Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMERICAN CARPET & RUG

Founded 1986 • With Angi since December 2008

4.8

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

691 MONROE ST

Herndon, VA 20170

Description

American Carpet & Rug is a full service floor covering retail store in Herndon, serving the northern Virginia community for 30 years....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/08/2020


ilene C.

Absolutely perfect. Hussain, at the shop, helped us select exactly the color, type, and style of the wood floors we were looking for. The wood was delivered a week before the job started. The crew was top notch. They arrived on time in the morning, and worked well into the evening. They had to move and replace furniture at completion. What was thought to maybe require 2 days only took one 12 hr day. They were very neat and cleaned up after the work. Hussain has carpeted other rooms in our house in past, as well as our children’s homes for many years. He is quite a knowledgeable, professional and polite man. We would absolutely recommend this company again for any flooring needs.

Description of Work
Remove old hardwood and carpet flooring on 1sr floor of home. Install new hardwood floors throughout.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/07/2014


Justin M.

We went to this store to look at carpet samples. The owner walked us through various options and even steered us away from more expensive options. He even cut us a deal to come slightly in under out budget. It took two weeks or so to order the carpet and get it installed. I would have liked to have had it done sooner but they were quick and efficient. We were moving into our home so there was nothing really to get in the way so installation was easy. They did remove a few pieces of molding that they didn't replace. When I called to inquire they told me that the normally do this sort of thing and that I could just re-install it if I want. It would have been nice if at the time of installation that had notified my wife and given her the option and it would seem that they should hold the responsibility for putting it back. All in all I would use them again for any of my flooring needs. A few minor nit picks but they were overall a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Measured and installed wall to wall carpet throughout my house. Approximately 1500 square feet.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/31/2014


Willard R.

American Carpet and Rug worked with us on a very tight schedule between closing on our house and having to move in to install carpet into 4 bedrooms and basement space. Everywhere else we tried said they could not possibly have it installed before our drop dead date but American Carpet and Rug made it happen. The owner came out the very same day we contacted them to measure our house and within 2 days it was installed. American Carpet and Rug did what the competition could not and we could not be more grateful.

Description of Work
American Carpet and Rug installed carpet into 4 bedrooms and a basement space.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/16/2013


Jennifer J.

The process was smooth and easy. In less than 6 days we had picked out carpet, had the rooms measured, and had the carpet installed. The crew that installed the carpet was clean, professional, and quick. I would highly recommend this company to anybody looking for flooring in the area.

Description of Work
We had carpet installed in all 3 of the bedrooms in our condo.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/17/2013


Brett C.

It went extremely well. They were patient in the selection process of the flooring. They were professional, on time, and neat in the installation. They actually got the work done in one day versus the scheduled/planned 2 day install. Finally, they were flexible in making sure some last minute additions - flush vents and stairs, were completed during the same installation. We will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We bought the wood flooring from Them and they also did the floor installation. They also reinstalled carpeting upstairs.

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

5.0

07/07/2013


Linda D.

We worked with Hussain and with his guidance chose the type of carpeting best suited to us. He is very knowledgable and patient. Timing was critical as we wanted the new carpet installed prior to our move in date. Hussain coordinated with the painter, and met our deadline with ease. He even sent one of his workers to help alleviate a few creaks in the floor. We have done business with American Carpets and Rugs over the past 20 years or so, and have always had superior results.

Description of Work
Replaced carpeting throughout the entire house

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

08/30/2012


Sue M.

Redoing this floor was a last-minute decision, made only after all the furniture was removed in preparation for painting. We needed just this one room done fast, and American, which was highly recommended by a friend, came through. The owner, Hossein, provided a quote over the phone and was able to schedule the job within our time frame. The price was higher than the quotes I received from other Angie's List vendors, but the friend's recommendation carried a lot of weight. The friendly and professional two-man crew arrived a little later than I expected (after 9, rather than between 8 and 9), but not enough to be worrisome. They quickly found the power outlet they needed. (Note: 220-volt power required, usually the kind of outlet that an electric dryer or range will use.) They were all done by 2 p.m. I wish there were a way to give an A- rating for cleanup. While they did an outstanding job of controlling the dust, I found a few dark splatters on the walls and doors close to the floor. Nothing that couldn't be cleaned up easily, though. The stain on the shoe molding could have been a little darker in places, but that's a minor issue. Will definitely return to American for future flooring needs.

Description of Work
The two-man crew sanded the oak floor in a 12x15 master bedroom, applied 3 coats of water-based polyurethane, and installed new quarter-round shoe molding.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

4.0

04/23/2012


Nilay G.

Team was punctual, was able to communicate in clear English and were professional with their job. Also cleaned-up nicely upon completion of work.

Description of Work
Hired the company to restrech carpet in basement. Team arrived on time and did a thorough job and even removed some very old wrinkle marks. No problems since then.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

02/20/2012


Dan H.

I could not give this guy a higher rating. I've used him several times and I can't say enough good about the gentleman that runs this place. He will come out after hours to do stuff and he will do whatever it takes to make the customer happy. He gives a very reasonable price. He has been in business for at least 20 years so he is a well-established business. I've dealt with him for at least 20 years. The quality of the product was very good. I will most certainly continue to use him.

Description of Work
I used American Rug & Carpet for carpet and some hardwood flooring.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

2.0

06/21/2010


Martha S.

They came in and seemed to have a bad attitude from the start. They wanted to finish the job as quickly as possible and did not seem to care if it was a quality job or not. One of the workmen in particular had a bad attitude and made it clear that he did not like to be watched. I, as the homeowner, felt that I should be able to watch every move he made, if I chose to. We paid top dollar for the hardwood floor brand and they were very rough with the boards - multiple dings in every room. They also did a step for us and it was literally at an angle when they finished. Also, they didn't stain the ends of the shoe mold - they just left unfinished ends. Finally, one of the workers tracked adhesive all over the floor in the kitchen. We complained and the owner came out to see what the issues were. He was very defensive and even argued with me about several of the issues. He agreed to fix most of the issues but they definitely did not fix all the problems to our satisfaction and had a bad attitude to boot. We would not use these guys again and would not recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
We had them install hardwood floors in our kitchen, family room, living room, dining room, and hall.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    REO-SERVICEPRO, INC

    REO-ServicePro, Inc. is a Virginia Class A Contractor. We provide a wide range of services that will enhance the value, appeal and quality of your home. Services included everything from repairs to a custom bathroom or kitchen, we do it all.  

    Virginia Top Floors

    Virginia Top Floors provides DUSTLESS HARDWOOD FLOOR REFINISHING, MAINTENANCE (HARDWOOD FLOOR CLEANING AND BUFFING), REPAIRS AND INSTALLATION. We work with homeowners who are renovating, getting their houses ready for sale or moving into a new property helping them to restore their hardwood floors. Virginia Top Floors is recommended by the top Northern Virginia realtors to help their clients get their properties ready for showing. Our flooring team has over 50 years of combined customer service experience and 30 years of design experience. We have a strong work ethic, and a trained eye for detail, color, and space treatment. We return your investment in us, our products and our services, in terms of quality as well as quantity. Our professional and personal involvement in your flooring project optimizes the value you receive.  

    AFFORDABLE CARPET & FLOORING

    Locally owner and operated, Affordable Carpet and Flooring is a top rated flooring company in the Northern Virginia area, and has been in business since 1999. David Reading, owner of Affordable Carpet and Flooring is an experienced floor covering licensed contractor, who has worked exclusively in the flooring industry for over 25 years. Our services include the sales and installation of carpeting, hardwood flooring, laminate flooring, and vinyl flooring. We work with you every step of the way, giving you the great service that you deserve at every turn.  

    Offers by AFFORDABLE CARPET & FLOORING on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We provide and install most name brand Wall to wall Carpeting, Hardwood, Laminate,Tile, Natural Stone, Granite Counter Top, Cork, Bamboo, Vinyl Flooring, Area Rugs,and more for both residential and commercial clients since 1986.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AMERICAN CARPET & RUG

    How is AMERICAN CARPET & RUG overall rated?

    AMERICAN CARPET & RUG is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are AMERICAN CARPET & RUG open?

    AMERICAN CARPET & RUG is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does AMERICAN CARPET & RUG provide

    AMERICAN CARPET & RUG accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does AMERICAN CARPET & RUG offer free estimates?

    Yes, AMERICAN CARPET & RUG offers free project estimates.

    Does AMERICAN CARPET & RUG offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AMERICAN CARPET & RUG does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by AMERICAN CARPET & RUG?

    No, AMERICAN CARPET & RUG does not offer warranties.

    What services does AMERICAN CARPET & RUG offer?

    AMERICAN CARPET & RUG offers the following services: We provide and install most name brand Wall to wall Carpeting, Hardwood, Laminate,Tile, Natural Stone, Granite Counter Top, Cork, Bamboo, Vinyl Flooring, Area Rugs,and more for both residential and commercial clients since 1986.