Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bonilla Tree Service

Founded 1988 • With Angi since October 2008

Bonilla Tree Service is a company that specializes in all of your tree services needs. Since 1988 we have been serving the community in Virginia, Washington, and Maryland. With the complete equipment and a professional staff, Bonilla Tree Service Inc. offers a number of services including tree trimming/pruning, tree removal, stump grinding. In addition, we can create mulch with the trees we remove or we can just leave it as is, or take it away from your property. We are an insured and licensed company and we are ready to serve you. Tree removal, trimming, crown reduction, shading, deadwood removal, elevating, stump removal, pruning, clean up service.

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(64) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 64 reviews
Dan D.
5.0
08/13/2019
This family run business did a great job! From the very start of obtaining a proposal based on the scope of services, the scheduling, the job performance, clean-up, etc. was above expectations. I would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Significant pruning and trimming of mature trees
Category
tree service
Gerald M.
5.0
01/09/2019
Excellent. The crew of six arrived on time, were professional, knowledgeable, safe and completed the job in approx. 6 hrs. They arrived with 4 trucks and had the latest tools and equipment. To minimize any lawn damage they put down pastic arerated 4x8 mats. Their cleanup was great. This is the 3rd time I've used them and will use them again.
Description of Work
Cut down 5 trees, 2 large branches, and ground down 4 stumps.
Category
tree service
Emily S.
5.0
04/30/2018
The guys did a great job...they really know what they're doing. The foreman Julio was very polite and friendly, and inspired confidence that the job would be done safely. I will definitely hire again. (We had them leave the felled tree in our wooded backyard, to save money.)
Description of Work
Cut Down a Large Dead Tree
Category
tree service
Pamela J.
5.0
08/24/2017
They cleaned up well after they were done and went beyond the service that I requested due to things needing to be done.
Description of Work
They took down a tree for me and removed the stump as well as trimming all of my trees.
Category
tree service
Nancy H.
5.0
11/30/2016
Mr. Bonilla took the time to look around my yard and suggest some other work that needed to be done, like removing dead branches from a large oak. This gave me the benefit of his experience and made me feel he really cared about my trees. His estimate was in line with other estimates I got. The workers arrived promptly and did a thorough, careful job and cleaned up well afterwards. I was particularly happy with how they removed a multitude of suckers (upward growing branches) from a crabapple tree, which now looks much better and is probably healthier, too.
Description of Work
I needed to have a fallen tree removed and some other trees pruned.
Category
tree service
Richard B.
5.0
08/03/2016
The crew spent the entire day completing this work. They arrived right on time and worked steadily all day. They were extremely professional and safety minded. They took down the tree and trimmed the other tree and removed all the wood. They cleaned both work areas and left no debris behind. We were very impressed and will definitely call them again for tree work in the future. We also found their prices to be very reasonable compared to other estimates we received.
Description of Work
We had an extremely and very large oak tree which had died and needed to be taken down. Additionally we asked for a trim on another oak and a cable installation because the trunk had divided into two parts.
Category
tree service
Leonard K.
5.0
05/05/2016
Good job.? Good cleanup.? Too expensive.
Description of Work
Removed a large locust tree.
Category
tree service
Leonard K.
5.0
05/05/2016
Good job. Good cleanup. Too expensive.
Description of Work
Removed a large locust tree.
Category
tree service
Malisa G.
5.0
03/17/2016
Terrific! The owner responded immediately to my request for a proposal - even e-mailed me on a Sunday. Provided a prompt and thorough price. Pricing was very competitive and they did a better job than expected. These days, rarely does a contractor do more than just barely meet your expectations. Bonilla Tree exceeded our expectations - the clean up of debris was excellent, they cut all wood to fireplace length and left it stacked at the site of the work, they were very fast and efficient.
Description of Work
Strategic pruning, taking down dead tree, lowering dead tree
Category
tree service
Rosa T.
5.0
11/01/2015
The Bonilla crew arrived promptly (30 minutes before the scheduled start time). The supervisor greeted me and went over the work that was scheduled with me. In a few hours they had completed the job. They cleaned up the leaves and debris off the deck and yard. My yard looks gorgeous. I had received 4 other estimates and all were in the 2,000-2,500 range. i will be sure to use them again.
Description of Work
They cut down dead trees and trimmed back branches of trees and cleared debris.
Category
tree service
C B.
5.0
08/20/2015
We've used Bonilla Tree Service several times before and although they are not inexpensive, they are really good at their job. They are punctual and they always go above and beyond cleaning up the area once the job is completed. I would certainly recommend Bonilla Tree Service.
Description of Work
We had a large double trunk oak tree taken down.
Category
tree service
Bradley G.
5.0
08/15/2015
It went fantastic! Efrain Bonilla is very good about managing expectations. He told me precisely when he would do the work, and was good to his promise. His crew (all of whom are his family) were professional and courteous and hard-working. And the best yet, when they finished, they completely picked up after themselves, leaving the yard looking better than when they came. (I noticed this once before, when I hired them to remove a dead oak tree. The lawn looked as though it had been vacuumed when they finished!) I cannot recommend this tree service enough. (Note, as well, it earns top marks from Washington Consumer Checkbook.)
Description of Work
The provider removed dead limbs from inside several trees, including two very tall tulip poplars and one very large old oak tree. This is the third time I've contracted with Bonilla to do this.
Category
tree service
Albert T.
5.0
08/07/2014
From initial contact through tree cutting Efrain was very professional and gave advice along the way. His team left my yard spotless. His costs was discounted due to my Angie's List membership.
Description of Work
He topped a "non-responsive" neighbors very damaged tree to leave some bottom life in it for a few years, but now not high enough to damage my house.
Category
tree service
Helen K.
5.0
07/23/2014
Fine job, beyond expectations. There was about a 10 days' wait from the initial visit to when the work could be scheduled, but this job wasn't urgent. After we had accepted the proposal from Efrain Bonilla but before his team came to do the work, a strong storm felled one of the three main limbs of the biggest maple on our electrical wires, and broke two large branches in the other maple. A Dominion Electric contractor came to cut up the limb that had fallen on the wires, and also cut down another limb of the maple that was close to the street wires. Since Dominion had done part of the work that Bonilla Tree Services was to do, I asked if a discount was possible. Efrain offered 10% off, a reduction from $1800 to $1620. I chose to pay $1700 as the repair on the second maple wasn't in the original bid. The crews came on time, worked efficiently and neatly, and cleaned up behind themselves. The $1,800 price that Efrain offered was about 60% of another credible bid we received.
Description of Work
Removed a big decaying maple tree and ground the stump out, repaired storm damage to another maple, and removed a dying sassafras tree from our yard.
Category
tree service
Bill J.
5.0
07/21/2014
The tree crew of five (5) did OUTSTANDING WORK concerning it was a very hot and humid day. And EXCELLENT SERVICE as they were well organized and efficient and most of all CLEANED UP after themselves! They even agreed (for a small additional cost) to do additional work that was outside of the original contract!! They will be called and used again!!!
Description of Work
Bonilla Tree Service was contracted to take down three (3) oak trees, do a major pruning of an over grown holly tree and a few other minor tasks.
Category
tree service
FRANK H.
5.0
01/15/2014
Bonilla's service was terrific! They were very careful in removing trees which had grown over the roof. The were prompt, professional, and courteous. They cleaned up the sawdust remains very nicely. I highly recommend them!
Description of Work
Bonilla Tree service removed 8 trees (some were very large), removed 3 stumps, and trimmed 1 tree.
Category
tree service
Karen M.
5.0
10/27/2013
The estimate was provided the day I called - he came out immediately. The crew was professional, careful, and did everything we asked. The very large, overhanging branches, dead wood, and broken limbs for two big trees close to the house were competently removed and shredded to a large mulch pile in the location we requested. The stump of a 50+ year old maple tree downed in a storm has disappeared - ground to bits. Very highly recommend for your needs.
Description of Work
The service provided - elevation of two large trees and removal of a large stump.
Category
tree service
Ann Marie H.
5.0
09/23/2013
They were on time, did the job, cleaned up the area. All very professional.
Description of Work
trim a tree in yard
Category
tree service
roy P.
5.0
07/30/2013
You do not improve on perfect...this is a very professional outfit...
Description of Work
Cut overhanging branches off many trees - some up high - cut down large bush - cut down 12" dia.tree and took all pieces away - and excellent clean up of area.
Category
tree service
Michelle B.
5.0
06/16/2013
Called them around 10am and one of the Bonilla brothers was out by noon to perform an estimate. He came in $300 less than other crews and was able to bring guys over in 30 minutes after we agreed on a price and scope of work. Very professional, courteous and insured crew. Everything was removed and cleaned up by 4pm the same day. Could not have asked for more from these guys, will definitely call them again for any tree challenges in the future!
Description of Work
Removed two trees, one was struck by lightning and half of the 30-40 ft tree was still standing the other was a 20 ft tree that was still standing but already dead
Category
tree service
Constance S.
5.0
04/20/2013
I found Bonilla Tree Service from Angies List. I contacted the company to inquire about service; he was able to come out that same week to give me an estimate. The company did an outstanding job. The trees were taken down, stumps cleared and a tree trimmed. There was no debris left from the service and you would never know there had been any work done. I will definitely recommend and use Bonilla Tree Service again in the future.
Description of Work
I found Bonilla Tree Service from Angies List. I contacted the company to inquire about service; he was able to come out that same week to give me an estimate. The company did an outstanding job. The trees were taken down, stumps cleared and a tree trimmed. There was no debris left from the service and you would never know there had been any work done. I will definitely recommend and use Bonilla Tree Service again in the future.
Category
tree service
Natalie F.
5.0
03/30/2013
While having a landscape consultation with another company, I was told that I should think about getting my trees trimmed, and they recommended Efrain Bonilla. I contacted him to inquire about service; he was able to come out that same week to give me an estimate. While I was happy to hear that he would do the job for under $1,000, I was concerned about the quality (tree trimming isn't cheap!)...but this ended up being irrelevant because he did a great job. Within one calendar week of my initial call, my trees were trimmed to my satisfaction, and there was no debris left waiting for me when I got home from work.
Description of Work
large maple tree trimmed in front yard; small tree trimmed in back yard
Category
tree service
NIALL D.
5.0
03/11/2013
They were very professional. They cleaned up from one day to the next. We have used other tree services before and I have to say that they have been by far the cleanest and most efficient.
Description of Work
They took down a bunch of very large trees.
Category
tree service
Shruti A.
5.0
01/31/2013
It was very good experience and I would recommend their services.
Description of Work
After sandy, we had couple of tree branches were leanings on our deck. We reached out to Bonilla and they were able to perform the work right next day. They cut the branches and they cleaned all branches and leaves after the work is done. They are professional and work was done professionaly.
Category
tree service
Shari B.
5.0
01/28/2013
A home improvement or repair job that seems simple on the surface often becomes more complex when the actual anticipated job takes place. We had 3 trees removed with the stumps grinded. After the job was done, my husband gave the company a partial payment the company and I came home to find one of our doors had a cracked window. I asked another company who was across the street to look at it and he said when they were grinding the stump, a stone from the soil must have hit and he said when the glass is hot it is easy to break. When I called Bonilla they initially denied responsibility for it. Then they came out and the owner took responsibility for it. He said to get it repaired and to take it out of what we still owed them. I got the glass repaired for $250.00 and took it out of what we owed them and everything seemed fine. After the last storm, the relative who came out with owner to look at the broken glass and who was in charge most of the time for our 3 tree job, came to our home on a Sunday to remove tree limbs that had fallen on our property and on our cars. We cut and removed them from our cars and Bonilla took them away for $700.00. So you see we have spent quite a bit of money with this company. I went with them over a much cheaper quote of $3000.00 because I was scared of the cheaper company. And I had much more expensive quote of $10,000.00 that seemed absurd. The did not have a crane, they did everything with tree climbing. I still have 3 piles of wood chips on my front lawn and one of the trees left an elevated large hump on my property due to the roots bulging up, so I am far from done. This was not the responsibility of Bonilla Tree Service. Overall I think the owner is fabulous. He really tries hard to make the customer happy. I felt like I was taken advantage of after the storm. For the time they spent removing the debris and cutting a few pieces on the back tree, it seemed expensive....I think $500 would have been fine but then again they may have come far from Virginia (I am not sure) and it was on a Sunday. So we were not far apart. Would I recommend them? Yes, but I would say that a customer needs to be aware that there is no perfect solution to a job for a house and in light of this fact of life, I think Bonilla is a very good company.
Description of Work
Cut down 3 very tall large old trees on front lawn.
Category
tree service

Phone

Address

2905 Summerfield Rd

Falls Church, VA 22042

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Tree removal, trimming, crown reduction, shading, deadwood removal, elevating, stump removal, pruning, clean up service.

FAQ

Bonilla Tree Service is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

No, Bonilla Tree Service does not offer free project estimates.

No, Bonilla Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bonilla Tree Service does not offer warranties.

Bonilla Tree Service offers the following services: Tree removal, trimming, crown reduction, shading, deadwood removal, elevating, stump removal, pruning, clean up service.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Green Vista Tree Care

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Green Vista Tree Care

Green Vista Tree Care is Northern Virginia's premier tree service, specializing in technical tree removal and professional tree pruning. Green Vista's insured professional crews use modern pruning techniques to ensure safety and promote optimum health for your trees. Our highly trained crews are equipped to manage dangerous tree removal projects with ease, using state of the art industry techniques and top of the line updated equipment. Our mission is to care for your trees as if they were our own and exceed customer service expectations. Experience the difference of an industry leading professional tree care firm. Free estimates, quick response. Contact Green Vista Tree Care today. An award winning company!  

Ross Tree Service Ltd

Angi Certified

Ross Tree Service Ltd

We have been serving all of Northern Virginia since 1982. We service both commercial and residential clients. Our office is open Monday - Friday 8AM -4PM and we are on call for for storm emergencies 24/7 by calling (703) 583-8733. Ross Tree Service takes care of all of your tree care needs.  

AAA Tree Service

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

AAA Tree Service

Family owned & operated. Cost is determined by the job. Free estimates. No travel charges. May contact through e-mail. Ask about our military discount! If sending a message through the message center, please attach a phone number that you can be contacted at as well. Thank you, and we look forward to servicing you needs!