JL Tree Service Inc

About

Founded 1975 • With Angi since April 2005

JL Tree Service Inc has been in business since 1975 and has over 70 employees. We are Fully Insured and licensed. We offer free estimates for all tree services including tree & stump removal, tree care & pruning, tree fertilizing & planting, cabling and preservation. Many of our employees have been

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(232) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

190

4

15

3

6

2

8

1

13

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

tree service (231)hauling (12)lawn & landscaping (2)
Showing 1-25 of 232 reviews
5.0

09/15/2022


Robert R.

We reach out to JL Tree Service every few years to assess our trees and prune as needed. During our last service in July, they removed a dead tree and pruned multiple others. They provided us a quote and stayed true to that quote. Their team was professional and left our yard in pristine shape. I'm not typically one for reviews, but after seeing the results of neighbors who hired another company for their tree service, I came to truly appreciate what JL has done for us.

Description of Work
Tree removal and pruning.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2022

5.0

06/28/2022


ILA G.

The tree was massive and its removal necessitated use of a crane situated in a neighbor's driveway and a team of 4-5 men working all day. Their work was efficient, professional and completely satisfactory. The large branches were lowered by crane, and ground up and the extremely large logs/stump were hauled away on a truck. I must commend as well Bill, their supervisor, who was in regular communication with me over the entire two week period of contracting and preparation, including personally meeting with my skeptical neighbors to explain the necessity of using their property and reassuring them that extra care would be taken to avoid damage. I've used JL Tree in the past and they fully lived up to my expectations. I confidently recommend them to anyone needing tree removal services.

Description of Work
Complete removal of a very large diseased Red Oak

Category tree service

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2022

Images

Review for JL Tree Service Inc - 10395 Democracy Ln, Fairfax, VA - 39781132
5.0

06/10/2022


Janet W.

Job was done perfectly, workers were very careful to avoid damaging anything, and the yard was left perfectly clean. Everyone was very nice. This is ALWAYS the situation when JL Tree Service has done work for me. I recommend this company with no hesitation/qualification whatsoever, it is the one to use!

Description of Work
Broken/split limbs (storm damage) were removed.

Category hauling services, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2022

5.0

05/31/2022


Jeffrey S.

I am not one to throw around 5 star reviews, but JL Tree Service answered the bell on all accounts. I submitted my request for an estimate via their website, and the estimate was delivered to my inbox the very next day. After having received a higher estimate from a competitor a couple days later, I electronically signed and returned the estimate for JL to proceed with the work. THE VERY SAME DAY Janna replied letting me know that a crew was available the next day to perform the work. I had some concerns about my lawn being damaged with machinery because the trees were in my backyard and difficult to access. The crew did a masterful job of climbing both trees and lowering the limbs so that nothing was disturbed. Once finished, they did a fantastic job of cleaning up after themselves, you couldn't even tell they had been there. The stump grinder came today, and again, very thoroughly cleaned up afterwards. Janna was fantastic and a pro through the whole process. Whenever I sent her an email with a question, her response was unbelievably fast. I will 100% use JL Tree Service again and will be recommending them to my friends and neighbors!

Description of Work
Pine tree removal and stump grinding

Category hauling services, tree service

Cost $3,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2022

5.0

04/28/2022


Marta V.

We have used JL Tree Service twice to help us remove two large Bradford pears, one dying oak tree and do health pruning on our other trees that we want to keep in the yard and make sure they stay healthy. We requested a certified arborist and had a great experience with William. We left oak tree snug as a wildlife habitat and now we can watch all the woodpeckers going up and down the snug. They were very professional and efficient (we had 2 different teams) and our trees look so much better as a result and we are not worried during every storm anymore. We did all our work in February. They offer winter discount. I would highly recommend this company. We are planning to use them again.

Description of Work
Tree pruning and tree removal

Category hauling services, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2022

5.0

03/24/2022


Stephanie T.

We had an 80-foot tall oak tree in our backyard in Arlington, VA that was dead and had to be cut down. Because of the tight space around our tree and the fact that the tree's branches hung over our house most tree companies preferred to use a crane, which could damage our stone driveway. JL was one of the few companies that offered a quote with and without a crane. We hired them to cut the tree without a crane. They were professional, provided a copy of their insurance, and answered questions promptly. Their crew, led by Hector Alvarado, was on time and cut the tree down in 2.5 days even while just using rope. Plus, they did not damage our house or our deck. Plus, the crew cleaned up all the wood trimmings. Very professional and skilled crew. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Tree cutting

Category hauling services, tree service

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2022

5.0

08/06/2021


Lindsay D.

JL was actually recommended to us by another tree removal company, and we are very happy we went with them. The estimate guy came out quickly, the scheduling team was very responsive, and the team was professional and removed our 110ft+ tree on schedule. (They also had let us know we could get a discount if we waited til December, but we were very eager to have it removed before the next thunderstorm-tornado pairing rolls through.)

Description of Work
Tree removal

Category tree service

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

5.0

03/31/2021


Denise T.

It was great! They arrived on time and performed the services on time. They had to cable the V shaped tree that was on the property line and were given permission to use the neighbor's driveway, which sped up the process. The men were polite and efficientand they did a great job cleaning up. Kept me informed about what was going on and the price was far below earlier estimates. Great company.

Description of Work
I had JL Tree Service remove one dieing tree, trim multiple other trees.and cable one V shaped tree.

Category hauling services, tree service

Cost $4,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2021

5.0

02/09/2021


Kathleen T.

Extremely happy and impressed with this company. Very reasonable price and top-notch professionals every step of the way. From customer service reps to all crews involved in the multi-stage process. I experienced high quality (and friendly) work with high quality equipment too.

Description of Work
Had two large trees cut down and hauled away. Stump ground on one.

Category hauling services, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2021

5.0

11/09/2020


Michele S.

It was difficult to ***** at this time, and should call back in the spring.

Description of Work
Assess health of a linden tree in our yard

Category tree service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2020

2.0

10/13/2020


Ayme Z.

Sent photos as requested and never heard back. We hired someone else.

Description of Work
a bush stump removed

Category tree service

Work Completed On 08/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], my sincere apology for not providing an estimate. I see that the request was put in back in July. The office prints the estimate requests daily for our field arborists, so the message must have been lost. Once again, sorry for not providing an estimate. Thanks, [Member Name Removed] Lewett
5.0

08/24/2020


Juana T.

It went well. After cutting the tree down, they came back to check underground wires so that they remove the stump and they cleaned up everything.

Description of Work
They removed the tree and the stumps.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

4.0

08/05/2020


John O.

J&L did not perform the work. Lopez Tree Service came over right away. The job is done except the stump grinding because the ground was too wet. The crew were very professional, safe, dedicated, and industrious. Communication was excellent. Albaro showed me certification and insurance up front before we talked about price. He'd had a long list of references, including my neighbor across the street a year ago. By chance I met him that day. I had a large branch that had fallen and offered to dispose of it. I dragged it over and he did it for free. The price Albaro gave me was $1000 better than the next estimate, and I didn't have to haggle. Lopez did such a great job that my neighbor next door hired them right away. The're the only tree service i'll ever call.

Description of Work
Tree removal, trimming

Category tree service

Cost $2,000

Work Completed On 08/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Lopez Tree Service subcontracts for us when we are very busy . Thank you.
5.0

08/03/2020


Joan H.

Very good job. Always very well done.

Description of Work
Tulip topper

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2019

5.0

07/31/2020


Abe B.

excellent!! Would recommend JL to clients,family and friends!!

Description of Work
4 large twin trees cut down in precision directional cutting in rear yard

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2020

5.0

06/24/2020


Gwendolyn D.

They were very good, very responsive, and gave a senior citizen discount.

Description of Work
They took down some trees.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2019

5.0

06/15/2020


Cecilia H.

The team arrived on time and began setting up promptly. The team works very well together, which made it possible for the work to be done quickly and efficiently. Questions were addressed. They went above and beyond to keep customer happy. All this for a fair price. I can highly recommend them. They do excellent work.

Description of Work
Pine tree needed to be cut down and removed.

Category hauling services, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2020

5.0

05/25/2020


ko A.

Work was excellent and clean up was perfect. Communication was ok

Description of Work
Cut down a dead tree

Category tree service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2020

Images

Review for JL Tree Service Inc - 10395 Democracy Ln, Fairfax, VA - 38593232
5.0

05/13/2020


William & Leslie R.

Excellent work, very professional, and reasonable prices.

Description of Work
Removal of trees and dead limbs.

Category hauling services, tree service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

4.0

05/02/2020


Curtis H.

This business was nice on the phone and responded quickly. the workers were professional and did a great job.

Description of Work
tree removal and tree trimming services

Category hauling services, tree service

Cost $2,799

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2020

3.0

04/19/2020


Michele K.

We got two completely different opinions about what should be done (prune or take down) from two of their experts. The crew showed up on time and were efficient and professional. But once the tree was down, it took repeated emails and two weeks to get the debris hauled away. As I write this, I have received yet another bill, but there's still a huge pile of mulch in my backyard. (tree came down three weeks ago). Won't be paying that bill until it's gone.

Description of Work
Cutting down, grinding and hauling tree remains

Category tree service

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2020

5.0

04/01/2020


Robert G.

We're excavating part of our front yard to install a rain garden to help with runoff and other problems we've had for years. When we started excavating, we encountered a number of small roots, which we first thought were leftover from some old shrubs we'd removed. As we kept going, we realized we were cutting out roots for a 25-year-old tulip magnolia that we love. With about half of the excavation done, we asked JL to give us an expert opinion on how much damage we'd done, if the tree will recover, and if we can finish the excavation. JL was prompt and responsive - they called us back soon after we sent an Angie's List message, and their guy showed up the next morning. He was thorough and courteous and gave us some other recommendations to help the magnolia in general (it's got a number of trunks and has never been trimmed/maintained). We'll definitely be calling them back for our future tree-care needs.

Description of Work
Assessment of a tulip magnolia adjacent to a small excavation project

Category tree service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

5.0

03/25/2020


Colleen D.

Received 5 quotes for this big, expensive job. JL was not the cheapest, nor were they most expensive. I had used them previously and was overall pleased with their work, so I decided to use them again. I was not disappointed. The crew showed up on time and systematically took down the tree in less than a full day. I was impressed. Nothing on the property was damaged and this was a feat in itself as the tree removal was in the back yard and on a hill. The JL Team had to remove all of the tree limbs, cut the tree trunk into discs, split the discs, and then HAND CARRY out each piece of the tree trunk - down a slope with rocks and multiple stairs. Clean up was perfect - no complaints. The foreman on the job did a great job and was able to make a few minor adjustments on the fly for my pruning requests. They even stacked up a small amount of wood that I wanted to keep for firewood. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Removal of large dead 60ft white oak tree and pruning of other trees

Category tree service