Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA

Founded 1939 • With Angi since May 2011

3.7

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

110 Gordon Rd

Falls Church, VA 22046

Description

Dependable, flexible, effective residential pest control, termite control, and moisture control services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jennifer S.
5.0
10/01/2019
We have used Home Paramount (Falls Church Va branch) for close to 18 years and have always been pleased with their service. In 2018, we tried a new pest control company that marketed themselves door-to-door with a lower price. That negative experience with the other company taught me just how good a provider Home Paramount is!! After one year away, we recontracted with Home Paramount. Here's why: #1 - The customer service phone reps are very courteous, responsive and quick. Always get a live person fairly quickly and they can easily answer questions or can reschedule us swiftly when needed. They are also highly accommodating with scheduling (the other company was always overwhelmed or booked or busy). #2 - Home Paramount always comes on the day scheduled and in the window promised. The other company we tried really struggled in this department, so I grew to really appreciate Home Paramount's commitment to coming when they say they will. #3 - Our service technician at our first house stayed the same over the years, and when we moved to Vienna, our new service technician has also continued to be the same. This continuity of staff makes a big difference... builds trust, they get to know your property and how to better serve and track bug issues. #4 -- They have always gladly come back in between quarterly visits and have had good suggestions for any pesky issue -- like silverfish in bathroom (went in our attic to treat there) and setting separate traps for spiders in basement. Very thorough outside as well. Price-wise, I don't know how they compare, but their quarterly price is not excessive and stays the same. Rarely have price hikes. I would definitely highly recommend Home Paramount -- particularly after that year away from their service! Taught me just how substandard some pest control companies can be!
Description of Work
Regular quarterly service and mosquito control
Category
pest control
Laurie M.
4.0
08/24/2017
Great0 sprayed and found some nests- signed up for quarterly treatments
Description of Work
Had tiny ants around perimeter of house. Also in grass, but they wouldn't treat the lawn.
Category
pest control
Veronique K.
1.0
07/13/2017
I really do not know. I have had a pest control for years with this company. The quality has gone down and the price has gone up, drastically. Every time they cone they push for another kind of service (this time, for $600 (!), replacing my sump pump, which is working). Now that they switched to "paperless" you do not get any report, are told to go to their website, where there is no report. Technicians do not show up on time. I will cancel my annual contract and look somewhere else.
Description of Work
annual pest control
Category
pest control
Patricia M.
5.0
02/25/2017
We rarely see bugs in our house--if any silverfish occur between appointments, they come service the area at no cost.
Description of Work
Quarterly service--perimeter spray inside and out. Used them for ten years now. our technician, Pedro, is the best.
Category
pest control
Marie N.
4.0
11/11/2015
The pricing for the inspection isn't the issue but, sometimes they tell me every other little thing I need which I don't think I need. I haven't done any comparison shopping on the price. The quality is good. I have to be home for the termite inspection because they come inside the house. They are punctual. I have an ongoing contract with them.
Description of Work
For pest control, I used Home Paramount Pest Control. They do termite inspection once a year.
Category
pest control
Robert D.
3.0
01/22/2014
They're nice folks, but have never done a particularly thorough job for the money.
Description of Work
.
Category
pest control
Krista N.
3.0
09/18/2013
It took emailing the headquarters to get the service to respond. They left concrete boot prints on my front entry sidewalk after plugging the termite treatment and didn't clean them off so now I have permanent boot prints. I asked multiple times to have them come back out and clean up afterwards..
Description of Work
Terminite and carpenter ant extermination
Category
pest control
Julie E.
1.0
08/06/2013
After seeing live rats on the property during daylight hours (as well as dead rats on the property) I panicked and called the first Yellow Pages listing that included the word "rodents". A technician came out and poked a stick around, found a dead rat and declared the obvious - we had a rat problem. He also said we needed to spray for bugs. I was very uptight and agreed, in order to get the service started and the rats gone. He told me that my next door neighbor had already been using their service which explained the dead rats. They had eaten the poison from their baits and wandered over to my place to die. He said that was how they got more and more business. In order to determine how much to charge me, he called his office to ask how much he had charged my neighbor. Right in front of me! Even said, "I can't charge you any less than I charged them in case you talk." I am normally an intelligent person but apparently my fear of rats far outweighs my intelligence and sanity and I agreed to pay $695 and signed a contract for $100 every 2 months. The bi-monthly payment covers a bi-monthly visit from Lamar (the ONLY good thing about this disreputable company - he is always kind and helpful and on time and has nothing at all to do with the actions of the inspector and moronic managers), who refills the bait boxes and does an exterior spray for bugs. After a few months we realized that the rats were still around and we had to do something on our own. We took down a shed that the inspector said they would be living under (they weren't) and filled in under the front porch with cement (which Lamar helpfully suggested because that is where they were living and breeding). Since then, we have not seen any evidence of rodents. 6 months into our contract, I called to cancel the service. I was thanked and told the service was cancelled and thought that was the end of it until I received a bill for $300 for the remainder of the contract. I understand that I signed a contract but hadn't realized when and assumed that when I cancelled someone would have told me there would be a $300 balance. I obviously didn't want to pay for work that I didn't have done and I found the contract and reread it and it made me really angry and I felt really violated so I called and asked to speak to the manager. That ended up being Art Bernardo. Art Bernardo. I explained to him that in retrospect I felt I had been completely taken advantage of and I wanted him to explain to me what the initial $695 charge was for. He couldn't. He kept repeating the same thing over and over again, saying that I had agreed to the fee at the time and that it covered the work done. I told him that I understood the $100 every other month was for spraying and bait refill but I wanted to know what EXACTLY the $695 was for and how EXACTLY his inspector was able to calculate a cost. I told him I believed there should be some formula that they used to determine how much to charge. I told him the inspector called in front of me and TOLD me he was just going to charge me the same amount that he had charged my neighbor. I told him the initial inspection took no more than10 minutes and the installation of the bait boxes took no more than 15 minutes (my entire property is only 6000 square feet) and $695 was far in excess of what they should have charged. We went back and forth for about a half an hour. I continually told him that I wanted to see IN WRITING how inspectors determine cost. He would not comply. I told him I felt they were an unscrupulous company and I really just didn't want to do business with them any longer. I just wanted to break the contract. I said I would report them to the Better Business Bureau and give them a terrible review on Angie's List and any other review site I could find and he finally said he needed to talk to someone and would call me back. Art Bernardo. He called back on my other line 5 minutes before he was leaving for the day. I didn't hear the message until 10 minutes later and he was gone. It was a Friday. When I called back on Monday, he told me there was nothing he could do. We had the same conversation all over again. We spoke a third time, with him forgetting everything and me having to go through the whole rigamarole again. I finally told him I needed to speak to his boss. His response was that he wasn't available but he would give him the message to call me. I was never called. I continued to get bills saying I'd be sent to collections so I finally reinstated the contract. I don't want my credit score to be affected and I was just becoming so anxious about the interactions that it was just easier. I understand what a contract is and that I signed one. But I felt that I had been in a very vulnerable position and was taken advantage of. There is also the fact that the bait boxes did not stop the rats, our own actions did and I am now paying for a useless service. As well as the fact that the company cannot justify their billing practices. And they are (except for Lamar, the guy actually doing the grunt work) rude and unresponsive. Do Not, under Any circumstances, use this company!!
Description of Work
checked for rats. I have a monthly contract.
Category
pest control
Edwina W.
3.0
07/09/2013
Found the estimate rather high. It was so high that it prompted me to seek 5 other estimates, all of which came 30-60 percent lower. Needless to say, I am going with another termite control vendor.
Description of Work
Only had them come out for an ESTIMATE ONLY.They offered a seemingly great product for termite control but too expensive for our pockets.
Category
pest control
Carol G.
3.0
05/30/2013
They wanted more then two times more then other reputable termite providers. Do not even bother to call lthem.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate.
Category
pest control, insulation
SUSAN M.
1.0
05/06/2013
DO NOT USE THEM !! We had a contract with Home Paramount (originally Paramount Pest Control) since we purchased our house in 1984. Although they did Termite treatment before we moved in, we took only a Carpenter Ant Contract. Every year they would call repeatedly about our "termite contract" and we would remind them that we had only carpenter ant coverage. Once a year we asked them to do a carpenter ant treatment. This year when I called to arrange a treatment they said we had cancelled the contract in Dec which was not true. I had lots of trouble reaching the manager, Mr Bernardo, and when I finally spoke to him he insisted he could not do a treatment because the contract was cancelled. He acknowledged that they received and cashed our check in August, but still insisted we had no contract. He could not accept the fact that it must have been a clerical error or explain why we would pay an annual fee only to cancel the service. He finally agreed to send someone out to do the treatment but expects me to sign a contract that this is a one time treatment and not an annual contract. Although I have never needed more than one treatment per year, I resent the fact that they are changing the contract mid-year. I have put in a call to the corporate offices and will hope to speak to someone about the problem. Their administration has been terrible for years but at least in the past I was able to speak to a manager who promised to fix it in the future. I always believed that they reason there were problems in the past was because our contract was so old and they didn't know how to enter it into their computer system. But I now think that they want to cancel our contract with them and force us to buy a more expensive one. If they want to stop providing services they need to let us know and not cancel our contract after accepting my money. I could not get Mr Bernardo to agree to refund my money so that I could hire another, better pest control company.
Description of Work
Carpenter Ant treatment. Technician is excellent but company terrible. Technician knowledgeable and respectful of property. Although we paid our annual fee in August, they insisted we had cancelled the service. The Falls Church manager, Mr Bernardo was difficult to reach and then kept stating that we cancelled our contract although we had paid our annual fee. Clearly it was a clerical error, but he could not seem to comprehend that. Told him we expected treatment or wanted our money back. Finally agreed to do one treatment if we sign a paper, but not honoring the full year contract. Unprofessional.
Category
pest control
Donald U.
5.0
03/11/2013
They were responive and are coming back today to ensure the ant problem is resolved. Also, they will fix the problmem anytime within 90 days as part of our service.
Description of Work
The service actually was $100 but we had to pay an initial fee that was applicable to a contract, which we wanted anyway.
Category
pest control
Jeffrey B.
5.0
01/08/2013
I called other companies in the area. I ended up talking to a veteran who was really helpful and empathetic as we had recently moved to the area. They were quick with performing initial service, and they were competitive with other providers.
Description of Work
I am very happy with their quarterly pest control. I will continue to use them.
Category
pest control
Geoffrey N.
3.0
01/08/2013
With Home Paramount, it seems to be hit or miss. Chris, who has extensive experience in construction and apparently customer service was very good at explaining the breakdown - why things cost how much they cost, and what their service entailed and guaranteed. Abdul, on the other hand, was defensive and rude when I asked him for the breakdown of costs, and what their estimate included so that I could compare the quote with other vendors. Unfortunately, Abdul was the one assigned to be my point of contact, so I had to go out of my way to get good communications.
Description of Work
We had a raccoon in our attic in 2011, they trapped it and took it away, they also found its entrance point and sealed that up well - we have not had any recurring problem with that. Unfortunately, the raccoon left behind quite a stench, and while I assumed 'sterilization' meant cleaning that up, HP only 'treated' it. After they were done, I insisted that they remove some of the insulation that was urine soaked, as well as all the feces. which they did (only after I asked). They couldn't remove all the insulation though (which is fair)- so for the next year we continued to smell raccoon urine in that section of the house whenever it got humid. We also hired them for general pest control every 2 months. They are poor at scheduling, and for about a year they continued to come during regular working hours - meaning that while we were paying for inside and outdoor treatment, we only received outdoor, because we were never home. When I complained about this, and told them they have to come on FRIDAYS because we were home every Friday, they scheduled it on Fridays for the next 2 treatments, and then reverted to other days. They give you a warning the day they are about to come over, but I don't have cell phone access at work, so I always receive the notice too late to reschedule. Regardless, I would find it too inconvenient to have to call them every time. We got an estimate from them for sucking out and replacing the insulation, but another company inspired more confidence. They were not the cheapest, and apparently do so-so work.
Category
pest control
JUDY M.
5.0
05/14/2012
I think they are great. Once I have a contract, if I need them to come out in between their normal scheduled visits, they will just come out and will not charge me extra for that.
Description of Work
I use Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA, for pest control.
Category
pest control
Shelley I.
5.0
11/02/2011
They have been great. I have had a lot of issues. They have taken care of issues like squirrels, mice, bugs and bees. They have taken care of hornets nests under the siding. Then they have come out in their full bee outfit and take care of it. They come very timely and if there is any emergency and anything that needs immediate attention they come out quickly. In the last hurricane the basement was wet and I had them come out and take care of some beetles. They did not charge anything extra. It was part of the annual contract. Price wise they are not cheap but they are in line with everybody else. As for punctuality they have kept me waiting. I will continue to use them.
Description of Work
I use Home Paramount Termite Control for termite service and their regular pest control. I also have their annual contract. I have been using them for several years. I had them come out last month to take care of some beetles.
Category
pest control
Deborah W.
4.0
08/20/2011
They do good work and I will continue using them in the future.
Description of Work
We used Home Paramount Termite Control for pest control and termite control. We have a contract with them. They were here few months ago.
Category
pest control
SUSAN M.
2.0
07/21/2011
I only have them come out once a year. The worker was excellent. The responsiveness of the staff is terrible. The office staff and the person who actually comes out to do the treatment when you get a result are excellent. I've had him since 1984. Every year I have the same problem. They think I have termite coverage but I have carpentry ant coverage. By the time I reach somebody, they keep calling me and asking me to set up termite coverage. I keep asking them to fix and correct it but they can't seem to do that. It took me six phone calls last time to reach somebody to get them to come out and do the carpentry ant treatment. I would not recommend them and I'm actually looking for somebody else. I think their price is average. I got them out to do the treatment but it took too many phone calls to do it. I think since 1984 they should be able to correct the same mistake.
Description of Work
Home Paramount Pest Control came out about a month ago for carpentry ant treatment.
Category
pest control
Cynthia M.
5.0
05/18/2011
I have been using their services for over 20 years now. I get a bill from them from Maryland and the guy who does the work on my house comes from Virginia. The price depends on what is being done. I pay $82 every quarter for regular pest control treatment and I pay around $125 once a year for termite warranty renewal. The insulation they put in has pest control in it and that?s why I got it through the pest control company. They have a local home grown kind of attitude when it comes to their customer service. They provide really good customer service. You feel like they are a local home grown company which they probably are. They are not a national company. Overall, they have been very helpful and accommodating. They even gave me a 20% discount on the insulation work. There were some problems with the scheduling because it was around Christmas time, but it all got worked out and got finished. Their price is definitely excellent. I would use their services in the future too.
Description of Work
We have a regular contract with Home Paramount Termite Control for pest control. Their last visit to my house was yesterday. They also come out once a year to check for termites. They put insulation in my attic too. They did the flooring and also put in a pull down staircase.
Category
pest control, flooring contractor, insulation
Stuart B.
5.0
05/03/2011
We have an annual contract with them. They are thorough and they come on a regular rotation. They come once a month to see if we need spray or not. They are reliable.
Description of Work
I used the service of Home Paramount Termite Control about six months ago. They do pest extermination. They spray the outside and the inside of the house.
Category
pest control
JERRY L.
3.0
09/30/2010
Fair, based on recent experiences. They were generally prompt with effective treatment of termite problems (which were few) when they occurred. However in the past 4-5 years, they rarely followed up annual payments with arrangements for annual inspection, except when I called in concerned. Also, price given in August 2010 for renewed, long term perimeter barrier treatment for the house was approximately 3 times the amount charged by competitor, plus annual fee increased and was more than competitor. Decided not to continue with them.
Description of Work
Paramount provided annual termite inspections and treatment of termite problems for our house for approximately 20 years, under an annual contract and fee of approx. $100. It provided an initial perimeter barrier which is suppose to be renewed about every 10 years.
Category
pest control
Erin A.
1.0
05/04/2010
We had no problems the first 7-8 years, then the problems started. There were billing glitches, i.e. we didn't get a bill and then would get a past due notice. Our service was discontinued because they couldn't find a current contract there was no notice to us, we only found out when we called them. We had the service reinstated but it was discontinued again for no valid contract. I left 4 messages for the manager over a 1-2 week time period and he never returned my call. I guess he no longer wants our business.
Description of Work
We had a service contract for pest control for over 15 years.
Category
pest control
Glenn S.
5.0
10/19/2009
They put in the center con system around our house for termites. One time we had some mice under our kitchen and they took care of that and made it so that the mice could not enter and they came back and checked there were mice around, but there wasn?t any in the house. They are very good. He is very nice and knows my name, my family and my children.
Description of Work
We used Home Paramount Termite Control for pest control and they have been working for our family for 20 years. They come out on a quarterly basis and service the center con system and check for anything that may be wrong and the last time he was here was 2 weeks ago to double check on the mouse I saw.
Category
pest control
Jack R.
3.0
07/04/2009
The inspector was knowledgeable and very professional until I got the final quote. I asked a few questions about the quote and the inspector answered them well enough, but it seemed like he wanted to carry on a prolonged discussion. I really didn?t like the pressure to sit and discuss the quote when there was nothing more to discuss. Undoubtedly the inspector was hoping to get me to sign a contract right then but I had told him I was getting other quotes and would decide after I reviewed them all. Also, my wife had called me unexpectedly to run a rather urgent errand for her and I had to leave to get her medical records. The inspector was somewhat indignant that he didn?t get to discuss the quote for the remaining 30 minutes I had scheduled for the appointment. I would not have signed a contract with Paramount after that experience if they had given away their service. By the way, I did get another estimate for pest management, it was a lower estimate for the same services and the appointment with this other company inspector was actually pleasant.
Description of Work
I only got an estimate from this company for pest management.
Category
pest control
Lygia B.
5.0
10/06/2008
They are very reliable. They showed up on time. They are very knowledgeable and have done service for us for about 20 years. They are a very established company.
Description of Work
Home Paramount had noticed some termites during a routine pest treatment. They charged me $1920 for a one year coverage to do a termite treatment for me. They came and inserted termite bait cylinders around the perimeter of my home.
Category
pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Green Pest Services

    Pest Control Done the Green Way Green Pest Services is committed to providing effective and environmentally conscious pest control services for our customers in Northern Virginia and the surrounding areas. We are constantly seeking to perfect our service by offering the latest in green pest control technologies and products.  

    Angi Certified

    K&K Hardwood Floor Inc

    We supply and install all major brands of Hardwood, Engineered Hardwood, Unfinished Hardwood from Mirage, Mercier, Lauzon, Wickham, Bruce, Armstrong, Somerset, Chesapeake, Mannington, Mullican, Shaw, Exotics from Indus Parquet, Triangulo, Ribadao, and Water/Pet proofed Luxury Vinyl Planks/Tile from Mannington Adura Max, Shaw Floorte, Coretec, Michael Raskins , Armstrong Pryzm, Elelments, Carpet by Shaw Caress, Mohawk Smartstrands, Silk line, etc. We have our own team of installers with 5 company vans with 10 years of average experience. Sales team is very knowledgeable and courteous who can guide you to the right products at the right price for your needs. Free Estimate exclude *Repair(charge $50 for estimate) Call for details. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Adelphia Exteriors

    We are a family owned business that has over 35 years of experience specializing in roof replacements, windows, siding, EXTERIOR doors, blown-in insulation, and painting - we do not perform repairs. Our experienced technicians will give you expert honest advice on array of our EXTERIOR products. Get a free in-home estimate - (703) 880-8648. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential pest, termite, moisture control & home inspection, wildlife control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA

    How is Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA overall rated?

    Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA open?

    Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA provide

    Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offer free estimates?

    Yes, Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offers free project estimates.

    Does Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA?

    No, Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA does not offer warranties.

    What services does Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offer?

    Home Paramount Pest Control - Falls Church, VA offers the following services: Residential pest, termite, moisture control & home inspection, wildlife control.