Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gator Paving

Founded 1997 • With Angi since September 2008

4.1

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9700 Ashley Dawn Ct

Fredericksburg, VA 22408

Description

Gator Paving Specializes in the installation of hot mix asphalt and the installation of coal tar sealer. We can help your organization put together a maintenance plan for all of your asphalt maintenance. This includes homeowners associations, management companies, corporate work, government

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2016


Grayson M.

All in all....it was a great experience. Owner was great and knowledgeable. I got everything in writing. Office personnel was efficient and pleasant. Crew was extremely hard working and professional. My driveway looks great. I'm very happy and would recommend them again. Thank you Gator!

Description of Work
Graded and paved my driveway.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you. Welcome to the Gator Paving family!! We love our customers!
5.0

08/02/2016


Armond H.

I liked the fact they always answered the phone. There was always someone to talk to even on the weekends they had a live answering service. I called and the office girl (Dianne) was very nice and scheduled an appointment for an estimate that very next day. The owner, Chris, came out and he was very knowledgeable. He gave me a very fair estimate. I like the fact he didn't deep calling me back and pestering me after he gave the quote like some others did. I signed the estimate and Dianne scheduled my job. The day the crew came the heat index was over 100 degrees. They were real troopers to bear that heat. They were cheerful and very professional. They made me feel comfortable to ask any questions and explained to me what they were doing the whole time. In no time it was done. I received a written warranty and a thank you note! I would recommend them again. I wanted to leave this review because they did a really good job.

Description of Work
My driveway was old and falling apart. I think it was over 20 years old. I had Gator Paving remove my old driveway and replace it with a new one.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We work very hard to satisfy our customers.
1.0

07/24/2016


William L P.

In the beginning it went well. We soon noticed settling on one part of the driveway. Cheryl Gates suggested we wait to see if it would settle more which it did not. When I asked her to fix it she said it would cause more problems to remove the bad section and replace it. So now I am stuck with a driveway with a dip in it and I am supposed to be happy about it. It is nearly impossible to get a response from her. I have to call for two to three weeks before I get a return call or email. It has been an absolutely horrible experience.

Description of Work
Asphalt driveway installed and asphalt pad install.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed]: I'm very glad I documented every time I talked to you or emailed you because by reading the review you left you'd think we'd never met. I've been to your house a total of 7 times now since April of 2014. Since then I have spoken to your wife and you a total of 21 times. I wish there was a way to upload our texts back and forth so they may be read by the general public. We also exchanged over 20 emails. I came to your house on several occasions, one in particular stands out in my mind. As you know, your contract and warranty states topsoil should be put up to the edges of your driveway to avoid the edges of the driveway breaking off if a car tire goes over the edge. Well, as you know you never put topsoil up to the edge of your driveway and over the winter of 2014 several vehicles were driven off the edges of the driveway continually breaking a good portion of the edges off. I came and fixed them all at no charge even though the damage was not under warranty. In your contract, it also states your driveway should be sealed within the first year after paving. The driveway was paved in the spring of 2014 and as of today (August 2016) there has not been any maintenance done on the driveway at all. As I stated, in writing, to you we will come out and do anything you want us to do to your driveway if it needs to be done. I visited and measured all of your areas of concern with you and a level. As I showed you, there are no problems with your driveway, or culvert. I realize as people get typing away doing their their emotions get the best of them sometimes, but I would appreciate an honest review of the facts. My door is always open and ready to help. You may still reach me at any time and I will be happy to discuss this with you again.
1.0

07/30/2015


Erin C.

I initially called them for a quote. They were on time and seemed very professional and knowledgeable. The price was right in line with 2 others we received so we felt they were reasonable with that. We decided to have them complete the project and it was scheduled for 5/5/15. I called approximately a week before the start date to ensure we were still good and they stated we were and that Brian or Chris would be on site. On 5/5/15 they arrived but neither manager was there. Their crew started digging up my driveway and removed it all. They then laid new gravel and asphalt. I questioned one of them since it looked like it wasn't graded properly and would pool water but he assured me it wouldn't. They completed the job asked me to call and pay so I did. This is when everything went down hill. That evening it rained. The spot I had questioned did pool water and there was another spot that looked like a patch job that I thought was just discolored from water but it wasn't. The asphalt was a completely different quality. The owner Chris came out and was less than personable. He informed me they would be out that Fri to fix. They came out on 5/8/15 to repair. Instead of just having it flow they stamped down and eliminated the edge on the other side. Now the driveway drains in 2 directions, one of which when we get heavy rains, pools still. I also pointed out the other area and they stamped it down which made no difference in its appearance. We waited 1 week to drive on it since it felt very soft. The first night our cars made sink holes in the driveway and it left imprints of the tire tread. I contacted them again on 5/12/15 stating all the issues we were having and also how the bottom cracked and aesthetically it looked horrible. She asked me to send photos I had taken and stated the someone would contact us and come out. No one ever did! I called again on 5/18/15, 5/27/15, 6/8/15 and 6/11/15. Finally on 6/12/15 Chris (owner) showed up unannounced to look at the driveway. He stated we had a year for our warranty and feel free to use it. What he didn't understand is we were trying to have them correct the issues from the initial install! I asked him if this was typical of his work. His response "I don't know there are 2 other houses with driveways down the street, why don't you go look at them." I was appalled and considering I know those neighbors and they had no issues and both DID NOT use Gator, clearly states that this is a normal issue for them. So I took this as this is the quality of work you will always get from them. Before leaving he stated he would have someone come test the mix they used. He informed us he was working nights the next 2 wks and to give him some time. Not surprisingly we have never heard back from them and its been almost 7wks. As I write this on 7/30/15 I have heard nothing from this company to fix what they never initially completed properly. I called again today only to get their answering service taking a message, once again. I would NEVER recommend them to anyone. Do not be fooled by the initial experience with this company as I was. I plan on reporting them to the BBB along with potential further action.

Description of Work
Removed existing driveway, and replace with new one.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

07/26/2015


Ronald D.

While I never had the opportunity to experience the companies actual work, due to the fact the company cancelled my contract (without even asking me), their customer service in doing so was horrible and completely unprofessional. After waiting nearly 6 weeks to get the work initially scheduled after signing the contract, the job got delayed again for several days by weather, and then again by 2 weeks because I was out of town on business travel, so the job was rescheduled to start on Monday July 27, 2015. I had returned home the Thursday before this on July 23 and I both called and e-mailed Gator Paving on Friday July 24 to confirm everything was still on and they would be at my home to start the work the following Monday July 27. When I called, no one answered, so I left a voice mail, but no one from Gator returned my call nor did anyone respond to my e-mail inquiry that day. On Saturday July 25, I received an envelope in the US Mail from Gator Paving, and when I opened it, it was a check from Gator returning my 10% deposit, along with a crude, handwritten note that said they couldn't do my driveway job because their front end loader broke down, so they were cancelling my contract and the note was dated July 22. While I don't have a huge issue with them cancelling my contract, and returning my deposit, I do have a huge issue with the manner in which they did it. Why a crude hand written note in the mail, vice calling me in person to inform me of their problems and need to cancel? Gator had both my cell number and my home number, as well as my e-mail address, so they certainly could have reached me by phone, even if I was away from home. The manner in which Gator Paving handled the cancellation was completely unprofessional. I believe that any reputable company would have personally called me about the situation and at least apologized for having to cancel, or offered me the opportunity to delay and re-schedule after their equipment was repaired. But no, they just cancelled the contract via a handwritten, mailed note, so here I sit back at square one, needing to find another company to do the work, after they delayed me for a full 2 months holding my deposit money. Needless to say, I will never do business with this company again, after being treated so unprofessionally by them in cancelling my contract.

Description of Work
I signed a contract with Gator Paving on May 22, 2015 to remove my existing concrete driveway and replace it with a new asphalt driveway, and put down a 10% deposit at the time I signed the contract. As it turned out, the company never ended up doing the work, as they cancelled my contract after 2 months, via a crude written note sent via US mail.

Category driveway pavers

3.0

09/23/2014


Cynthia A.

After the driveway was resurfaced, we started having some water in the garage. Had the strips at the bottom of doors replaced, but the contractor said it was coming from the driveway. Much later, we realized that water was coming in behind a wall in the basement. A contractor pointed out how water was coming off the driveway. In August of 2014, we contacted Gator Paving and they sent someone out to take a look. We were told that the driveway had been done correctly and that there was nothing they could do for us. However, they did recommend that we hire them to "seal" the original work. Since that time, we have had several people out and the general consensus is that we will have to have a trench/drain installed across the driveway. To say that we are disappointed would be an understatement--we thought we were hiring a top-notch company.

Description of Work
resurfaced asphalt driveway

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Ms. [removed member name], We appreciate your complaint, but you failed to say the original date of service was April 2011, not August 2014. We resurfaced the driveway on April 22, 2011. We include a one year warranty on all of our work. I think it is unfair to request us to do repairs on a driveway that we put in 3 1/2 years ago. I sent the owner to look at the driveway as a courtesy in August 2014 and he did look at the driveway. Thank you.
5.0

09/14/2014


Glenn W.

These guys were terrific to work with. The owner ( Chris Gates) was very personable and had a bunch of suggestions for me. He explained much more than the other quotes that we got and I felt comfortable he put everything in writing. The office staff was very prompt and I was happy I got a live person on the phone when I called. My job was scheduled and done without a problem. The crew really went above and beyond to make sure I was happy with the work they did. They even put a pad in front of my mailbox. I would definitely recommend them to anyone without hesitation.

Description of Work
Gator removed an old existing driveway and replaced it with a new one.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for your kind review. We work very hard to make sure all of our customers are 100% satisfied. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us! Sincerely Cheryl Gates, President
5.0

08/04/2014


Dave S.

Job took multiple days with use of subcontractor crew to mill up old asphalt; very good crew coordination, responsive crew members, all acted professionally. Time delay due to weather which delayed finish time. Mgt and crew VERY responsive to any suggestions and a critique/rework of any area. Extremely pleased and felt we received full value. They had the most competitive price of the three firms contacted for a bid. I personally supervised the entire project from start to finish (this was done for our HOA) and I approved/signed off on the project as President of the association.

Description of Work
Take up old asphalt pavement, approx 8000 sqft, replace base, compact, apply 2+" new asphalt

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Mr [member name removed] Thank you very much for your kind review. We work very hard to try and exceed all of our customers expectations. Thank you again for your business. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to ask! Sincerely, Cheryl Gates President, Gator Paving Company
5.0

06/10/2014


John K.

Gator Paving scheduled an appointment, showed up on time, gave a price for the work, scheduled the work and performed on time and very well. Truth be known I kept expecting to be let down and they didn't drop the ball once. Driveway sealer material was good quality (I checked with an expert on the subject) and properly applied. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and I will use them again when I next have to seal my driveway.

Description of Work
Asphalt driveway sealing.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thank you for your kind review! We work very hard to ensure our customers are happy and will recommend us to others. Thank you again for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a positive review. Many times people only write if they are upset about something and if all went well they go on with their day. So again, thank you! Your kind words are greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or concerns, please dont hesitate to contact us! Cheryl Gates President, Gator Paving Company
2.0

10/29/2013


Teresa K.

They didn't fill in the cracks the way we wanted them filled in and they are wanting us to pay more money to get it repaired the right way. We are very disappointed with this. I would reach out to them with my complaints or new appointments and it would take them days to respond. I called to have it repaired, not to have it sealed. The receptionist I talked to had confirmed that we had talked about repairing my driveway not just sealing the cracks. They supposedly repaired it first and fill it. I want to get this resolved so I can get my driveway repaired the way I wanted. The owner had contacted my husband and said he would cut out the parts of the driveway that needed repair, but it would cost more money. I feel like I am being deceived and have not been happy with this entire experience.

Description of Work
They came to repair my asphalt driveway.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/03/2013


Clay H.

They excavated, built up and asphalted a 25' x 25' asphalt pad for a carport and regraded and installed new rock on the remaining driveway. Very professional and prompt. They were actually able to complete my driveway prior to the scheduled date. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed a 25' x 25' asphalt pad and regraded and rocked the existing driveway.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thank you so much for your business and your kind words. We work very hard to make sure everyone is very satisfied. Again please don't hesitate to call us if you have any questions or concerns. Cheryl Gates
5.0

04/15/2013


Ginger K.

I was very pleased with the process from start to finish. My call was answered by Sharon in the office where she scheduled an appointment for a free estimate. Chris arrived promptly at the set appointment time and we walked through the job procedure to make sure I knew what the estimate included. Once we decided to use Gator Paving for our driveway, I, again, contacted Sharon at the office and we scheduled our work to be completed on Thursday, April 11th. The crew showed up on time and began working at about 8am. By the time my husband arrived home from work, our driveway was complete. Thank you to Gator Paving for a wonderful job!

Description of Work
Gravel driveway paved

Category driveway pavers

5.0

04/08/2013


Julia H.

Thank you so much to Gator Paving! My husband is deployed right now in Afghanistan. We are trying to get our house ready to sell. I don't know anything about paving. We wanted to get our driveway paved before listing our house. Chris, the owner, was super nice and explained everything in detail. The office staff was great and really helpful. Every time I called I got a live person. If I had to leave a message with the answering service after hours they called me back the next morning. They gave me a list of references. They were not pushy. One of the other company's I got a quote from kept asking me what my lowest price was and that they would beat it. I don't think the other company cared much about what I needed done. Gator was not the lowest nor the highest. The work crew was great. The men were very nice and it took them no time to get everything all done. With all of the things we've had done to the house lately I been working with a lot of contractors and Gator Paving by far has been one of the best to deal with. I had a good experience! Thank you again!

Description of Work
I had my driveway graded and paved.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice comments [member name removed]. I'm glad you like your new driveway. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to call us.
5.0

03/28/2013


Ed C.

.From start to finish they did a great job! The grading and excavation was done prior to the paving crew coming out. The next day the paving crew came. They were all very nice guys! They had worked for Gator for some time and they all knew what their job was. Their professionalism definitely came through in their work. Everything turned out so nice. The crew did a few extra things for me that were not in the contract. They put a pad in front of my mailbox so there wouldn't be a mud puddle there. I appreciate the little things. When they were done, I called in my credit card number and Sharon sent me all of the Warranty information. What a great experience! I would recommend Gator's services.

Description of Work
I needed my old driveway torn out and a new one installed. Our home is older and we were renovating. We wanted to change the direction of the driveway. We wanted a circle drive in the front of the house and we wanted to plant grass where the other one was. Chris Gates, the owner, came out and gave us some really helpful suggestions. I liked the fact we got a written quote on the spot. He gave us several options to choose from. The office (Sharon) was great to work with. We had some questions and she always greeted me with a great attitude and seemed genuine in wanting to help us.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We work very hard to make sure all of our customers are happy. Cheryl and Chris Gates Owners
5.0

11/19/2012


lloyd W.

Gator Paving was one of the two (out of five companies called) who actually called me back. I was able to quickly schedule an appointment. While Gator's bid was not the lowest, the owner who provided the bid gave me the warm fuzzies. He was very laid back, very easy to talk to and gave me the confidence to choose his company. The work was actually completed ahead of the briefed schedule and the product was very well done. Even the couple of 'it-would-be-nice-if you could' were accomplished. I would have no hesitation using or recommending Gator Paving.

Description of Work
Existing gravel driveway re-graded, asphalt applied.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

06/01/2012


Carla S.

I went great. Both projects were completed in a timely and professional matter. The crew was terrific and Sharon in the office was very helpful. Thanks again to Gator!

Description of Work
We called Gator for an estimate and they answered the phone. That may not seem special in any way but all of the other asphalt companies we called we had to leave a message and someof them called back and some of them didn't. Having full time personell answering the phone was important to us because we have used other contractors who have answering machines and when you need to get a hold of them if there is a problem you cant! Chris Gates, the owner, came out and gave us a price for our driveway as well as some repairs for our subdivision road. He was great and a wealth of knowledge. We ended up having Gator pave our driveway for $4250.00 and they also did repairs in our subdivision totaling $16500.00. They did a great job on our driveway and and exceptional job dealing with all of the homeowners. There is only one way in and out of our subdivision so doing the paving work was very tricky making sure all of the homwowners could come and go. The subdivision looks great and we are going to use them again for some more work when our budget allows. We only had so much money to spend and Mr Gates did a wonderful job haleping us prioritize what we should do first and what we could wait on!

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/16/2012


Warren R.

The experience, so far with Gator Paving has been very good. They called for an appointment within 24 hours of my request. The estimator was professional and prompt. I am not sure if the price is comparable as this is my first quote on this job. I have to wait until I complete some landscaping before considering my driveway resurfacing. So all in all they have presented themselves very professionally.

Description of Work
No Services were performed at this time.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/08/2012


Ellen K.

It went great! I called to get several estimates from different contractors in the area. Gator was the only contractor who was able to do the installation of the culvert, new headwalls and driveway. It was nice only dealing with one contractor. Chris Gates, the owner, came out and and was very knowledgeable about what needed to be done. He showed me several pictures of similar projects they had done in the area. Our homeowners association is really picky about the culverts and Gator dealt with them the whole time to make sure the culvert was installed according to the specifications. That, in itself, was very helpful as I have no idea about anything to do with construction. The project was done in a couple of phases and Gator always made sure we had access our home during the project. The crews were very nice and were very respectful of our property. The project looks just beautiful.

Description of Work
We had to have our culvert and headwalls replaced and then had our driveway fixed and resurfaced.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/10/2011


Benson F.

Gator returned my phone call promptly and scheduled and estimate the next day. The owner, Chris Gates, came and did the estimate himself. He was very thorough. He gave me a very reasonalble price. They were not the cheapest and he said in order to do the job correctly and have the customer happy, he cannot always be the cheapest. I completely respected that. He said they had all the latest in technology and up to date equipment so the job would come out great. The job was scheduled. The office staff was very helpful and they worked with my schedule. When the crew came they wasted no time and went right to work. They were done with my driveway in no time. I was surprised how quick it went. Overall... GREAT JOB! I am a happy customer!

Description of Work
My Driveway was in bad shape and Gator came out and graded the drive installed a drain and then paved it.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/03/2011


kathy T.

Yes, it was excellent and he called me back and it is a problem in our area. They are just like very laid back about everything and so he called me back. He is really very friendly and went out his way to repair the driveway which he really didn't have to do some of them charge extra for that. We had a lot of rain but that wasn't his fault.

Description of Work
I used Gator Paving for stained and peeled and repaired my driveway.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your nice review! We work very hard to make all of our customers happy. Thank you again for taking the time to report. Cheryl Gates, President, Gator Paving Company
1.0

10/13/2011


Annette S.

We contracted with Gator Paving in May of 2010 to put an asphalt pad in our backyard to be used as a basketball court. It was stressed then as it was numerous times afterward that it was very important that the pad had the correct slope on it so that the distance from the basketball goal to the pad was ten feet at any point on the pad. Mr. Gates, the owner did not meet with us. His estimator met with us, who assured us that they could do the work. He drew up the contract and we signed it. When his crew initially came to pave, we gave them a drawing of the court layout with notations of the 1% slope requirement. After finding our backyard too wet after a recent rain and that the existing soil was not in the best condition for paving, Mr. Gates came out and suggested that they needed to bring in more gravel, to stabilize the paving surface. Instead of excavating the soil and placing the gravel in the area that was dug out, the gravel was placed on top of the soil so that it stood several inches above ground level. When the crew finally came out to pave , they were reminded of the 1% slope requirements. When they finished we were left with several inches of gravel above ground level with an asphalt pad on top of it. Immediately it was noted that it was dangerous to play on because of the elevated pad compared to the ground level. When we brought a survey crew in to measure the pad's slope, it was determined that the back of the court was a foot higher than the front of the court. Not only was the "basketball court" an eyesore, it was dangerous to play on and the court was useless as far as having the same 10 foot height distance on any point on the court. We called Mr. Gates, who did not see the final product, and he was not helpful at all. He said he would get back to us and it would cost more. We decided if Mr. Gates ever did call us back we would not want to use his services. At that point we called another paving company, who suggested that we start over. We went with that suggestion, they excavated the original pad and installed a pad at ground level, which we are very happy with. We communicated by letter (including pictures of both pads) with Mr. Gates about our experience and his reply was that he didn't know it was supposed to be a basketball court with a specific slope until midway in the process, and had he known that he would have done things differently. Our reply to that was when we called Gator Paving about the job, we were sent the estimator, not the owner. In addition the estimator assured us that they could do the job and he drew up the contract. An estimator is a legal agent of the company. One lesson we learned is that if we ever contract for work like this again we will make sure that the contract is very specific. In addition if we don't feel comfortable, it would be well worth it to talk to the estimator's supervisor or in this case the owner of the company, to ensure that everyone is on the same page with the work to be done. We asked for a refund because we did not get what we asked for and what we got was useless. Of course we were refused and were told that we were not charged the full price of bringing in the additional gravel,so we were fortunate did not pay more. This whole experience was very stressful and expensive.

Description of Work
We contracted with Gator Paving in May of 2010 to install a 45' x 26' asphalt pad in our backyard to be used as a basketball court. It was stressed then as it was numerous times afterward that it was very important that the pad had the correct slope on it so that the distance from the basketball goal to the pad was ten feet at any point on the pad.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/08/2011


L M S.

I had a gravel driveway that was having drainage problems. I called their office and was pleasantly surprised to get an appointment very quickly. The office staff was very nice to deal with. When the owner came to give me an estimate he was very punctual and very informative as to what was wrong with my driveway. I told him I would call him back and I never received any pressure about getting the job scheduled. When I called to schedule my driveway to be paved I was able to get a quick appointment and the crew was very respectful while at my house. With all the rain we've been receiving, I have not had one drainage problem and my driveway looks wonderful!

Description of Work
Gravel driveway was paved and drainage problems fixed.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

08/25/2011


Caroline B.

I wasn't sure what to do with my 20 year old driveway. It was all broken up and falling apart and I didn't know anything about asphalt of how to fix it. I called Gator and they came out to give me an estimate. The owner, Christopher Gates, came as scheduled and walked me through a few scenarios. I definitely learned something from him. He treated me respectfully even though I'm sure I was asking really dumb questions. He had a good sense of humor and he seemed like he would be easy to work with. He was pretty laid back and didn't give me a high pressure sales job. A few days later I called to schedule the work and we decided on a schedule date. On the first go around it was pouring rain and we had to reschedule. We made another date and the crew came out in force and 1-2-3 the job was completed. The workers really seemed like they knew what they were supposed to do. The driveway was graded the night before by a very nice gentlemen. He showed me where the water was going to run etc... Then the next day the crew arrived in force to pave. I didn't realize the asphalt would have such a strong odor. The owner said this was normal and would last a few days. I got a complete set of instructions when they were finished and a written warranty. It was over 100 degrees the day we paved our driveway. I felt sorry for the workers because the asphalt was so hot. They were still cheerful and said they were used to it. I paid with a credit card right on site and away they went leaving me very happy with my new driveway.

Description of Work
I had my 20 year old driveway removed and a new one put in.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

08/25/2011


karen E.

I called to get an estimate and they answer their own phone, you dont have to leave a message. I liked the fact I could get a live person everytime I called. The owner Chris Gates came out the next day and walked my job with me and made some suggestions. He was very professional and knowledgeable. He then wrote up a quote and explained everything to me. I though he had a fair price, but I still got other estimates. Gator's estimate wasn't the lowest he was about mid range. About a wekk or so later his office called to follow up on the estimate and to see if I had any questions. Gator made me feel comfortable and I didn't feel any pressure from them. They showed me pictures of other jobs similar to mine and provided me with estimates. The one thing that made them stand out was the experience of the owner and the written warranty they provided. The crew came out and they were gentlemen. They know what they were doing and got right to it. They finished my project in one day and made the process very easy. I'm a happy customer!

Description of Work
I wanted my existing driveway resurfaced and a new turn around section put in to park extra cars on.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member! We're happy to have you on board. We'll remind you next year when its time to seal your driveway. In the meantime if you have any questions or concerns, please dont hesitate to call. Cheryl Gates
1.0

04/23/2011


Vernon S.

No supervisor on site. Owner complained that the job took more asphalt than he had planned and said it was vary hard job because of the pitch. The job looked sloppy plus there was a deep dip in front of walkway entrance. The owner and I came to an agreement and I bought material to fix the dip for drainage. The workers came and installed the drain where I had it laying on the driveway (I assumed the owner or a foreman would understand gravity and proper drainage, then added more asphalt turning the driveway into a deep puddle when it rains. Workers had no engineering guidance and made the fix a much worse situation. I called the owner while they were doing the work but he couldn't make it to my house. Continued to call owner got me to receptionist but owner never returned calls and won the waiting game. I will end up paying some one else to fix this problem but Gator Paving will never be allowed on my property again. Responding to the owner of Gator Paving... That I did not attempt to contact you is completely untrue. I don't know who was answering your phone those 5 years ago when I called several times, but the response was always "Mr. Gates will call you" which clearly he never did. I understand he was going through something medical and had the patience at the time. He never responded so I just gave up on your company. Are you saying that I should have kept calling when I had done so several times? Every time it rains I'm reminded of this because of the huge puddles we have to step in. Take a look at the pictures I've attached to my report. You were correct I did update the date and cost of the original report.

Description of Work
Replace stone surface with asphalt driveway. .

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

My name is Cheryl Gates and I am the president and owner of Gator Paving Company. I would like to respond to the report submitted by the member. Firstly, his driveway was paved 12/6/2006 NOT May 4, 2009. The member paid $3900.00 for his driveway NOT $6000.00. He paid for his driveway promptly at the end of the project with check #1564. I wish there was a way to upload a copy of the signed contract to show the member completely fabricated this and additional information. I'm unclear as to why 5 years later he would jump on Angie's list and write a report that is completely untrue. We always have a supervisor on site to make sure the project is done according to the specifications of the project contract. In dealing with large equipment and asphalt that comes out of the truck at approximately 380 degrees is is imperative we have a supervisor on site to make sure that all of our employees are working in a safe manner and the customer gets what they have contracted for. This is only common sense. Providing the correct amount of asphalt for a job is a mathematical calculation. The pitch of the driveway is determined by the grading of the gravel prior to paving anything not the other way around. We always order the exact amount of asphalt we need for the job once we calculate the area times the depth of the asphalt. This is also common sense. We do not order too much or too little asphalt because a miscalculation will alter the cost we had anticipated for the job one way or the other. I am unsure as to why the member fabricated this information. I can only conclude it was for malicious intent. He is welcome to call me anytime and I would be happy to discuss this matter with him. Thank you for this opportunity to respond. We have never heard anything from the member since the paving of his driveway.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Supreme Paving

    Supreme Paving is a paving company that is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We provide quality paving services to clients in the surrounding Fredericksburg, VA area. Talk to us for more info at (571) 598-7911!  

    Paveco, Inc

    Paveco is a family owned and operated company that has been in the asphalt paving business since 1958. The owner Rick George is personally involved in every aspect of every paving project. Utilizing the latest in innovative technology and equipment available, along with time tested methods and techniques that have proven themselves over the years. Paveco's goal is to meet the needs of every customer, producing a job of superior quality that looks great at a price that's affordable. Whether it's a large commercial parking lot, your neighborhood street, or your personal driveway, the same attention is given to every aspect and detail of every job.  

    Quality Paving

    Quality Paving is a family owned company we strive on customer satisfaction. we offer free project estimates. and accept check, cash, and credit card as payment. we offer special discounts for military and seniors citizens. For further questions please contact us.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705040370A
    Trade License Locale
    Virgina
    Trade License Authority
    State of Virginia
    Trade License Expiration
    08/29/2016
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Asphalt paving, crack filling, parking lots, driveways, schools, resurfacing, tennis courts, new roadway construction, shopping malls, seal coating, street print pavement texturing & repairs. Site installation, grading.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gator Paving

    How is Gator Paving overall rated?

    Gator Paving is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gator Paving open?

    Gator Paving is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Gator Paving provide

    Gator Paving accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, Discover

    Does Gator Paving offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gator Paving offers free project estimates.

    Does Gator Paving offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Gator Paving does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gator Paving offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gator Paving offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gator Paving?

    Yes, Gator Paving offers warranties.

    What services does Gator Paving offer?

    Gator Paving offers the following services: Asphalt paving, crack filling, parking lots, driveways, schools, resurfacing, tennis courts, new roadway construction, shopping malls, seal coating, street print pavement texturing & repairs. Site installation, grading.