Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

B & G Tree and Lawn Care

With Angi since August 2011

4.0

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1285 Carl D. Silver Parkway Ste 342

Fredricksburg, VA 22401

Description

Tree Service. Military and law enforcement discount!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/11/2022


Gary Y.

Awful. If I could give 0 stars for professionalism... that would be the ideal answer. I hired Brian to remove a tree from my yard. While cutting the tree down, a piece fell and broke my neighbor's fence. Instead of coming to tell me, he tried to hide it until my son told me. Brian then said he would come back and fix it since it was a simple and cheap fix. That was the lie. Brian and his crew left as fast as they could and left the giant tree in large pieces on the ground. We attempted to contact him to fix his mistake and he completely ignored us. DO NOT HIRE.

Description of Work
Tree Removal

Category tree service

4.0

07/02/2015


Claude N.

Category tree service

5.0

04/16/2015


Robert A.

Description of Work
cut and bag our grass

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

04/16/2015


Kristine E.

Category tree service

1.0

09/23/2014


Rhonda D.

The owner did not hold up to his contractual agreement. First of all, instead of planting 5 mature dogwood trees, he planted 5 small dogwood trees that cost $40.00 each. The mature dogwood trees that he charged me for cost $200.00 (he stated). He didn't even bother to put the stakes down to hold the trees up as they grow. The contractor knew my expectations as we walked my yard and he knew that my goal was to have some what of a barrier between my neighbors yard and mine. I also have two 8ft evergreens in the back yard and he assured me that the dogwood trees would be as tall or almost as tall as the evergreen trees. Although I knew he was overcharging for the work I wanted the immediate effect or the instant gratification. Secondly, he did not dig out and clean the flower beds(5) he put the black mulch on top of the red mulch we had laid down last year prior to winter time. You could see the red mulch around the edges of where he but the black mulch. He also did a very poor job of edging the beds for the front yard and did not attempt to edge the other flower beds. Thirdly, He transported my crepe myrtle to another area of my yard and it died shortly afterward. To sum up this review, B & G Tree & Lawn care did a J. O. B. on me and my family. After ward, I contacted the owner, Brian Payne and told him how dissatisfied I was with what he had done. I told him that I went to 2 nurseries and priced the trees and that what he planted in my yard was the smallest dogwood trees ($40.00) instead of the mature ones($150.00). He immediately told me he would not refund me my money, nor had I asked at that time, but he offered to come out and exchange the small trees for the larger trees, add the stake kits, dig out the flowerbeds and re-mulch all of them. I have this agreement in a text message that I sent to my email and printed. He text me and said he would do the work the following weekend, that was the 4th of April. I have not heard from Brian Payne, nor has he completed the work and he will not take my calls. Please do not allow this company to do any work for you or you may regret it. It's been about 6 months now. I haven't tried to contact him since April 10th nor has he contacted me. I filed a Warrant in Debt against him in small claims court on 9 May 2014 after telling him that I would if he did not make good on his promise. That was our last conversation. The hearing date was today, 23 September 2014 and not to my surprise, Brian Payne did not show up. I guess this is over, but, I feel obligated to let others know the experience I had with B & G Tree and Lawn Care. The owner, Brian Payne talks a good game but, he is dishonest and untrustworthy. I have done my part to warn others not to deal with B&G Tree & Lawn Care at all.

Description of Work
Plant 5 mature dogwood trees and add 5 stake kits. Dig out 5 flower beds, edge beds and add black mulch. Add drain pipe to Right front downspout. Remove and replant a Crepe Myrtle(?) that I had taken out of my Mother's yard and had planted in my yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

3.0

08/04/2014


Tawnya F.

They cut one of the wrong trees down and left one that should have been cut down. When I contacted him about it he said that the tree that he did cut down was infested w/ ants. One of the trees he topped off should have been topped off lower and evenly. The fertilizer didn't seem to do anything. The fence line is still growing like crazy. I probably would not recommend him for service.

Description of Work
Cut down 3 trees, fertilized the lawn: cleaned up some lawn debris: sprayed the fence line w/ a weed killer, and topped off 3 trees.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service

5.0

03/31/2014


Debbie S.

.

Description of Work
Snow and ice removal for sidewalk and driveway. Treated slippery surfaces from refreeze.

Category snow removal

5.0

07/18/2013


Patricia C.

They did a wonderful job with everything, but they agreed to come back every 2 weeks to mow the grass. when they didn't come back, I called them several times & left several messages, but received no calls back. The one time I was able to finally reach them, they explained that they were behind due to a death in the family and someone would be by in a few days. I totally understood the issue, but no one ever came by and they did not answer any further calls from me.

Description of Work
Mowed and trimmed grass, planted flowers, laid down rock cover in part of backyard, installed drains from downspouts in front and back yards; power washed driveway, back patio, deck and deck stairs.

Category lawn service

3.0

04/30/2013


Hazel F.

He started the project but has not finished it.

Description of Work
First, let me say I was hesitant about doing this, but after speaking with Brian and viewing the condition of my yard/lawn, shrubs, and numerous trees in the front and side of my home......I decided to go with it and to my surprise....I was happy with the first phase of project but it was not completed. I am not pleased with my yard and when Brian and staff were there, he received alot of compliments and was asked for business cards. In fact, he has already done work for my one of my neighbors who had driven by after my first removal of trees and shrubs but now they are not satisfied and will not use them again. I now have flowers and solar lites that I truly enjoy, especially coming in at nite and seeing the front of my home lite up. Way to go B&G Lawn and Tree Service. He has a very professional staff and they were a joy to work with. I would not recommend them.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

02/07/2013


Hope Z.

Brian and his crew did a fantastic job and provided outstanding service. They were able to come to our house on Christmas eve to take down 7 trees, cut them up into firewood, move all of the wood to a designated location, remove all of the brush, and clean up the property so you couldn't even tell we had work done. One of the trees was easily 6+ feet in diameter and only 30 feet from the house, and it was taken down with ease even though it had started snowing. I highly recommend them and would happily use them again. We extremely happy with both the price and the work. Thanks Brian!

Description of Work
Seven trees removed exactly as promised, quickly, efficiently, and for a great price.

Category tree service

5.0

11/26/2011


ANTHONY D.

B & G Tree and Lawn Care is one of the best contractors my wife and I have ever had for work on our new home! Brian, the owner/operator, is fabulous at figuring out what needs to be done when given an idea from the owner. He is very detailed about what should and should not be done...very knowledgeable about all of the services he offers (many). Although the name of his business revolves around Tree and Lawn Care, he does a whole lot more! And does it quite well at a great price! I guarantee we will not lose his business card! Trust me when I say you cannot go wrong with B & G!!

Description of Work
• Redid our small gardens in front of the house. • Seeded and redid several parts of our lawn. • Painted our back deck, added a new hand-railing to the steps as well as added several beautiful plants. • Put in an entire brick walkway and picnic area in our backyard. • Painted parts of our front porch • Constantly gave us monetary deals that were terrific!

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, house painters, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

10/19/2011


ANTHONY D.

We had Brian Paynes (owner/operator) and his co-workers plant plants, shrubbery along with a regular lawn mowing service. In addition, we are going to have him install a ground-level patio for us as well as two walkways leading to/from the walkways. Brian has also added some trim to our front porch. He does incredible work! It seems almost as if there's nothing he can't do! Incredible worker! His business card says they specialize in all types of tree and lawn care and Much More! Well...you can certainly believe in the Much More part! He does incredible handyman work. I doubt that we'll go with anyone else for just about anything we need done around the house. If Brian is certain your request is out of his realm of ability, he has no problem letting you know immediately and will offer someone else if he knows of anyone who does what you are asking for. You really cannot go wrong with Brian Paynes and his company!!

Description of Work
He planted beautiful plants in our front lawn garden, along the side of our house, in the back yard and on the back patio. He also painted several areas of our house outside. His attention to detail is incredible! DO hire this man and his company if you need anything done for your lawn, trees, yard, home, whatever...he'll handle it !

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service, house painters, hardscaping

5.0

08/03/2011


christina J.

OVERALL, I AM SURE MY PROPERTY VALUE HAS INCREASED DUE TO THE WORK PERFORMED BY B & G TREE AND LAWN CARE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY FOR ANY OF YOUR HOME BEAUTIFICATION PROJECTS

Description of Work
I CALLED B & G TREE AND LAWN CARE AT FIRST FOR AN ESTIMATE TO REMOVE A DAMAGED TREE IN OUR FRONT YARD FROM A STORM. THEY WERE EXTREMELY PROMPT AND THEIR WORK WAS EXCELLENT. WE HAVE USED B & G SINCE FOR TREE TRIMMING, MULCHING, PLANTING FLOWERS AND THEY NOW DO MY GRASS CUTTING. IT IS VERY REFRESHING TO SEE GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE IS STILL AVAILABLE. B & G TREE AND LAWN CARE WAS NOT ONLY RELIABLE BUT THEIR WORK IS EXCELLENT.

Category tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blue Ridge Landscaping

    A full-service landscaping contractor, Blue Ridge Landscaping is your preferred choice for all your commercial or residential landscaping needs. Serving the greater Fredericksburg region since 2001, we proudly combine an exemplary work ethic with a total commitment to our clients.  

    DMV PRO PAINTING

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Jeff's Interior and Exterior Painting Plus More

    My name is Jeff Jenkins, I have 15 years of painting experience and I pay close attention to details. I offer a wide range of services including the following; interior painting, exterior painting, deck staining, roof painting, along with pressure washing, small drywall work and gutter cleaning. Come check us out on Facebook or give us a call for an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    Yes
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Commercial & residential tree & lawn service

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about B & G Tree and Lawn Care

    How is B & G Tree and Lawn Care overall rated?

    B & G Tree and Lawn Care is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does B & G Tree and Lawn Care provide

    B & G Tree and Lawn Care accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does B & G Tree and Lawn Care offer free estimates?

    Yes, B & G Tree and Lawn Care offers free project estimates.

    Does B & G Tree and Lawn Care offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, B & G Tree and Lawn Care does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does B & G Tree and Lawn Care offer a senior discount?

    No, B & G Tree and Lawn Care does not offer a senior discount.

    Does B & G Tree and Lawn Care offer emergency services?

    Yes, B & G Tree and Lawn Care offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by B & G Tree and Lawn Care?

    No, B & G Tree and Lawn Care does not offer warranties.

    What services does B & G Tree and Lawn Care offer?

    B & G Tree and Lawn Care offers the following services: Commercial & residential tree & lawn service