Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA

Founded 1965 • With Angi since July 2006

3.7

(97) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8382 Terminal Rd Suite B

Lorton, VA 22079

Description

Additional phone numbers - (804) 674-4100. Additional e-mail - midatlantic@basements.com. Voice Star Number- (302) 525-0055

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/03/2019


Nedal S.

I signed a contract with them in January 2019 and paid a deposit. They never contacted me again until the contract expired. Five months later and I still didn't get my deposit back.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

12/17/2018


Sue A.

Strong arm bullies. They don’t take no for an answer. Their business model seems to be annoy the prospective customer.

Description of Work
Another hard sell. They came to our home and gave us an estimate in October. A couple of weeks later they wanted to send someone else out. The second person lowered the cost by about 30%. We said we’d think it over. He told us he was the designated closer, and he needed a signed contract on the spot. We refused and forced him to leave. It’s now late December, and we still get sales frequent calls from them.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

02/25/2018


Claudia F.

They were suppose to be at my home for an estimate 2/12/18 called night before, cannot make it. Rescheduled for 2/19/18 called 1 hour before and said cannot make it. I was furious with them. I decided to give them ONE LAST chance. Rescheduled for 2/23/18 called and left a message that my home was too far away. They are so unprofessional. Heard good things about them but after 3 times of not showing up for the estimate, I was definitely not trusting them with tearing up my basement. POOR EXCUSE FOR A PROFESSIONAL COMPANY.

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing estimate

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

2.0

02/17/2018


Amber B.

I spoke with Zachary on Saturday afternoon at 2:PM 17 Feb 2018. Once, again, we are being harassed by Mid Atlantic Waterproofing. After the initial visit on Tuesday 28th of November, 2017 we have not been able to shake them. They are like skunk stick: hard to get rid of. We don’t blame the young appointment takers making the calls, we blame the poor business model that is harassing customers away. But, their poor business model contaminates the whole company. After the last dozen +plus phone calls over the past 90 days where I stated I do not want to do business with Mid Atlantic Waterproofing, I am still getting harassing phone calls. Mid Atlantic Waterproofing continues to display a lack of concern for the convenience of their customers. This is in addition to disrespecting their customer’s time at the initial house visit. For example, when I stated there was no need for *both* my husband and I to interrupt our scheduled day, they wanted to challenge us, insisting we both be present for the sales call. Rude - bossy, disrespectful of customer wishes, failure to listen to the what the customer wants. Mid Atlantic Waterproofing continued trying to shoe-horn us into a “one system fits all”, that is not want we need or want. MidAtlantic Waterproofing wants both of us to waste time listening to the boring and droning hour +plus long sales pitch for an overpriced waterproofing system. ($24k for 1,600 SF home located near the top of a hill; We have great drainage) After the sales person finally left, my husband and I both agreed I would be the one in charge of making the final decision and he wouldn’t waste his time, again. I have repeatedly asked to be removed from their harassing call list. I promise we will not do business with Mid Atlantic Waterproofing. There is no financial incentive for the harassment to continue. I have repeatedly asked to be put on a “DO Not Call” list; yet, the harassment continues. It is the middle of February 2018. Other companies are appreciative to have customers interested in them. Other companies are respectful of their customers time. Other companies are adaptive and provide custom recommendations AFTER LISTENING to the customer. Go with another company.

Description of Work
crawlspace insulation & encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Hello Ms. [Member Name Removed], We have put you on our "Do Not Call" list. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing Customer Service
1.0

12/05/2017


Laura A.

The worst experience is their phone staff, especially the guy "Zach" or something. They kept bullying us to have both owners out - when I explained that wasn't going to happen -they kept calling. The guy who came out was nice, but never gave us an estimate. Was supposed to send and never arrived...They wanted someone to come out with a better estimate - and then wanted a time window. Finally I had to block them from my caller list - first time I've ever done that. I knew from the way they were on the phone, I'd never do business with them. Such poor business practices - unbelievable. They must be desperate for work to harass the customers - but I'm not sure it works for them. My advise - send your staff to Disney customer service training. Amber was nice... but the follow up guy needs some help.....

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

10/23/2017


Chantal B.

They are professional, honest and truthful. The salesperson understood what exactly needed to be done. He recommended excavating and installing a sump pump. The problem is resolved. I would highly recommend their service. Their website is very informative. They left the house clean inside and out.

Description of Work
They waterproofed the basement and installed a sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing

2.0

06/26/2016


Lisa W.

We had a very disappointing experience with Mid-Atlantic. They came highly recommended by a neighbor who's used them since 1996, so we didn't look them up on Angie's List, which we later regretted. They gave us a high-pressure but very informative sales pitch on 05/13/2016, and their price for interior waterproofing was half of the quote we got for exterior waterproofing from a competitor. We signed up for their priority installation because we had an ongoing leak that we needed fixed right away. The first crew came on 05/22/2016 to begin installation and worked all that day and the next. They put down sheets to protect our floors but still managed to get mud on our stairs, carpet, and walls. They also neglected to clean up the pee they left on our toilet seats and left the door wide open in the rain most of the day even though we asked them to keep it closed. On day 2, an inspector showed up according to schedule and failed the project because the outlet pipe emptied into our yard directly above the place where it was leaking. No one from Mid-Atlantic showed up according to our pre-arranged schedule, and no one called us to tell us what was going on. We called several times the next day, and they finally showed up well after the window of time we were promised. The foreman never appeared, although he did call when we couldn't communicate with any of the non-English speakers on the team--asking us to cut them a check before final inspection was complete. We had noticed that they still hadn’t tied the outlet pipe into the drainage line literally touching it. The foreman couldn’t give us a reasonable explanation why this hadn’t been done. He did, however, point out that everything had been cemented into place and it was essentially too late to change it now. During this conversation, one of the workers opened the gate and let our dog puppy out into the street. He didn't bother trying to help us get him get him off the street. The following day, another inspector came and failed them again. Instead of making the drain pipe go uphill as the previous inspector had required, they extended it 1.5 feet into the yard, again directly above the leak. The crew didn’t show up again, and no one in the office called. We called the project manager that evening to find out what was going on, and he seemed perplexed that we had failed inspection, not once but twice. Mid-Atlantic ultimately sent a service tech, who shook his head at what he saw. He tried to tie the outlet pipe into our drainage pipe and left afterward. The following day, we got a knock on our back patio door—much to our surprise, a two-person service crew was coming back to work. The tech from the previous day said that we had failed inspection again (the inspector had come and gone without our knowledge). The crew planned on running a PVC pipe on top of our lawn, across our entire backyard, but we didn’t want exposed PVC pipe across our backyard. We finally convinced them to go back to the original plan, which was to tie the outlet pipe into our existing drainage. They got everything in working order, tested it out, and cleaned up a bit of the mud when they overheard us complaining about it. The next day, it passed inspection. When the project was completed, we discovered that the back-up battery, which we understood would be the size of a brick, was the size of a mini fridge and was so loud when it turned on for 15 minutes every hour that we could hear it 2 floors up with the door closed. After many phone calls and a lot of negotiating, we convinced Mid-Atlantic to take it back and return our money. They also agreed to pay us a $300 cleaning fee. A few weeks and several additional phone calls later reminding them that they agreed to this, the project manager came out to deliver the check in person. He himself said that the tiles on the floor and the drywall in the basement were damaged more than required by the project. In the end, we got some of our money back and the basement is waterproof, as far as we can tell. That is the only reason we gave Mid-Atlantic a D instead of an F: they eventually made things right--after we forced their hand.

Description of Work
Interior waterproofing, specifically inserted French drain and sump pump

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

04/12/2016


Beth G.

They were great. A little salesman like in the start, but they were able to answer all questions and the day of the work to be done they were on time and did it quickly.

Description of Work
Put in a water management system on 2 basement walls.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

09/07/2015


Avery S.

We live in a townhouse. We discovered we had 3 concurrent issues, and the salesperson at Mid-Atlantic was the most helpful in determining what issues needed what solution. We decided to go with them based on their suggested solution, after 3 estimates. A friend in MD had also used this company for a repair that was over $25000 and with good results, so we felt they were trustworthy. We were scheduled for a certain date. As the solution suggested required jackhammering our basement concrete, we made arrangements to move kids and puppy out of the house and notified neighbors. The first time they cancelled, it was because another job was not approved by the county inspector, and they weren't able to move the crew to our house. No problem, these things happen, and we rescheduled for the following week. The second time they cancelled, it was because one of their employees wrote down our construction dates wrong. Ugh. The third time, they came at the time scheduled and worked through the day. The crew was fine, though the foreman was the primary English speaker and kept leaving. The communication wasn't great through the work period of this project - there was no night before confirmation call, no overview of what would happen or the hours the crew would keep. The quality control manager came by and determined the pipes connecting two different drainage systems to one sump pump were not actually connected, and fixed that on day 2. I had an issue with water forming a puddle where they had "waterproofed" and I called and left a message. I was concerned as I did not receive a call back and had to follow up with them to fix this issue. I was pleased when the production manager came to my house himself to help fix the issue (which revolved around my utility sink, apparently not around the work they did). I am hopeful that has fixed the issue. Overall, I would say my experience has been good. I wouldn't say it has been an amazing experience, but I would also say that fair effort has been made to rectify problems as they arose. Their price was good and I feel that the solution they suggested to our particular problem was the best and most comprehensive of the estimates we received.

Description of Work
providing a waterproofing system in our basement to address water seepage

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

05/16/2015


Aaron S.

The original inspector might have been new, but he didn't seem too knowledgeable about the product and tried to oversell us a system we really didn't need to solve our water problem. We let a second inspector come out and re-visit the problem. He saw right away what we really needed and helped us find the right solution. The crew was quick and professional, completing the whole project in two days.

Description of Work
The flow of water down the exterior stairs to my basement door overwhelmed the original drain system, causing water to fill the bottom of the stairs until it flowed over the sill, flooding the basement. Mid-Atlantic installed a new exterior drain at the bottom of the stairs, a new interior drain along the wall the stairs are located on, and a new drain pump for the drains to empty into.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

5.0

02/17/2015


Gerard K.

I discovered that the original drainage system in the house had been installed incorrectly (they used unperforated pipe, so the water could not be collected). Mid-Atlantic dug a trench in the basement floor and installed a new system. They came back twice in the next few months to correct minor leaks and, as stated above, replaced a sump pump under warranty. So far (for nearly seven years) the basement has remained dry.

Description of Work
Replaced underfloor drainage system in the basement, patched leaks in walls and installed two sump pumps. In 2014, replaced a bad sump pump at no charge.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

5.0

02/03/2015


Richard M.

Mid-Atlantic provided a solution which is guaranteed to last for the life of the house. The workman worked very hard to contain the dust and clean up after they were done. Our basement is dry!

Description of Work
They installed a drainage system in the basement along the front wall of the house which solved an ongoing water leakage problem.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

5.0

01/14/2015


Gary M.

They didn't do the work, but they've been very responsive and professional. The people they sent knew exactly what they were talking about and immediately developed a plan of action. I was the one that delayed the project, but they'll be doing the work in March.

Description of Work
I'm contracting them to do some waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

5.0

11/14/2014


Donna W.

The past year we discovered damp walls in our basement. While this was not a major problem, we were concerned that it could become major. We looked at several waterproofing companies. Mid Atlantic Waterproofing was the first company we talked to and decided not to talk to the other companies. We met with Scott Summers and were impressed with the time he took to explain how the problem would be solved using the Hydro-Trac System. He spent time with us going through the basement, asking and answering questions. We agreed to have the Hydro-Trac System with a sump pump installed in our basement On the first day of work, Mike Forman, walked us through what he and his crew would be doing. The crew (Bernie Carr, Trevor Rojas and Zach Elliott) arrived promptly and began setting up to begin their work. All the men worked efficiently and professionally. Everyone had a job and they did it well. They even didn?t mind me showing up to take photos. At the end of each day, they cleaned up before they left. Mike and Bernie answered any and all questions we had during the process. They were very patient and helpful. On the last day of the job, Manuel Rojas joined the crew. Everyone was well mannered and pleasant throughout this whole process. The workmanship was excellent. We were very pleased with this experience. We would certainly recommend the company to anyone with a wet basement problem

Description of Work
Fixed damp basement problem by installing a second sump pump along with Hydro-trac system.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

4.0

11/13/2014


Roy S.

I would advise not to take their first offer. They started with $9000, and I said no thank you, and then they called back with an offer of $7000, and I said no, and the week after the VP called. They did good work.

Description of Work
I used Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing.They fixed a crack in the basement wall.

Category foundation repair

1.0

09/10/2014


Byron H.

This company seems to have the attitude that once the installation has been done the customer can be forgotten. Beginning with the person who answers the phone (employee or answering service ?) getting questions answered about the system or even knowing the names of the service personnel was something of a mystery. During a heavy downpour the sump pump system began to fail and water was gushing up from where the sump pump was installed. On calling the company, the person taking the call said they could not do anything - company policy - to help, as the warranty, even though transferable to a new home owner, had not been transferred and a service technician could not respond. Later calls to our real estate agent, the previous owner and the company quickly resolved that but still no technician could come out for at least a couple of weeks. When the technician did come (at no charge) on the day but over an hour later than the time period set, he was able to answer many questions but not all as he had not installed the system nor did he bring the original installation documents as had been requested on three occasions. I called the company after the technician left to try to get the questions answered and was able to talk to someone who described the system but was uncertain as to what the electrical system needed. I arranged for an electrician to come and the day before asked the call taker to be sure to have the service dept call so I could explain to the electrician what kind of pumps had been installed. I was assured that some one would call. No one called. In my conversation with the technician I had indicated that we might need to upgrade the system if it was failing during heavy rain. Still something of a mystery why the system did fail but you can be sure I wont call Mid Atlantic to try to solve it.

Description of Work
After refusing to respond to an emergency call on 8/11 due to the basement flooding, a technician came out to inspect the system on 9/2. The system was installed in 2011 and carried a warranty for several years but because the warranty had not been transferred from the previous owner of the home to us the service dept refused to come out on the day of the flood even though that later on that day we were able to get the previous owner to take care of transferring the warranty.

Category water damage restoration, basement waterproofing

1.0

08/31/2014


William C.

I had inspections and estimates provided by eleven waterproofing companies over the course of roughly one month. ...These guys were the very worst. If I had to sum the experience up in one word it would be "sleazy." I had an initial estimate date scheduled for 27 May at 8 P.M. They called that afternoon to cancel and reschedule for 2 June. On 2 June the initial estimate was completed. The salesman (and I mean salesman) actually didn't seem like a bad guy; he took some time to look over a few things before measuring the basement perimeter and giving us a long pitch on why we didn't want other companies' services, we wanted Mid-Atlantic's services. He talked about Mid-Atlantic's proprietary systems and how they were better than others, showed us a video, and gave us an outrageous "comparison quote" for exterior waterproofing (and I mean outrageous - it was something silly, like 3x as much as what exterior waterproofing would actually cost as I had gotten a quote for it before speaking to an interior waterproofing company) before giving us his highball quote for interior waterproofing. He explained that if we signed up we could opt for priority (i.e. you lock in a date) or non-priority (i.e. you don't lock in a date) installation but that priority was obviously a premium charge. Then he left. A week later Mid-Atlantic called back and said they'd send a "more experienced" manager out to see if he could save us some money as they had some deals they were running. Seriously, Mid-Atlantic, if you're going to tell people they can save money because you are "running deals" don't make the second salesperson simply come out and claim - "flabbergasted" at the mistake - that the first guy measured incorrectly and that the new measurements meant we'd save money. That's not a "deal" on equipment pricing or discounts or financing, et al. That's you guys being sloppy in your sleazy sales tactics. Either that or you employ incompetent sales staff who can't measure and add correctly. Your call. About two weeks after that inspection, Mid-Atlantic called back and said they had gotten some "breaks" from their suppliers which could result in even lower prices for system installation if we wanted another salesperson to come out and take a look. No thanks. I hung up on him. That didn't stop Mid-Atlantic from calling me... Again, and again, and again, and again. They didn't even leave messages when they did call; I just started to recognize the number. Finally, after probably 8 unanswered calls, I picked up and told them in no uncertain terms not to contact me again. What a joke. To be honest I thought I recognized a song-and-dance with the first salesperson but truly wondered if Mid-Atlantic was that bad and decided to let the second guy come back. Well, fool me once shame on me. Fool me twice and I'll just write down that your company is ridiculous. No surprise, I went with another company (Value Dry) and was not disappointed in their work.

Description of Work
Provided an "inspection" and estimate for interior waterproofing services

Category basement waterproofing

2.0

08/05/2014


STACEY A.

They were fast in calling back and setting up the appt. The salesman used all the crappy used car salemanship to get us to sign that night including the phrase "Oh, I didn't know you were going to shop around" followed by a discount. Eventually they discounted the work to a reasonable level and we signed the following week. The workers showed up at the time frame I was told and worked very hard throughout the day. There was one fellow who spoke English, but not well enough to answer some questions. I was not consulted about the location of the pump, (my problem for trusting that the work would be considerate of aesthetics), there was no communication about the following days schedule. At mid morning I called and was informed that the inspector was scheduled to come and I should call back after it passed. I wasn't aware that I was waiting for an inspector, nor that I was to call following, nor any time frame for the inspector to show (sometime between 7:30AM and 4:30 pm.). When the inspector came, the crew came as well. The crew didn't have enough concrete to finish the basement and had to go out for more. The concrete poured in my family room is uneven and rough. The crew while cleaning out their wheelbarrow needed to be told not to dump it in the grass! In short, I'm sure the basement will be waterproof. I'm also sure that I will NOT recommend this company to anyone. Update! Chris from Mid-Atlantic was very responsive after this review was published. He called and while the pump was not moved, he had a crew come out and tear up and repair our the concrete so that it was more level. The drain pipe that was left mid-wall was pulled out and replaced in a way that it was no longer visible. He also arranged for a check to cover some of the drywall repair as the first crew wasn't particularly concerned about how much of it they cut out. While Chris was as helpful as he could possibly be (he personally visited my home several times to evaluate the damage), and all of the concerns I had that could be addressed were addressed; The final inspector came just last month finishing up a 6 month process, I still can't in good conscience recommend this company.

Description of Work
Dug outside my chimney and wrapped it. Dug a french drain inside the basement along one wall. Installed pump.

Category basement waterproofing

3.0

07/21/2014


Cynthia E.

Initial contact with estimator went very well. He was very personable, walked me through the entire process and answered all of my questions. The issues came after the contract was signed. The estimator arrived at my house on a Tuesday (late afternoon) and by the time we were done it was early evening. He said that he would finish the paperwork and have my information back to the office by Thursday and that I could expect a phone call by end of day Friday to schedule the work. After waiting for several days I called the office to speak to the person that does the scheduling. They took my information and said I would be called. Needless to say this back and forth went on for several days. Finally after two weeks from the original meeting I received the call I was waiting for and the work was scheduled. The work was due to start of Monday, July 7 and I was a little surprised that I did not receive a reminder phone call, especially since the prior weekend was the 4th of July holiday. On the 7th I called the office to find out what time the crew was to show up and was told that their window of arrival was between 8 - 10 am. The crew showed up just before 10 the first morning and around 9:15 the rest of the week. This after each evening the project lead said they would be at my place 8:30 the following morning. When I spoke with the scheduler I was told that they job would take 3 days, with the county inspecting coming on the 3rd day. When the inspector arrived the job was not complete and he failed the inspection. So, day 4 the crew was back to finish the outstanding work and the inspector returned on day 5. Finally two days after the original time frame my basement was complete. Today I am now waiting for someone to come back to remount the wall shelving that was removed which I was told would not need to come down to complete the job.

Description of Work
Provider was hired to waterproof the basement at my primary residence. This included all exterior walls, installing three sump pumps, and three window wells.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

It is our understanding that your concerns have been taken care of. If any future issues arise, please feel free to contact us. Sincerely, Mid-Atlantic Customer Service Team
4.0

05/29/2014


shantanu B.

It was great when the rep came initially and the second time. He was quite professional. We did not perform the work with them, but rating my overall experience as B because of the initial communication gaps and mismanagement of expectation.

Description of Work
Since my review on Angie's List, Mid-Atlantic reached out to us and scheduled a visit for the estimate. Apparently there were disconnects between the representative (who as on vacation at the time) and the customer service folks who said the rep will get in touch with us. When the rep came back for the estimate, he was nice and professional. He provided an estimate, and since we were not ready to commit immediately (were waiting on two more inspections), he said he would come back again once we are. My initial experience: I called for an estimate and a representative showed up at the scheduled time and gave us an estimate. He was supposed to call us back to schedule the appointment. We received calls to confirm from the company, but never received any call from the representative who would schedule the work. We called the company multiple times and we're told the rep will get in touch with us, and it has been 2weeks since the estimate, still no call.

Category basement waterproofing

3.0

05/07/2014


Gary R.

This company has a "unique" pricing structure. They had a person come out and give us an estimate as requested. This person was very nice, and did his best to recommend an interior drainage solution that was not over kill or unnecessary. But this is when things got weird. The price he first quoted me was for about $10,200. He asked if I was flexible in delivery date of services. I said yes. He then said they had a 2 day opening come up in their calendar the following week due to a cancellation, and if my calendar would allow it they could squeeze me into that slot and further discount the price down to about $9,200. I told the guy I would think about it, as I wanted to wait and see what the other estimates would come in at. The next day or two the guy asks me to call him back. I called him and he said they really wanted to fill this space in their calendar, and that they would drop the price to $8,600 if I said yes. I again said thanks, but I was waiting on a couple more estimates. Then another day or so passes, and I get a call from someone else in this company, saying their Operations Chief (something like that) wanted to come out and speak with me for a few minutes, as they thought their estimator grossly overestimated the cost of the project. I decided to meet with him, and hear what they had to say. After a lengthy open and honest discussion, he ended up saying the price of $8,600 was in fact the best they could do. I said fine, and thank you, and I was waiting for one final estimate before making my decision. It was during this discussion when he informed me about their approach to pricing jobs based not only on complexity but also flexibility of schedule, and how their goal is to maximize productivity by keeping their teams working on projects 5 days a week. Both of the guys I met with were friendly, professional, and engaging. I have no problem with them, just the business approach of the company as a whole I guess. I understand their approach. I get it. It just did not come across very well and I had a hard time trusting them after that.

Description of Work
We did not use this company.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that you felt our business pricing model was unprofessional. We use the same as many other industries. For example, airline s will offer discounts in order to ensure that all of the seats are full on every flight. We want to keep our schedule full, so we will offer standby pricing in order to fill in the gaps.
1.0

04/08/2014


Philip B.

I had cancelled a free exterior inspection that I originally scheduled at the Home and Garden Show at the Washington Expo Center. Since then I have received at least three, sometimes four calls a day with no messages left from this company. I find this harassing and suggest they be kicked off Angies list.

Description of Work
I had cancelled a free exterior inspection that I originally scheduled at the Home and Garden Show at the Washington Expo Center. Since then I have received at least three, sometimes four calls a day with no messages left from this company. I find this harassing and suggest they be kicked off Angies list.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Mid-Atlantic complies with all Do Not Call guidelines. As soon as this customer asked us, through Angie’s List because they never did by phone, they were placed on our Do Not Call list.
5.0

04/02/2014


John G.

We had water damage in our finished basement. The technician from the water damage restoration company thought that water was leaking through the basement wall where the main water line enters the house. We called several companies who provide foundation and water proofing service, and Mid-Atlantic provided the earliest appointment. The inspector arrived on time - and although my wife and i were a few minutes late, he was very gracious and understanding. He inspected the area where water was leaking, and diagnosed a plumbing leak as the cause of the problem. He took the time to explain to me the evidence for this and his decision-making process. He then walked around the perimeter of the house and identified a few spots that might cause trouble in the future if not addressed. He e-mailed me a copy of his report, and sent it again after I deleted it from my e-mail account - excellent customer service. We had a plumber come out and repair the pipe - and no more leak. He was friendly, thorough and honest. Based on this experience, I would recommend consulting Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing.

Description of Work
Inspected a leak in our basement and determined source of leak

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

2.0

03/24/2014


john M.

Inspector arrived roughly on time, was very courteous and friendly. Inspected affected area of basement with hygrometer, noted higher humidity (20%+) in cement block walls. Noted cracks in mortar joints. Advised on some other issues he noted in basement. Retired from basement to living room. Inspector gave informative presentation regarding causes of water penetration, and several alternatives for treatment, explaining (dis)advantages as pertinent. So far, so good. Gave estimates for work. Exterior system for approximately 40 linear feet at $12K; interior water management system at $6K. Some pressure to sign contract then and there, offering a stand-by slot for ~10% discount, intimating low availability of such slots and that we would do well to sign right away if one available. This is a standard tactic, we were not swayed. We were uncomfortable with signing right away, wanted to get more estimates. An even better-rated company from Angie's List estimated the interior water management system at $2600. Price differential between two companies staggering - slightly larger scope of work for second company, same procedure, same guarantee of work and warranty. Have been receiving calls from an unfamiliar number, about twice a day, sometimes at nearly 9 pm, for nearly two months now. Looked up number - Mid-Atlantic. No voice mails left, only repeated calls. Unacceptable - checked call logs to ensure not exaggerating. In summation: Courteous and professional inspector, excessively high cost, borderline harassment "follow-up" calls.

Description of Work
Inspected basement in area which leaks during heavy rains. Provided descriptions of and estimates for options for work.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that we could not earn your business. Being the top waterproofer in the nation, we are passionate about our product. You have been placed on our Do Not Call list.
4.0

03/12/2014


Erika K.

We had a leak in our basement closet, had already had some drywall removed and mold abated. We needed interior and exterior work done, so we asked Mid-Atlantic of VA to come out and give an estimate for repair. It was scheduled for a Saturday, when my husband would be home, because BOTH HOMEOWNERS MUST BE PRESENT. Unfortunately, my husband had an extremely later than usual night working, so I told him to sleep in. It was too late to cancel, my father was visiting and I figured that he and I should be enough for the salesman, considering my husband was present, albeit sleeping upstairs. Considering I've made all the decisions concerning our home on my own up to this point, I didn't think there would be a major problem (My knowledge of home repair and maintenance far, far, FAR exceeds my husband's - he can barely change a light bulb - so he would've contributed nothing to the conversation, anyway). The salesman looked around inside and outside, and essentially said he couldn't discuss anything, because my husband wasn't available and BOTH HOMEOWNERS MUST BE PRESENT. He seemed a tad annoyed (understandable, I suppose), and I'm surprised he didn't ask me to wake up my husband, but I wasn't about to do that, anyway. I fibbed and told the salesman I'd get back in touch with him for another date when BOTH HOMEOWNERS WERE PRESENT. In all honesty, I should've told him right then that we were no longer interested in Mid-Atlantic's services. But I didn't, and figured the company would get the hint after a week or so. NOPE. Since then, Mid-Atlantic has called me at least once a week (usually twice), every week, at all times of day and night (until just before 9 pm, the legal cut-off time). Today is March 12, 2014. My caller ID has calls back until February 17, 2014 - Mid-Atlantic has called me EIGHT TIMES. And that's just this past month. This has been going on since early July 2013. Granted, shame on me for not answering the phone, but if I left someone a message or two, and they never responded...I'd get the hint after the last message was left and ignored. Why haven't I answered the phone since then? Because I refuse to be rude and disrespectful over phone, and I'd probably scream at the poor person on the other end - it's just been far, far, FAR too long for a company to be bothering someone. I know everyone is only doing their job, from our initial salesman on down to whomever has been making the calls, but please, please, PLEASE stop. Funny thing is that 99% of their calls occur when my husband IS NOT HOME! :P

Description of Work
*******UPDATE!!!!******* They stopped calling me the very day I submitted this review. I changed their overall grade to B because, honestly, an F was uncalled for (no pun intended) and I'm very sorry. Their responsiveness is now an A because, they sure were responsive! VERY responsive. I changed professionalism to B because they responded so quickly in the end. Thank you, Mid-Atlantic for YOUR apology (which I honestly didn't deserve) and PLEASE accept MINE. I completely understand your policies and totally respect them...I guess I just got caught up in the moment with all the phone calls, and the fact that I make all the home repair decisions, not my husband. I am so sorry. I should've just answered the calls and said "no thank you." --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A salesman showed up to give a very hard-sell, would tell me nothing regarding an estimate until he could meet with BOTH my husband and me ("both homeowners must be present"), and they have called me at least twice a week since then - for almost NINE months! I can get the phone records to prove it if needed. And they have NEVER left a message - at least not since last July.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We apologize for any inconvenience that we caused. We ask that all homeowners are present so that all questions can be asked at that time. We comply with all Federal Do Not Call regulations and you have been added to our Do Not Call list.

    Other local Pros in your area

    J Reynolds Landscaping

    J Reynolds Landscaping was created to provide the Northern Virginia area with the highest quality installation of landscaping materials possible. The Owner, Matt Meyer along with Jason Reynolds, has been installing custom designs right here in the northern Virginia area for over 18 years. With a reputation for excellence, the highest quality customer service, master craftsmanship and fair pricing. A design expert will come to your home and provide you with a free consultation and estimate for your homes unique needs. J Reynolds Landscaping will then provide you with the professional installation of the materials that you have chosen for your home. We differ from other Landscaping companies because we: - Never sub-contract any portion of the job. - A design expert is physically on every job site. - Your job is completed before any other job has been started. - We have no day laborers. - We are licensed and insured. - Estimates are always free. - All installers have at least 3 years of experience.  

    Angi Certified

    Exterior Waterproofing Experts

    Exterior Waterproofing Experts is a Class A General Contractor in the state of Virginia since 1997. Our service protects your home against wet basements, water leaks, flooding, water seepage, foundation leaking, and wall seepage. We have been doing subcontract grading and drainage work for many years. We have completed many waterproofing contracts for residents of Fairfax County, including: Fairfax, Alexandria, Arlington, McLean, Great Falls, Potomac, and Vienna, Virginia (VA). We are now offering to work directly for clients, passing the savings on to the homeowners. It is our belief that water problems are best solved from the outside before water gets into your home.  

    Angi Certified

    Premium Drainage & Erosion Solutions

    If you're looking for honesty and quality workmanship, you've come to the right place. Our specialty is drainage and landscaping, but whether a property needs storm drains, french drains, sump pumps, grading, leveling, excavation, patios, creative guttering for water removal or landscaping, we do all of the above with guaranteed results! Get in touch today for a consultation, and help us help you come up with the perfect drainage solution for your home or business!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement waterproofing, crawlspace & foundation, structural repair & wet basements.

    Services Not Offered

    Finish basements.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA

    How is Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA overall rated?

    Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA open?

    Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA provide

    Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offers free project estimates.

    Does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offer a senior discount?

    No, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA?

    Yes, Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offers warranties.

    What services does Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offer?

    Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, crawlspace & foundation, structural repair & wet basements.

    Are there any services Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of VA does not offer?

    Finish basements.