Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Perma Treat Pest Control

Founded 1967 • With Angi since August 2005

4.5

(128) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

501 Lafayette Blvd

Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Description

PermaTreat Pest Control, a member of the National Pest Management Association, has served industrial, commercial, government and residential customers in the Central and Northern Virginia areas since 1967. PermaTreat is one of the largest pest control companies in Virginia, utilizing Integrated

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/31/2022


Jenny F.

Terrible company. They are not upfront about cost of services and tack on additional fees without informing you. This is a company that is only after the money and hook you into a contract. The product is not even very effective. I have watched them perform the service via my home security system while I have been away and the yard guard is a joke. They casually apply it around the perimeter of your home, but isn't it intended to guard your entire yard? This company is a joke. Never again.

Description of Work
pest control

Category pest control

1.0

10/31/2022


Jenny F.

Terrible company. They are not upfront about cost of services and tack on additional fees without informing you. This is a company that is only after the money and hook you into a contract. The product is not even very effective. I have watched them perform the service via my home security system while I have been away and the yard guard is a joke. They casually apply it around the perimeter of your home, but isn't it intended to guard your entire yard? This company is a joke. Never again.

Description of Work
Terrible company. They are not upfront about cost of services and tack on additional fees without informing you. This is a company that is only after the money and hook you into a contract. The product is not even very effective. I have watched them perform the service via my home security system while I have been away and the yard guard is a joke. They casually apply it around the perimeter of your home, but isn't it intended to guard your entire yard? This company is a joke. Never again.

Category pest control

5.0

04/24/2017


Nancy H.

Very well. The company serviceman was on time, professional, and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Exterminating Service

Category pest control

5.0

04/10/2017


Sandi H.

They were quick to respond and explain what needed to be done.

Description of Work
Termites were found and other pests.

Category pest control

5.0

03/10/2017


Thomas W.

They were very thorough in their inspection from basement to attic to outside. They were up front with their estimate, in writing, and did not try the "We will give you a discount but only if you let us do it today" spiel like their competitor did. They even pointed out some other pest issues we should be aware of, but did not try the hard sell to get us to agree to more work beyond what we asked them to look at.

Description of Work
Termite treatment

Category pest control

4.0

05/04/2015


kathy B.

I had a contract with Perma Treat. We had just moved into our home and had mice, ant, and just general bug problems, Gordy was the gentleman who came out to our house. He was wonderful, professional, always asked if we had any problems. I did stop my contract because I thought it was a bit high and I thought I'd just try and debug my house myself by treating it with "over the counter bug spray". So far that has worked so I haven't needed to call Gordy back. I however did not like the companies tactic of extending my contract and paying full price for my last service. I was under the impression when my contract was up, the service would stop. But, I didn't read the fine print that said they would continue coming and I would be charged full price. I really liked Gordy, but didn't like the companies tactics.

Description of Work
Year service of pest management.

Category pest control, animal removal

5.0

05/02/2015


David R.

Went well. They came on time, did the work unobtrusively, and the workers were neat, friendly, and helpful. Chris, the sales manager was able to answer questions, responded quickly to our calls, and was knowledgeable. The quality of the work appears to be good.

Description of Work
Encapsulated a 1000sf crawlspace, including a dehumidifier

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

03/17/2015


Michael L.

I have used PermaTreat for 20+ years, and the service has been consistently great. Absolutely "A" rated; the service techs are knowledgeable and professional and the price is comparable. I recently had a case of several well intended inspections and sales calls that resulted in misunderstandings. However, after escalating the issue, I received a call from the local manager and am pleased with the result. One significant measure of any company is not IF they have issues, but HOW they deal with them. This was a good outcome.

Description of Work
Pest control quarterly and termite warranty and prevention annually

Category pest control

5.0

03/13/2015


Teresa C.

They were just fine. They’ve done a lot work for me before. They are responsive and come when I call and I think their pricing is competitive.

Description of Work
I purchased a deal for $204 for one-time preventive pest control treatment.

Category pest control

5.0

01/26/2015


John W.

They're professional. They're prompt. It was the same company that we use and we just call them up. They're knowledgeable. The guy who came out is the same one that comes all the time and extremely responsive. If you call they're like on it, they came right away. I was happy with them.

Description of Work
They sprayed bugs, the basement, garage, perimeters of the house and the storage.

Category pest control

1.0

09/26/2014


Susan (Suzy) L.

He came in and sprayed. I had some places in the basement where he filled some holes. The issue never went away. I tried to have them come out and fix it but they would not. I'm not used to signing a contract and it not be honored.

Description of Work
Pest Control for stink bugs

Category pest control

5.0

06/19/2014


David V.

We sold our home last year so they were the one helping us in doing the final inspection. They did their part quickly and they were really good to work with. They also did insulation for us and mold treatment. They just kept me very well informed. They showed me what was wrong, they did a great job and we're having to have a good plan for treating the mold that was there and taking care of the high humidity area. I was very happy with all of their people. We plan to have them and make sure to double check that they cover our new home area.

Description of Work
We used PermaTreat Pest Control.

Category pest control

5.0

06/19/2014


Terry D M.

We have use Permatreat for insect maintenance for years (never had a problem with that either) and Josh our technician noticed a lot of standing water, water marks, insulation in the ground, etc in our crawlspace. He asked if he could send Chris out for a free inspection. Chris came out, went under the crawlspace, took humidity readings and pictures. Showed me the MESS that was down there. Along with the mold growing as well. He mentioned encapsulated crawlspaces that I was not aware of. He gave me a price of doing this with sump pump, drainage to the sump pump, dehumidifier, drain to the ditch and also sealed a few foundation cracks. When he showed me this would be about $6000, I was a bit floored. Never heard of this and I wasn't sure about what I was getting into. After doing some research online and checking with some other companies, I found that Permatreat not only was less expensive, but also the crawlspace was capsulated where others were only just putting in drain and new fiberglass for MUCH more. After about a month of deciding, I called Chris to do the job. The crew was very courteous and professional. I don't envy their job. What a rough job to have to do. But they never complained. Efficiently did the job. They had to come back the next week to finish the drain to the ditch because Miss Utility had not come to mark the yard where they would dig. What a job that was as well. The digging for the drain went ok, but in the middle it started raining, but the guys kept on going. I was mainly trying to get the drain to the ditch to keep the water away from the house. That was my main goal. I knew the yard would be muddy and dug up, so I overlooked that they didn't do any kind of re-seeding and repairing of the trench to the ditch. I never asked for it, so I don't fault them on that. One thing to be sure of. Make sure if you have sump pump and dehumidifier put in, get your electrician to run the lines. I didn't have outlets and had to have him come in after the initial install. If I had done it earlier, it could have already been up and running at the end. So far so good. The meter that measures humidity and temperature in the crawlspace (which comes with the dehumidifier) is stable around 69 degrees and 54-55 % humidity. Chris came by after two weeks to check and noticed one small adjustment on a drain pipe, but said everything looked great and dry. He showed me the new pictures and what a difference. This comes with a year warranty that can be updated every year which is good since I work with them quarterly on insects maintenance already. It seems like a waste of money to upgrade something that you never really see. But after seeing the mess under there, not to mention the mold, I am very pleased to have got it done. I think it will help down the road when we sell the house to show the buyers what has been done as well. I was a little hesitant at first using a insect company to do this, but Chris mentioned that they have done numerous homes and had no problems. And after the "sales job" and lack of follow up I got with other companies, you can tell that not only is Permatreat professional in their work, but also in their customer service and follow up. Great Job !!

Description of Work
Encapsulated the crawlspace. Installed sump pump and dehumidifier. Also ran sump pump drain to the ditch for proper drainage.

Category pest control, insulation, basement waterproofing

5.0

04/14/2014


Eileen P.

They provided good service and were very responsive.

Description of Work
quarterly contract for ants.

Category pest control

5.0

03/10/2014


Matthew T.

I suppose the key thing is: we haven't seen a roach or a mouse since hiring them. It's just gravy that our tech is punctual, professional, and friendly. I'm not sure if all of their reps are as great as ours... but if so... they run one heck of a business! Strongly recommend them.

Description of Work
I hired Perma Treat for ongoing service pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

02/10/2014


Alexander D.

They are very thorough, spraying the inside and outside of our home. They set small traps (for bugs and insects, not large traps for rodents). They do a really great job.

Description of Work
We have a contract with them for preventative care.

Category pest control

5.0

02/03/2014


Paul P.

When we bought our house, it had already received termite treatment through another company, which was still providing quarterly service. After repeated missed appointments and general lack of professionalism, I got fed up. I called Permatreat and asked if they would take over the service. They generally only service and warrant their own treatments, but they agreed to give me a substantial discount on a treatment if I paid for the first four services upfront, which I did. Since then, they have never missed a scheduled appointment. One service every quarter, plus an annual inspection. Even though our original treatment was for termites, they cover all pests in the house. They give us a list of danger signs (trees too close to the house, swamp zones in the backyard, etc) whenever they find them. We had a mouse problem after some construction, and they relentlessly pursued it until the problem was resolved.

Description of Work
They've been our provider for many years. They do quarterly treatments, annual inspections, and at hunting down and getting rid of pets that do invade.

Category pest control

3.0

02/02/2014


Elizabeth A H.

They didn't bring their own vacuum to clean up dead bugs plus had me remove mattress out of house with live bugs still on it, which spread bugs to downstairs area. Think they should have covered mattress first. I made my own dry ice traps that I researched on Internet and caught a lot after they treated bedroom. I kept finding bugs and kept calling telling them to come treat room again. After the first few treatment perma pest wouldn't return my calls. Finally with another treatment from another pest control company and my dry ice traps we are finally bug free.

Description of Work
Brought home bed bugs from beach. Called perma pest, they came a few days later and started treatment.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[member's name removed], I regret that the experience you had with PermaTreat was unsatisfactory. The employee that serviced your home is no longer with us. We would like to offer you a free pest service in the future should the need arise. My sincerest apologies, Joe R Wilson CEO
5.0

02/02/2014


cindi P.

We have been using Perma Treat for several years now and have been happy with them. They are responsive and listen to our concerns. They treat accordingly and have always provided prompt and reliable service. Pricing is competitive in the area and we like how they will come out as often as needed with no additional charge.

Description of Work
We have Perma Treat for regular scheduled pest service.

Category pest control

5.0

02/01/2014


Ashley P.

We have used Perma Treat Pest Control for three years. When we bought our house, it was overrun with ants. We lovingly called it and quot;The Ant Houseand quot;, but there was nothing fun about it. Perma treat went above and beyond to rid our home of the ant problem, coming out quickly to bait when any new ants were discovered. If you spot any new pests on their list in or around the house, they will come out promptly and assess the situation, and bait or spray as much as needed until the problem is gone. It has now been two years since we have had any ants in the house. The quarterly treatments keep them out and our service provider checks around the perimeter thoroughly for any new issues. They even sweep the cobwebs away from the exterior windows and soffits! We no longer have an ant house, but we now refer to our service provider lovingly as and quot;The Ant Ladyand quot;. We think this company has very fair pricing, and would recommend their service to anyone with pest problems.

Description of Work
Spray around perimeter of house to exterminate keep the ants ( and other critters ) away!

Category insulation

5.0

01/24/2014


Todd H.

Upon doing some yard work in October, I noticed a few of our bushes up next to our house were dead and when I went to pull them up, they crumbled in my hands. After I dug up the roots, I seen little white ant-looking insects crawling around down there and got worried that they were termites. A quick Google image search confirmed my suspicions. They turned out to be subterrainian termites. Fearing that they would eventually make it to house, we called Permatreat for a consultation and quote. The tech arrived on time and was very professional and courteous. He explained the problem and that termites are actually pretty common in the enviornment and several hives can actually exist on a small parcel of land. We agreed to have them out to do a treatment and we haven't seen any sign of termites near our home since. They did a great job and I would recommend them to my friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Preventative termite treatment around our house.

Category pest control

5.0

01/20/2014


James S.

We use the quarterly pest control service for the outside of the house and have been using Perma Treat for several years. We have also used the termite treatment, as the Perma Treat rep showed us termites that were getting to the house. Perma Treat has been consistent about calling us the day prior to notify us of an upcoming treatment and they have been punctual and reliable. When we have had a specific problem (ants in the house, black widows in the garage) they have applied a specific treatment which in each case has fixed the problem. I recommend them to others without reservation.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review.
5.0

01/16/2014


Charles S.

Monthly pest control visits, sprays etc.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

10/22/2013


Todd H.

Was doing yard work a couple of weeks ago and noticed three of our shrubs up near our house were dead. I went to pull them out and they crumbled in my hands. In the roots and dirt I noticed little white ant-looking insects crawling around. A quick search on Google revealed they were termites, and being that they were up near our home, I didn't want to take any chances. Did another quick search on Angie's List to find a reputable pest control company and Permatreat came up with decent reviews. I called them and scheduled an appointment for a free inspection. Robbie arrived right on schedule and was very professional. He did the inspection and to our relief did not find any termite damage in our home, but recommended getting a termite treatment being that there is reportedly something like 4 hives for every 1 acre of wooded property. We have 4 acres and are surrounded by woods, so it was a wise investment for us. The treatment guys were scheduled to come out the following Saturday but called on Thursday to inform us that due to the rain, they needed to reschedule in order to make sure the chemical is able to soak into the ground and not get washed away, which I thought was very professional and courteous of them. They came out the following Tuesday and performed the treatment. I was not home at the time but my wife said the crew was very professional and courteous. I inspected the work when I arrived home that evening and was very pleased with their work. They their time and sealed the holes they had to drill into the concrete and wood to get the chemical into the ground. They also did not leave a mess and even treated our flower beds at my wife's request. We recommend this company and will likely be calling these guys again to treat our house and yard in the Spring.

Description of Work
Treated our home for subterrainian termites.

Category pest control

5.0

08/26/2013


Anne B.

They did a great job. We used their quarterly service, and they were always right on schedule calling us to set up the appointments. The tech was very friendly and nice (even to our dog). The same person came everytime, so he knew exactly where our problem areas were.

Description of Work
Sprayed for bugs and other pests

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    NV Waterproofing & Foundation Repair

    Established in 1986, NV Waterproofing provides below grade solutions for moisture control and prevention to customers in the greater Washington, D.C. area. Please call our office today to schedule your appointment at 703 690-3889. We employ only highly trained and certified applicators of the industry's most effective and environmentally sound waterproofing and drainage products. One Stop Shopping for Waterproofing, Moisture Control, and Drainage Systems. Over the past few years alone, our customer base has included hundreds of homeowners, general contractors, production home builders, and custom home builders. This base has been developed primarily through word of mouth. Our technicians deliver excellent customer service and results, and our company stands behind this work. NV Waterproofing is a member of both the Supportworks and Contractor Nation networks. Both are international groups of more than 130 foundation repair and waterproofing contractors that shares information, best practices and advice, helping each other be better together than they would be alone. Our goal has always been to create very satisfied customers. Service area covered: District of Columbia Virginia Counties - Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, Fauquier, Arlington and Alexandria. Maryland Counties - Montgomery, Frederick, Prince George and St. Mary's.  

    Angi Certified

    That Bug Guy Pest Control

    That bug guy pest control provides expert level service at an affordable price. We offer military, first responders and senior discount.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by That Bug Guy Pest Control on Angi
    S&S Waterproofing And Foundation Repair

    At S&S Waterproofing we have over 25+ years of combined experience in Waterproofing and foundation repair. We never use sub-contractors and aren't a franchise owned company that uses high pressure sales tactics. We are a certified foundation repair specialist and install hydraulic push piers and helical piers. We offer a lifetime transferable warranty and free inspections.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by S&S Waterproofing And Foundation Repair on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pest Control, Termite Control, Crawl Space Encapsulation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Perma Treat Pest Control

    How is Perma Treat Pest Control overall rated?

    Perma Treat Pest Control is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Perma Treat Pest Control open?

    Perma Treat Pest Control is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does Perma Treat Pest Control provide

    Perma Treat Pest Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Perma Treat Pest Control offer free estimates?

    Yes, Perma Treat Pest Control offers free project estimates.

    Does Perma Treat Pest Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Perma Treat Pest Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Perma Treat Pest Control offer a senior discount?

    No, Perma Treat Pest Control does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Perma Treat Pest Control?

    Yes, Perma Treat Pest Control offers warranties.

    What services does Perma Treat Pest Control offer?

    Perma Treat Pest Control offers the following services: Pest Control, Termite Control, Crawl Space Encapsulation