Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ANDY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT

Founded 1995 • With Angi since November 2008

4.9

(29) Verified Reviews

Description

LICENSE NUMBER IS DPOR OF VA#2705103652A. DBA: ANDY'S HOME IMPROVEMENTS INC....

Other local Pros in your area

ARD Eelctric, LLC

We specialize in new work for both residential and commerical electrical service and repair. We offer quality work at competitive rates. As a family-operated business, we work in various locations throughout the DMV area.  

Terra Landscape and Design

A full-service landscape design, installation & maintenance company in the Northern Virginia area serving the residential and commercial sectors.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/13/2017

Very well. I knew we would hire Andy after he came by to give us an estimate. He was the only one who asked to look at the structural plans, knew the structural engineers and discussed the technical considerations. His insight and expertise gave me great confidence in him. Plus, he was very easy to talk to and engaged throughout the process. It was done beautifully. Great work!!!

Description of Work
Andy repaired drywall and flooring following water damage and repaired some structural problems we were having with an addition put on the house a number of years ago. He also fixed our doorbell so we could get rid of the digital doorbell system that went off when we vacuumed or spoke too loudly.

Category drywall,handyman service,hardwood floor,remodeling

5.0

03/18/2017

Everything went great and in record time. We plan on using him for further home renovations.

Description of Work
We had Andy's Home Improvement remodel our three bathrooms. This included replacing the wall board in one bathroom; replacing the wall tile in two bathrooms replacing the vanities and tops in all bathrooms, having a sliding shower door installed, and replacing all hardware in our three bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,handyman service,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling

5.0

06/18/2016

I use this contractor often for many different jobs, the largest being a side enclosed porch remodel several years ago. Andy responds promptly to all communication, and he is dedicated to getting a job done right. The price may be a little higher than other estimates, but the quality is always there. There was some miscommunication this time regarding the interior painting, but Andy worked with me...

Description of Work
Many handyman projects, such as replacing a hot water heater, dishwasher, kitchen disposal, exterior light, reattaching screens, oiling fans. Repair of rotting soffits by roof. Exterior painting. Repairing cracks in plaster ceilings and interior painting.

Category handyman service,woodworking,house painters

3.0

06/29/2014

The individual was prompt but tried to sell me new garage door openers for $600. The offer said that they would replace the rollers but he said it wasn't necessary on my doors. Everything was fine when he left but within 2 weeks, the door wasn't working again.

Description of Work
Tune up on garage door openers

Category drywall

5.0

06/01/2014

Andy is truly outstanding. He spent a great deal of time with us to make sure that we both knew what our project entailed prior to beginning. Once construction began, his crew was punctual, courteous and meticulous ensuring that their work was perfect. Since the completion of this project, both Andy and his crew have stopped by to make sure the window was doing well. One day when Andy's guys were ...

Description of Work
Replaced a large, greenhouse-style casement window in the kitchen along with several smaller projects around the house.

Category handyman service,replacement windows

5.0

05/07/2014

We're ecstatic with the final results of the work performed. We knew we wanted to cover the soffits in the kitchen with crown molding and the result was even better than we had imagined. Andy's two main workers, Michael and Benton, were courteous, hard working, and trustworthy. They went above and beyond to accommodate my request to relocate the washer and dryer to better facilitate doing laundry.

Description of Work
Installed upgrades in kitchen to include new stone backsplash, porcelain floor crown molding, granite countertop, ceiling and under cabinet lighting. Installed new cabinets in family room bar, and new flooring and cabinets in laundry room. Also provided additional minor handyman services.

Category drywall contractor

5.0

02/25/2014

Beyond our expectations. Andy and his crew were prompt and highly professional. His estimate was a slightly higher than the competitor but I had far more confidence in his technical approach. The drywall work and carpentry (including stain grade crown molding) were superb. He also was vigilant for other problems (e.g. floor squeaks and a wire that had been chewed by a mouse) and took action to make the repairs even though it was not part of the task. He also helped to move furniture, set up an alternate site for my television, and even came back after another contractor laid the carpet to assist in moving the furniture. Their attention to detail was extraordinary - I could not have been more pleased.

Description of Work
Converted Family Room from paneling to drywall with oak woodwork.

Category concrete repair contractor","countertop installation","drywall contractor","home builder","woodworker

5.0

12/28/2012

Much of the work was done while we were on vacation and it was nice to return home to a new deck, etc. We generally have and quot;while you are hereand quot; work that we'd like done and Andy graciously takes it on, revising the estimate as we add things. We have no concerns at all and are very pleased with the work done.

Description of Work
Derecho Storm damage to exterior of home. Replaced destroyed deck, pergola, fencing, and repaired minor roof damage. Andy's Home Improvement is our "go to" contractor whenever we have need for building/home renovations as well as whenever we have an emergency situation such as the derecho storm damage. He and his crew made sure there were no issues needing immediate attention and our repairs were placed on his schedule as he had clients during this same period that incurred much more serious damage than our home. The owner, Andy Cashman, is conscientious as are his workers, always checking to ensure the we are happy with whatever they are doing for us at the time.

Category deck company","drywall contractor","gutter repair contractor","handyman service","room remodeling","woodworker","home remodeling contractor

5.0

12/17/2012

Andy is very good at explaining his schedule and sticking to it. Work was done as expected and mostly on time. Andy's is not the cheapest but work is very good and employees are pleasant.

Description of Work
Powder room vanity, wallpaper removal , painting and misc repairs.

Category drywall contractor","home remodeling contractor","house painter","door installer

5.0

12/17/2012

The project started out as a floor replacement but soon after Andy got into the project he discovered termite damage to the posts. At that point it became a full deck replacement and the price doubled. All in all Andy and his team did a great job. They always were on time and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Elevated attached Deck 18ft by 10ft replaced and a glass block window installed.

Category deck cleaner

    Services Offered

    General Contractor for Residential and Commercial for new construction and remodeling projects. Specializes in bathrooms, kitchens, decks and patios, additions, and general home improvements. Fully licensed and insured.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes