Landes Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

About

Founded 1948 • With Angi since October 2008

Landes Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is family owned and operated, and has been in business in since 1948. We install heat pumps, oil & gas furnaces, indoor air quality products, and provide air duct cleaning service. We operate our own custom sheet metal shop which utilizes a computer automated

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(61) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

53

4

5

3

0

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (59)air duct cleaning (7)water heaters (7)dryer vent cleaning (3)lighting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 61 reviews
5.0

06/25/2018


Rogan S.

Went very smoothly. Got it installed in one day.

Description of Work
New heat pump installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2018

5.0

06/25/2018


Susan H.

Service person called BEFORE arriving and arrived on time. He was courteous and professional and completed the service in a timely manner. We have found that Landes' employees are the same from year to year, a good indication that their employees are satisfied, trained and competent--very important when evaluating a company.

Description of Work
Annual service call

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018

5.0

01/11/2018


Joseph L.

Bradley quickly diagnosed and fixed the problem all within a couple of hours.

Description of Work
Air Handler was not blowing air. They had to replace a circuit board.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2018

5.0

12/08/2017


Alice T.

Work was on schedule and on budget. Landes actually listened to our needs and provided choices. No problems.

Description of Work
Replaced old oil furnace with new dual-fuel HVAC with enhanced air filter

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2017

5.0

12/04/2017


Barry S.

Excellent! The installers were very professional, diligent and polite. We are extremely happy with our system.

Description of Work
Installed two new central air conditioning units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $15,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2017

5.0

06/12/2017


John H.

Pretty well, the left a switch off, but immediately returned to fix it

Description of Work
System check - heating

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2017

5.0

12/30/2016


Tom L.

The estimate - I was a bit concerned that it took a while to schedule the visit and then it took even longer to receive the final estimate. But, he spent a lot of time at our house, really listened to our wants and needs, tried to match the best system to our budget, and worked hard to deal with the limitations presented by the older house. All questions were answered professionally and he provided literature and links to online resources. Scheduling the installation was again a bit of a problem. They were somewhat backlogged, we were going to be out of town, and everything from hunting season to Thanksgiving impacted the timing. Landes finished the work before our planned trip. The installation took about 3.5 days and the installers were friendly, answered questions and kept us informed on progress, and were very professional. Very neat installation both inside and out. Only negative - a small amount of debris was left in the cellar. They explained various aspects of the system including the media filter and sophisticated thermostat. After a couple weeks of use we raised a couple concerns and again the holiday season made scheduling difficult but Landes worked with us to get here as soon as possible. The installer returned to reroute a condensation line and to check some settings.

Description of Work
We had an 22-24 year old propane furnace replaced with a heat pump and propane furnace dual fuel system. Our goal was more reliable and efficient heating and the addition of air conditioning. An additional return air was installed as well as modifications to some existing ducts and extension of a gas line. This installation is in a home built in 1848.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2016

Images

Review for Landes Heating & Air Conditioning Inc - 101 W Mosby Rd, Harrisonburg, VA - 34204780

+1 More

5.0

10/10/2016


Linda L.

The visit went great and I feel better knowing a perfesional has done the job right . I singed up for the yearly service plan that gives me a better price and emergency services when I need it !!

Description of Work
Had HVAC serviced and had some wiring done over because the other company that put the system in didn't do it right !! Well I learned the hard way You get what you pay for !!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2016

1.0

09/19/2016


Kathleen K.

I am just very unhappy. He said $200-300 to re pipe and clean out the lint. They ended up taking out just a foot of pipe and replaced with the scrunchy pipe which he said he didn't like. They didn't clean up. I had to do it. All I got was a foot of pipe and a job that still needs redone. Now its starting to make noises again.

Description of Work
My dryer was building up lent and was told don't run the dryer until its cleaned out. The piping underneath was put in wrong and was building up with lent and getting to hot.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2016

5.0

11/15/2015


Jeffrey P.

It went better than expected, from beginning to end. We were unsure of what heating system to purchase. Jason Landes came out free (more than an hour drive), examined the house, and provided the pros and cons of each type of heating system available. He then photographed the entire house to work up at a solution that would fit our specific needs. It required removal of rocks in the foundation and running pipe and flex ductwork for the first time, under the house all the way up into the attic. He was aware that we wanted minimal intrusion of the ductwork in the house's appearance. Working together we determined that a gas system would be the best solution for us due to the house's location and layout. The Landes crew always arrived at the appointed time. The ductwork was milled to be a perfect fit. The job took the exact amount of time estimated and it was amazing how clean the house was when the crew left. Landes worked with us to accommodate a final inspection date since the house is a vacation home for us. The heat is just wonderful. This is absolutely the best experience I have ever had with any contractor and I recommend this company highly. The company's personnel have integrity, are professional and pleasant to work with, and do a great job!

Description of Work
Landes ran ductwork, installed a gas heating system, replaced a water heater, and updated a venting system for a dryer. The house did not have central heat, but relied on two ancient oil heaters, which Landes removed. The house now has central heating for the first time in its 100 year history.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $17,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2015

5.0

03/11/2015


Sterling S.

They were very good. They've been back since then to check it because my tenant complained. I wasn’t there while they were doing the work but their staff is outstanding when you talk to them on the phone. They get back and they are punctual. I would tell friends and family members that it’s privately owned. Their price is comparative. Their responsiveness is fine too.

Description of Work
I used Landes Heating & Air Conditioning. They put in a whole new system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2014

2.0

11/16/2014


LENNY L.

I did not use this contractor to replace the heat pump at my home because they did not respond to my Invitation to Bid. I sent out bid requests to 4 local HVAC contractors but did not receive a bid back from any of them. Why? Because I tried to protect myself by including a few simple contractual type agreements in my Invitation to bid which the bidding contractor had to sign and return with their bid. None of the agreements were outrageous. They were simple things like; requiring the contractor to repair any damages made by the contractor’s employees to my property and the neighboring property, requiring the contractor to repair any damages made by his employees to the new equipment being installed, etc. You would think that these reasonable and normal expectations should be a given and no problem for any reputable contractor; right? Wrong! These types of contractual agreements may work for a general contractor who could possibly provide the sub-contractor with future business but, if you are a homeowner of only one home, forget about it. The sub-contractor won’t even respond. I did at least receive a phone call from this one saying he was “too busy and with all the procedures, he would not be submitting a bid”. So forget anything you may read about protecting yourself when choosing and hiring a sub-contractor. I was very surprised to learn that most sub-contractors don’t even have a contract of their own and, those that do, are very brief and worded to protect themselves, not you. There should be a law requiring a general contract to protect both parties as part of any job of this scope. But, there is no such law so, it is up to you to carefully research and carefully select a reputable contractor. I ended up going with Sears for the replacement of my Heat Pump. I at least received a renewable 5-year maintenance agreement for my Heat Pump which includes an annual service visit, giving me a little peace of mind.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Work Completed On 06/30/2014

Service Provider Response

At Landes Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc., we strive to earn and maintain the confidence of our customers everyday. All our work in performed in house by our well trained technicians with direct guidance and oversight of our family team. We do not sub-contract any of our installations. We are properly licensed, insured and members of our local Chamber of Commerce and Better Business Bureau. We have a well staffed service department that offers emergency and preventative service.
5.0

10/06/2014


Carol P.

They were very knowledgeable, polite, punctual and did a great job. The price was more than some quoted but the work was exceptional. I have already recommended them to others.

Description of Work
Replace inside & outside Hvac system thermostat, ductwork was here

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2014

5.0

08/06/2014


Bruce S.

They were pretty good. They were responsive. They were prompt and they were professional. There was no ripoff at all. Their price was very reasonable. The quality was very good. They had a bit of a mixup as to what they have. They dealt with that professionally.

Description of Work
We used Landes to fix the problem that we had.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $254

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2014

5.0

07/10/2014


Jason F.

They came and did what they needed to do. Everything they did was good.

Description of Work
Landes Heating & Air replaced the compressor inside the A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $2,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2014

5.0

06/26/2014


Marcia C.

We had recently moved into that home. The furnace was operating, but not efficiently. The in-flow duct was too small for the furnace, and was connected very loosely, leaving gaps where air escaped. The heat pump was resting partially off its base, and was slightly tilted - not level. The technician came, listened to what we wanted done, looked at the items in question, and gave his recommendations that the in-flow duct be rerouted to increase efficiency, and gave us a quote for the work. After accepting the quote, the technician called to schedule the days for the work to be done, and let us know who would be arriving what days, and how long the repairs would take. All the items mentioned above were done quickly, efficiently and completely. They did have to work around a few rainy days, but once the work had begun, they stayed busy, and finished the work in the time they had estimated. After they finished each step, they showed us what work had been done before they left for the day. We were very pleased with the work that they did.

Description of Work
re-route furnace in-flow duct (and create new in-flow register opening), clean all ductwork (for forced-heat home) and level heat pump and adjust its placement so that it was resting solidly on its base. (work took 3 days: April 7, 24 & 28)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2014

4.0

05/21/2014


James D.

They're very professional. The are clean and respectful of your house. They're careful not to track dirt in from the outside.

Description of Work
Landes Heating & Air Conditioning did routine maintenance work on my heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $80

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2013

5.0

03/21/2014


becky O.

excellent work and clean up after the job , Honest and fair.

Description of Work
install a hot water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2014

5.0

02/23/2014


Jane W.

Landes installed this furnace 27 years ago and are the only company that has worked on it. All technicians have been prompt, identified themselves, neat, when something needed to be fixed they explained what it was, how to fix it, and gave an estimate. Excellent company.

Description of Work
Yearly furnace check. Pressure, motor,balance clean filters.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2013

5.0

12/29/2013


Kevin Z.

The entire process went very smoothly. From the initial estimate Craig and the technicians they were very professional and explained several options for heating and cooling our second floor. There was about a 3 week lag time from signing the contract until the work was started. Once the project was started it went very quickly and the technicians were very careful about keeping the house clean. They were very efficient and the workmanship has so far shown to be excellent. They were very conscientious about leaving open space in our attic for any future projects. The project was finished up in a little over two weeks and everything has been working great. One issue we had involved them installing a white trim covering on the outside of our red brick house. Before we had even voiced our concerns, Craig had seen the trim and it was switched to a more appropriate dark brown the next day.

Description of Work
Installed a Lennox Heat pump to service the second floor of our house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $12,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2013

5.0

09/06/2013


JOANN S.

After-hours call, so we did pay a premium but the tech (Chris) called right away and was at our home within 1/2 hour. The problem was a blown capacitor in the outside unit. Replaced with one he had on the truck and we were up and running again. Couldn't have been happier with the response and work. We were leaving on vacation the next morning and did not want to wait until we returned for the repair because of the heat and humidity.

Description of Work
Repaired air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2013

4.0

08/15/2013


Alvin P.

The experience has been good. We have been using them for 25 years. I don't have much to compare them with. Their responsiveness has been good.

Description of Work
I used Landes Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. At one point, we had a new unit put in. I don't have any complaints. They came out a couple of months ago for a service. They check with us a couple of times a year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2013

5.0

07/03/2013


Daryl W.

The first day, the technician came towards the end of the promised time. Spent a short time finding the leak and scheduled a time to come again to repair it. When I made to appointment, I was not told that it would take 2 days to repair. The technician offered to replenish the refrigerant but explained that the leak was so big that it would probably be a waste of money to go this way. I was without air conditioning for 4 days. The second technician arrived 15 minutes late (did call), and spent 3 hours repairing the unit. Everything is working fine now. I will definitely use this company in the future.

Description of Work
Found and fixed a leak in my air conditioning unit. The other companies I called wanted to replace unit for 4,000 to 6,000 dollars.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2013