SLW CONSTRUCTION

About

Founded 1986 • With Angi since November 2010

SLW Construction is a local building contractor that specializes in renovations and remodeling for the past 32 years. We do whole house renovations, room additions, kitchens and bathrooms, basements, replacement windows, roofing and siding, garages, and polebarns. Call for your free

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

12

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (6)plumbers (5)flooring (5)roofing (2)electrician (2)drywall (2)tile installation (2)interior painting (1)home builder (1)hardwood floors (1)
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
5.0

04/28/2022


Philip A.

Sean and his partner Clarenceare very competent craftsmen dedicated to excellence and are like family, having known and worked together much of their professional life, and they higher and manage good speciality contractors. They encountered many challenges in the old construction which they resolved with resourcefulness and completely to our satisfaction. They are friendly and caring. The finished apartment is a work of art and we feel fortunate. In SLW we benefitted from a high-end builder but at an average price. SLW Construction has the high principles, competency, dedication and fair prices of small town businesses of the mid-twentieth century when quality of life was greater.

Description of Work
Complete renovation of basement for a full apartment with bedroom, family room, full bath, full kitchen with full laundry facilities

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2022

5.0

02/26/2020


Ethan S.

Sean is courteous, experienced, honest and driven to produce quality and customer satisfaction. I consistently recommend him to co-workers, neighbors, friends and family.

Description of Work
Sean and his team completed a 1500 sq. ft. finishing of our basement and a complete floor to ceiling remodel of our kitchen.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2020

5.0

12/14/2019


Sheldan C.

SLW Construction has, over a number of years, done projects for us on a variety of properties. Sean Wright and his employees are always a delight to work with, and work is always performed on schedule and to the highest professional standards. Would recommend highly.

Description of Work
several projects - finished basement, roofing, flooring, painting, new kitchen and bathroom.

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2018

5.0

12/12/2019


Lindsay Z.

Everything looks absolutely gorgeous! Finishing work had great attention to detail. Plumbing was corrected to make our chosen bathroom fixtures work for the space. Drywall, paint, ceilings, floors, new french door to outside, new siding and paint outside, new covered porch, all done with professional timing and attitude. They worked with us and gave helpful suggestions and even fit in extra projects along the way. Would definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Renovation after water damage, Bathroom, Basement, Bedroom, Porch, Siding

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $33,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2019

5.0

04/12/2018


Debra P.

It turned out really well.

Description of Work
They remodeled a church.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2018

5.0

04/09/2018


Alice K.

They did a very good. They were professional and came when they had promised. I would definitely use them again and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They installed new hardwood flooring and did repairs to my roof. They also put in a new commode and plumbing in my bathroom.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2018

5.0

04/09/2018


Sonny M.

It was wonderful!

Description of Work
Remodeled 2 bathroom and did some work in the kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2015

3.0

04/05/2018


Carol M.

They work they did is fabulous, slower than expected and cost more than I thought. Older kitchen so some was expected.

Description of Work
They renovated our kitchen and laundry room.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Interesting how 5 years ago when the job happened Ms. [Member Name Removed] rated the experience as "A". The "work completed" date is wrong, as is the scope of work. We "gutted" the entire interior of the home, installing new electrical (including a whole house generator), plumbing, HVAC, insulation, windows and ext. doors, added closets, removed interior walls to open the floorplan, drywall, trim, paint, refinished all floors, new kitchen and bathrooms, and replaced the roof. The custom cabinetry and stone countertops, along with the bathroom's soaker tub, handicap shower, & heated tile floor were really impressive. When Ms. [Member Name Removed] listed the home for sale last year, the first people to look at it purchased it immediately for her listed price.
5.0

04/05/2018


Jessica O.

They did a very good job. The quality of the work was good even with the subcontractors he used. We wish the billing was more transparent but other than that, they were good.

Description of Work
They took out a built in closet and re positioned some duct work into the wall. They also remodeled the bathroom.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2017

4.0

04/05/2018


David T.

Did what they said they were going to do and they were punctual.

Description of Work
9 deck posts.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2018

5.0

04/05/2018


Mrs. J.

Very nice and very happy with him.

Description of Work
Outdoor lighting light on the deck and one the in yard.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2018

5.0

03/14/2018


carolyn N.

Very good. Friendly, professional, and fair pricing.

Description of Work
He replaced my garbage disposal and 4 outside lights.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2018

5.0

03/14/2018


judy B.

It worked out very well.

Description of Work
They removed shoe molding on the back of my house to cover a gap. Patched a ceiling crack.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2017

5.0

05/04/2013


Carol J.

Sean Wright was always professional, prompt, courteous, friendly, and very helpful. I was not sure of some things I wanted to do and Sean made suggestions of various options I had not thought of, then talked through the pros and cons of each idea until I came up with a decision of what would work best for me and what I wanted to accomplish. This was invaluable in helping me manage the costs. The work he and his team did was excellent quality and they cleaned up every day before they left, and made it as easy as possible for me to live in the house while it was being renovated/remodeled. The subcontractors were also good for the most part. The plumber and HVAC people were competent and completed their work in a timely manner and the pricing was reasonable. The cabinet maker was excellent. He built custom kitchen and bathroom cabinets to my design and measurements and installed them for less than half what Lowes had quoted for similar cabinets and they look great. The electrical contractor, Kennedy Electric did good work but the price was twice what I had expected and took months longer than it should have. I would not hesitate to recommend SLW for any size construction or remodeling job. I will be contacting them again later in the summer for some work on the exterior of the house.

Description of Work
Did complete interior renovation of my home which was built in 1930 and had not been updated in over 20 years. I was living in the house while it was rebuilt basically from the outside walls in. All old paneling, drop ceilings, drywall, insulation, plumbing and electrical was removed and hauled away. The old small bath was converted to a half bath, and the previous porch converted to a new full bath. Another porch was converted to a breakfast room and laundry room. This required raising the floor on one porch by 2 inches and replacing the joists and subfloor on the other. New wiring, plumbing, HVAC ductwork, insulation, drywall, kitchen vinyl flooring, ceramic tile bath floor and tub surround, new kitchen cabinets and countertops, replacing old wood windows, and refinishing the original heart pine floors in the living, dining, hall, and both bedrooms. They also had to rework the aluminum siding around the windows and new electric service into the house.

Category home builders

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2013

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    PO BOX 397

    Lovingston, VA 22949

    Tuesday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Website

    http://slwconstructionva.com

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705005379
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    10/31/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SLW CONSTRUCTION

    How is SLW CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    SLW CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are SLW CONSTRUCTION open?

    SLW CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Does SLW CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, SLW CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does SLW CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, SLW CONSTRUCTION does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SLW CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, SLW CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SLW CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, SLW CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by SLW CONSTRUCTION?

    Yes, SLW CONSTRUCTION offers warranties.

    What services does SLW CONSTRUCTION offer?

    SLW CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: Any residential or light commercial construction related construction.