Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Haas Group LLC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since March 2009

4.7

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2215 Plank Road #300

Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Description

Independent 3rd party roof inspection and consultation company....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/29/2020


Mike S.

No one called

Description of Work
Roofing house

Category home inspection

5.0

06/07/2018


Larry T.

Ernie Haas provided a very thorough examination of our roof which enabled us (after much back and forth with our roofer (DCF Contracting)) to ensure that all necessary and required repairs were made to our roof. Mr. Haas stayed in contact with us for more than a month to ensure that any questions or issues we had were addressed.

Description of Work
Inspection of both installation of roof (shingles/flashing, etc) and damage from wind storm

Category roofing

5.0

04/02/2018


Mark R.

Ernie of The Hass Group gave me expert guidance, counsel and roofing education as I evaluated numerous roofing porposals.

Description of Work
Ernie of The Hass Group gave me expert guidance, counsel and roofing education as I waded through different offers to put a roof on my Mom's home in Upstate NY. The Hass Group has affiliates in the industry as well as related trade industries that are very helpful in guiding your selection of a roofing contractor. The Hass Group/one of its affiliates will also inspect or have my mom's new roof inspected before I pay the last 50% of the contract - They are just super

Category roofing

5.0

03/17/2018


Cindy D.

Mr. Haas identified problems in our roof installation and issued a report. He suggested re-install and steps that we should take to get it done. It was a long process that involved county and DPOR. Mr. Haas was very helpful every step during the entire process. He is highly experienced and very responsive to our calls, text, and email. We eventually got the roof reinstalled in a very good quality. Mr. Haas was onsite multiple times to ensure the right materials and methods were used. It would not be possible without the help from Mr. Haas.

Description of Work
Roof inspection

Category roofing

5.0

10/26/2017


Frances T.

Wonderful!! Very pleased. Excellent in every way.

Description of Work
Roof inspection

Category roofing

5.0

01/07/2017


Christina M.

We could not have been more pleased! Ernie is very knowledgeable and went above and beyond. If we need this to be done again we wouldn't hesitate to use him again.

Description of Work
Roof Inspection

Category roofing

5.0

10/12/2016


Victor G.

After speaking with the inspector he helped me immensely. I am very thankful l for The Haas group professionalism and clear communication.

Description of Work
I needed a roofing inspection.

Category home inspection

4.0

08/09/2016


Gary G.

The service provider was polite and did a good job; however, he stated that the edges of the carpet were stained from years of dust and that he would not be able to clean that. I sprayed carpet cleaner on it myself and was able to make it look much better.

Description of Work
Carpet cleaning before selling our home

Category roofing

5.0

02/02/2016


Jason B.

Description of Work
Schedule was as promised. Work was professional. I have had a number of services since 1988 always with good results.

Category roofing

5.0

12/12/2015


HOLLY B.

I have had the sincere pleasure of working with this special man, Ernie Haas on a roof project on my personal residence here in Meridian Idaho. I met him clearly by happenstance when I was desperately seeking a professional roofing inspector. I had just had a new roof installed and I knew that there was something wrong with it but I just couldn't put my finger on what the problem was. I went to Angie's List and typed in roof inspectors...Ernie Haas' Website came up, the reviews were amazing so I left my information. Just a few minutes later, I realized that Ernie was in Fredericksburg, Virginia. I of course was in Idaho so I quickly wrote back to him that I'd made a mistake, that I was looking for someone local. Come to find out, there are no qualified roofing inspectors in Idaho. Ernie was tenacious and wouldn't let me drop it even though he was far away. Ernie has no problem travelling to wherever, to help people. He continued to ask about my concerns and questioned me about what was going on. That was on Sept. 10, 2015. Since then, my roof problem went from "just a weird feeling" to Oh, my God...my whole roof needs to be redone. Here it is, Dec. 12, 2015 and leaving out all the gory details that happened in these last few months (and they are gory)...I believe that this roofing nightmare has finally come to an end. Without Ernie's help, I could NEVER have accomplished what I accomplished in dealing with this shady roofer. Because of Ernie and his knowledge, expertise and patience...I came out of this on top, and that is truly a miracle. If you've ever had a problem with a roofer, I'll tell you...it's pretty much IMPOSSIBLE to get help. Ernie has become a friend, a cherished friend...at the times when I was at my lowest, he picked me up and, with his kind southern style...kicked my butt to get going and not give up. Because of Ernie, I not only know just about everything there is to know about roofing, he restored my faith in humanity when that faith was tested. He gained my trust when I felt I couldn't trust ANYONE! He was THERE for me when I felt all alone in this horrible mess. He gave me my hope back that there really are people that care, even if they don't have a reason...they just care. Ernie needs no accolades, I'm just one of the many hundreds he has helped. Even though I'm just one of hundreds, he made me feel like I was his ONLY client. Please, if you have roof issues...Ernie is your guy. If he can't help you, no one can. Sincerely, Holly Bierlein. I

Description of Work
With Ernie's help, I got my roof issues resolved to the best that they could ever be resolved. I could NEVER have done it without his help.

Category roofing

5.0

10/14/2015


HOLLY B.

Category roofing

5.0

02/06/2014


Larieta M.

That was great. It was right on time.

Description of Work
The Haas Group LLC went and inspected the roof, took pictures and gave the pictures to me for me to know what they found and what was needed to be done.

Category roofing

5.0

01/19/2014


Carol C.

The Haas group does not recommend roofers, they only identify the condition of your roof. The money spent is well worth the piece of mind, and even though it supposedly a new house, I now know that ANYONE purchasing any house should have this type of roof inspector inspect the roof previous to buying. When purchasing a 2nd house in May, 2010, we hired him to inspect the roof, and he identified problems, and supervised the repairs needed to this roof, as well. It resulted in us getting proper repairs, plus a 10 year warranty on any problems with this roof down the road.

Description of Work
My home inspector recommended that we get an independent roof consultant to look at the roof on our "new" home, after he identified several issues with the roof that were not right.It had actually begun to leak into the house after 11 months of living there. I called the Haas group, who came immediately, did a thorough examination of the roof, inside, and out, and issued a report identifying numerous installation issues that had caused the "50 year" roof to deteriorate to the point it needed to be replaced. He then worked with the roofer we chose to replace it, and together they got it right.

Category home inspection

5.0

09/30/2013


ANDREA C.

Ernie Haas's knowledge of roofing -- building codes, proper installation techniques, manufacturers' specifications -- is downright encyclopedic. He is a true expert in his field, and a pleasure to work with to boot. I only wish I'd found him sooner! I stumbled upon the Haas Group LLC in a last-ditch effort to locate the source of a leak I'd been trying to repair for years, and which I'd spent many thousands of dollars trying to address. Ernie's inspection identified numerous problems with the roof and ventilation system, both of which were installed in my attempts to solve the problem, and both which I had assumed were functioning properly. With Ermie's help, I was able to go back to my roofing company and get them to make major repairs at no charge to me -- without having to take them to court. There is no way I could have done this without him, and there is no way that the roofing company would otherwise have done the kind of thorough and meticulous repair job that he demanded of them. I would say he's worth his weight in gold, but he's not that heavy, so he's probably worth more than that!

Description of Work
Performed an inspection of my roof, provided a detailed report, consulted with me on his findings, met with me and representatives from the company that installed my roof, and supervised the roofing company's repair work.

Category home inspection, roofing

5.0

09/04/2013


TAMMY C.

It was a great experience. There are not many people in the world like Ernie Haas. He is worth more than his weight in gold. I was cautious at first because I had just been ripped off by the roofing contractor (who I found on Angie's List). My husband and I tried talking to the contractor ourselves and kept being told by him that he was the expert and knew how a roof was supposed to be installed. But Ernie is the real expect. The roofer did not have a leg to stand on with Ernie. During the meeting with the roofer and his foreman it was great to have an expert on our side. Ernie was calm, cool, but firm. The roofer and his foreman knew they were beat. He could not argue with Ernie's expertise. It still required more pressure to get our money back though and Ernie guided us through the procedures to get Fairfax Country involved. It could have taken us weeks to get Fairfax County out and the paperwork completed, but it only took days with Ernie involved. Through this entire stressful ordeal Ernie was a true friend. He encouraged us to call and just talk if we needed to and to call anytime with any questions we might have and he never charged us for any of our phone conversations with him. He is great. My only complaint is he only inspects roofs. I wish I could hire him to oversee all of my home improvement and maintenance projects.

Description of Work
A new roof was installed incorrectly on my home. The roofing contractor refused to listen to me even when I provided physical proof that his team had installed the roof incorrectly. Ernie and his team came over and inspected my roof and provided an in depth inspection report with pictures. He met with my contractor and his foreman to go over the needed repairs. He provided advice on who to call in Fairfax County since the contractor had not installed the roof according to Fairfax County regulations. He met with me and the Fairfax County Inspector to go over the inspection report provided by The Haas Group. He also called Fairfax County and went over the specifics of what was wrong with the roof. Because of his help we were able to get our money back. When it came time to hire a new contractor to replace my roof he could not recommend anyone to me because of legal reasons, but he was able to give me advice on what to look for in a good roofing contractor. He also went over the estimates and the proposed contracts with me and pointed out changes he would recommend for a better installation of our roof. He was on site when my new roof was installed and inspected the roof to make sure it was installed correctly. His help was invaluable.

Category home inspection, roofing

2.0

05/16/2013


Chenoki P.

He was kind and good communication in the beginning. He wanted payment of front and he said he would email the inspection report. He did email the inspection report but it was not a thorough complete report. I told him this and he said he would do the full report once we choose a roofer to do the roof. And he told me to send him all the proposals that I get so he can review them to make sure the roofers was putting everything in the proposals that should be there to put on a new roof. This is a condominium building. He gave me his critic about the proposals. So then he recommended a roofing company also. We used the roofing company that he recommended to do a temporary fix on the area of the roof that was leaking. This company did a pretty good job on the temporary fix. The company charged us a little over $2,000.00 to do the temp fix. But the roofing company told us that if we use them to put on a new roof we would not have to pay them the money for repairing our existing roof. So the Board had a decision to make. While in the process of still going through the proposals so we can decide on what roofer to choose, I asked the inspector again for the final inspection report. He then came up with another excuse not to send me the final report. He said he was not going to do the report until I give the roofing company the money owed to them for the temp fix on the roof. I told him that my deal with the roofing company is that we do not have to pay them the money if we are going to use them. And at that point that roofing company was the one we was going to use but the way things started to take a turn was changing our mind. We went on and paid the roofing company their money and then I sent The HAAS Group a message to send me the report and told him we had paid the roofing company their money. He still haven't returned my call nor did he email me the final inspection report. So I would not recommend The HAAS Group to anyone for a roof inspection. And I don't think we will be using the roofing company that did our repair on the roof either, even though they did a good job on the repair, since they are affiliated with the HAAS Group. Birds of a feather, flock together.

Description of Work
I had this company to come out and do an inspection of our roof and to provide me with an inspection report.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Customer had options of service they picked the base inspection at 450.00 and kept wanting more for the same price. There work with the contractor has nothing to do with us since we are a third party. This customer got way more than they paid for and still wanted more thank god they are gone !!! Please check our hundreds of other reviews you will not find anything like this out there. Sorry they got screwed by there first roofer but now I can see why. You can't get something for nothing but some people try. Thanks Ernest M. haas II The Haas Group LLC
5.0

08/13/2012


Carol C.

Mr haas has worked with us on two houses since Nov, 2011. He was instrumental in helping us uncover all problems associated with 2 houses we purchased since then. He knows his stuff, and my roofing company has a great deal of respect for him, as he assists them in any area he can. He guided the process of fixing problem areas at our Virginia Beach house as well as our Richmond house.

Description of Work
Mr. Haas knows roofs, all roofs, and any installation or manufacturer defect issues you have, he will identify. He is currently working as a consultant with my roofing company, as they totally reroof my house. It was a 50 year roof that started leaking in about 2 years. It was not a manufacturer's defect, but extremely poor installation on what was a new house. Anyone purchasing any house should have him inspect the roof. He does not do repairs or recommend companies, he is extremely impartial. But he will guide the process as you have repairs done. When we purchased a home in Virginia Beach, VA in May of this year he came and inspected it, it needed $5000 worth of repairs, and he secured a 20 year warrnaty for us, since GAF refused to warrant the roof due to faulty installation.I think having a roof inspection by such a knowledgeable company is essential before you spend so much on a major investment such as a house.This is an expert consulting group.

Category roofing

5.0

06/15/2012


Elizabeth C.

Mr Haas arrived as scheduled. He performed a detailed inspection of the roof and gave his assessment of its condition. This was followed up with a written report and pictures of the problem areas. The report contained an estimate of what it should cost to have the roof replaced. Once I get estimates and decide to replace the roof The Haas Group will be here to inspect the work as it is done.

Description of Work
Thorough inspection of roof. Provide a detailed written (with pictures) and verbal report on the condition of my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/25/2011


Eric C.

He is over the top and just incredible. He recommended that my roof could not be repaired and it had to be replaced. He doesn’t do roofing; he evaluates. He doesn’t recommend roofers either. He will supervise the roofing job and he’ll do an inspection after it’s done. If you have problems, he will come out and do an inspection. He does incredible follow ups. He calls and emails me almost everyday about some aspect. When I chose a new roofing company, he reviewed the contract to make sure about every possibility and aspect. He found two errors that saved me about $3000. There were some things that we didn’t catch and he provided incredible professional information that I would have never known because I don’t know anything about roofs. He knows about roofs and about roofing materials, and he also knows about different companies, and he put that all together. Anyone who will listen to me, I will talk about him and his company. I wish there would be more companies like that who just did evaluations. When people have problems, there should be someone who would come in and do an inspection and do evaluations as well, and help turn around the problem. Unfortunately I still have a problem but I think it’s still going to be okay. My roof is going to be installed on Monday. Without his help, I don’t know what we would have done. The amount that he charged me was worth every penny. He’s a total hero. I will absolutely use his services again in the future.

Description of Work
I used The Haas Group LLC. He did the evaluation of my roof and found forty different examples of problems. He took pictures and made an in depth report. He does evaluations.

Category roofing

5.0

07/25/2011


DAVID C.

I had hired SCI roofing to replace my roof, but I had concern that they did not install it properly. I called Ernie Haas to inspect the roof after the installation was complete. He found many errors and wrote a documeted report that detailed his findings. He was honest and advised me that the roof was unprofessionally installed. Ernie is very professional and I would certainly hire him again.

Description of Work
He inspected my roof.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Nu Look Home Design Inc.

    We Make Roofing Easy. Ask about our special financing (for qualified buyers) starting as low as $99 a month! The hardest part of completing a home improvement project is the time, effort, and stress of finding a company you can trust. At Nu Look Home Design, we understand and make the process as transparent and easy for you as possible. We are a home improvement company, not a contractor. Roofing contractors come and go, a roofing company like Nu Look is here for the long haul. Our roots run deep in our local communities across Maryland, Northern Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware. We ensure that every customer receives the same excellent service and craftsmanship with our 13-step production process. You'll work with a team that is detail-oriented, responsive, and accountable. Here at Nu Look, quality is non-negotiable. We stand by our work with a lifetime guarantee—whether it's for a roof replacement, solar, new siding, gutter, doors, or replacement windows. Better Business Bureau A+ Rated. 94% Satisfaction Rate. Over 40,000 Happy Customers. Lifetime Warranty.  

    Sunshine Contracting Corporation

    Sunshine Contracting is a family owned and operated business and has more than 27 years of experience as a Virginia area leader in home remodeling and improvement. Since 1993, the members of Sunshine Contracting Corporation have served homeowners all over Northern Virginia with fairness, honesty, and integrity. We offer a full slate of improvement and remodeling services to help you achieve your dream home. From roofing to siding to windows to doors, the Sunshine Contracting team has the skills to tackle any exterior home remodeling job and complete it in a timely and efficient manner, all while maintaining the highest industry standards.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Sunshine Contracting Corporation on Angi
    Bull Construction & Roofing

    We specialize in all phases of roofing, gutters, siding, and remodeling for your home, business, bathrooms, kitchens, finishing basements, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Roof inspections and roof consultations.

    Services Not Offered

    We are not a roofing contractor or a home inspection company. roofing repairs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Haas Group LLC

    How is The Haas Group LLC overall rated?

    The Haas Group LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does The Haas Group LLC provide

    The Haas Group LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does The Haas Group LLC offer free estimates?

    No, The Haas Group LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Haas Group LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Haas Group LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Haas Group LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, The Haas Group LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does The Haas Group LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Haas Group LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Haas Group LLC?

    No, The Haas Group LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Haas Group LLC offer?

    The Haas Group LLC offers the following services: Roof inspections and roof consultations.

    Are there any services The Haas Group LLC does not offer?

    We are not a roofing contractor or a home inspection company. roofing repairs.