Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Buff & Coat

Founded 2002 • With Angi since August 2012

4.6

(60) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10368 Staples Mill Rd

Glen Allen, VA 23060

Description

Buff & Coat restores the luster and beauty to household and commercial hardwood floors. Our unique process brings back the beauty to finished floors while protecting them for years. You can leave for work in the morning and return to finished floors that evening; dustless, odorless, and done in one day....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/18/2021


Michael F.

My wife and I bought our first home this past year, and we decided to get the inside painted and the hardwood floors refinished before we moved in. We made sure to let Buff and Coat know that we had just gotten the inside of the house painted before they started their work on the floors. While the hardwood floors looked great after their work, we entered the house to find that the freshly painted trim was very damaged throughout the house--in 7 rooms to be exact. There were gouges in the woodwork, and the paint had been partially peeled off along almost every wall. We immediately contacted the owner, but they were unwilling to reimburse for the cost to repaint the trim. He offered to have one of his guys fix the issue, however, I declined as they are not painters, and I did not want another poor job to be done. To get the damage that they caused repaired it cost us another $800. As a result, we were not pleased with this company and cannot recommend others to use them.

Description of Work
Floor Refinishing

Category floor cleaning

5.0

10/11/2017


Stephen C.

The process and the work went exceptionally well. Buff and Coat came and estimated the entire job (upstairs and down) and was willing to break it into two separate jobs, the price not conditional on having both done at the same time. The work was scheduled for less than two weeks out. The crew started on Monday and sanded and stained the stairs, risers, dining room, and living room. As the floors were not dry enough for the first coat of oil-based poly on Tuesday, the first coat went on Wednesday, and the second coat and the shoe molding were completed on Thursday. I was able to walk on the floors on Friday. Everyone who has seen the redone floors is impressed with the way they look and the quality of the work. I look forward to having the upstairs done after the first of the year. The cost included nine risers, eight treads, removing old shoe molding and new shoe molding with staining and finishing, nearly three hundred fifty square feet of flooring, and taxes.

Description of Work
I was looking to have hardwood floors stained and refinished after nearly fifty years of use. The area was the dining room, living room, and stairs/risers. I chose to postpone the three upstairs bedrooms until next year. I wanted the floor color to closely match the stained hardwood floor I put in my kitchen when I remodeled it the previous year. I needed a hard sanding and all the shoe molding replaced.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

08/28/2017


Sam S.

We didn't fully understand what was going to be done, so it ended up being a mess. Because, they put down poly euro-thane and we had to leave the house for 24 hours. I just talked to the salesman and then when the guy came to do it he said this is what is going to happen, so a little bit of miscommunication. It's okay, it got done. The work was really good. The price was fine. I don't know if I'd use them again in the future. I'd look around for someone else too, but I'd consider using them again.

Description of Work
Redid a floor. Buffed floor and coated it.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

08/23/2017


Eddie W.

The work went as expected. They were very responsive and punctual. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Resurfacing of main steps from first to second floor. The steps had carpet runners that once removed left nail marks. Buff and coat smoothed out the finish and re-sealed with a matching stain.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/11/2017


CHERYL U.

It was perfect. They did a beautiful job.

Description of Work
They installed hardwood floors in the den, master closet, and an open hallway. They also sanded all of my hardwood floors, stained them, and polyurethaned them twice.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

12/24/2016


Ellen G.

We were at the beach and our neighbor let them in and out to do the work. They also moved all the furniture before doing the work and back after the floor dried a week later. My floors look better than they did new when we moved in 11 years ago. The floors are absolutely beautiful. The gentlemen were responsive,professional and helpful. First class outfit!

Description of Work
Due to sun fading, they sanded, buffed and coated my whole downstairs, which is all hardwood.

Category floor cleaning

5.0

10/28/2016


Stacie G.

They were very helpful with determining the best solution for the floors. We overpaid and they issued the refund promptly and without trouble. They came back and touched up a couple of spots.

Description of Work
They sanded and refinished my hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/12/2016


Sally S.

Very smoothly. They were easy to work with and did good quality work.

Description of Work
Hard wood floors refinished

Category hardwood floor

1.0

07/25/2016


Michael C.

1) Buff and Coat did not tell us that they used a contractor by the name of Michael Atkinson to do the work. I hired Buff && Coat, not some other company I had no knowledge of. 2) we scheduled the work for 8am and I received a call at 7:40am the morning of stating that they wouldn't arrive until 1pm (5 hrs late). This caused me to miss critical work meetings. 3) They said they would return to do the second coat on Thur, then I received a call that they needed to come Wed night, which caused me to reschedule critical work meetings and I was not able to assess whether the floors were dry enough for the 2nd coat. This is because the contractor was working on other jobs and could not return when we agreed to and I planned my day around. Poor customer service. 4) There are several places on the floors that did not restore well at all and I had to ask a few times to address those areas. I assume they cant be restored but I cant tell what's true at this point. 5) I asked 3 times to remove ALL of the nails and staples from the stair risers and was told they would be removed, but they never were. Then I was told that that cost more, but was never told that they remove staples from the floor but not the stairs. When I addressed this situation I was lectured by Michael Atkinson and the owner of Buff & Coat. 6) Michael Atkinson told me he would meet me at the house on Friday to review the floors and add a 3rd coat (himself) if needed, but sent the same crew whom I complained about not doing what that said they would do in the first place. 6) After lying several times about when they were going to do something and that he was going to show up to review the work, Michael Atkinson wrote several rude texts to me as though he was the customer. 7) on Sunday evening Michael Atkinson states that he's now back from vacation and wants to review the floors, which means he never could have come by on Friday morning as he stated and I took time from the office to meet him. 8) after a week of lies and misrepresentations, my 77 year old Mom will move back into her house with some of the work still not done to the proper standard. I write this review as someone who has custom built 4 homes and refinished floors 3 times.

Description of Work
My Mom needed her hardwood floors refinished after a recent storm caused here carpet to be damaged. So the plan was to remove the carpet and restore the 60 year old hardwood to it's original luster. It's small home so the sq. footage that needed refinishing is small (Living room, Dining room, Hallway and Stairs).

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This guy is just miserable with his life and gets his kicks by just writing bad reviews on websites. None of this is true. His mother was perfectly fine with everything from the start. Even his own mother was complaining about her son's emotional issues to us. I feel sorry for him. Hopefully, somehow he can find some happiness instead of the miserableness he puts himself through every day. His own mother is hoping he can find the help he needs.
5.0

05/05/2016


Mary Anne G.

Talk about easy transactions! Dave Emmerling, owner, came out to give me a proposal. His knowledge was very apparent, and he offered options, complete with telling us what would _not_ make any difference in how the floor would look at the end. We set up a date, and his people showed up on time, got to it, and got the job done. We had extensive pet damage (both dog and cat varieties) as well as water damage. If you looked at the floor post-Buff & Coat, you would never know it. We've dealt with multiple companies as we prepared our house to go on the market; Dave and his folks were among the most straightforward and easy to deal with. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Complete deep sanding, repair and refinishing of 3000+ SF hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

3.0

04/18/2016


Sherry O.

So, he estimates for the entire room, at a price of $900, because they don't really do partial refinishing. So, once again, not knowing this ahead of time and already paying, now I have to ask for a refund. I think this is a waste of everyone's time, and I think it's the Angie's List system, not really the company.

Description of Work
Came by to check the floor & give me an estimate. I purchased refinishing hardwood for 100sq feet, which all I required. A strip of heavy traffic area. The rest of the foor is fine.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

03/19/2016


Marjorie L.

The response to my call for an estimate was prompt. All of my requests for information were promptly answered. On the date set for the work to begin, they were on time, courteous, informative, and very helpful. The quality of the work was wonderful. The floors look brand new. They finished in the time specified. I would definitely recommend them and will use them again.

Description of Work
Sand and refinish floors in entire 60 year old house

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

4.0

11/14/2015


Donna B.

It took almost a week after purchase until someone contacted me. I set up appointment and after 1 hour of them not showing up, I called and was told they would check to see what was going on. They called back within a couple minutes and said they were on way and would be at my home in about 20 minutes, so they ended up being about 1 1/2hrs late. Once they got here, they were very pleasant, got to work and were done within about 30 minutes. It freshened up the floors in my formal dining room and after finally getting done was very pleased with service and price.

Description of Work
Lightly sanded floors and applied new lacquer.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This person was outside our service area. Nevertheless we tried to help her out like we do everyone. No one would have done everything we did for her and only charged her $99.
5.0

10/13/2015


Christine R.

EXCELLENT JOB!!!!! Very professional, on time, and the job was very well done! Will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Buff and coat hard wood floors in a single family home

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/04/2015


Michael L.

The rooms went from dull to brilliant. The floors in the den were a wonderful surprise and they were different width boards with pegs. The master also turned out really well. The people were very professional, on time, and took away all of the old carpet and pad. It could not have been easier.

Description of Work
Removed old carpet and pad in two rooms, sanded the floors, and did two coats of protection on the natural floor surface. Not knowing what the floors would look like, I was provided with several quotes depending on how much work would be required to restore the wood and with a nice finish. They stayed to the quote.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

4.0

07/09/2015


susan O.

It went well with one exception. The floors looked absolutely beautiful. They finished in the time they said they would. They were easy to contact with regarding questions and problems. The one negative was that there were some minor damage done to the kitchen and bathroom cabinets and one area rug.

Description of Work
They installed and refinished hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/15/2015


Dan M.

Not only was the crew not late, they called and asked if it was okay if they got started early. They came in, looked at our floor and immediately got to work. They were extremely efficient and the floor looked great. After all was said and done we had a small concern(not quality related--they did a wonderful job) and the owner was extremely kind and understanding and incredibly quick about taking care of us. Not only would I recommend Buff & Coat to others but I will most definitely use them again in the future for my hardwood floor coating needs.

Description of Work
Buffed and coated our hardwood floors throughout the entire downstairs of our house.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

05/15/2015


richard N.

I had 3 room , 1 bathroom and 1 closet with wooden floors that the coating was warn and scratch with a shiny finish which showed up when the sun shined on it. Randy came by and gave me a quote and explained the whole process, he was very detailed and recommended I have the satin finish put on the floor which helps hide marks on the floor not unless I want the shine on the floor. I had a few areas that where high traffic area that were worn to the wood and stained some. I accepted their services and sets the date. A team of two guys showed up and were very professional. They were done in less than 3 hours, scrubbing, with a buffer, coating low smell product and they asked me to run my ceiling fan to slowly dry the product they put down. After the product dried enough to walk on I had a few spots that sucked up the material they put down, so I called them back and let them know. They came back out and patched up the high traffic area I had that needed the extra coating in a timely manner. They also rechecked the whole floor and found a few other spots to touch up. Very professional and it looks great. It has been 1 month it has been down. My friends said it looks great also versus what it looked like before

Description of Work
I requested a quote to bring new life to my 3 rooms, 1 bathroom and 1 closet of wood floors. I also requested them to provide the services.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

02/07/2015


Timothy S.

After 12 years of wear including a cat and a collie as well as grandkids playing, our floors were scratched and dull. Armed with the good reviews on Angie's List, I called Dave at Buff and Coat who came out and measured. He recommended a Buff and Coat and said that our floors didn't need sanding. We scheduled the service and his friendly team showed up on time and went to work. When we returned at the end of the day, all we could say was "wow!" The floors looked like new and all the scratches were gone! We are thrilled with the work done and would not hesitate to call them again in the future.

Description of Work
Buff and coat my hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/31/2014


Brad N.

arrive on time, nicely done job, make me floor like brand new.

Description of Work
great job done, exactly what I hoped to get from this service.

Category hardwood floor

1.0

09/29/2014


Roland D.

Dave Emmerling, their representative, failed to keep a confirmed appointment to provide an estimate for work on our hardwood floors. He also did not telephone that he was not coming to the appointment. We waited two hours for him. The appointment was made two weeks in advance and he selected the meeting time for his convenience and he was informed that we were coming from Pennsylvania to Virginia to meet him at the residence to get the estimate. That level of unprofessionalism indicates that ALL should be wary of the professionalism of his organization's work product

Description of Work
Behaved badly!.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This guy is a whacko. I never heard from the guy. This guy is going to drive 6 hours for nothing more than having an estimate with me? How stupid is that. If you want to believe this guy go ahead because I wouldn't want your business anyway. Look at all our other reviews. We treat everybody professionally and with respect and 99% of our customers will tell you that. You can't please everybody, especially someone who isn't even in my area. Thanks.
5.0

09/25/2014


Ella S.

I thought I needed my floors to be refinished. I just had build-up. He was able to put some solution on the floor and fix it.

Description of Work
Purchased an $99 for 100 Square Feet of Hardwood Floor Sanding and Refinishing deal.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

03/20/2014


Gracie H.

He came over and he was very thorough. He was the only one that responded to me. He was a perfectly fine gentleman. I don’t know how it would compare pricewise to other companies because I didn’t get another estimate. I am pleased with it. Calvin was the guy that came. He was actually early for his appointment and I always appreciate that. He responded to my phone call within 2 or 3 hours of leaving a message. He was very nice and polite both in-person and on the phone. He gave me what I think is very fair estimate. They also offer 20 percent off, right now. That was one of the reasons why I was looking at them more than the other. They do install wood floors, finish and match them to current a wood floor which is what I am looking for. It’s a unique art apparently and most people just install new floors. It’s nice because our house was built in the nineties and in the front the wood floors are great. I don’t want to spend money on getting them all replaced. The original quote was $5200 minus the 20 percent so it’s around $4160. In terms of responsiveness, he was early so that was helpful. I have recommended his name to my friends in the neighborhood who are looking to do the same thing. I do plan on using him in the future.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Buff and Coat on installing hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/19/2014


Michelle P.

Despite the weather delays, the team was excellent - polite and professional. They carefully moved and replaced furniture for our two part job. (One sanding and one just buffing). The dust containment system on the sanding was amazing. The dust and mess was not nearly as bad as I had feared. We had our entire first floor done and I was concerned about cost for such a large area. Dave was very helpful in evaluating our needs and explaining what would happen if we just buffed the floors which were more damaged. The floors look wonderful.

Description of Work
Refinished hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

01/12/2014


Maureen M.

On time, fixed any issues brought to their attention and will use again.

Description of Work
.

Category floor cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Epic flooring llc

    Our mission at Epic flooring we believe that there is no better way to bring out the full personality of your home or office than with beautiful hardwood floors.We have been providing our customers with beautiful hardwood flooring installation and also flooring refinish.  

    Frank's Flooring

    For fastest response please call (804) 332-0046. We can refinish your hardwood floors or install new ones for you. We also install laminate. We have over 20 years experience. We are the company for you. We are a family owned business and we aim to please so call today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    TrueClean of Virginia

    True Clean of Virginia uses Green Certified solutions to achieve the healthiest clean! Whether hard or soft surfaces, our combined cleaning methods really do restore your carpets, rugs, upholstery, tile and grout, and more.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Buff & Coat

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Buff & Coat

    How is Buff & Coat overall rated?

    Buff & Coat is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Buff & Coat open?

    Buff & Coat is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does Buff & Coat provide

    Buff & Coat accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Buff & Coat offer free estimates?

    Yes, Buff & Coat offers free project estimates.

    Does Buff & Coat offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Buff & Coat offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Buff & Coat offer a senior discount?

    No, Buff & Coat does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Buff & Coat?

    No, Buff & Coat does not offer warranties.

    What services does Buff & Coat offer?

    Buff & Coat offers the following services: Buff & Coat