Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apex General Contracting

Founded 2011 • With Angi since January 2012

4.8

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5100 Monarch Ct

Fredericksburg, VA 22408

Description

Apex General Contracting is established on a foundation of trust, and our vision is to provide complete customer satisfaction. We are focused on providing top quality remodeling and construction services for the most affordable price.Additional Service area: Fredericksburg, Gainesville, Haymarket,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/17/2015


Deepak G.

I highly recommend Carlos and his crew. We called him to refinish our basement after a pipe burst and flooded the basement. We wanted to replace the carpet with ceramic tile as well. Carlos was extremely responsive with clear estimates and a clear schedule for completion. His crew arrived promptly at 7:30 am each day and the tiling crew stayed till 7 pm to finish the tiling in time promised. The crew were professional and ensured that the place was left clean and the quality of the work was exceptional. We appreciated the little touches they did on their own accord (adding door stops to all the doors, moving the cable outlet to the different side of the room where the TV was going to be housed). We are very happy with the basement today.

Description of Work
Basement Tiling, Drywall, Baseboards, Paint Trim and Doors, New carpet on stairs

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

12/29/2014


Kristina M.

It went well. Painter did a good job and worked in the cold for two days on a ladder!

Description of Work
Painted all the exterior of the windows on the house.

Category house painters, basement remodeling

4.0

11/04/2014


Michael C.

Within 2 hours of requesting an estimate we were contacted by the company and they were out that afternoon to look at the project. We had an estimate within 2 days. We had an extremely hard deadline that we needed them to meet so they agreed to start within a week. Carlos and his team were very pleasant to work with. They took their shoes off when entering the house. My home office is also in the space where the construction was taking place and they were very conscientious of the noise level. They left the compressors outside and just ran the hoses into the house. They kept the music to a minimum and allowed me to work without apologizing to my clients for the noise. They knocked on the door when they had questions and were very polite. Quality was rated based on the following issues: 1. The tiling in the shower was done before they test fitted the faucets. Unfortunately the new fixtures did not fit the existing pipes so the tile, backer board, and the drywall on the opposing wall all had to be ripped out and redone. 2. They started to install the vanity lighting off center of the vanity. It wasn't until I pointed out the issue that they did anything about the placement. I thought that should have been standard for the industry. 3. The light switch in the bathroom (three switch plate) was non-standard given that one of the knobs was a round switch for the heater. When a plate could not be found for this setup it was just left uncovered. It would have been nice to receive some recommendations on how to fix the situation but, instead, we troubleshooted the problem ourselves and told them how we wanted it fixed. All issues were resolved to our satisfaction. 4. On the positive side, we did request a few change orders and those were also met within our timeframe. We requested that an additional light be added above the bathtub and they were able to accommodate that request. 5. We asked that they install a new light fixture and paint the stairwell leading to the basement and they added that to the SOW as well. 6. We requested that they lay the flooring we had purchased and intended to install ourselves but ran out of time. They brought in a crew on Saturday to make sure this got done for us. Overall it was a good experience. We were so pleased that they worked long hours to make sure to meet our deadline. Our incoming family enjoyed the space immensely and we could not be more pleased with the feel of our new space.

Description of Work
Remodel of a basement bathroom, finished walls in a portion of the basement, laid flooring. We provided the majority of the materials and they picked up any extra items they needed (extra lumber, screws, etc.)

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

10/18/2014


Keith H.

Carlos was very professional and responsive to my requests. He came out to review the area, take measurements, and listen to what I wanted without trying to get me to add unnecessary items. For the most part his subcontractors created minimal mess and cleaned up after themselves. Carlos was sure to get inspections properly completed and ensured everything was to code (this can be tough in Stafford County). The only thing I suggested to Carlos was additional communication when workers were at the house as to the completion of their work for the day. Overall he did a great job and his price was very competitive. All items were delivered as promised and he strives to ensure your satisfaction is met. I would highly recommend Apex and would certainly use them again for my next project.

Description of Work
Completed a bedroom in my basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

09/21/2014


Kristina M.

The project went well. The time frame had to change because of an emergency with the lead carpenter and another time for weather Apex was very communicative about it. The work was done quickly and well. And most importantly, Carlos, the owner, consulted me on everything from what posts and railings I wanted to problem solving an issue. I found this very refreshing as most contractors just decide what is easiest for them and go with it, without talking to you.

Description of Work
Removed and disposed of existing railing on front porch Installed new posts and railings Painted soffits and porch ceiling

Category concrete repair, decks, house painters

5.0

09/17/2014


carolyn H.

Category interior painters, basement remodeling

1.0

08/22/2014


Mike M.

I called them twice and attempted schedule an estimate. They never called me back. When a contractors don't return phone calls, that's a major red flag.

Description of Work
Basement finishing.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you were not called back. Here at Apex General Contracting, we try to return all our clients' calls. We are a small family owned company and we strive to give the best service at all times. We realize there are times where we may miss a call but we do not do it intentionally. We are a growing company and if there is anything we can do to make it up to you, please contact us at your earliest convenience.
5.0

04/22/2014


Angela C.

Most professional contractor I have worked with. I would highly recommend Carlos and his company anytime I have another project. I can't say enough about them.

Description of Work
Home Remodeling

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

01/13/2014


Shawn T.

Carlos and his team of professionals from Apex General Contracting turned my unfinished basement into an amazing living space. After doing my homework to find out what was required for the project and what each element should cost, I consulted with four contractors about the job before calling Apex. Several qualities stood out right away with Carlos and his team. First, they knew what they were talking about with regard to our local building code requirements. I had studied the requirements and had a long list of questions. Carlos was able to answer every question on the spot. The second quality that got my attention was the number of questions Carlos asked us. He understood that this was an important project for our family so he spent considerable time talking to us about the little details that would be important to making the space comfortable and functional. Once the project began, it was clear that the quality of the work was top-notch. These guys don't cut corners or improvise. They do the work the right way the first time and if something is not right, they fix it. We lived in the house throughout the project so we saw Carlos' team every day. The crew was always professional and very respectful of our home. Carlos communicated with us regularly about the progress so we always knew if there was going to be more noise or more dust than normal . This was a major project for us so we needed to find the right contractor to do the job for a reasonable price. Apex General Contracting was the perfect choice and we look forward to welcoming them back into our home for our next project. The Turners, Alexandria Virginia

Description of Work
Carlos and his team finished our basement.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

10/12/2013


Jenny B.

When I first bought this house the basement was in a complete mess. Nothing was available since it was unfinished. My husband and I decided to go with Apex General Contracting after getting 3 quotes from other general contractors as well. Apex General Contracting gave us the best quote and we were definitely impressed on all the services completed. The job was was very professional. Now we have a full basement that we can enjoy.

Description of Work
Completed full basement, full bathroom, bedroom, closets, carpet and electrical work. All electrical wiring and outlets setup. Framing,drywall set up and hung. Then all walls sanded, primed, and painted. Set up recess lighting; full bath done, set up tiles, vanities, toilets, mirrors, and painted. Carpet installed along with sliding back door in basement.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, egress windows, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

05/23/2013


Shawn T.

I have worked with a lot of contractors and Apex General Contracting has been the best contractors I've ever worked with. He was just phenomenal. He calls me just about every day to give me an update on where they are. I don't have enough good things to say about them. He'll be back in my home for future projects.

Description of Work
They helped me completely remodel my basement. They did the entire job.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

03/12/2012


Jeanette C.

They showed up and went right to work. They were done in no time. They cleaned everything up perfectly and were amazingly nice. I will definitley use Apex General Contracting again. I am planning on having them back soon to fix my roof. Excellent excellent excellent

Description of Work
I had new back gutters done and sofits replaced.

Category gutter repair, woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    K&D Contracting LLC

    K&D Contracting is your local team of concrete experts. We are fully licensed and insured and can handle jobs of any size. We pride ourselves in our experience and attention to detail. This means that we put just as much effort into making your project last as we do into making it beautiful!  

    Dream Builders of VA

    Dream Builders is locally owned and operated in Fredericksburg, VA. We specialize in custom decks, porches and patios. Our craftmanship shows from our design to the finished product. All estimates are free and low pressure. We offer 3D drawings of all projects. Call us today, or visit our website to request an estimate.  

    Fredericksburg Deck Builders, Inc.

    We are a friendly and professional locally owned company. Custom designs available for your home owners association and county approvals. Whatever your needs are we can help. Providing fast and reliable Service for over a decade. When you hire Fredericksburg Deck Builders, you get the leading deck contractor in Fredericksburg that specializes in custom decks and patios.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement Finishing, Bathroom Remodeling, Decks and Patios, Interior and Exterior painting, Kitchen Remodeling, Replacement of doors and windows, Replacement of rotten wood

    Services Not Offered

    .

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Apex General Contracting

    How is Apex General Contracting overall rated?

    Apex General Contracting is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Apex General Contracting open?

    Apex General Contracting is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Apex General Contracting provide

    Apex General Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Apex General Contracting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Apex General Contracting offers free project estimates.

    Does Apex General Contracting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Apex General Contracting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Apex General Contracting offer emergency services?

    Yes, Apex General Contracting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Apex General Contracting?

    Yes, Apex General Contracting offers warranties.

    What services does Apex General Contracting offer?

    Apex General Contracting offers the following services: Basement Finishing, Bathroom Remodeling, Decks and Patios, Interior and Exterior painting, Kitchen Remodeling, Replacement of doors and windows, Replacement of rotten wood

    Are there any services Apex General Contracting does not offer?

    .