Independence Landscape

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since May 2012

Independence Landscape is a full service landscape and lawn care company based in Northern Virginia. We offer a full range of services, from maintenance to landscape design and installation, to custom hardscape projects. Each of our crews specialize in a specific skill set, which ensures quality of

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(199) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

177

4

11

3

5

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (159)lawn care (97)hardscaping (51)mulch delivering (48)lawn treatment (40)drain pipe installation (27)stone & gravel (24)Patios (19)tree service (16)leaf removal (12)basement waterproofing (5)excavating (4)
Showing 1-25 of 199 reviews
5.0

09/05/2022


Garrett W.

Ben, Connor, and the entire Independence Landscape Team are absolute masters at their craft and some of the most professional, responsive individuals I’ve ever worked on a project with. The job included designing/redoing our frontyard bed, installing downspouts, building a 330 square foot backyard patio bordered by a dry creek, installing natural stone steps leading up to the patio, and designing/executing new backyard landscape beds. Our backyard - which is on a slope and not a huge space to begin with - looks out onto a shared driveway. Given that, my wife and I struggled with how to create a sense of privacy in our backyard without having a fence installed. Of all the professionals we met with initially, Ben, our Project Manager and Connor, who did a lot of the design work, had the clearest vision of how to get it done. Both were mindful and in tune with what was important to my wife and I. Both were creative in working within the parameters of our space to deliver what is in my opinion, the very best job that anyone could have done. Big credit to the the teams that came out and did the work as well, Cheto included. The results are stunning and my wife and I couldn’t be happier.

Description of Work
Front and Backyard Beds, Patio Install, Natural Stone Steps

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2022

Images

Review for Independence Landscape - 9910 Richmond Hwy, Lorton, VA - 39860932

+3 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for leaving this glowing review! Your project turned out beautifully, and we are thrilled that you're so happy with the process, start to finish. We will be sure to share your words with Ben, Connor, Cheto and the rest of the crew. We hope you and your family enjoy your time outside this Fall. Thanks again for choosing Independence and for taking the time to share your experience!
5.0

01/01/2022


Asha B.

Ben and Jorge and his crew are THE BEST!! Our garden was a real issue for us and we've been wanting to upgrade for literally years. Chad worked closely with us on this project several years ago. He made the process so easy, discussed options with us and came back with a design we were very happy with. Then we had to pause the project (new baby on the way). We came back to it late this year and this time we worked with Ben. He was such a *pleasure* to work with! We pulled out the original design to review, and he helped us make a couple of adjustments to reflect our evolving tastes. Ben was knowledgeable, creative and thoughtful, finding solutions to fit our new lifestyle. I had about a million questions and he answered each and every one quickly and thoroughly. He was almost as excited for our project as we were! On installation day, Ben showed up right on time with Jorge (project foreman) and his crew. Let me tell you, they were FABULOUS! Professional, efficient, meticulous - Jorge and his guys completed the entire job in just over six hours. They took absolute pride in their work, and simply transformed the exterior or our house. I'm beyond thrilled with the results - my neighbor caught me doing the happy dance in the middle of my front yard before the crew was even finished. We've already got our sights on the next project, and Ben will be the first person we call as soon as we're ready! Thank you, Ben and Jorge!

Description of Work
Garden installation

Category landscaping, lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], this review is the best possible start to our new year! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Ben, Jorge and his crew are awesome, and our whole team here strives to provide that kind of service. Your project turned out beautifully, and we're thrilled that it made you happy enough to dance! Happy New Year, and stay warm in this blizzard.
5.0

12/15/2021


Adrienne P.

Our yard was in need of a serious make-over and Mark and the team from Independence did a great job. From estimate to install, Mark kept us updated, answered all our questions and the final product is beautiful. We would strongly recommend them to others and will also be using them come the Spring for additional work.

Description of Work
Complete yard rehab

Category landscaping

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here. Communication with our clients is top priority, and our crews are diligent to keep things tidy as they work. We will be sure to pass along the compliments to Modesto, Oscar Rene and Brandon. We're excited to continue serving you for lawn maintenance! Thanks again, and happy holidays.
5.0

10/11/2021


Theresa W.

Ben Rupert was instrumental in providing a landscape plan in several areas in my yard that sorely needed attention. In the back yard, a tree that had been there for over 30 years had to be removed, and it left a desolate area. The large electrical box in front of this area was even more apparent without the tree. When entering the yard from the gate, there was nothing that was welcoming. Ben came up with a plan, and his team implemented it beautifully. There were other areas in the yard that also needed attention, and with Ben’s help, each were improved more than I could have ever imagined. His team removed my existing paver walkway from the extension of the driveway, hauled away the debris, extended and buried the below grade downspout into the back of the property and installed concrete sand to level and finished the back walkway with Techo-Bloc Eva Pavers. He installed River Jack Stone so that the water from the downspout would help alleviate drainage issues. He created a landscape bed and installed a Forest Pansy Redbud tree and decorative grass around the electrical box. Ben also improved other landscape beds and installed Techo-Bloc Edge Stone around them. The beds were cleaned, and mulch was installed. And finally, in the front of the house Ben’s team removed the old Azalea bushes, installed new soil, and installed Camellia bushes and mulch to finish it. I could not be more pleased with the crew’s professionalism and craftsmanship. I highly recommend Ben Rupert and the Independence Landscape & Lawn Care Team.

Description of Work
Landscaping, drain pipe installation, Stone work

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

Images

Review for Independence Landscape - 9910 Richmond Hwy, Lorton, VA - 39503908

+5 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are so thankful for your kind words. We are all about communication, craftsmanship and going the extra mile for our clients. We will be sure to share your compliments with Adolfo and Jose. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review. Your yard looks fantastic -- what a huge transformation!
5.0

07/20/2021


Jennifer T.

Mark Haller (account manager) contacted me right away to provide an estimate and was accommodating to a schedule change. He answered my questions when walking around and reviewing my property, and provided an estimate by that evening. He set my expectations as to when the team would be available to provide the services and met those expectations; also notifying me the day before the team would be arriving. The team arrived promptly in the morning, completed the work quickly and neatly. The work was well done and they cleaned up and removed the debris.

Description of Work
Garden plot cleanup (weeding, shrub pruning, mulching, shrub removal); patio repair (resetting stones and leveling)

Category landscaping, lawn service, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! It's so gratifying to hear about your positive experience working with Mark and the crew. Communication with our clients is the backbone of what we do, so we are glad that you noticed that. Thanks for giving us a chance, and we are excited to continue serving you.
5.0

03/09/2021


Beverly H.

We have used Independence for 5-6 years. Mark has always been quick to respond and offers sound and professional advice when needed. His team(s) have always been prompt, courteous, and very professional. We will continue to use this lawn care company.

Description of Work
Every aspect of lawn care (mowing, fertilizing, edging, leaf removal, etc.); installation of French drains; installation of side patio to help with erosion; movement/planting of plants and shrubs.

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for writing this. We value our clients and aim to keep you happy for the long-term. Thanks again for your loyalty!
5.0

09/25/2020


Dennis B.

Very good very efficient and the sod is growing nicely

Description of Work
Did installation

Category lawn service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that, [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for the positive review. If we can ever assist with any other lawn/landscape projects, don't hesitate to reach out.
5.0

06/22/2020


Lori A.

The service was good, they do an excellent job too.

Description of Work
Regular Lawn care service

Category lawn service

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words! We are happy to hear you're satisfied with our lawn service. Be sure to let us know if you have any other projects in mind.
5.0

04/29/2020


Christy C.

Mark Haller their lead man is extremely professional, knowledgeable and helpful. They installed French drains and a paver stone curved walkway with a front step. Paco, their foreman, is excellent and their is crew courteous, hardworking, and efficient. Their prices are in the median/competitive range. You will definitely receive excellent value and excellent return for what you pay for without being gauged. We have had absolute confidence in their ability to listen, offer solutions, explain most pro’s & con’s, execute good work, meet deadlines, along with trust worthiness and solid knowledgeability. Highly recommend! For more detail on the two jobs they did for us, read more below about these two project experiences and results. :) 1) French drain installation We trusted them to install a French drain system which we had not realized we needed - at least not until we met with Mark for initial lawn care estimates. Since the drains were installed last Spring (2019), the lawn is lush, thriving and beautiful. If we had gone with either of the two other companies’ lawn assessments, we would have invested in a continued mud pond and no return. 2) Paver Stone walkway The stone walkway installation is beautifully done. We receive compliments from neighbors and family. We give them Mark’s name each time. We are very happy with the workmanship. My only suggestion is that Mark mention ahead to his clients that colored concrete pavers leach calcium giving it a chalky color for 6 months to a year. It was very disappointing - heart sinking for me to see it happening almost immediately after the pavers were laid. The process is called efflorescence. I needed to look it up to figure out the cause. You need to wait a year and then you can safely power wash out the calcium and seal the stones into the intended rich colors. I followed up and Mark was helpful and confirmed it was efflorescence. He said customers ask about the chalkiness all the time. I do not feel that the omission is purposeful, but it may be an assumption that I’d know or that the stone company would mention it. I recommended Mark tell clients at the onset before they visit the stone store. Concrete pavers are less expensive, but I may have invested in a different kind of paver knowing that issue ahead. I was not given an opportunity to make that decision. Alas, the stones will get treated by us this October and hopefully I see the rich colors that for now, only show after a rainfall. I will update this review when we treat the pavers.

Description of Work
French Drains installed for entire yard to prevent prevalent yard flooding. Replaced our 30 year old concrete, sinking walkway with a curved , paver stone walkway with front step.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you for taking the time to provide this recommendation. We pride ourselves on communication with our clients, and we are so happy to hear our work made such a noticeable difference in your yard. Thanks again!
5.0

03/22/2020


Richard S.

They did an excellent job over two days. Mark, the person in charge, was knowledgeable and pleasant and made good suggestions for some difficult places in the garden. They are not the cheapest landscaping company but worth the money. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Large scale Spring cleanup and mulching

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Every recommendation we make is specifically tailored to you and your property. Many thanks for your positive review!
5.0

11/26/2019


Keith C.

We were very pleased with Independence. Mark worked closely with us from the initial site visit through the design and implementation, communicating consistently along the way and being very flexible to make sure our needs were met. Independence went out of their way to make sure the project was not disruptive to our next door neighbors. The working relationship was a good balance of Independence offering their experience and expertise, and also listening and accommodating our ideas. Pablo and his crew were great to work with, and left the site neat at the end of every day. We were very satisfied with the finished product and would recommend Independence.

Description of Work
Parking pad, fence, and backyard redesign

Category fencing, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for noticing all the ways that we try to separate ourselves. Our clients are our top priority, and we do our best to truly listen to your needs. We are so thankful for your recommendation!
5.0

11/11/2019


Sue H.

They are great! The owner comes out and talk to you, they are communicative and accessible and we've been using them for 9 years now.

Description of Work
They did a yearly lawn service.

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your loyalty! Communication with our clients is so important, and it's great to hear that you're satisfied. Thanks for taking the time to leave a note.
5.0

09/20/2019


Marc L.

It went fantastic!!! The owner, Chad, was always professional, friendly and striving to please us. He answered all our questions, including those we posed as the project progressed. Addressed any and all requests. The company's landscapers and masonry workers delivered exceptionally high quality work. I will reach out to them to perform other work for me in the future.

Description of Work
I had a three level terrace made with timber replaced with stone masonry; backyard drainage replaced; mulch and SOD installed in the backyard; stone and timber stairs paralleling terrace replaced with stone and masonry.

Category gutter cleaning, landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $34,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2019

Service Provider Response

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company puts customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.
1.0

08/14/2019


Lucinda P.

When I attempted to set up an "estimate" appointment for them to come see my backyard, I was told that they only do initial service appointments before 1pm. When I explained that I was a teacher and couldn't meet them before 3PM, he said "well, that's when I do my appointments". When I said, "well, that's rather inflexible.", he said, "well I have a family and I want to spend time with them." I said "well I won't be using your service, goodbye", it didn't seem to matter to him. Personally, I think that is VERY unusual for a business that wants to succeed. I'm hoping that you remove this business from your list because they are obviously NOT very customer-friendly!

Description of Work
backyard total tear-out, drainage issues, and sod/replanting/landscaping (big $$$)

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 08/14/2019

Service Provider Response

We received your online request on Wednesday, August 14th at 11:53 AM. I reached out to you the same day, less than 40 minutes after the initial email at 12:31 PM. We discussed the different aspects of your project. After that we began discussing appointments and that you would be going back to school on Friday and will not be able to meet until afternoon. I apologized and stated that I do not have any meetings available for Thursday and that I schedule my initial consultations in the mornings and early afternoons. You stated that was “very inflexible”. Again, I apologized and stated that I do have a family and obligations. You abruptly stated that you would not be using our services, goodbye. Over the years I have found that in order to be consistent and reliable, we have to set schedules and follow them accordingly. This keeps us on time, give us the ability to process estimates quickly, and to provide top notch service to our clients. We wish you all the best with you landscape project. Curt Greene Owner, Independence Landscape And Lawn Care
4.0

07/11/2019


Ann B.

Took a week to get a visit before an estimate, then the estimate came several days late, price was notably more than my other estimate for the same work, and not responsive to my request to use non-toxic products.

Description of Work
Major weeding, considerable pruning, removal of a dead tree, new rocks in an erosion prevention site

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We’re sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your experience. We pride ourselves on our services and the responsive and high-quality standards we maintain. We do not use any toxic products. All lawn care applications are applied by a licensed technician and regulated by the state of Virginia. We truly appreciate the time to share your opinions and hope to be given another opportunity to make things right. Sincerely, Mallory Aaronson
2.0

06/30/2019


Andrea R.

Extremely disappointing. Rep came out at the end of May for a redesign estimate and was great, extremely professional and knowledgeable. So much so I decided not to inquire with other landscapers while I awaited the official estimate and plan. After a lengthy discussion about my options and property, I was told I would receive an official 2-D estimate in a week. One week passed, then two without hearing anything so I reached out on the status. A couple days later I received an estimate that was simply a list of plants, no design, and it did not reflect the work we talked about, specifically it completely left out all the stone and brick work we wanted done. I immediately replied asking about these other items and never heard anything back, almost a month later now. Not a good sign. Again, just disappointing because the rep that initially came out was really sharp and got our hopes up for our property.

Description of Work
Landscape Design

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 05/29/2019

1.0

04/14/2019


david B.

Hired these guys for a year to try to get my lawn under control and they were never able to do anything besides take my money and give me excuses. Lawn was always full of weeds and dead areas of no grass last year. I fired them after the first application this year because they traipsed through my wet yard tearing up what little grass in the back they did manage to grow last year and all whatever it was that they did was supercharge the clover to grow 10x faster than anything else. Now my yard is full of clover and has never looked worse. In fact my yard has more weeds and clover than any other yard in the neighborhood right now and most of those people didn’t pay a lawn service last year! If you are looking to cultivate a yard full of weeds then by all means call these guys because they are pros at nurturing and growing undeniable weeds for your yard. Green, lush grass...not so much. Nice guys and always punctual and with good response and service but their results were just terrible.

Description of Work
Annual lawn care

Category lawn treatment

Cost $660

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company on Angie's List and we are sorry to hear you are disappointed with the results. We serviced your property from May 2018 through March of 2019 and the treatments began immediately. For your property we discussed that the results of the lawn care program would take approximately 18 to 24 months. Over the course of our service we had multiple conversations and consultations to discuss the process of the lawn care program. We are always completely upfront about the timeframe for restoring a lawn. We explained that it was going to take until the fall of 2019 to fully control the crabgrass and thicken the lawn (though there was progress we both acknowledged). Again, we are disappointed that you were not satisfied with the results of the program, however given the proper amount of time we are 100% confident in the results we produce. Mark Haller Account Manager, Independence Landscape And Lawn Care
5.0

03/21/2019


Joel S.

The cost seems high but realize that this was for a lot of work cleaning up an overgrown area covering half of my back yard and the the drain line that they burried was about 40 feet from my house to the sidewalk. These were not small jobs. Jon, our Independence rep, came out to the house, discussed what we wanted done and provided us with a few suggestions. They provided a written estimate that broke everything out. We did not end up doing everything that they priced out for us and that was fine - they made it very easy to contract with them for exactly what I wanted. Price was on par with other estimates that we received. The crews for both efforts did an amazing job. The back yard looks completely different - doesn’t even look like the same place. I've tried to attach a few before and after photos of different parts of the yard. And you can’t even really tell where they buried the drain line in the front yard - it looks great! Both days the crews arrived exactly when they said they were going to, were highly professional, did a great job, and cleaned up everything. Just an awesome experience! We've already had neighbors ask about them, and we have started their lawn treatment plan as well.

Description of Work
Cleared debris and cleaned up a large overgrown area & burried drain line from the house to sidewalk

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, drain pipe

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

Images

Review for Independence Landscape - 9910 Richmond Hwy, Lorton, VA - 37774936

+5 More

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you so much for your positive review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We continue to look forward to working with you for many years to come. Warmest Regards, Independence Landscape and Lawncare
5.0

03/15/2019


Randy M.

The job exceeded our expectations. We had been having some significant drainage problems and their innovative design and solution will stop the problem

Description of Work
They did some major landscaping and design work in the back yard

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you and continue to look forward to servicing you.
2.0

10/21/2018


Cynthia G.

They made it clear they were not working on jobs smaller than $1,000. It was also difficult to schedule so I gave up. When someone sent a message scheduling, this time willing to be flexible, I went ahead to schedule. They came to look at my yard as I was having drainage issues. Gave me info on paving my entire backyard. Never got the estimate. I was told it came in via docusign, double-checked and never got any. Maybe because the work was too small.

Description of Work
Did not receive the estimate

Category landscaping

Cost $650

Work Completed On 10/21/2018

3.0

10/20/2018


Karla D.

I was told I had to pay $100 for an estimate, which is not what the Angie's List listing states. Will not hire for that reason even if they had given me the lowest estimate. Too bad for them because i have other bigger projects in tbe future.

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category hardscaping

5.0

08/18/2018


Laural R.

Only company to actually come out to property and view work needed. One other company gave an online estimate. Two didn't reply. However Independance was very responsive to my wishes. Although not cheap, and and quite a bit more than the other quote I received, I felt that it was more accurate because they actually came to the property to see what I wanted. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Clean weeds from front yard bushes and large growth from beside garage

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? <