HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.

Founded 2005 • With Angi since August 2012

HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. specializes in complete basement finishing. Finishing your basement is an excellent way to dramatically expand your living space as well as increase the value of your home. HIVEX specializes in transforming your home into its full potential and at a great value. With over 40 years of experience, company owner Dan Betts was voted a legend in the home improvement industry. In recognition of our quality craftsmanship and attention to detail, we have received numerous prestigious awards and honors. Our team of professionals is dedicated to uphold our reputation of professional workmanship, honesty, and integrity. Our basement finishing specialists take pride in transforming homeowners needs and dreams into reality!

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

Basement FinishingBasement FinishingBasement Finishing

Multi-Purpose Basement

basement remodeling

202022025
We transformed this unfinished space into a multi-purpose basement including game play, media, workspace, wet bar and custom storage!
View project
Multi-Purpose Basement project

Multi-Purpose Basement

basement remodeling

202022025
View project

Verified Reviews

4.9

(207) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

197

4

4

3

1

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price
4.9
Professionalism
5.0
Punctuality
4.9
Quality
5.0
Responsiveness
4.9

Read reviews by category

basement remodeling (157)electrician (70)drywall (68)plumbers (67)lighting (54)door installation (52)closet design (47)tile installation (46)
Showing 1-25 of 207 reviews
Lyn K.
5.0
12/13/2022
Project Manager was very responsive, kept me informed of work to be completed each week, visited property to ensure work was completed as required, was a great communicator as well as listener, recommended no-cost additional options for my consideration which I approved, and followed through on items discussed in every conversation. Workers came and went according to their schedule and were very thorough and friendly. I hired this company because they are family owned, workers are employees (and not sub-contractors), and I’ve noticed the trucks in the residential area. Sales and contract personnel were also very knowledgeable, personable, and responsive.
Description of Work
Buildout of basement approx 900 sq ft-3 rooms and a full-bathroom, and storage.
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] this made our day! Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope you enjoy the new space for a long time!
Kara S.
5.0
10/05/2022
Hivex, and our contractor John, exceeded all our expectations for our basement. We are thrilled with how the project was completed and the workmanship for the price is unbeatable. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Finished Basement
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, basement remodeling
Cost
$35,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Ang L.
5.0
10/02/2022
HIVEX was AMAZING!! They explained everything every step of the way. They were always there to answer questions and solve problems without a complaint or hesitation. Their customer service is incredible! They made this process so easy! Worth every penny!
Description of Work
Basement Finishing
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you!
Jonathan L.
5.0
09/16/2022
John and his team at HIVEX did an amazing job finishing our basement. They helped us design it into something that is extremely functional and will definitely add value to our home. The HIVEX team was courteous and professional from the beginning of the project until completion. The communication from the Project Manager (John) and all of the team was exceptional. We were updated on every phase of the project and told when there would be noise and material deliveries. I would recommend HIVEX for any remodeling needs. V/r, Jon & Melissa
Description of Work
Finished Basement
Category
closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Mary Jo M.
5.0
09/09/2022
The workers were so respectful, our Construction Foreman did a great job of keeping us informed of what was going on and when! We had to postpone our project by two weeks, my husband and I had Covid, and Hivex managed to get our project into their schedule and still complete it within the original time frame. If you need or want to get your basement finished, use Hivex!
Description of Work
We had our basement finished, approximately 1400 sq ft, and Hivex did an excellent job!
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We love your recommendation! thank you for your business.
Matt J.
5.0
08/16/2022
HIVEX is truly an awesome company to work with. They are very responsive, extremely professional, very flexible and super easy to work with. The only possible downside is they are not turnkey. They do not install flooring or paint. But that was not an issue for me as I saved thousands by painting my self and have a good flooring company. I cannot speak more highly of HIVEX and would use them again.
Description of Work
Basement Finishing
Category
basement remodeling
Cost
$41,500
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your reviews!
JONATHAN B.
5.0
08/13/2022
The most amazing basement finish of all time! Seriously these guys were awesome from start to finish and I would recommend them to all.
Description of Work
Basement Finish
Category
drywall, electrician, picture framing, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Love hearing this! Thank you for reviewing us.
Nicholas C.
5.0
08/12/2022
They did a great job first and foremost. They were on time, very polite, cleaned up as they went, and very responsive to emails and texts. I couldn't recommend them more!
Description of Work
Finish Basement
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Cost
$47,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind comments and recommendation.
Katie D.
5.0
07/23/2022
HIVEX did a fantastic job. They were professional, responsive, organized, and timely.
Description of Work
Basement remodel
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking the time to review us!
Leslie K.
5.0
07/12/2022
Excellent! HIVEX was courteous, the project is beautiful and they were super responsive when asked to tweak a few minor things even after all money was paid. I highly recommend HIVEX.

Images

Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39917564Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39917564Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39917564
Description of Work
Basement finished
Category
bathtub refinishing, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We so appreciate your recommendation and are glad your experience went so well! Thank you.
Aaron & Beth U.
5.0
07/12/2022
Awesome! They were responsive and excellent all around. Bob was great to work with.
Description of Work
Basement remodel
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We loved working on your basement. Thanks so much!
Barry & Linda D.
5.0
07/12/2022
Extremely well!! HiVEX is very professional and well organized. They have very skilled craftsman and experienced at doing a job very well.
Description of Work
N/A
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

So glad you shared your experience. Thank you!
Timothy W.
5.0
07/08/2022
HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. are absolute ROCKSTARS!! I am very pleased with the entire process. They were easy to work with and very flexible regarding my specific needs. I would be hard pressed to identify any major issues. I would without a doubt use them again.

Images

Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39791686Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39791686Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39791686
Description of Work
Basement Finishing
Category
bathtub refinishing, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We love that you chose us and appreciate your feedback !
Beth C.
5.0
03/25/2022
HiVex came recommended by a neighbor and we would 100% hire them again. From the initial consultation appointment to the final walkthrough, everyone was kind, knowledgeable and easy to work with. The team was neat and tidy during the whole process as well. We would 100% recommend them to others (and have!) and would not hesitate to hire them again for any future projects
Description of Work
Basement bedroom and bathroom finished
Category
closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, remodeling, basement remodeling
Cost
$24,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We're so happy you were so pleased! Thank you so much.
Christian F.
5.0
03/14/2022
Hivex did a magnificent job from start to finish. All of the work was exceptional and their attention to detail was excellent. They arrived when they said they would and stopped work when they said they would. They get top marks on our basement finishing project.
Description of Work
Spectacular job finishing our basement
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company based on your experience. We really enjoyed working for you!
C.
5.0
02/21/2022
Hivex is a wonderful company to work with. They did an amazing job from the beginning to the finished product. The team and installers were friendly, very professional and did high quality work. The process was seamless and we are really happy with the final product. Our basement is beautiful and we absolutely love our new space. The entire Hivex team exceeded our expectations and we Highly Recommend them. FIVE STARS all around! Stephen and Chantal C. – Spotsylvania, VA
Description of Work
Basement Finishing
Category
basement remodeling
Cost
$19,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]We[Member Name Removed] re[Member Name Removed] so[Member Name Removed] happy[Member Name Removed] you[Member Name Removed] re[Member Name Removed] so[Member Name Removed] pleased[Member Name Removed] Thanks[Member Name Removed] again[Member Name Removed].
Kevin K.
5.0
09/16/2021
HIVEX far exceeded by my wife’s and my expectations! We received other estimates from other contractors which were either way out of line price wise or with a completion date of sometime in 2022. The estimates were provided in March 2020. Listed below are some of the areas that gave us confidence in HIVEX prior to, during and after construction. • HIVEX took my family’s design, made suggestions, provided drawings, then made final adjustments to design prior to the start of construction. Obtained building permits. • Professionalism and courtesy of all HIVEX office staff and workers. • Each week communicated the work to be performed for that week and answered all questions in a timely manner. • Installed additional outlets and switches at no additional cost, as they stated. • Electrical, plumbing, drywall, and finishing trim are perfect! Again, exceeded our expectations. • Added shelving, as requested during construction. • After final payment was made, HIVEX returned to install appliances we purchased and trimmed doors to adjust for flooring we had installed. HIVEX was again true to their word, returning on the date we requested and performing all work we requested to our satisfaction. Finally, this entire project was completed in approximately 10 weeks. HIVEX originally estimate being 8 to 12 weeks. NOTE: My wife made sure all kitchen cabinets, vanities, appliances, and bathroom fixtures were available when HIVEX requested as not to impact HIVEX’s schedule. 5 stars is not good enough.
Description of Work
Our project included adding two full bathrooms, a full kitchen, one bedroom with egress window, a laundry room, den, and additional rooms.
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, egress windows, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Our team really enjoyed working for you! Thank you for the detailed review and awesome rating. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know!
Sandra M.
5.0
09/16/2021
We cannot say enough great things about HIVEX. They came to us highly recommended and we will now highly recommend them. Our basement project was very well planned out from the beginning and we always knew the timeline and what type of work was being conducted on any given day. Starting with the quoting process the documentation they provided as well as time lines were impeccable. Moving into the planning and construction side of things they were efficient, friendly, and very communicative. Our project manager, Terry, was always easy to reach and very responsive to phone calls and texts when we had questions. All of the workers on the HIVEX crews that we interacted with were very polite and professional. Our basement used to be a very uninviting space, not any more, now it is a very well thought finished area where our family and friends look forward to hanging out in and creating great memories in. Not to mention the value added to our home. We are highly confident that in choosing HIVEX we made the BEST choice for our basement finishing.
Description of Work
Basement Remodel
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, picture framing, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We are so happy you chose us and really enjoyed working for you!
Maria B.
5.0
08/16/2021
My experience was very good with his company. Very professional; quality work and the work was done in a timely manner. They even help clean my basement out by taking furniture to the dump or donation; Which was a great help to me! My basement was completely unfinished. This company gave me options and created A floor plan utilizing space effectively and created the storage space that I desperately needed. The built in bookshelves added flavor to my basement creating a soft environment. The bathroom was over the top and very beautiful with built in shelves! I also love the finish look of the window frames and bedroom closets that also have built in shelves. I particularly love the special touches like the lighting, dimmers, TV outlets etc. Did I mention quality? The quality of this company work is excellent! I get so many compliments about the quality of work they provided. This is definitely a company that takes pride in their work. I would highly recommend this company! you will not be disappointed🙂

Images

Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254Review for HIVEX Basement Finishing Co.  - 6324 Old Plank Rd, Fredericksburg, VA - 39441254
Description of Work
Completely Finish unfinished basement
Category
basement remodeling
Cost
$40
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We strive to fulfill the requests you have that suit your personal needs! We're so happy you are pleased with the quality and end project. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post a great review!
Justin S.
5.0
08/12/2021
Excellent company! They communicated well, we’re patient with plans and changes to those plans. Overall there quality was excellent, and their people extremely professional.
Description of Work
Basement Finish
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We are so thankful for your review and business!
JOHN K.
5.0
04/20/2021
Hivex did a very professional job finishing my basement, to include a half bathroom and a wet bar. Everything looks great! The project manager, Bob, was responsive and on top of things throughout the entire process. He answered all my questions as things progressed. I strongly recommend Hivex!
Description of Work
Basement finishing
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, doors, basement remodeling
Cost
$45,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for your reviews!
James C.
5.0
03/15/2021
from start to finish,Hivex was spot on. this was our first project of this size,so we were nervous and excited. Bob was so laid back,that at times he scared me. He always came through, no matter what my wife and my concerns were. We can't say enough about the entire staff and contractors, they were there for us. my wife and I are in our 60s,so to see her cry and say never in her life has she had a kitchen this size and a home this beautiful,made me choke up. words can not describe the way we feel. so I will just say thanks to Bob and the rest of Hivex.P.S. I promised you all a Pig roast this summer and I also keep my word! Jim and Linda
Description of Work
basement remodeling
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We loved working with you! Thanks so much.
steve C.
5.0
02/15/2021
HIVEX is the best. In a long career of moving, HIVEX has exceeded every contractor I’ve ever used. They are organized, responsive, reliable, trustworthy, efficient and gave us outstanding results with a beautiful basement bed & bath, family room, and library. We were impressed with initial meeting which gave us high expectations and were delighted when they met them all. Friendly, courteous and highly skilled, flexible when COVID caused cabinet delays. If I had the decision to make again I would hire them wholeheartedly and not change a thing. We are very grateful to Chris, Bob our project manager, and the great HIVEX team.
Description of Work
Finish a Basement
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, egress windows, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We loved working on your basement! It turned out beautifully. Thank you for your review.
J B.
5.0
02/08/2021
HIVEX was very professional and on time in completing the job. They addressed all concerns until I was happy with the end result. Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Add on bedroom and bathroom
Category
remodeling, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Reginald M.
5.0
01/15/2021
We interviewed (5) companies for our project. After our first meeting with HIVEX we knew they were the company for us. HIVEX did not disappoint. They exceeded our every expectation in every segment of the project. We could not have been more pleased. HIVEX and every team member associated with the project provided us the best quality and professional service we've ever experienced. AWESOME JOB!!! Our project manager was John Gaskill. We would like to give a personal word of thanks and gratitude to John for his "spirit of excellence". John managed the job as though the company belonged to him. As though it were his personal reputation on the line for the projects outcome. John delivered on every promise & ensured we were pleased with every detail of the project. If you want the best, go with HIVEX.
Description of Work
Basement finishing
Category
basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much. We're so glad you selected our company. I'll pass your note onto John. Enjoy that new space!

Phone

Address

6324 Old Plank Rd

Fredericksburg, VA 22407

Monday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Website

http://www.hivexbasements.com

Other Information

Services Offered

Basement Remodeling,
General Remodeling,

Services Not Offered

We do not offer service work, general home remodeling, single room finishes or renovations of existing finished basements. HIVEX does not offer flooring or paint services.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
Check
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705100359
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
10/31/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

basement finishing

Health & Safety Measures

We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

FAQ

HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. is open:

Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

Yes, HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. offers free project estimates.

Yes, HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. offers warranties.

HIVEX Basement Finishing Co. offers the following services: HIVEX offers complete basement finishing. We handle permitting, floor plan design and all required construction to gain a final inspection with your county.

We do not offer service work, general home remodeling, single room finishes or renovations of existing finished basements. HIVEX does not offer flooring or paint services.