Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Add A Deck Inc.

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2006

4.6

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6408 Mallory Drive

Henrico, VA 23226

Description

Class "A" Licensed, Design/Build specialty General Contractor, Free design consultation. BBB member since 1986. Custom decks, pressure treated decks, composite decks featuring TimberTech products, deck renovations, screened and open porches, porch enclosures, 3 season rooms featuring Custom Window Weather Lite Vinyl Pane Windows, sun room addtions, other room additions, and in-law suites. We will help you design it and we'll build it for you!! Please call the office at 804-285-4239 to set up your free design consultation. Or you can email at info@addadeck.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/31/2019


tom G.

16x24 deck attached to the house with composite decking and pergola.

Description of Work
Deck and pergola

Category decks

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to give us an "A" review. We appreciate it and are glad that you are happy with every aspect of our services to you. Regards, Steve Murphy, President Add A Deck, Inc.

2.0

09/15/2018


Anna G.

I am usually not the person to write a negative review, but I feel the need to warn others in this case. Please read if you value your time and money. I called Add a Deck build a simple, square deck from the second floor of a townhouse. The owner and his staff were responsive and friendly, and the quote came back quickly, so while the price was not the lowest, I signed the contract. I hired a contractor to avoid DIY mistakes and to have a hassle-free summer. Boy, was I wrong. What should have been a 2-3 day project turned into a month and a few days from start to end of construction. Here’s why: - They did not get the deck inspected per Henrico code while building. - The deck failed inspection 3 times. Massive fails — the footings failed because it was too shallow and the wood attachments to the house failed. - The company made the corrections, but only after hiring a private consultant to argue with Henrico on the points. - The deck was built going over the neighbors property line which was never fixed, he argued that point and refused to fix it. If that’s not bad enough, here’s the kicker. After a several phone conversations and emails back and forth during the ordeal, as soon as the deck passed inspection a month or so later, I was sent a stern “where’s my money” collection email for full and final payment by the owner of the company, followed by a collections notice by the office manager. In return, I emailed a pleasant email to the owner hoping for a civilized response, but I have not received an answer. Regrettably, I submitted full payment because I want to move on and be done with it. Since then, I’ve had to hire another contractor to fix this company’s work. In hiring another contractor, I found out that Add A Deck skimped on material and I overpaid for the work. Do not make the same mistake based on your initial impression of Add A Deck. They seem friendly and organized up front, but I promise you that it is not worth your time to hire them for your next project.

Description of Work
Build a second story deck for a townhouse in an HOA community.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Since Ms [Member Name Removed] also complained to the Better Business Bureau about this project I am attaching the same response that I sent to the BBB. The BBB dropped the complaint as Ms [Member Name Removed]'s complaint was somewhat exaggerated and in places, totally inaccurate. Our letter to the BBB follows: AS MS [Member Name Removed]'S COMPLAINT IS RATHER LENGTHY WE WILL BREAK IT DOWN AND TRY TO RESPOND TO IT IN PARTS. "They did not get the deck inspected per Henrico code while building." THIS IS STANDARD FOR DECKS THAT ARE SMALL AND BUILT IN A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME; AS TO NOT HALT THE CONSTRUCTION PROGRESS COMPLETELY WHILE WAITING FOR AN INSPECTION, THE INSPECTIONS ARE CALLED AT THE COMPLETION OF THE PROJECT. THIS DECK WAS BUILT TO CODE PER 2012 VIRGINIA CONSTRUCTION CODE (THE CURRENT CODE VERSION), AND THE SUBMITTED BUILDING AND SITE PLANS THAT WERE APPROVED BY THE HENRICO OFFICE OF BUILDING CONSTRUCTION AND INSPECTIONS ON 5/25/2018. THE PROJECT WAS STARTED THE WEEK OF JULY 2 AND COMPLETED ON JULY 10. WHILE IT DID TAKE AN UNUSUAL AMOUNT OF EFFORT ON OUR PART, ALL INSPECTIONS WERE PASSED, AND THE FINAL BUILDING INSPECTION WAS PASSED ON 8/10/18. "The deck failed inspection 3 times. Massive fails - the footings failed because it was too shallow and the wood attachments to the house failed. - The company made the corrections, but only after hiring a private consultant to argue with Henrico on the points." DECK CONSTRUCTION WAS COMPLETED ON 7/10/2018 AND FOOTING, FRAMING, & FINAL INSPECTION WAS CALLED FOR 7/11/18. ON 7/11/18 AN INSPECTOR ARRIVED AND NO ONE WAS HOME. THE FOOTING, FRAMING, AND FINAL BUILDING INSPECTIONS WERE ALL FAILED BECAUSE THE INSPECTOR HAD NO ACCESS TO THE DECK. FOOTINGS WERE NOT TOO SHALLOW. THE FOOTING INSPECTION WAS FAILED BY HENRICO COUNTY BUILDING INSPECTOR, UPON RECALL, DUE TO COUNTY INSPECTORS INABILITY TO VISUALLY VERIFY THE DEPTH AND FOOTING BEARING SOIL CONDITIONS DUE TO WATER COLLECTING IN THE EXCAVATIONS AS A RESULT OF PRECIPITATION EVENTS THAT OCCURRED BEYOND OUR CONTROL. A CONSULTANT WAS NOT HIRED TO ARGUE WITH HENRICO ON THE POINTS, THE HENRICO COUNTY INSPECTOR REQUIRED WE BRING IN A THIRD-PARTY ENGINEERING CONSULTING COMPANY TO DO AN ASSESSMENT OF FOOTING CONDITIONS, WHICH WE DID, AND THE DECK FOOTING ASSESSMENT REPORT COMPLETED BY GEOTEX ENGINEERING WAS SUBMITTED TO HENRICO COUNTY ON 7/25/18. AFTER THE COUNTY'S REVIEW OF THE THIRD-PARTY ASSESSMENT REPORT, WHICH CONFIRMED THE DECK'S FOUNDATION WAS CONSTRUCTED AS SHOWN IN THE COUNTY APPROVED PLANS AND SOIL BEARING CAPACITIES CONFIRMED, THE COUNTY INSPECTOR PASSED THE FOOTING INSPECTION. WE WOULD ALSO LIKE TO NOTE, IN MS. GORANSONS SIGNED CONTRACT, AND IN ALL ADD A DECK CONTRACTS, IT STATES "IF FOOTINGS ARE REQUIRED FOR THIS PROJECT, STANDARD FOOTINGS ARE INCLUDED. IF SHRINK SWELL SOIL OR POOR SOIL IS AN ISSUE AND A SOIL TEST AND/OR ENGINEERED OR DEEPER FOOTINGS ARE REQUIRED BY THE CITY OR COUNTY, HOMEOWNER WILL BE NOTIFIED, AND ADDITIONAL CHARGES WILL APPLY." WE DID NOTIFY THE HOMEOWNER OF THE COUNTY INSPECTOR REQUIRING THE FOOTING ASSESSMENT, ALTHOUGH ADDITIONAL CHARGES WERE INCURRED BY ADD A DECK AND COULD HAVE BEEN CHARGED TO THE CUSTOMER, WE DID NOT CHARGE FOR THOSE ADDITIONAL COSTS. THE FRAMING INSPECTION WAS FAILED DUE TO THE EXISTING BAND BOARD ON THE HOUSE THAT WAS INSTALLED BY THE HOME BUILDER NOT BY ADD A DECK. ADD A DECK CONFIRMED THE BAND BOARD WAS A PRESSURE TREATED BOARD; THE COUNTY INSPECTOR WANTED PROOF THAT IT WAS TREATED. WE ATTEMPTED TO CUT OUT FLASHING TO EXPOSE THE BAND BOARD TO THE INSPECTOR TO SHOW THE INSPECTOR THAT THE BOARD WAS INDEED PRESSURE TREATED HOWEVER, THE INSPECTOR WAS NOT COMFORTABLE VISUALLY CONFIRMING THAT THE BAND WAS PRESSURE TREATED. AS WE KNEW THE BAND BOARD WAS PRESSURE TREATED AND FELT WE WERE AT AN IMPASSE WITH THE INSPECTOR WE CONTACTED THE HENRICO COUNTY BUILDING INSPECTIONS OFFICE AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND ASKED IF THEY COULD HAVE A SECOND INSPECTOR COME OUT TO REVIEW AND ASSIST IN RESOLUTION OF THIS ISSUE. THEY AGREED AND SENT OUT ANOTHER INSPECTOR TO RE-INSPECT. UPON RE-INSPECTION WE AGAIN CUT BACK THE FLASHING TO EXPOSE THE BOARD TO THE INSPECTOR AND THE INSPECTOR AGREED THAT IT WAS A PRESSURE TREATED BOARD AND HE PASSED THE FRAMING INSPECTION. "The deck was built going over the neighbor's property line which was never fixed, he argued that point and refused to fix it." DECK PLANS, DECK PLACEMENT, & SET BACKS WERE ALL SUBMITTED AND APPROVED BY HENRICO COUNTY OFFICE OF BUILDING CONSTRUCTION AND INSPECTIONS, AND A PERMIT TO BUILD IN ACCORDANCE WITH SUCH PLANS WAS ISSUED ON 5/25/18. ADD A DECK BUILT THE DECK IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE BUILDING PERMIT AND ALL APPROVED PLANS. IT WAS OUR UNDERSTANDING FROM MS [Member Name Removed] THAT SHE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE COUNTY INFORMING HER THAT HER NEIGHBOR HAD FILED A COMPLAINT THAT THE DECK ENCROACHED ON THEIR PROPERTY. WE HAD A CONVERSATION WITH HER AT THAT TIME AND TOLD HER FROM THE INFORMATION WE HAD WE COULD NOT SEE HOW THAT WAS POSSIBLE. WE TOLD HER WE CONFIRMED THE DECK WAS BUILT AS PER APPROVED PLANS AND NOTHING WAS ATTACHED TO THE NEIGHBORS BUILDING. THAT WAS THE LAST WE HEARD OF IT, WE WERE NEVER TOLD WHAT THE ENCROACHMENT ENDED UP BEING AND WERE NOT ASKED TO FIX ANYTHING. "After a several phone conversations and emails back and forth during the ordeal, as soon as the deck passed inspection a month or so later, I was sent a stern "where's my money" collection email for full and final payment by the owner of the company, followed by a collection notice by the office manager." NEITHER OWNERS OF THE COMPANY EVER SENT MS. [Member Name Removed] ANY "WHERE'S MY MONEY" EMAIL. SHE WAS ONLY SENT HER FINAL INVOICE AFTER DECK CONSTRUCTION WAS COMPLETED ON 7/10/18. WHICH WAS FROM THE OFFICE MANAGER AND STATED: "On Jul 10, 2018, at 3:47 PM, Cindy Aikins wrote: Good Afternoon, Please see attached invoice 1707, for your review and payment. Please feel free to contact us should you have any questions or need any additional information. Thanks, Cindy Aikins Office Manager ADD A DECK, Inc. (804) 285-4239 Phone (804) 285-6565 Fax TO WHICH SHE RESPONDED ON 7/11/18: "On Jul 11, 2018, at 8:36 AM, [Information Removed] wrote: Hi Cindy, Thanks so much for the invoice. My tenant sent over pictures of the work, and it looks great. Is there anyway that I can pay electronically or would you like a check for the balance? Thanks, [Member Name Removed] SHE THEN RESPONDED AGAIN, LATER THAT DAY STATING: From: [Information Removed] -gmail.com To: Cindy Aikins Cc: [Information Removed] ; [Information Removed] Sent: Wednesday, July 11, 2018 12:46 PM Subject: Re: Add A Deck Invoice 1707 Taking the final inspection into account, I'll hold off on the payment until all is settled with the county. THE ONLY OTHER REQUEST FOR PAYMENT FROM OUR OFFICE WAS SENT ON 8/23/18, 13 DAYS AFTER HER FINAL INSPECTION WAS PASSED, OF WHICH SHE WAS AWARE, STATING: On Aug 23, 2018, at 3:49 PM, Cindy Aikins wrote: Good Afternoon, I have confirmed with the county, as I am sure you are aware, your final building inspection was passed by the county on 8/10/18. Therefore, as contractually agreed and obligated, we are requesting your immediate attention and payment of the attached final invoice 1707, previously invoiced 7/10/18. Thank you. Cindy Aikins Office Manager ADD A DECK, Inc. (804) 285-4239 Phone (804) 285-6565 Fax www.addadeck.com "Since then, I've had to hire another contractor to fix the companies work." WE NEVER RECEIVED ANY COMPLAINTS FROM MS. [Member Name Removed] ABOUT OUR WORK, ONLY HER COMMENT ABOVE THAT THE DECK LOOKED GREAT. SHE NEVER CONTACTED US TO ASK US TO FIX ANYTHING AND SINCE THE PROJECT WAS BUILT AND COMPLETED AS AGREED AND APPROVED WE ARE NOT AWARE OF ANYTHING THAT WAS IN NEED OF FIXING. "In hiring another contractor, I found out that Add A Deck skimped on material and I overpaid for the product based on the material used." ADD A DECK, AS PER THE CONTRACT AND APPROVED PLANS, PROVIDED AND USED SELECT PRESSURE TREATED DECKING, WHICH HAS VERY FEW TO NO KNOTS, AND SCREWED DOWN THE DECKING WITH STAINLESS STEEL SCREWS, WHICH WAS PART OF THE PRICING PROGRAM SHE REQUESTED FOR THIS JOB. NO COMPLAINTS OR CONCERNS WERE EVER RAISED BEFORE, OR DURING DECK BUILDING. IN FACT, AS DETAILED ABOVE IN MS. [Member Name Removed]'S EMAIL DATED 7/11/18 MS. [Member Name Removed] COMPLIMENTED THE WORK STATING THE DECK LOOKED GREAT. WHILE WE DID, IN ERROR, SEND THE FINAL PAYMENT INVOICE PRIOR TO THE FINAL INSPECTION BEING APPROVED AND THUS MAY HAVE CAUSED SOME CONFUSION, WE SEE NO MERIT TO THIS COMPLAINT... AND THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AGREED.

5.0

09/14/2017


Aaron K.

Working with Add a Deck was one of the better contractor experiences we've ever had. From initial estimation through completion of the project, everyone was prompt and polite, and they did great work. The guys showed up on time every day and the company owners were always quick to answer any questions we had during the process. They did an amazing job of transforming a mess of a deck that another company had built a few years prior. We would happily use them again!

Description of Work
Resurface deck, add railings, new steps

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review, [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about Add A Deck!! Regards, Steve Murphy, President Add A Deck, Inc

5.0

01/12/2016


CYNTHIA B.

Add A Deck was great to work with. They provided a competitive estimate and comprehensive plan in a very timely manner. Work began on the project earlier than they had promised and their crew showed up to work every day, unless weather prevented them from working. The finished screened porch is beautiful and the construction quality is excellent. Would highly recommend Add A Deck for a project like this.

Description of Work
Built a screened porch over an existing deck.

Category decks, remodeling, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for the nice review. I hope you enjoy your porch for many years to come. We look forward to working with you again when you do your project at the lake. Regards, Steve Murphy

3.0

07/03/2015


Bryan H.

I called Add A Deck to come out to the house for a quote. They were professional and showed up as scheduled. I wanted to do a wood deck on the back of the house but due to the yard and slope of the soil a wooden deck ended up not being the best option for the right side of the back of the house. We were able to get a quote for two decks on the left back side of the house. The gentlemen that was the person providing the quote stated that hardscape would be best for the area that we are not able to do a wooden deck. They don't do hardscape but another company does and they would contact me for that portion. The disappointing part of this process was the sales person that came out to the house. He was a nice guy and professional enough however, he was very hard to work with. I was trying to tell him what we wanted and take my time looking and discussing ideas. He kept cutting me off when I would try to talk and he had his own ideas etc... It was very exhausting and by the end of it, I just wanted him to leave. He did provide a nice drawing a few days later. The company for the hardscape called but I did not call them back. The salesman never followed up with me and the drawing did not contain a price for the decking that they would be able to do. Overall I wouldn't say anything completely negative about this company as I can't speak to product or quality as I never got that far. I was just not impressed from the beginning so, I would look elsewhere but you might have a better experience.

Description of Work
Quote

Category decks, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], All I can say is we dropped the ball and I apologize. Our designer showed me the plans he came up with for you and said he had put in a request to the landscaper to get a quote on the paver patio portion of the project. He was waiting to hear back from the landscaper and went on to work on other projects. The landscaper (we don't use him any more) never got back in touch with our representative and we dropped the ball and didn't follow up. I'm assuming you have moved on with the project. If we can help let us know. Either way I hope your project turns out great and again I am very sorry we let you down. Sincerely, Steve Murphy

5.0

06/17/2015


Marsha B.

It turned out beautiful and gave us so much more room for entertaining.

Description of Work
Built a two level deck on the back of our house

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to write an Angie's List review. We really appreciate it when our customers take the time to let everyone know how happy they are with our designs and construction of their project. Please continue to spread the word! Our clients are our best advertising! Best Regards, Steve Murphy Add A Deck, Inc.

4.0

06/03/2015


Christopher O.

They were great. The problem? The estimate - even the lowest estimate - was three times our budget, and I immediately emailed back and said there was no way. I felt like we both could have saved a lot of time (and for them, work) if they'd just asked about our budget. Too be fair, he was clear that he wasn't comfortable ballparking. I would recommend that prospective customers with a budget make sure that the company knows that from the start.

Description of Work
After our request, they came out and did a great job of measuring and examining our area. Spent a lot of time with me showing me all the options; they did a beautifully detailed and thorough drawing of what it would be like, with prices.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Sorry it took me a while to respond to your comments but frankly I wasn't quite sure how to respond. All I can say is that we are sorry you feel we wasted your time. We take pride in putting together professional, thorough, and accurate proposals for our prospective customers. Usually our customers have a pretty good idea of the price range of their project. On the other hand quite often, when we discuss budget, some people are hesitant because they are afraid that their "budget" number will have some influence on how we price the project. We design and price all of our projects based on the guidance from the client and what they are hoping for as a final project. Sometimes our client's price expectations are low and we do waste some time but hopefully they come away with a better understanding of what their project entails and the costs involved. Often, they come back to us later to have the project built! Again, I'm sorry we weren't able to help you with your project. Sincerely, Steve Murphy ADD A DECK, INC

5.0

01/22/2015


Barbara D.

They were wonderful and good to work with. They were flexible. Everything that we asked them about the job made their day.

Description of Work
We put on a deck. It was a big deck and it had a pergola on it. They built two decks. They built one deck with different levels on it and the other deck on another small shed.

Category decks, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed], Thanks for taking the time to put a review on Angie's List. We get a lot of calls from Angie's List members and enjoy when they take the time to give us a review. We are so glad you were happy with the decks we built for you and hope you will enjoy them for years to come. Please refer Add A Deck to your Richmond area family, friends and neighbors. Don't forget we not only build top quality decks but also screened and open porches, room additions, master and in-law suites, and we've recently done several bathroom and kitchen renovations at the request of customers for whom we had done previous projects. Again, thanks for the great review! We really appreciate it!! Sincerely, Steve Murphy ADD A DECK, Inc. ADDitions And DECKs by Add A Deck

2.0

11/26/2013


Michelle O.

The meeting went okay. When the gentleman left he said he would get back to us with a design and estimate. It has been almost 2 months without a word. The gentleman they sent was knowledgeable and helpful in determining a few things we did not know about our house.

Description of Work
They sent a gentleman out to give us an estimate on enclosing our porch. They also sent a roofer to inspect part of the roof. Ihas been a

Category decks, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] , Here is the response from our designer that met with you. I apologize for the lack of follow up on my part while Mark was ill. Things got a little out of whack while he was in the hospital and we're still trying to get caught up with older prospects as well as keeping up with new clients. Sincerely, Steve Murphy Add A Deck, Inc. To whom it may concern: I was the design representative assigned to respond to Ms. Owens' initial request. I met with Mr. & Mrs. Owens, reviewed their ideas and plans with them, then measured the area where improvement was proposed. I also suggested work or inspection of other areas that appeared to need attention, but that I was not qualified to make proper analysis. I requested that our roofer be allowed to inspect a problem I concluded would require addressing before the originally proposed improvement could be made. Our roofer followed-up and reported, to me, the required work and cost. This would be consolidated into original request to complete proposal. At about this time I suffered a sudden and unexpected major medical episode that resulted in ambulatory treatment and transport to Emergency Room, hospital stay, and corrective surgery. Survival and recovery displaced all other concerns. Unfortunately, several important personal and business related responsibilities suffered, including completing my proposal for the Owens. Other Add-A-Deck associates did not know, and I had not recalled, the Owens interrupted follow-up until the reading of Ms. Owens' understandably worded input here. Blame for this failure should be laid on me and my recent circumstance, not on Add-A-Deck, Inc. and their many associates. They have worked very hard to improve the quality and expand the enjoyment of many Central Virginia area homes. If allowed to, I, or another Add-A-Deck, Inc. representative, will work with the Owens to plan and complete their home project. Sincerely, Mark Elder, Designer Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

10/21/2013


Becky W.

We can't say enough great things about them. They gave us an estimate that was well below what we had gotten from another company and the finished product is nothing less than perfect! The guys showed up when they said they would (I believe they were even a few days early) and kept us informed every step of the way. They tore down the existing small deck and rebuilt a much larger one from scratch and we really appreciated the extra touches such as sanding and rounding the corners of the railings. Those guys were top notch and professional and we really can't thank them enough! They went above and beyond to make sure the wood was good quality, even ordering extra boards because some of them weren't up to par. We highly recommend them and will definitely be calling them again to rebuild our front porch.

Description of Work
Rebuild back deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. I'm glad that you are so pleased with your new deck. It sounds like the guys did a great job for you! That's our goal on every job we design and build. I hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come!! Sincerely, Steve Murphy

5.0

07/29/2013


Elizabeth P.

The entire team at Add A Deck was awesome. From the start they were attentive and very helpful. Also patient with our questions and change of plans.

Description of Work
Built a deck for a above ground pool.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review, [member name removed]!!! I hope you're enjoying your new pool and deck this summer. We appreciate the opportunity to help you with your project. Sincerely, Steve Murphy

2.0

05/06/2013


Jane W.

When the guy came, I had the feeling he was trying to make the job into something bigger than it really is, and then he told me he would draw up a plan and email it to me and whatever time frame he gave me it was much later than what he said. Like he told me let us say two weeks, it was like four weeks. Then he said once I got that, someone would contact me to discuss the price, but no one has yet to contact me. Also on the plan, he added some things that I did not request. He also incorrectly told me "Oh we have to do this because that is the code" and that was wrong. That is not the code. It would have meant additional work for them though. I was not pleased at all with them. I did not like the lack of continuity. So they got one person who comes out and talks to me and he draws up a plan, supposedly another person was going to give me the price and come and talk to me. Neither one of them have nothing to do work. Also, he said "well, it looks like it is a big job", it is not a big job. It is not even going to take them three weeks and this guy and his whole crew, it was going to at least take more than a month and my in knowledge of building things it did not sound right either. I was not pleased with them at all.

Description of Work
I had an estimate from Add A Deck, Inc.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

First let me say that I apologize that your project was not taken care of in a more timely manner. While I'm not going to mention names here, the designer that came to see you has gotten numerous excellent reviews right here on Angie's List. He would never make excuses but during the time period you are referring to he was very ill with kidney stones and also has a grown son that had some very serious things going on. I have discussed with him that the office should have been notified to help him take care of our customers. I'm not trying to make excuses for him. These are the facts and he should have asked for help. As far as your concerns about him making more of the job than it was... I have seen pictures of your deck. Their are definitely areas that are unsafe and do not meet code. We always try to do our best to properly inform our clients when we visit them. You can choose to repair or replace whatever you like but we feel it is our responsibility to point out problems when we see them. Again, I am sorry you were not happy with our services. I agree that the response time was not what it should have been. I hope that you were able to get your project properly taken care of. Sincerely, Steve Murphy

5.0

03/25/2013


Hayden B.

Overall, better than expected.

Description of Work
The deck is the best I have ever seen. No comparison to any other deck. After first seeing the deck, I didn't even recognize my back yard. Thare are many reasons why I chose Add A Deck, Inc. 1. Steve gave the most accurate, most detailed, most well done, most creative best fitting deck design. Steve also referred me to a great tree removal company. I couldn't eve tell where the trees used to be. 2. My wife met Steve for the appraisal because I could not be there. He left a better impression than other appraisers. 3. Regarding price, Steve really cares. He is very patient. 4. Tim & Steve are very knowledgeable. a. point out details others wouldn't b. utmost professionals 5. Time punctual a. work hard b. work fast c. precision I recommend Add A Deck, Inc to anyone, & would re-hire Add A Deck.

Category garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review. You've said it all. Steve

5.0

01/31/2013


Tracy B.

I have a large deck in my back yard that was over 25 years old and needed replacing. I was in a hurry to get the work started because I was going out of town and was going to be boarding my dogs for a few days. Since this deck is the dogs' entry into their fenced in yard, it was convenient to minimize the amount of time I would have to walk them on a leash. I talked to Steve on a Friday night, he came by to do the estimate on Saturday morning, and they started work the following Tuesday after getting the permit. After talking to other "A" rated deck companies, Steve was the only one that mentioned installing flashing under the bottom of my siding to protect my home, and the only one that knew I needed some additional supports to make the deck more sturdy, so I chose Add A Deck. While it did take over 3 weeks to finish the job, that was mostly due to two days of snow, a couple of days of rain and extreme cold. I couldn't blame them for not being able to work all day in 20 degree temps. During the construction process, Igor really went above and beyond to do his best to try to make a path for my dogs to get to their fenced in yard, and even used lattice and other materials to block off areas that could be dangerous to my dogs or allow them to run away. I know accomodating my dogs took extra time on his part, and he probably did things out of the normal order, but I (and my dogs) really appreciated it! When the project was finished, it was absolutely beautiful. The wood they used looks great, and every detail including the trim, handrails, steps, and lattice turned out perfect. I know everything was done right, complied with building codes, and legally permitted and inspected. There is no comparison between my original deck and the one I have now. As for dos and don'ts....DO hire Add a Deck and DON'T hesitate to have the work done in January. I think most deck companies aren't super-busy in the winter, so it's a great time to get a winter discount.

Description of Work
Excellent choice

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Customer, Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you and the dogs are very happy. Sorry it took so long to finish. The weather was a little rough to say the least. Thanks for the pictures! It really does look great. The Deckorator metal pickets and the wrap around steps really are a beautiful improvement. I bet it doesn't shake when someone walks across it!! I hope you and the dogs enjoy your new deck. What a great place for cooking on your green egg!! I was a pleasure working with you. Sincerely, Steve

5.0

12/17/2012


Anita C.

We waited two months to get this deck. It was worth the wait! None of the delay was the fault of the company. We originally contacted Add A Deck in September, and Ron Navaroski (designer) visited our home and discussed various options and materials. At our request, he designed a raised 12' x 16' deck that eventually we could turn into a screened-in porch. Although the company could have begun work immediately, we had to wait almost a month for HOA approval. Then, when the company applied for the building permit, Henrico Co. denied it based on the setback and the fact that our lot backs up to wetlands. The county also said we could never have a screened porch there. So, Tim Siddons and Ron suggested a ground level floating deck,even larger than we originally planned, that connects to an existing patio. We still got the railing (not essential for safety but essential for holiday decorating!) and the planter we wanted. The deck is exactly the right size for us. The work on the deck took only a few days, including flooring, rail, electrical work, and staining. Steve Thomas, who did all the construction, was cheerful, professional, and prompt. There is no truck access to our backyard, so he carried all the lumber back by hand. Due to irrigation and weather, the pathway was cold and muddy, but we heard no complaints. Thanks to Steve Mallory, Tim, Ron, and Steve Thomas, we love our new deck and can hardly wait for spring. Great job, guys!

Description of Work
Designed and constructed a 12' by 22' floating deck in backyard of townhouse, including 28 foot railing with decorative pickets and a 4 foot planter at one end

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're glad you are so happy with your project. I will make sure Ron, Tim, and Steve Thomas get a copy of your review. Sincerely, Steve Murphy (not Mallory lol) Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

11/05/2012


Bruce R.

The estimate they provided was very detailed in describing all stages of the project. The work went exactly as planned. They were very up front about the cost and didn't come back with add on expenses after the fact. I could have gone with a lower priced estimate, but I don't feel that price is everything. From sales through construction I felt that their employees were courteous and honest. Steve, who did most of the work, was very respectful of our property and was meticulous in making sure that the job was done properly. Both partners regularly checked in to make sure the project was going as expected during all phases of construction. We are extremely satisfied with the result. They do great work and I would not hesitate to use Add a Deck again or recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Replaced tongue and groove porch flooring and the railings on both our porch and deck. Also replaced our deck posts.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Member, Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review. I'm glad you are happy with the end result of your project and appreciate the way we try to do business. Happy customers are the best!! Sincerely, Steve Murphy Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

05/09/2012


Thomas K.

Mark spent a good deal of time evaluating our property and the job we had in mind. The estimate provided was also very detailed and extremely professional. However, it took more than two weeks for us to get it and we had moved on by then. The price was not sky-high but it was still out of our reach. Add A Deck might be a good candidate if we decided to do a larger project.

Description of Work
Add a Deck provided an estimate for replacing our deck.

Category decks

5.0

05/07/2012


Stacy B.

We had Add a Deck tear down a really poorly built deck (built by another company) that was about 8 years old and build a much larger deck with a nice pergola. We had multiple sales calls from our sales guy (Ron) who was great to deal with. What we initially wanted and what was financially feasible were 2 different things so we changed gears midway through the process. Add a Deck was great through the changes and really listened to what we wanted. We were able to build a phenomenal deck for a great price (they came in as the lowest bid out of 3 companies). It took around 5 days from demo to completion. We can't say enough good things about the guys we worked with. Tim (GC) and his team were professional and punctual throughout the process. They kept a clean job site and were a pleasure to deal with. We had anywhere between 2 and 4 guys on site at any given time so they were able to get it done quickly. Quality and craftsmanship is top notch. And the finished carpentry touches really make it pop. I would use Add a Deck again in an instant and would recommend them to anyone. Good honest company with some fantastic carpenters. Use with confidence!

Description of Work
Tear down existing deck (10' x 10') and build custom 18' x 17' deck with Pergola. We used aluminum "spindles" and wood for the remainder of the deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review. It's wonderful when a customer takes the time to tell us what a good job we did. I'll be sure to let Ron and Tim and the carpenters know how happy you are. I think the compliment I appreciate most is "good honest company". Each of our customers is special and we try to give everyone a great quality project for a fair price. We give our best price up front and don't play games. Sometimes we're the lowest; sometimes we're not. You can be sure, though, that you are going to get a great value when the project is all done! Thanks again for taking the time to respond in such detail. We appreciate your comments! Thank you for allowing us to help you with your project. Sincerely, Steve Murphy, Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

02/04/2012


Megan R.

The quality of design and work exceeded our initial expectations. We are VERY happy with the finished product. We may have been able to find a less expensive contractor, but we have no regrets. The gentlemen on site were professional, skilled and seemed to love their work. Note: Add a deck is NOT cookie cutter design. You can get whatever you want without having to deal with pre- fabrication or base designs that are difficult to tweak. This is the company for you if you want something simple or very original and complex. Great job overall! You DO get what you pay for. Quality of materials and workmanship were top. Very happy that we went with them and didn't try and skimp with another, cheaper contractor. I have NO worries about using this porch for many years without any maintenance.

Description of Work
They built a very large screened-in porch and replaced the surfacing of our existing back deck. The screened porch portion was new to the house and extended all along the back.

Category decks, garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you are so happy with your completed project. Our designer, Mark Elder, did a great job taking all your thoughts and ideas and incorporating them into the project design. You are absolutely correct that you get what you pay for in this business! We have actually had a number of calls recently asking us to come correct problems caused by contractors offering a "cheaper" price. "Cheap" is not always the best value in the long run. Our goal is to always provide a quality project at a fair price and most importantly make our client happy and excited with the end result and the value received. Thanks again for the great review. It was a pleasure working with this family to make your home improvement dreams become a reality. Sincerely, Steve Murphy - Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

01/05/2012


Val B.

We made the appointment and had an estimate done in just a couple of days. They could not start the job of the deck and two porches right away, but came to do the work when the said they would and finished it all in just a few days. An excellent job was done on all areas. They did their clean-up and were very professional with the entire job--start to finish. We will use them again for sure.

Description of Work
Shaun and his crew were on time, kept their word about when the job would be started, and they did a very professional job of the deck and two porches on our rental property.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. While we do get backed up at times and clients have to wait for their turn, when it is your turn you get our undivided attention. Since we use our own employees, we can get backed up as much as 4-6 weeks during the busy season. Some contractors go out and hire a "new sub" when they get backed up... you don't know what you're going to get as far as experience, quality of work, cleanliness of the job site, etc. Again, we use our own employees so everyone knows what to expect. Thanks for having us help you with your project. We're glad to have another satisfied customer. Sincerely, Steve Murphy, Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

06/26/2011


Richard A.

The completion of the deck will be for a future Angie's Report...

Description of Work
I did not have the work done due to other pressing unexpected expenses on another house. Sean Finch did respond to my call for an estimate and with precision, professionalism and a big touch of customer service in explaining his calculations and estimates, made me feel confident in his experience but also in his cost projections. After having taken all the calculations, he returned a week later with a computer read out of the deck and his final impressive cost. As soon as I can, I will be back with Sean to pick up where we left off. I thought that his service deserved a comment even if the work was not completed.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Sean does do a great job with his designs!! Thanks for your initial contact with Add A Deck. We look forward with helping you with the actual project. Sincerely, Steve Murphy, Add A Deck, Inc.

5.0

09/08/2010


Hal C.

I was very pleased with them. They were very reasonable, inventive, great and prompt. The deck looks really pretty. We replaced and designed the deck. We had problems with the staircase. The old deck was cutting half by the staircase and we didn?t want that. So they did a wonderful job of redesigning that was straightforward and really looked very nice. I think Add a Deck is franchised. They were in and out in a week. I was very pleased with their price and it didn?t affect the workmanship at all. I was very thrilled with the way they designed the deck. They took a basic structure and expanded it slightly. They then redesigned the staircase and I ended up with a deck that I am really proud of. The designer was very imaginative. A crew came out and worked as per his plans. They were here early in the morning and cleaned up after themselves. They arrived on a Monday morning and were finished by Friday. Sometimes they used to finish the work by 3 o?clock in the afternoon and sometimes they used to work till 6 o?clock. They knew that I wanted to get it finished. Price, workmanship, design and execution were all good. I would definitely use their services again. In fact, I have another deck and I would use them when it?s time to replace that too.

Description of Work
We used the services of Add a Deck for redesigning and installing a deck in late summer of last year.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Member, It was a pleasure helping you with your project. Thank you for your wonderful recomendation. I'm happy you were so pleased with every aspect of the building process. One correction though, we are not a franchised business. We are a local family owned business. My partner Tim Siddons and I, along with our carpenters and suppliers, have been serving the Richmond, VA area since 1986. We're celebrating our 25th anniversary this year!! Thanks again for your kind words. It's nice to be appreciated. Sincerely, Steve Murphy Add A Deck, Inc.

1.0

06/30/2010


Debbie A.

I contacted the company to get assistance in designing a patio/deck addition and to get estimates for the work. The contractor failed to show for an appointment, and didn't call until he was overdue, after I had taken off work to be at home to meet him. I called the company, who then assigned another contractor. This guy did show up, and worked with me for about an hour and was very pleasant and helpful. He indicated he was busy, but he'd get back to me soon with an estimate for the design we came up with. Well, I'm still waiting and it's been 2 months. No way am I doing business with a company who shows me and my time so little respect.

Description of Work
Design and estimate for deck/patio

Category decks

Service Provider Response

The member called our office on May 7 requesting a design consultation. Her information was given to one of our representatives and he contacted her to set an appointment. At the time of the appointment it was raining very hard and our representative called and left a message requesting a call back to re-schedule. There seems to be some confusion as to who left what message and when... The member called back to the office and I (Steve Murphy - one of the owners) took the call and said I would meet with her. We met on 5/25, and after about an hour, came up with a design the member liked. I told her we were very busy and that it may take several weeks for me to get back to her but I would get back to her. Part of her design was for a patio area which we co-ordinate with another contractor. I left her a message letting her know that he was also very busy and I was trying to get with him to get a price on her patio. I tried to call her 2 weeks ago (6/18), did not reach her by phone but sent her an email telling her I had gotten everything together for her and would like to discuss it with her and to please call me at her convenience. I heard nothing. This posting on Angie's List on 6/30 is all I've heard from her and its been 12 days since I emailed her. I just called the customer on her work phone and cell. I got no answer but left her a message apologizing to her. I'm sorry for the communication problems. Our intent is to treat every customer with the utmost respect and courteous, professional service. Sincerely, Steve Murphy Add A Deck

1.0

04/25/2010


Richard T.

See above. No work was done but the company never even bother to call me. How this company made it to the top of Angies List is a mistery to me. DO NOT USE this company unless maybe you have months to wait on them.

Description of Work
Called this company based on glowing recommendations of Angies List. Took 3 days for the company to call back to tell me someone would call to schedule an appointment. That individual couldn't come out to give me an estimate for 4 more days. He came and seemed very disinterested in my job which was a complete redo of my deck. Stated he would have an estimate by Tuesday "at the latest" (this was Friday the week before". He never called and it is now 6 days after that Tuesday. I went with their compettion.

Category decks

5.0

11/12/2009


Joanne B.

The experience was fabulous. The guy who came out was a real craftsman, did a really nice job and not only he did a nice job, but, he suggested a couple of changes that made it even better. I had steps just going right up to a door and he said that it would be awkward if was carrying things, so, he suggested a landing. Also, the way my sidewalk was laid out, it was a little awkward, so, we ended up putting an asymmetric landing and that is just perfect. I am really happy with the work and would recommend them to anyone in a second. I thought the work was very good; they were reasonable and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
They rebuilt the front porch last year and did the side porch a couple of months ago.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dubon Fencing LLC

    Dubon Fencing provides many different types of fence styles. From a privacy wood fence to vinyl, aluminum, chain link, and wire mesh fence. We’ve got you covered.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    DanDale Fence

    here are dozens of fence companies out there, so why would anyone choose us over them? We have come to find out that many customers who have used contractors typically have bad to average customer service. Our goal at DanDale is to provide exceptional customer service! From the day we give our presentation to the day we fulfill the contract, we work to provide a great experience for you so that when your friends ask about us, then you’re glad to share your experience. Our focus is to work as a team. When our crews work with you, we encourage one another to work together to take care of our customers. We are transparent with the quality of materials, timing, and meeting your expectations as best as possible.  

    Offers by DanDale Fence on Angi
    T & C Outdoor Specialists

    Specializing in Landscape Irrigation, Landscape Drainage, Landscape Lighting and more! We take pride in every job no matter the size of the project. We will work diligently until the job is complete and communicate throughout the process. With over 40 years of combined landscape irrigation, lighting and drainage we can help you with your project today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Free design consultation
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Add A Deck, Inc. offers the custom design and construction of many home Improvements including pressure treated decks, composite decks featuring TimberTech, AZEK, and Wolf products, deck renovations, open and screened porches, 3 season rooms featuring Custom Window Weather Lite 4 Track Vinyl Pane Windows, sun rooms, and in-law suites. We will help you design it and we'll build it for you!!

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Add A Deck Inc.

    How is Add A Deck Inc. overall rated?

    Add A Deck Inc. is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Add A Deck Inc. open?

    Add A Deck Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Add A Deck Inc. provide

    Add A Deck Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Add A Deck Inc. offer free estimates?

    No, Add A Deck Inc. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Add A Deck Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Add A Deck Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Add A Deck Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Add A Deck Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Add A Deck Inc.?

    Yes, Add A Deck Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Add A Deck Inc. offer?

    Add A Deck Inc. offers the following services: Add A Deck, Inc. offers the custom design and construction of many home Improvements including pressure treated decks, composite decks featuring TimberTech, AZEK, and Wolf products, deck renovations, open and screened porches, 3 season rooms featuring Custom Window Weather Lite 4 Track Vinyl Pane Windows, sun rooms, and in-law suites. We will help you design it and we'll build it for you!!

    Are there any services Add A Deck Inc. does not offer?

    ask for details