Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NORTHERN DECKWORKS

Founded 1989 • With Angi since August 2008

5.0

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13 Mundy Lane

Fredericksburg, VA 22405

Description

LICENSE NUMBER: 2701 0364 06. USES SUBS.DBA: TAD CON INC.Professional Excellence and Unique Craftsmanship •For over 25 years, this motto has been the driving force behind the dedicated work and high standards of professionalism for which Northern Deckworks has become known throughout the industry and community. Management Quality Control and Continuity •Owner Tim O’Neill designs each project, and then the project is assigned to one of our quality builders who will build and manage the project. Once the project begins, the assigned project manager is continuously dedicated to the project until completion. Material Quality Control •Aside from the skill of the craftsmen, Northern Deckworks believes that the overall quality control of a home improvement project starts with highest quality materials....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/24/2022


Erica U.

Our new screen porch and deck, built by Northern Deckworks is absolutely beautiful and we are very happy with the results. I first started researching companies to build this for us in the summer of 2020, and once I found Northern Deckworks and saw their work it was hard to even entertain selecting another company. We did meet with a few but Tim’s price was competitive and the final product looked superior to anything else we saw. Tim came out to the house when he said he would, drew up the plans on site, and made promptly made changes when requested to accommodate our wishes. We did end up having to wait fifteen months for the project to begin due to material shortages and crew availability due to COVID, but this was not a problem for us since we wanted our new addition to be right and not rushed. Tim was in regular communication with us, responded promptly, and came to check on the progress in person numerous times. John was the lead carpenter and Jason and Darwin were also on the crew. They were talented, meticulous and did a beautiful job. I am so impressed with their craftsmanship and incredible attention to detail. The porch design is stunning. They cleaned up nicely at the end of each day as well. They were always clear in advance if they would miss a day or two, having to return to a previous job needing to be wrapped up that was awaiting a backordered item due to supply chain issues. We’ve had frustrations with contractors in the past for not showing up and this was never the case. We are looking forward to enjoying our time on our new porch and deck for many years to come. I would recommend Tim O’Neil and Northern Deckworks to anyone looking to build an outdoor addition onto their home.

Description of Work
Porch and deck build

Category decks

5.0

01/25/2021


Sarah H.

The design and installation work on our deck was just spectacular. Tim was extremely thorough in his design and advice (creates something that blends so nicely with our house's unique style) and the installation crew led by John was top notch. It was clear they took pride in their craft and didn't take shortcuts. The whole process was very smooth and painless for us as homeowners. We are so looking forward to spending much more time enjoying the outdoors on our new deck.

Description of Work
design and install new deck, swap window for sliding door to deck

Category decks

4.0

08/04/2020


Dennis B.

Tim May be out of business. Hasn’t returned our calls in months.

Description of Work
Repair porch

Category decks

5.0

05/04/2020


Donald B.

A gorgeous craftsman built oasis at home. Tim and his Northern Deckworks crew, led by John, built us an absolute artisan masterpiece of a screened porch that is the envy of our neighbors and a delight to us. Built from the finest materials and woods available and molded by the capable hands of John and his crew, this screened porch is shockingly gorgeous and highly functional, particularly with the addition of the EZ-Breeze window system. Tim recommended Patty and Jeff to finish the mahogany floors, cedar walls, and railings (you can find their contact information on Tim's website). Like John and his build crew, Patty and Jeff are highly skilled, professional and meticulous. The mark of an excellent contractor / project manager is in the people they hire and recommend. On all counts with John and his crew, Patty and Jeff, Tim is an excellent contractor and project manager. We are delighted with our Northern Deckworks screened porch and highly recommend you choose Tim and his folks for yours.

Description of Work
Screened porch

Category decks

5.0

04/17/2020


Kathy B.

If you are looking for an exceptional screened porch for your home, please take the time to meet with Tim O’Neil from Northern Deckworks. Our porch was built with cedar and mahogany materials and truly exudes quality craftsmanship that far surpasses other contractors. Tim has exceptional crews that ensure great attention to detail, compliance to all standards and codes. He also partners with the very best electricians, masons, and even outdoor fireplace and furniture stores. He has built 20-year relationships with both his employees and even a team who can finish and stain your porch to guarantee it remains beautiful for the years to come. Tim’s artistic eye helped take our design of a screened porch with a flagstone patio and a blue stone retaining wall from a dream to reality. We would highly recommend the outdoor window option, which turns your porch into almost a four-season room. Your project will be managed from start to finish by one point of contact; eliminating any subcontracting hassles. Despite it being winter season, our project was finished on time and within budget. Post pandemic we look forward to sharing our new porch with our family and friends. Thankful we took the time to find Northern Deckworks and experience the quality difference. Kathy and Scott Bentley

Description of Work
Screened porch, flagstone patio, stone wall

Category decks

5.0

03/18/2020


Kristina G.

The work was just completed on our new deck and porch by Northern Deckworks and we couldn't be happier with the results, and the whole process in general. Tim came out, took measurements and drew the plans up right there. He also stayed in contact during the duration of the project, informing us of any changes or anomalies that came up. The work itself is fantastic. John and Charlie were great; they came every day, even in the rain, were polite, neat, informative when we asked questions and worked hard. They even took the time to engage my young kids who loved watching them work. Everyone who has seen the finished results say it's beautiful. I would highly recommend Tim and his crew!

Description of Work
Build a new deck and porch

Category decks

5.0

01/31/2020


Debbie L.

Northern Deckworks came highly recommended by two of our neighbors. We were able to see the high quality of their work and they did a fantastic job on our home. Tim and John worked to transform our limited backyard space into a great place to relax, entertain, and enjoy. Tim worked with us not only on the deck plans (with mahogany and cedar plus Eze-breeze window upgrades) but did a super job of integrating a large flagstone patio under the deck, plus building an adjacent fire pit. John is, by far, the most talented carpenter craftsmen in this area. We are 100+% satisfied and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Screened porch and patio

Category decks

5.0

11/14/2019


Justin S.

Northern Deck Works constructed my porch with the highest level of expertise and care. Tom O'Neil and the team at Northern Deck Works are true craftsman that only use the best products (cedar, mahogany etc) to custom build a porch that puts others to shame! The attention to every detail, the precision, the hand crafted touches are unbelievable. This project has made our house a home. We use it even when the temperature is 21 degrees! We crank up the gas fireplace and enjoy 70 plus temps in the room! Year round use with Eze Breeze windows ensures a sealed in experience even during harsh weather! Working with Tim and the his team (Juan and Darwin) has been a pleasure! He cares....truly cares about the finish and fit of every project. It is not a dollar sign to Tim. He and his team put their life and spirit into these porches. Tim is very responsive to changes and feedback. He cares about the product and the joy it delivers to his customers. Works of art don't develop fast- keep this in mind. Building porches like this is an art and takes time. "Do it right the first time", I am certain, is their undisclosed motto. My family can't thank Tim, Juan and Darwin enough for the timeless joy that they have given us by building a room where countless historical events will occur. Thank you all for your dedication to excellence and attention to detail. True professionals. True craftsman. Unimaginable porches! You can't go wrong with Tim and his team if you want top-notch construction.

Description of Work
Build a covered porch with Eze Breeze windows

Category decks,skylights

5.0

07/30/2018


Robert C.

Northern Deckworks did a fantastic job! The carpenters that Tim O’Neill hires are true craftsman and their work was phenomenal. We have remodeled practically every room in our home and this project was by far the most professional and the workmanship exceeded our expectations. Tim O’Neill and his carpenters were very professional, patient, and kind. I would highly recommend them for any remodel project.

Description of Work
New screen porch, deck and stone walkway

Category decks

5.0

07/04/2016


Jon J B.

Excellent! Northern Deckworks did a fantastic job! We selected Northern Deckworks after interviewing several companies, all of which had top ratings on Angie's List and other websites. Tim O'Neil, the owner, came to discuss the project with us and provided an initial sketch and estimate at the first visit. We were impressed by his freehand drawing which he created as we explained what we wanted. It was obvious that he knew what he was doing and that he had done it before. We saw another project that the company had completed and knew right away that we wanted to work with the company. His team showed up punctually and started construction on time. They worked through 19 degree weather and snow to complete the work on time. The crew was very friendly, knowledgeable and skilled. They answered all of our questions in order to keep us informed of the progress. We noticed the quality of the work immediately as the deck and porch started to take shape. We've had multiple guests comment on the quality of the work. We've recommended the company to everyone! Two of our friends have hired Northern Deckworks to have similar work done and have been completely satisfied. When the work was complete we were amazed at how the finished product looked like the original hand drawing only more beautiful. We could not be happier with the result!

Description of Work
New Deck and Screened-in porch.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    AJC Construction

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    DFC home improvement

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Ultimate Powerwash

    Here at Ultimate Power Wash we are dedicated to making your property look new again! We specialize in SOFT washing technology, melting all the mold, grease dirt and grime off your house, deck ,fence or flat surface without using harmful pressure or caustic chemicals! Our equipment is state of the art, and our employees have combined 30 years experience in the business!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SCREENED PORCHES, CUSTOM DECKS(WOOD AND COMPOSITES), FLAGSTONE PATIOS, SUN ROOMS, ADDITIONS, KITCHEN REMODELING, GAZEBOS, HOT TUB INSTALLATION & LOW VOLTAGE LIGHTING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NORTHERN DECKWORKS

    How is NORTHERN DECKWORKS overall rated?

    NORTHERN DECKWORKS is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are NORTHERN DECKWORKS open?

    NORTHERN DECKWORKS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does NORTHERN DECKWORKS provide

    NORTHERN DECKWORKS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does NORTHERN DECKWORKS offer free estimates?

    Yes, NORTHERN DECKWORKS offers free project estimates.

    Does NORTHERN DECKWORKS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, NORTHERN DECKWORKS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does NORTHERN DECKWORKS offer a senior discount?

    No, NORTHERN DECKWORKS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by NORTHERN DECKWORKS?

    Yes, NORTHERN DECKWORKS offers warranties.

    What services does NORTHERN DECKWORKS offer?

    NORTHERN DECKWORKS offers the following services: SCREENED PORCHES, CUSTOM DECKS(WOOD AND COMPOSITES), FLAGSTONE PATIOS, SUN ROOMS, ADDITIONS, KITCHEN REMODELING, GAZEBOS, HOT TUB INSTALLATION & LOW VOLTAGE LIGHTING.