Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Independence Landscape

4.9

(196) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since May 2012

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705107844
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

9910 Richmond Hwy

Lorton, VA 22079

Description

Independence Landscape is a full service landscape and lawn care company based in Northern Virginia. We offer a full range of services, from maintenance to landscape design and installation, to custom hardscape projects. Each of our crews specialize in a specific skill set, which ensures quality of work regardless of the size or complexity of the project. We continually stay on top of industry standards and developments by regularly attending professional training sessions and courses. If a better method, tool or environmentally friendly product appears on the market, Independence is trained and certified to implement it in order to enhance the beauty of our customers' properties. *Our Company History* Independence Landscape was established in 2006. Our owners, Curtis Greene and Chad Evans, originally started in the landscaping and lawn maintenance business while in high school and college. "Even back then," Greene explains, "we took it very seriously and set high standards for everything we did." Clients noticed their reliability and the quality of their work. After college graduation, they both landed jobs with the Department of Defense, but quickly discovered they missed working on people's yards and building relationships with their clients. They both decided to pursue their real passion, and soon Independence Landscape officially opened for business. Today our growing company takes care of residential properties throughout Northern Virginia. Loyalty and trust between our clients and employees is the backbone of everything we do at Independence....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(196) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

174

4

11

3

5

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (156)lawn care (95)hardscaping (50)mulch delivering (48)lawn treatment (40)drain pipe installation (27)stone & gravel (23)Patios (19)tree service (16)leaf removal (12)irrigation system (6)fence company (6)
Showing 1-10 of 196 reviews
5.0

10/11/2021

Ben Rupert was instrumental in providing a landscape plan in several areas in my yard that sorely needed attention. In the back yard, a tree that had been there for over 30 years had to be removed, and it left a desolate area. The large electrical box in front of this area was even more apparent without the tree. When entering the yard from the gate, there was nothing that was welcoming. Ben came ...

Description of Work
Landscaping, drain pipe installation, Stone work

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel,tree service,drain pipe

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

Images

Review for Independence Landscape - 9910 Richmond Hwy, Lorton, VA - 39503908

+5 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are so thankful for your kind words. We are all about communication, craftsmanship and going the extra mile for our clients. We will be sure to share your compliments with Adolfo and Jose. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review. Your yard looks fantastic -- what a huge transformation!
5.0

07/20/2021

Mark Haller (account manager) contacted me right away to provide an estimate and was accommodating to a schedule change. He answered my questions when walking around and reviewing my property, and provided an estimate by that evening. He set my expectations as to when the team would be available to provide the services and met those expectations; also notifying me the day before the team would be ...

Description of Work
Garden plot cleanup (weeding, shrub pruning, mulching, shrub removal); patio repair (resetting stones and leveling)

Category landscaping,lawn service,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! It's so gratifying to hear about your positive experience working with Mark and the crew. Communication with our clients is the backbone of what we do, so we are glad that you noticed that. Thanks for giving us a chance, and we are excited to continue serving you.
5.0

03/09/2021

We have used Independence for 5-6 years. Mark has always been quick to respond and offers sound and professional advice when needed. His team(s) have always been prompt, courteous, and very professional. We will continue to use this lawn care company.

Description of Work
Every aspect of lawn care (mowing, fertilizing, edging, leaf removal, etc.); installation of French drains; installation of side patio to help with erosion; movement/planting of plants and shrubs.

Category decks,landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment,leaf removal,mulch,pavers, gravel,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for writing this. We value our clients and aim to keep you happy for the long-term. Thanks again for your loyalty!
5.0

09/25/2020

Very good very efficient and the sod is growing nicely

Description of Work
Did installation

Category lawn service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that, [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for the positive review. If we can ever assist with any other lawn/landscape projects, don't hesitate to reach out.
5.0

06/22/2020

The service was good, they do an excellent job too.

Description of Work
Regular Lawn care service

Category lawn service

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words! We are happy to hear you're satisfied with our lawn service. Be sure to let us know if you have any other projects in mind.
5.0

04/29/2020

Mark Haller their lead man is extremely professional, knowledgeable and helpful. They installed French drains and a paver stone curved walkway with a front step. Paco, their foreman, is excellent and their is crew courteous, hardworking, and efficient. Their prices are in the median/competitive range. You will definitely receive excellent value and excellent return for what you pay for without bei...

Description of Work
French Drains installed for entire yard to prevent prevalent yard flooding. Replaced our 30 year old concrete, sinking walkway with a curved , paver stone walkway with front step.

Category lawn service,lawn treatment,basement waterproofing,drain pipe,hardscaping

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you for taking the time to provide this recommendation. We pride ourselves on communication with our clients, and we are so happy to hear our work made such a noticeable difference in your yard. Thanks again!
5.0

03/22/2020

They did an excellent job over two days. Mark, the person in charge, was knowledgeable and pleasant and made good suggestions for some difficult places in the garden. They are not the cheapest landscaping company but worth the money. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Large scale Spring cleanup and mulching

Category landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment,mulch

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Every recommendation we make is specifically tailored to you and your property. Many thanks for your positive review!
5.0

11/26/2019

We were very pleased with Independence. Mark worked closely with us from the initial site visit through the design and implementation, communicating consistently along the way and being very flexible to make sure our needs were met. Independence went out of their way to make sure the project was not disruptive to our next door neighbors. The working relationship was a good balance of Independence ...

Description of Work
Parking pad, fence, and backyard redesign

Category fencing,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,hardscaping

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for noticing all the ways that we try to separate ourselves. Our clients are our top priority, and we do our best to truly listen to your needs. We are so thankful for your recommendation!
5.0

11/11/2019

They are great! The owner comes out and talk to you, they are communicative and accessible and we've been using them for 9 years now.

Description of Work
They did a yearly lawn service.

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your loyalty! Communication with our clients is so important, and it's great to hear that you're satisfied. Thanks for taking the time to leave a note.
5.0

09/20/2019

It went fantastic!!! The owner, Chad, was always professional, friendly and striving to please us. He answered all our questions, including those we posed as the project progressed. Addressed any and all requests. The company's landscapers and masonry workers delivered exceptionally high quality work. I will reach out to them to perform other work for me in the future.

Description of Work
I had a three level terrace made with timber replaced with stone masonry; backyard drainage replaced; mulch and SOD installed in the backyard; stone and timber stairs paralleling terrace replaced with stone and masonry.

Category gutter cleaning,landscaping,mulch,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,hardscaping

Cost $34,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2019

Service Provider Response

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company puts customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.

Services Offered

Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance, Landscape Design, Hardscape Installation, & Drainage Solutions.

Services Not Offered

Thatching.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
Warranties
Yes