Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Backyard Bug Patrol

Founded 2010 • With Angi since February 2012

We take pride in delivering the best possible customer service in the pest control industry. While we are clearly in the pest control industry what we really provide is customer service. We absolutely go out of our way for our customers. I take it personally. My entire family got Lyme disease in our backyard, that’s why we started the company. Patrick Durkin got West Nile Virus and almost died. This is more than just a business for us. While we might not be perfect, we sure strive for perfection and make sure we do our best to rid yards of ticks and mosquitos.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(26) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
Christy C.
5.0
04/29/2020
Professional. Dependable. Excellent value. They email us the day before they treat the yard. We choose organic treatment over regular pesticides and tick tubes. Organic is around an 1/8 more expensive, but it is reasonable when comparing other competitors’ organic treatment prices. It has been worth it for our peace of mind and the safety of our pets and backyard wildlife. Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Mosquito and Tick Yard Control
Category
pest control
David H.
5.0
04/24/2017
Consistently good quality.
Description of Work
Mosquito and tick repellent spraying.
Category
pest control
Carrie W.
5.0
03/20/2017
Excellent! This is a great company....excellent service and the organic treatment works...no ticks and l rarely see a mosquito!
Description of Work
Pest control
Category
pest control
Nancy M.
5.0
03/02/2017
Excellent. Very thorough and excellent customer service. Very satisfied with services provided last year and have renewed service contract for this year
Description of Work
Property treated for Mosquitoes and Ticks.
Category
pest control
Derek Z.
5.0
05/11/2016
Great service and communication. This is our second year using this company. Our family spends most of our spring and summers outside. We were thrilled with our results last year, not one mosquito bite on our property. The company was always on time, and made sure all our concerns were met.
Description of Work
sprayed for mosquito and ticks
Category
pest control
Betsy D.
5.0
10/15/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Great service! Really took care of my mosquito issues! They were prompt and gave me several updates as to when to expect them. I will definitely use again! I highly recommend this service!
Category
pest control
Robert H.
5.0
09/14/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Great job. Got rid of the mosquitoes
Category
pest control
Scott L.
5.0
06/11/2015
unknown
Category
pest control
Jennifer L.
5.0
03/30/2015
Backyard Bug Patrol technicians are prompt and thorough. If we are not home when they treat our front and back yard, they leave their special calling card with the time of the treatment so we know to wait 30 minutes before having pets and children play in the yard. Their product has little/no smell which is a great bonus. The customer service is impeccable. Invoices are sent via email, as well as, reminders of treatment days, reschedules due to weather (no spray on rain days), and helpful information about pest control news specific to our area. When we found a tick on our daughter after a treatment last year, Backyard Bug Patrol made good on their promise to promptly re-treat our yard free of charge. We have felt reassured that our pets and children are protected from pests in our area (especially ticks) and this service has been so wonderful, that our whole court now uses Backyard Bug Patrol so we have a pest-free protective "bubble" around our area. We have used this service for 3 years and will continue for as long as we reside in this area.
Description of Work
Backyard Bug Patrol provided outdoor pest control (focusing on mosquitoes and ticks) for our property.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Steve E.
5.0
03/26/2015
The bottom line is simple; it works... and much better than any other service I have tried. We have reclaimed our back yard and pool thanks to the periodic organic misting that is applied every two weeks to control both ticks and mosquitoes. We haven't been able to enjoy the outdoors at our home in many years because of the ever-increasing problem of both. Once BBP started servicing us last Spring the problems are virtually totally gone. While it's not inexpensive, it's worth it.
Description of Work
Sprays (we use organic option) for ticks and mosquitoes all Spring and Summer
Category
pest control
Carey R.
5.0
03/25/2015
I have seen a reduction in pests.
Description of Work
They come every three weeks to spray the whole yard for several types of bugs.
Category
pest control
Patricia F.
5.0
06/26/2014
For the ten years previous to using this company's services, I had been unable to enjoy my patio or work in my yard without thoroughly dousing myself with insect repellant products like OFF. Not only is this inconvenient, but can be a real problem when sweat washes the repellant into your eyes! Last year I hired Backyard Bug Patrol to treat my yard, and I could truly enjoy my outdoor spaces without a single bite. This year I again engaged them, and again can walk or work outside without using and quot;but sprayand quot; on myself. It's a bit pricey (I haven't comparison shopped) but it has made such a difference, it's worth it to me. Their service is friendly, reliable and professional. You only need to keep off the lawn for about a half hour after treatment,and, of course, eliminate any standing water after rains. Birdbaths are okay if water is changed daily.
Description of Work
Spray front and backyard with non-toxic (to humans and pets) product to eliminate ticks and mosquitos. Repeat applications throughout the insect-prone months.
Category
pest control
Sanjit G.
5.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They've done a good job - yard is much more usable now than before with fewer mosquitos, and sometimes fewer gnats. Also, we're far less worried about ticks. | |Thanks BBP!!
Category
pest control
Sarah Z.
5.0
06/07/2014
We used them twice last year when mosquitoes prevented us from using the back yard. The were prompt, let me know they were coming before hand, and the treatments were effective enough to let us go outside again.
Description of Work
sprayed backyard for bugs.
Category
pest control
Lara W.
5.0
04/03/2014
We cannot say enough good about Backyard Bug Patrol. We LOVE their mission and we LOVE the way they run their company. We have had 2 dogs die from Lyme disease (lyme nephritis) and 2 of the 4 of us (humans) in our home have been diagnosed with Lyme disease. We LITERALLY used to pick ticks off of us and our pets by the dozen on a daily basis. But! Since we began using Backyard Bug patrol we rarely see a tick. We consider our yearly fee to them the best investment we make all year. Highly, Highly, HIGHLY recommend.
Description of Work
Backyard Bug Patrol comes to our property and sprays for ticks and mosquitoes and stink bugs.
Category
pest control
Doug F.
5.0
02/04/2014
I am very impressed by Backyard Bug Patrol. To begin with, we live rather far from their office (Round Hill), but they come out anyway! The service techs have always been polite and respectful of my property. As to the results... well, we don't have ticks! I suppose no news is the best news. Typically in a year we would get 2-4 ticks on our children, and at least one tick tested positive for Lyme. My wife already got Lyme, presumably from our yard. We have been tick free since we started using Backyard Bug Patrol. I know I still have deer (saw 2 on my lawn a month ago), and I'm sure there are rabbits and mice in the backyard, so this success in treatment is impressive. Also, haven't seen mosquitoes, and we would have those occasionally, so that's very good news. I know services like this can be expensive, but I realized that Lyme can be so devastating, I couldn't risk not doing it, and BBP has been wonderful!
Description of Work
Put a spray barrier in yard to prevent ticks and mosquitoes from thriving.
Category
pest control
Jeanne H.
5.0
10/31/2013
The technician is spraying for the first time now so I don't know whether the treatment will be effective. I DO know that they've called when they said they would, arrived when they said they would, are pleasant, professional, helpful with explanations and answering questions. The tiger mosquitos have become so bad in my yard over recent years that one can't be out there during the day, so I hope to regain use of my yard and the ability to garden without donning full mosquito netting. The technician said he would avoid spraying flowers as much as he could to reduce any potential damage to bees and give my vegetables a miss, but will thoroughly spray shrub foliage, the corner where my neighbors' bamboo sneaks into my yard, and the underside of my screen porch. End-of-season update: The treatments were effective! I was able to be out in my yard without being swarmed by mosquitos for the first time in eight years. Everyone associated with Back Yard Bug Patrol has been professional, reliable, and personable. I am very pleased and plan to purchase this service again next season.
Description of Work
The service I've bought has Backyard Bug Patrol spraying my yard every three weeks through October to control ticks and mosquitos.
Category
pest control
Mike C.
5.0
08/11/2013
Wonderful company. Always on time. Highly responsive.
Description of Work
Sprayed the yard to prevent against Mosquitos
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Patricia F.
5.0
07/23/2013
My next door neighbors had this service to protect their two young children. I've lived in this house since 2002 and never went outside in the summer without spraying myself thoroughly with insect repellent. I was skeptical about the neighbor's plan, but this year I got a business card from one of the polite and helpful people treating the next door property and called for info. The price seemed high to me, but the mosquito problem was so bad, I signed up. The results are nothing short of miraculous to me. I have had no problem with mosquitos and can enjoy my patio, mow the lawn, have barbecues without slathering everyone with Deet! It's well worth the price to me. And with deer wandering up from Lake Accotink, it's nice to know the treatment also repels ticks. I highly recommend this service..
Description of Work
They send out a crew to spray my front and backyard with what they say is something made out of carnations (??) at intervals. I can't remember what the interval is, but they've treated my property about three times this season. It's nontoxic to my cat which I keep of the grass for at least 30 minutes.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
michelle N.
5.0
07/20/2013
i can't say enough great things about john and pat. previously i had mosquito squad (before i found backyard bug patrol) and spent more money for an inferior service. i have a swampy common area behind my house so mosquitos are a BIG problem for me. my daughter was a having a communion party and these guys got me on the schedule for the day before the party even though they had sprayed only 10 days prior just so my guests could be comfortable. the normal spraying cycle is every 3 weeks. mosquito squad would NEVER do that. i called for my son's bday party when we were with mosquito squad and they told me they couldn't get me on the schedule. and i called well in advance. moreover, they would routinely go over the 3 week spraying interval and when i would call they would simply say and quot;we'll be out in the next weekand quot; without being able to tell me when (which usually meant i would wait until friday and then have to call again). who has the time and energy for that? i would have to put in my calendar exactly when they would come and really keep dibs on them. NOT with backyard bug! it is effortless. they come when they are supposed to and get the problem taken care of. the thing though that really makes me love this small company is not just their dedication to resolving my extreme mosquito situation with the swampy common area behind me but that they are actually helping me in my efforts to get rid of the swamp! this is something that would make me need them less! they wrote a wonderfully written letter talking of the hazards of mosquitos so i could get my HOA to deal with that area as it has been an uphill battle for me. i will continue to use backyard bug even when i get the swamp resolved because their products are effective and i'd much rather spray my YARD then my KIDS directly with DEET! great company, great guys, competitive pricing, and it works! what more can you ask?
Description of Work
sprays every 3 wks to control mosquitoes
Category
pest control
Ken F.
5.0
03/17/2013
Their communication was very good and we always knew when they would be arriving for the next service date and time. The results have been excellent.
Description of Work
We've used Backyard Bug Patrol for the past 2 years for fleas and ticks and have been very happy with the results. We even used their Stink Bug repellant service and were happy with this as well. We've referred to our friends and neighbors, many of whom use them as well.
Category
pest control
KATHARINE S.
5.0
02/01/2013
Such a good company. Friendly people on the phone, very prompt service, technicians who listen to any special requests (we live on a hill and have many gates on our fence so it can be a challenge to spray every part of the property). They have consistently gone above and beyond for us (example: last summer we did not have a seasonal contract but instead just paid for individual visits--this coming summer we'll definitely do the contract--but they came and did an extra spray for us just because we've been good customers for a couple years). Definitely recommend them. And they aren't pushy about the contract (which I wasn't ready to do before) which I really appreciated.
Description of Work
Backyard Bug Patrol has eradicated mosquitos (the reason my husband wanted to do it) and ticks (the reason I wanted to do it...we have young children and pets) on our property for two summers.
Category
pest control
Heather C.
5.0
10/16/2012
Previous summers have been pretty unpleasant with mosquitos and gnats. I am also fearful of deer ticks with the large number of lyme's disease cases reported in Fairfax and Loudoun counties. BYBP came approximately every 3 weeks as promised, and their product made a big difference in reducing mosquitos. Gnats too, to a lesser extent (product is NOT warranted for gnats, but does help some.) We did not see ticks before this product, so can't say for sure that it did reduce them, but it gave me some piece of mind. Each time BYBP emailed a day or so before to remind us they were coming, and they sent an email the evening after treatment to let us know it had been done. If they had to change the day b/c of weather, they email that too. They also leave a card with the application time so you know when the product has fully dried. Overall, they provided the service as they said they would, and they were very responsive to questions and to the one time we asked for a respray. Playing in our yard, entertaining, and gardening were all much more pleasant and we didn't have to load up with bug spray each time, which was awesome. One of our neighbors used this company too and told me they were happy. My next door neighbor used a competitor and I could be biased or maybe something about our yards is different, but I thought BYBP's product worked slightly better. Having this service is not cheap, but it does allow us to better use an asset (our yard) that we otherwise would not in the summer. I would definitely recommend this company, and will use them again.
Description of Work
We contracted with Backyard Bug Patrol for a summer of mosquito & tick control. We have an approximately 1/2 acre lot, with a fair amount of trees and wooded areas on or adjacent to our property. We signed for the standard product (non-organic) and service (approx every 3 weeks).
Category
pest control
Apoorva K.
5.0
10/04/2012
Very good. Now we can actually sit outside in the backyard. They have a website. They are very good with their customer service. They let you know when they are coming out or if they have to reschedule, they will let you know.
Description of Work
We use Backyard Bug Patrol. They spray for mosquito's and ticks.
Category
pest control
Mary K.
5.0
04/20/2012
They are reliable and very professional. They offer a spray to help keep ticks down. They use sprays that are non toxic and I really like that.
Description of Work
Backyard Bug Patrol sprays for bugs around our house.
Category
pest control

Phone

Address

901 Cantle Ln

Great Falls, VA 22066

Other Information

Services offered

Mosquitoes, ticks, pest control, ants, stink bugs, fleas,

Services not offered

Termites & Bed Bugs.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Check

FAQ

Backyard Bug Patrol is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Backyard Bug Patrol is open:

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Backyard Bug Patrol accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

No, Backyard Bug Patrol does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Backyard Bug Patrol offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Backyard Bug Patrol offers emergency services.

Yes, Backyard Bug Patrol offers warranties.

Backyard Bug Patrol offers the following services: Mosquitoes, ticks, pest control, ants, stink bugs, fleas,

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Green Pest Services

Angi Certified

Green Pest Services

Pest Control Done the Green Way Green Pest Services is committed to providing effective and environmentally conscious pest control services for our customers in Northern Virginia and the surrounding areas. We are constantly seeking to perfect our service by offering the latest in green pest control technologies and products.  

Alexandria Pest Service

5.0

(42)

Angi Certified

Alexandria Pest Service

Alexandria Pest Services, Inc. (APS) is a leading provider of pest management solutions throughout the metropolitan Washington, D. C. region. We service diverse customers located in Northern Virginia, Maryland, the District, and beyond, and specialize in helping government, commercial, and residential clients with a wide variety of pest control challenges. Notably, we focus on using best practices, innovative products, and unique treatment methods, which are customized to each client. As a result, APS is able to provide the safest and most efficient pest control solutions possible. Additionally, our highly trained team of technicians is well-known for delivering unparalleled service and consistently exceeding customer expectations.  

PestNow LLC

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

PestNow LLC

The PestNow brand was originally founded in Virginia in 1995 as Superior Pest Management when four high school friends (Tony Bowers, Frank Bowers, Mark Tatum, and Joe Hamilton) came together to form their own company. With each of them bringing different work experience and education backgrounds to the company, they felt they could work together and use each other's strength to build a successful business. Since Virginia is one of the country's largest Real Estate markets in the country, they decided to start their business off with the WDI Report and approached realtors. With their goal of providing a high volume of inspections, they were able to offer their services at a low price. Low pricing, knowledgeable inspectors, and the ease of doing business with Superior led the owners to expand to other areas and open additional branches. With business exceeding expectations, Tony, Frank, Mark, and Joe decided they wanted to expand further and brought in Rusty Markland as their Operations Manager. With Rusty being long-time industry specialist, they are able to provide additional support to all of their branches; as well as make use of his years of experience to further improve the business. Now, in 2010 with demand for services continuing to increase and an impressive support system in place, the long-time friends knew it was time to implement a plan to broaden PestNow's reach and identified franchising as the best method to do that. By enlisting the help of franchisees to expand on the company's success, PestNow continues to build upon its reputation. Through franchising, they will be able to offer individuals the same opportunity they've enjoyed throughout the years- the ability to operate a fun, fulfilling, and profitable business while at the same time expanding the PestNow family to locales throughout the nation.