Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc

Founded 1989 • With Angi since November 2008

4.7

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13849-B Park Center Rd

Herndon, VA 20170

Description

Thank you for viewing our Angie's List page! Central Services has been serving the Washington DC area since 1989. My name is Karla Lynn. In February 2013, I will celebrate my 8th year with Central Services! Our technicians are polite and friendly. We take our time to inform you about operation,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/08/2017


Richard M.

It was a top of the line unit. With the high rating, low noise. Top of the line. I could've gotten a cheaper one, but to me quality is better than the cheaper. Quality was very good. Hopefully I won't have to use them again for at least 10 years.

Description of Work
Installed a new air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/08/2017


Richard M.

Because I have a plan with them, it didn't cost me anything. I've been with them almost 15 years. They came on a Sunday, when my air conditioning died. I've been with them a long time, they've done all my heating and air conditioning work.

Description of Work
Maintenance for unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/07/2017


ANNE O.

This was included in our service contract. They installed our air conditioning and heating system. They have always been very courteous and professional. Anytime I needed anything in connection with my heating or air conditioner it's always been very easy to get an appointment with them. I've always been very pleased with them and I wouldn't have any hesitation recommending them.

Description of Work
They performed an annual furnace inspection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/20/2017


Victor K.

We use them twice a year. They are very good.

Description of Work
We bought a new air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/28/2017


Timothy W.

OK. Price seems high but we've been under annual contracts with them for years.

Description of Work
AC Spring Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

05/08/2017


Debra P.

great! signed up for a 2yr contract

Description of Work
semi annual checkup

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/25/2016


David C.

Steve and Phil have both serviced our system before and they are very professional and always point out what we can do to enhance the reliability of our system. We have great confine in them and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Serviced air filter and humidifier. Cleaned outside unit. Installed new electrical protection and compressor protection. Performed routine spring maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/07/2015


Kimberly R.

We have used Central Services for at least 15 years - new kitchen plumbing, all electrical sockets throughout the house (ours were from the 70s and one blew out and almost caused a fire), and always for heating and cooling - they provide a twice./per year check up for maintenance purposes for a low price and are ALWAYS available and on time. I love this group - the techs are great, informative and give you lots of options for whatever you need done. I would recommend them HIGHLY! They also stay in touch with you to schedule your fall and spring maintenance to so don't have to remember yourself. USE THEM!

Description of Work
We had a new heating and cooling unit installed with state of the art and new regulations approved equipment.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

08/20/2015


ANNETTE M B.

Very well. The provide excellent service. Have had a contract with them for years.

Description of Work
Serviced heating and air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/03/2015


Michael G.

We have been using Central Services/Central Home for about 14 years. We used them for 5 years at a previous residence but when we moved into this home we had a "service contract". After that ended, we quickly called Central back because of our positive previous experience. They have serviced our units for the past 9 years. We did a lot of research when it came to purchase a new unit a few years ago. While they weren't the cheapest, they were competitive and we were very confident in their techicans. We are considering using Central Home with some other upgrades in our home this year. As usual, they were on time, and professional with this annual PM.

Description of Work
Annual Service check and Humidifier Cleaning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/10/2014


William M.

They have several work for us. Our home is 2500 square feet and we have two units. They have been good about coming out when called. They are responsive and professional.

Description of Work
They replaced a gas furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

12/04/2014


John S F.

The tech arrived on time and prepared his hand written proposal on site. After presenting the bid to me, he was not prepared to leave me a copy, however I insisted on scanning it for my own reference. His proposal presented 6 options ranging in price from $5,329 to $25,537. No manufacturers model numbers were called out on any of the options nor were any specifications given of the components proposed to be used. Instead the options were described by such meaningless terms as: "10 year we take care of you comfy heating/cooling package. ""Absolute most efficient heat pump system" and other equally meaningless weasel words. You can be sure that such terms would be totally meaningless in any legal proceeding for non performance. Although the tech was polite and punctual, he had little knowledge of the product and was unable to discuss the differences between his various options in any meaningful way. The other bidders presented bids ranging from $6-8,500 and presented detailed specifications, model numbers and manufacturers brochures describing performance. I did have the system replaced by one of the other bidders. My advice is to stay far away from this company, the proposal was throughly unprofessional and the prices were unrealistic. I think that they must prey on those whose systems have failed on the coldest day of the year.

Description of Work
Provider was asked to bid on replacement of my aging Heat Pump system. They were one of 5 bidders. It was not an emergency situation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/19/2014


Linda L.

We have been with Central Services for over 15 years. Every year we have a contract with the company to do spring and fall inspections. This past winter when it was really cold, our heat pump stopped working. I called the company, and Scott arrived at our house later that day. He was out in the freezing cold for well over an hour and into the early evening hours using a flashlight to check out the heat pump. He told me the compressor had shorted out, but fortunately we were covered by warranty. He recommended in addition to replacing the compressor and wire harness, that we install a surge protector. He told me that the office would call me back re the cost of installation which they did the next day. He set our thermostat to auxiliary power and told me he would return once the equipment arrived. Four days later he was back at our house and worked conscientiously for almost 2 hours to install and test all the new equipment, again in the freezing cold. I have always found Central's staff to be excellent, but Scott is truly extraordinary and goes the extra mile. He is extremely knowledgeable, professional, and thorough and has excellent customer service skills. I find him very trustworthy and reliable, and I never felt that he was trying to get me to buy other services or products that I really did not need. Central Services is an extremely competent company with exceptional personnel who know what they are doing and do it very well. They always have answered the phone when I called; they even have an answering service in the evening. They confirm the night before and also call when the technician is on the way which is extremely helpful. I have not compared their prices to other companies, but I find their prices reasonable for the very high quality of services and products they provide. I strongly recommend this company to others and plan to continue to use their consistently excellent services.

Description of Work
Performed diagnostics, ordered equipment, and returned to replace compressor and wire harness for heat pump and to install electrical power surge protector on heat pump

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

05/14/2014


John G.

The service of checking up our AC unit went great. The technician, Josh, was on time, professional and very friendly. I am very happy with him and the service he provided as well as the front desk as they were super nice when I called to schedule the appointment. Unfortunately, it went down hill from there. As our appointment was on a Saturday Josh let me know he could not set up an annual service plan with the main office closed but that I should call back on Monday and set it up. No problem....I thought. I called Monday and was told very politely that someone would be calling me back. They did not, so I called that Tuesday and was told the same thing...they did not. I left town on travel and forgot about it until this past Monday, a week after my initial call. So I called back, new person at the front office this time and she was extremely nice and apologetic, but again I was told I would be getting a call back, I did not. So I called that afternoon, told I would be getting called back, I did not. So I called Tuesday morning and again I was told very politely that I would get a call back, that the person that handles the service plans had just stepped out, guess what...I did not. So I called Tuesday evening and asked to speak to the owner, Mr. Justice...Well I was sent to his voice mail so I told him everything I just typed here and that I would appreciate a call back, well, I haven't heard from Mr. Justice. I did however get a call back on my house phone (after I asked them to call me on my cell as I was not home at the time) only to be told the person I was suppose to talk to would call me back today. I did receive a call this morning but it was to tell me the illusive person would be calling me today.....I think you know where this is going, I was not called back.....So I called one more time again to be told I would be called back..... The only reason I have persisted this long to set up a service plan is because of the attitude and and quality of the technician as well as the politeness of the front office. The price is not the cheapest but competitive. I must say I am at the end of that rope and Central Services will not be receiving any of my business in the future. Nor can I recommend them to anyone else. I give them an A for quality of work and Punctuality of the initial technician but the other grades speak for themselves.

Description of Work
Performed annual AC check-up. Was going to set up annual service agreement but....

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/06/2014


DENNIS W.

Our furnace went out at the worst of times--Sunday afternoon on the coldest day of the year. Temperatures were falling into single digits. Central Services had someone to our house within a couple hours and he stayed all evening to get it back on. Unfortunately, the furnace had been severely damaged by insulation falling into it. But they replaced it within 24 hours. It was pricey but for that kind of service I'm willing to pay a bit more.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

01/06/2014


Michael M.

Checked on furnace. Advised for repair and/or replacement. Gave good explanations and options for both. However, their price for replacement was much higher than competitors.

Description of Work
maintenance for heating

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/01/2013


Jessica W.

We have subscribed to their membership for inspections every 6 months for a few years now. They are always very professional and always on time. I just wanted to give them some kudos even though we didn't find them through Angie's List at first. They were recommended by a neighbor. We have had cleanings and repairs done on our HVAC system and it has always met our satisfaction. I believe they are a little pricey but not too bad. For us, it's worth it for the type of service we received.

Description of Work
We had a service call for malfunctioning HVAC system and they were able to come out same day as called.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/07/2013


Steven K.

We have had a service contract with Central Services for several years now and have always found them to be prompt and professional. They arrive on-time and keep me informed as they perform their services. Although they will try to sell other services they offer (like duct cleaning), if I decline there is no follow-up pressure. There may be firms offering this service for less, but I am OK with the value I get for my money.

Description of Work
Semi-annual HVAC check-up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/29/2011


Odette W.

The technicians came on time as scheduled. They kept me updated at all times and as something was completed they let me know. The supervisor came out to check the job, asked me if I had any questions and then came back 10 days later to do a final quality check and walk through. The whole staff was very experienced, highly professional and very trustworthy. They complete all of the warranty paperwork to ensure that it gets done.

Description of Work
The entire HVAC system was replaced including the furnace and air conditioning unit (with new panel boxes and wiring), new humidifier, programmable thermostat, and water heater. When the technicians found that some of the air conditioner wiring had been burned and the wiring in the wall panel box had melted a small part of the connections, they immediately replaced everything. Because the replacement wall panel box was too small, they called the company and another technician drove almost 50 miles to bring out the right size. He then stayed to assist with the work so there were 4 technicians on site. The technicians had to rebuild part of the system and rather than using old parts and 'jury-rigging' the system, they rebuilt everything from scratch. They also labeled everything so I would know what I was working with (ducts, etc.). They did a complete 'walk-through' when the work was completed and told me what they did, showed me how the systems functioned and taught me how to program the thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

12/29/2010


Chris G.

Overall, I am completly satisfied with their Professionalism & Service. They service your house like it's their own house. I would recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
I purchased the Home Care package that provides two scheduled visits a year, Spring for the AC and Fall for the Heat. This Home Care package also entitiles you to priority service. They do an complete service checking all the vital parts and benchmarking components for possible replacement in the future. They check the humidifier function, filters, and drainage which is very important if you've ever had one back up and flood your basement carpet. Asking questions on the Unit's functionality and performance.........no problem. They are very open and upfront with everything and answer your questions with integrity.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/02/2010


Keely M.

Our A/C broke during the heatwave of July, 2010. Despite how busy HVAC companies were at the time, when my husband and I called Central Services, which sells Carrier products, we were able to schedule an appointment to meet with a sales rep, Carla, the following morning at 7:00. After arriving on time, Carla, sat down with us to discuss the company and our concerns regarding heating and cooling the home. After walking around each floors of the home, taking some measurements (which other companies did not do), and looking at the existing unit, she offered us three packages that would allow us to qualify for the energy efficiency tax credit. She explained, in detail, each choice we had (variable fan, electronic filter, etc.), and she offered us a range of service plans. She answered all of our questions about the unit thoroughly, even when she didn’t have the answer readily accessible. She spent well over an hour and a half at our home. When she left, she encouraged us to call if we had questions about how another contractor’s offerings compared with Central Service’s offerings, and she was very helpful when we took her up on that offer. Given the excellent customer service, the superior price (taking into account the brand), and the company’s Saturday hours for maintenance and service, we chose Central Services. Carla arrived promptly at 6:00 p.m. when she was scheduled to get the downpayment. The day before the job, Central Services called to tell us that Christian would be the team leader and to remind us that the team would arrive at 7:30 a.m., which is exactly when Christian and his crew arrived. Christian and the other workers were very professional. Although they had to work around a whole bunch of furniture and other large items, which we had moved out of storage due to the A/C unit’s leak, they didn’t damage a thing. And they left absolutely no traces of their work behind. Also, they looked for (and found) our cat when she got out of the bedroom because I inadvertently failed to close the door all the way!

Description of Work
Replacement and installation of a central air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/16/2010


JEAN M.

No problems, no complaints. The service techs all are knowledgeable and everyone is friendly.

Description of Work
I have a service contract with Central Services and they come inspect both systems 2 times a year. Not sure it actually saves me much money in the long run, but it keeps my A/C and furnace in working order (with no surprises) and the staff are great to work with. The only reason I give them a B in overall experience is that I have expenses above and beyond the contract that seem to be on the high side.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/16/2009


Tim J.

A representative came to my home, she was very professional and knew her product. She performed a scientific engineering procedure with a special computer to determine the proper size system to install. She gave me a step by step procedure that the company follows on all installations. I instantly knew this was the right company to go with, I was not disappointed when the technicians showed in the morning. They were clean cut men that were professional and did a fantastic job including covering up my white carpet to avoid a mess. They did not leave a speck of dirt behind, and the new system runs great!

Description of Work
Carrier Hybrid Heat System with Zoning,

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/07/2009


Trixi B.

I liked that they payment program that was interest free for a year. They are professional and came when said they would.

Description of Work
They installed a new heating and A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

11/23/2008


Glen L.

My hot water heater circuit breaker kept tripping. I called Central Services for a repair estimate. They told me I had to replace the entire unit. I asked some friends who said to replace the heating elements. It was a simple $40 repair that I did myself, and the heater worked fine (it is still working after nine months). I called up Central Services to complain and they said that with older heaters (mine was only about 7 years old) most customers would prefer to replace the unit rather than have frequent repairs. I would think that most customers would like to have the choice! They did refund the $99 service call fee though.

Description of Work
Estimate for repair/replacement of hot water heater, on January 22, 2008.

Category water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    JJ AIR CONDITIONING LLC

    We can take care of any of your heating and cooling needs. Give us a call or click for estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Nasr Electric Inc

    Family Owned and Operated. Please call us and you'll be able to talk to our master electrician. To fix any electrical issue at your home or business, you will need a trusted good quality electricians  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Virginia Septic

    Virginia Septic is a industry leader in Commercial and Residential Septic Tank and Grease Trap Pumping. We conduct Annual Operation & Maintenance (O&M) Inspections, Real Estate Septic and Well Inspections as well as, Safe, Adequate, and Proper Inspections. Whether you have a minor repair or a large modification, are planning a brand new Installation for new construction project, we can handle the job. When you think of Virginia Septic, we want you to know all of you septic needs can be taken care of with one call. Our staff has over 30 yrs of experience in the septic industry. An added bonus we are owner- operated by the owner of Soils, Inc. This make us truly a ONE STOP SHOP. We are able to handle ever aspects of your project from beginning to end. Give us a call- we'd love to answer any questions.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Providing home services; including heating, air conditioning, plumbing, duct cleaning, sanitizing, sewer repair, duct leakage testing, water heater replacement, carbon monoxide and advanced furnace testing and air flow diagnostics.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc

    How is Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc overall rated?

    Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc provide

    Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc?

    Yes, Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offer?

    Central Services Heating & A/C Company Inc offers the following services: Providing home services; including heating, air conditioning, plumbing, duct cleaning, sanitizing, sewer repair, duct leakage testing, water heater replacement, carbon monoxide and advanced furnace testing and air flow diagnostics.