Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Looney & Sons

Founded 1966 • With Angi since March 2010

4.7

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2839 Dorr Ave

Fairfax, VA 22031

Description

Looney & Sons is a family owned and operated upholstery business serving Virginia, Maryland and D.C. since 1966. We serve all your furniture needs including reupholstery, repair, custom new furniture, window treatments, bedding, fabric and more.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Elizabeth D.
5.0
09/13/2017
Meticulous job on centering the pattern. High quality work.
Description of Work
I had 10 chair seats reupholstered
Category
upholstery
Ellen S.
5.0
08/30/2017
This service was performed several years ago. We thought they did an excellent job.
Description of Work
Dining chairs regaled and reupholstered
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Dave J.
5.0
07/21/2017
.
Description of Work
.
Category
window treatments
Kay D.
5.0
04/01/2017
I highly recommend them. They picked up, repaired and delivered the chair all as promised. It even appeared that they cleaned the upholstery. There was a pick-up/delivery fee of $75. The charge for the repair was $150. This was far less expensive than purchasing a replacement.
Description of Work
Repair frame of a recliner
Category
furniture repair
Lena T.
5.0
09/14/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
upholstery cleaning
Rebecca H.
5.0
12/23/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Great, professional job. I have referred them to others and they were also very pleased.
Category
upholstery
Kathy J.
5.0
07/20/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Re-upholstered a lady's club chair. The price includes $500+ worth of fabric.
Category
upholstery
Edward U.
5.0
05/27/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
upholstery
P S.
5.0
04/23/2015
unknown
Description of Work
A very good firm to work with. We are currently using them again to rehab two chairs.
Category
upholstery
Katherine W.
2.0
11/21/2014
I had a terrible experience and I wasted three months trying to get my chair upholstered. I dropped two chairs. My office chair was completed. But the other chair (which was for a client) was a complete disaster. I am so disappointed with the service and the responsiveness and I can't recommend this company. I dropped off both chairs and picked up books to take to my client so that she could choose her fabric. I got next to no help from the staff when I was there picking fabric - and asked them to help me find fabric that closely matched the fabric already on my client's chair. I found books myself and consulted with them to see if they thought the fabric would be appropriate for the chair (which is an antique). I took the books to the client - we went over the choices - and she picked out her fabric. She had her heart set on a pattern which ended up being different from the original fabric. I called the company and told them her choice - which they said was back-ordered and would be in stock in about a month. We agreed and didn't mind that her chair would take longer because she really wanted the fabric. My chair was supposed to be done in a few weeks sometime in October. I was told I'd hear from them - and after hearing nothing - I checked in in the beginning of October. I was told that everything was on track and that my chair would be done the following week and hers would be done the end of November. I never heard anything more and finally called on 11/20/2014 to find out the status. They said they had a wrong number for me because the number I gave them was a law firm. Well the chair is for our law firm office - and there's only 3 attorneys - So I couldn't understand how they figured it was a wrong number. If they asked for me or mentioned my client's name - everyone in the office is aware of the upholstery project. The conversation was basically that you didn't get back to us and never made the fabric order. It's just impossible. I called in the fabric order and had a conversation with someone about the back-order and estimated date for completion. I also spoke with them several times to check the status in the past three months and consulted with them about raising the seat cushion height for my client (who is elderly). I mailed them the samples and confirmed that they received them. Ryan (the guy on the phone in the last call) took the position that it was my fault - that I didn't have a good recollection of the facts - and denied that anyone took my fabric order. He couldn't explain how we had four conversations about cushion size and the status for delivery - if indeed no fabric was ever ordered. I asked if there was a solution and he said that I had to pick up the chair and take it elsewhere. They did not even try to work out the problem and refused to deliver the chair back to me - even though this entire mistake was their fault. Finally they grudgingly agreed to deliver the chairs back to me - but the whole conversation was unkind and rude. It's really a terrible experience and I have already paid for the other chair. I now have to start from scratch to get my client's chair done - and it takes such a long time to pick out fabric etc all over agin. My client is elderly and lives in an assisted living facility. She only has one chair in her room - and now she will have to wait again for months. I blame Looney and Sons for not being in touch with me and not being organized. If there was a problem someone should have notified me long before now.
Description of Work
I dropped off two chairs for upholstering
Category
upholstery
Heather C.
5.0
10/20/2014
I wanted to get an old chair of my grandmother's reupholstered. While the chair frame was in good condition, the fabric was in terrible shape. It had a lot of stains and a musty smell from being in a basement for several years. I also had a 20 year old ottoman that was in relatively good shape but definitely needed new fabric. I had already chosen fabric I wanted, obtained through a manufacturer that L and S doesn't carry. I called Looney and Son's to ask them how much fabric I should order based on the dimensions of the chair and ottoman, and the repeat of the fabric. Their estimate turned out to be right on. (7- 8 yards; I ordered 8 because I wanted to be safe and have a little extra for pillows, and I ended up with 1.5 yards. Just what I wanted.) They gave me a quote over the phone based on the furniture dimensions. While I did not call around to other shops, I felt the quote of $225 for the chair and $200 for the ottoman seemed very fair for labor on these two pieces. I had also heard from several people that their work was good, so I wasn't too concerned. They warned me that they had a long lead time (approx 2 months, which was also posted on their website) but that once I was called and brought in my furniture and fabric the work would take about 2 weeks to complete. (It actually took closer to 3 weeks, but there was a holiday during that period.) The work was excellent. The one concern I had was that the arms on the chair had a small cardboard piece on the underside. It was not visible at all but if someone put their hands in a certain way they could feel it. They said they finished the arms in their standard manner but for no charge allowed me to bring the chair back the next day for them to put fabric over the cardboard. They also have a large selection of home decor fabric and trim books that was very helpful for finding pillow and window treatment material. They were happy to help with price quotes and fabric swatches. I am very satisfied. This is a long time local family business. The shop is in no way fancy (it's a workshop) but they seem to have a good grasp on what they are doing. There were several long time customers in the shop on my visits who spoke of years of good experiences.
Description of Work
Reupholstered a large antique arm chair and a small ottoman.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery, window treatments
Stephen S.
5.0
08/25/2014
The most difficult part of this reupholstry project was choosing the fabric - Looney has a quality system down - they communicate clearly and frequently, you always know what the steps are and they know what they are doing. Five stars from me - and I'd use them again and recommend them without reservation.
Description of Work
Reupholstered two living room chairs. I chose them based on their Angie's List ratings and was very pleased with the entire process from start to finish. First visited their showroom to select fabrics - a huge selection in a somewhat chaotic state but found the perfect fabric. Using cell phone pictures of the chairs, Looney estimated amount of fabric needed (be sure to measure your items before you go) I paid for and they ordered the fabric. A couple of weeks later they called to say fabric was in the store, and we arranged for them to pick up the chairs. Two weeks later, they called to arrange for return of chairs to my house. The smoothness of the logistics was a real plus in this whole process; and the quality of their work was outstanding.
Category
upholstery
GUILLERMO S.
5.0
08/13/2014
Looney and sons took two chrome and vinyl modern chairs that were found in my alley. They were really beat up and torn apart. They took the vinyl off, added more padding, and then used burgundy leather I provided to upholster them. They came out much better than I could imagine. They are comfortable and a showstopper. They also redid another found chair, this one a slipper chair that had been beat up beyond recognition and torn apart. They did a herculean job of putting the guts of the chair back in and added padding while keeping the original horse hair and vintage padding. The end result is a beauty of a chair. Again, I provided my own fabric (men's suit fabric) and I will use them again. If you provide your own fabric, please be aware that you will need extra to make sure they can do the job right. They also have a huge selection of fabric to choose from.
Description of Work
Three chairs were reupholstered. One was a wooden framed slipper chair that was completely falling apart. The other two were a pair of chrome framed with torn up green vinyl.
Category
upholstery
Barry N.
5.0
06/10/2014
Looney's is very responsive. They did excellent quality work, and were quite punctual. They are not the least expensive, but we decided the quality was worth it.
Description of Work
totally reupholster a large couch
Category
upholstery
Florence E.
5.0
01/23/2014
Re-upholstered two old family chairs: both were faded and worn with open areas with stuffing coming out! They were very helpful in showing me their large selection of fabrics. The chairs were finished when promised and I love my "new" chairs: good workmanship.
Description of Work
.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Carol W.
5.0
01/01/2014
Looney and Sons provided excellent service. They were very prompt in responding to my request for information, they were also very flexible on scheduling a work date. The work done looks amazing! I recommend them highly. Thanks for a great job!
Description of Work
Repaired the grout in one of my bathrooms.
Category
upholstery
Nancy S.
2.0
12/14/2013
When I dropped off my chairs, I waited a while to be helped. The shop is old, dirty and unorganized. Throughout the process, the owner didn't give me the impression he cared about my business. I was told they'd be ready in two weeks (it probably took two hours to complete). I called after two weeks, and they were not ready. Was told they'd be ready the next day, but again they were not. The following day I picked them up. Ryan, the guy who did the work, was pleasant. This shop not offer a discount for Angie's customers.
Description of Work
Glued and sanded two child rocking chairs (prep for my painting)
Category
furniture repair

Service Provider Response

Ryan, the "pleasant one", is one of the owners. The man up front, the uninterested one, no longer works for our company. Our apologies for having to deal with him, and thus having a bad experience with our company.
Lucy Ann B.
5.0
05/30/2013
The price included the pickup and delivery and I was very pleased. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
They refinished a tabletop.
Category
furniture repair
William S.
5.0
05/15/2013
Excellent! Work was of high quality, materials were first rate, and staff were knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting options.
Description of Work
Repair antique chair with a broken leg. Also used them previously to re-cane two antique chairs and to re-upholster a large L-shaped sectional sofa.
Category
upholstery
Russel & vivian M.
5.0
03/11/2013
They have done good work. My only complaint is that they could return more fabric than they have in the past. If something wasn't done right, they would fix it. They are not low end and they don't give designers a break.
Description of Work
Looney & Sons upholstered some curtains for me.
Category
upholstery
Leslie B.
5.0
06/21/2012
The frame had a lifetime guarantee. I talked with the La-z-Boy people and they explained that because it was more than 3 years old, labor would not be covered. Also, they would send out an inspector first and then a technician to do the work, and we would pay for both. The minimum estimate was more than what Looney and Sons charged me including delivery. I was so happy with the reupholstering Looney and Sons did on my sectional piece, that I talked with Ryan in the office when I picked it up and requested this repair. The recliner was too heavy and awkward for me to transport, so I had them pick it up and deliver it back. The work was done as scheduled, the pickup and delivery was smooth, and the recliner works great.
Description of Work
The wooden frame of a "Big Man" La-z-Boy recliner was broken at the bottom of one arm. Looney & Sons picked it up, fixed it good as new and returned it to our second floor living room. We live in Bethesda, and there was an additional $75 charge for the pickup and delivery.
Category
furniture repair
Leslie B.
5.0
06/21/2012
The designer lady said they could use my back panel fabric if I didn't mind that the part overlapped by the soft cushion of the seat back would have a seam. With her advice I chose a fabric to replace the hidden panel from a remnant they had. The job was finished within the time given and when I picked it up, I was delighted to see that they had gone to the extra trouble of piecing part past the seam from the original fabric. Everyone I met was kind and professional. They didn't charge for the remnant fabric, and the piece looks perfect.
Description of Work
One seat of an 8 piece sectional had worn through in the seat while the rest was in good condition. I knew the large scale fern pattern could not be matched, but I chose Looney & Sons because their large selection of fabric would let me get as close as possible. I couldn't use fabric from the part that goes against a wall, because the seat measures 29 inches deep by 29 wide, and the hidden back fabric panel is only 23 inches high though it is 37 inches across. Ryan Beauchamp gave me the estimate, and I took the piece there in my van.
Category
upholstery
Susan H.
5.0
01/08/2012
I am extremely pleased with the service and work done by Looney and Sons. Jan was very helpful (and patient) with helping me to pick out fabrics for the furniture and drapes. She has a great sense of color. The workmanship on the furniture and drapes is excellent. The pattern of the fabric on the sofa is perfectly matched. The legs were badly scarred. They refinished them and they look like new. The dining room chairs had some minor nicks which they touched up. I cannot tell where the nicks were at all. The fabric for the dining room chairs has a paisley pattern. The placement of the pattern is exactly the same on each chair. The drapes are beautiful and were expertly installed. All of the work was performed timely even though I that they are very busy. I felt that the prices were very fair.
Description of Work
Looney and sons recovered my Queen Anne sofa and refinished the legs which were badly scarred. A wing chair that had the springs falling out of it was recovered and the legs were also refinished. Six dining room chairs with exposed wood were recovered and they touched up the wood where it was needed. They also made drapes and cornices for my dining room and living room.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery, window treatments
Greg P.
4.0
10/18/2011
We've used Looney's several times before because they are REALLY good at what they do. The picked up in early August and indicated that they would have about a 4-5 week turnaround because they were not that busy. It ended up taking 7 weeks, which we would have expected if we had not been told 4-5. I called several times from 3.5 to 7 weeks to follow up and only once during that time got a call directly from them to notify me of the status. We'll use them again because of their quality but our expectations for turnaround will be 6-8 weeks.
Description of Work
Pick up, reupholster, and delivery one large couch, 2 club chairs and an ottoman.
Category
upholstery
Johanna N.
4.0
03/24/2010
The work was done promptly and neatly. We're happy with the results and glad we can get 20 more years of use out of the chairs.
Description of Work
They removed the old fabric on five 20 year old danish dining room chairs and upholstered them with a new fabric I picked out at their store. New foam cushioning was added as needed. There were several samples of fabrics to choose from at the store.
Category
upholstery

    Other local Pros in your area

    PROFESSIONAL CARPET CLEANING PLUS

    PROFESSIONAL CARPET CLEANING PLUS is the only company that you can call today and have your carpets cleaned the same day. With over 17 years of service in the DC area, we're one the best carpet and upholstery cleaning company in the market. We're use hot water extraction cleaning. 6 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR CARPET INSTALLATION. COST DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Grime Away

    Grime Away cleaning service in is your trusted source for all your cleaning needs!We will do your cleaning without cleaning out your wallet! Truck mounted cleaning services!! Check out our website at www.grimeawaycu.com  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    200 Degrees Hot Steam Cleaning

    We have 4 technicians who have passed a background check. We are IICRC certified in carpet cleaning, upholstery and water damage. We accept credit card, checks and cash whichever is convenient for you. We give 10% off to new customers and seniors. We are happy to Let you know 200 degrees is now offering services in Kenya,Nairobi. 2 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. Extra charge for after hours flood damage service. IICRC certified.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Reupholstery, Banquette seating, Boat Seating, Cane/Rush seating, Cornice boards, Cushion services, Draperies, Headboards, Pillows/Shams, Restaurant seating, Table skirts, Valances, Window seat cushions and more.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Looney & Sons

    How is Looney & Sons overall rated?

    Looney & Sons is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Looney & Sons open?

    Looney & Sons is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Looney & Sons provide

    Looney & Sons accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Looney & Sons offer free estimates?

    Yes, Looney & Sons offers free project estimates.

    Does Looney & Sons offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Looney & Sons does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Looney & Sons?

    No, Looney & Sons does not offer warranties.

    What services does Looney & Sons offer?

    Looney & Sons offers the following services: Reupholstery, Banquette seating, Boat Seating, Cane/Rush seating, Cornice boards, Cushion services, Draperies, Headboards, Pillows/Shams, Restaurant seating, Table skirts, Valances, Window seat cushions and more.