jeremy also requested the $1650.00 payment that I had already paid to LB the previous day. • Tuesday, August 16, 2016: Jermaine (American Moving & Storage) called demanding $350.00 from me in advance to move my furniture back to my former home. I told him that I did not have it at this time as I was not prepared. I offered to pay on September 1, 2016. Jermaine did not accept this offer and refused to release my furniture until this amount was paid. I told him I was contacting a legal resource. I was extremely upset with the way I was being treated by Jeremy and Jermaine and also displeased with their service and the way they were handling this matter. My daughter, Michelle Brown called me shortly after I spoke with Jermaine. She knew I was upset and stressed out and offered to intervene on my behalf. My daughter called Jermaine to express her concerns, resolve the matter, and to discuss payment and delivery arrangements of the remaining items to my home in Forest, VA. I had just been informed by Jermaine that I would be charged $95.00 per hour for a two hour minimum to unload my furniture at my former house in Forest, VA. Jermaine informed by daughter that he had misspoken and was charging me for a 2 &1/2 hours minimum. The charged was now $587.50, $47.50 more than what he had just quoted me and what Jeremy quoted me on Saturday, August 13, 2016. Jermaine informed my daughter that it would take 20minutes to ½ hour to unload the furniture. My daughter asked Jermaine to speak with his boss, Jeremy to reconsider the two hour minimum as he previously stated. After several phone calls between my daughter and Jermaine, Jermaine and Jeremy agreed to charge $540.00 as previously stated and they also arranged for the furniture to be delivered on August 17, 2016 with no additional fees. My daughter also requested Jermaine to provide an inventory list of my items that were still in their possession. Jermaine provided this list to my daughter via email. This list included 42 of my 79 boxes and 9 furniture items. • Wednesday, August 17, 2016: American Moving & Storage delivered my furniture, an inventory was performed of the furniture and boxes delivered based on the list that Jermaine provided to my daughter. One of the boxes (Box 8) and a small rug were not delivered. My daughter informed Jermaine of these missing items when he requested payment. My neighbor informed me that it took the movers 20 minutes to unload the truck, yet I was being charged for two hours. Jermaine called my daughter for payment. My daughter informed him that due to the horrible service that they had provided, the mistreatment towards me, the two missing items (Box 8 and small rug) that were not delivered, the additional payment of $540.00 could not be made. RESOLUTION: Because I was 1) unprepared financially to pay an additional $540.00 to American Moving & Storage to transport my furniture and boxes back to my former Forest, VA residence, 2) will be forced to pay for another truck and crew to move my property back to Alexandria the second time, 3) will have to pay for someone to set up my bedroom set, and 4) I am a civil service retiree on a fixed income, I could not pay $540.00 on August 17, 2016 as requested by them. I also observed, as well, as my neighbor, that neither of the moving trucks was full, so the additional truck may have not been needed. I was originally quoted for one 24’ truck with three guys and ended up with two trucks with four guys. I am requesting the following as remedies (Billing Adjustment, Refund and Other) for this Complaint: • Have American Moving & Storage waive the $540.00 and honor the $1650.00 that I have already paid on August 12, 2016 as originally quoted. • Pay me an additional $300.00 to assist in renting another moving company for this egregious service provided to me. Jeremy was quite polite when I first spoke with him to get a quote, but turned out to treat me unprofessionally, rude and verbally abusive. I feel that he took advantage of me because I am a woman and senior citizen left to fend for myself on the moving day. I still have to pay another moving company to finish the job that they did not complete and also pay to have someone set up my furniture that they did not do.

Description of Work
Long Distance Moving

Category moving companies

Cost $1,650

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2016

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry your moms move didn't go as planned but that wasn't the companies fault. We went above and beyond what any other would of done and did it with a smile and no complaints. Honestly the customer's whole statement is false and I think the other all positive reviews reflect that. Also they filled this same complaint with BBB who is biased towards the customer and they immediately dismissed it as completely false.
5.0

04/25/2016

Both teams were great! They were quick and friendly. They were also very accommodating of a schedule that changed a few times and worked around other deliveries that came in at the same time. They made our moving day so much less hectic than it could have been and I would recommend them to anyone! They were all extremely hard workers.

Description of Work
They sent a team of three movers to move up our belongings, stored everything in the truck overnight, and then delivered it at our new home the next day.

Category moving companies

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]for your business we appreciated the opportunity and are happy to hear everything went smoothly! If you every need, or know anyone who needs moving, self storage or clutter removal please keep us mind we appreciate all the work we get. Thanks again from everyone here at American Moving and Storage its customers like you that keep our doors open!
5.0

02/27/2016

Arrived ahead of time and assessed best way to work. Quickly began moving. Took care to ensure nothing was damaged. All movers courteous and intelligent in how they worked. Terrific job!

Description of Work
Moved my mother between small apartments

Category moving companies

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2016

Service Provider Response

Over the top quality moving and storage services is what we try to do each time and it sounds like we delivered! Im happy to hear everything went well and if you ever need any moving or self storage in the future please let us know!
5.0

09/21/2015

Sidney, Dereck, and Dave were fantastic to work with. They arrived on time, walked through the house to see what needed to be moved (select pieces only), planned the order of removal, and then got to work. They were extremely pleasant, with great attitudes, and very careful about walls and floors while removing furniture from the house. Unfortunately, it was raining the entire time, but they covered up each piece before it left the house so nothing would get wet. I'm not positive about the cost because the person receiving the furniture on the other end was footing the bill, but I think it was $120 per hour. They helped ease a stressful situation, so I would absolutely call on this company again and would request these guys in particular.

Description of Work
Moved furniture, weight equipment, boxes, yard tools, and art work from one residence to another.

Category moving companies

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2015

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] I am happy to hear we made a rainy stressful moving situation less stressful for you thats our goal! Please keep in mind that we also have self storage and clutter removal and we do long distance moving all over the country. Thanks again for your business we all appreciate it here at American Moving and Storage very much!
5.0

06/27/2013

They were very prompt & worked quickly!

Description of Work
Moved the contents of a pastor's church office from one church to another.

Category moving companies

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2013

Service Provider Response

Hi, [Member Name Removed] thank you for choosing American Moving and Storage as your trusted Mover! We were happy to assist you with your moving needs and hope we get the honor of continuing to serve you for all your moving and storage need!

Services Offered

We offer quality full service local or long distance moving. if you need just a few items moved or a whole house we can help! If you need clutter to disappear we can help. If you need storage we have you covered with self storage climate & standard units available as well as rv, boat parking. If you need packing supplies we also sell packing supplies from our Waterlick location & can deliver for free!

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No