Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CroppMetcalfe

Founded 1979 • With Angi since May 2009

4.3

(540) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8421 Hilltop Rd

Fairfax, VA 22031

Description

CroppMetcalfe was founded and established in 1979 by Mitchell Cropp, and has remained a family owned business by Mitchell and his sons ever since. CroppMetcalfe's mission has always been to provide the ultimate in total comfort systems for your homes and businesses....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/05/2022


Phuc L.

Avoid at all cost. Don't even get HomeServe home warranty cuz that's what they use. They came and fixed the leak by replacing the toilet ring/rubber. During the process, they caused a leak between the toilet tank and toilet bowl and refused to take responsibility saying they didn't touch the toilet tank. They actually did. I watched them when they used a water suction vaccuum to get dry out the tank. Also they had to unscrew the bolts connecting the tank and the toilet seat. When putting those bolts back they didn't do it right and the leak is where the bolts connecting them. Yet they said they didn't touch it. Wow. We are currently looking at actions (perhaps a small court claim) that we can take against them. Just found I can file a complaint on Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation which is where all the licenses are granted. Perhaps contact City rep too. Im going to wait and see if this gets resolved first.

Description of Work
avoid at all cost

Category plumbing

5.0

03/17/2022


Joan C.

They have been excellent, show up on time, and in the many years I have used them, they have been very reliable. They are very thorough and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They have done plumbing work for me and have done checkups on the HVAC system as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

1.0

03/04/2021


Emanuel C.

If you need your boiler repaired; DO NOT CALL THIS COMPANY! They don't employ service technicians. They employ salespeople who pretend to be service technicians. Our boiler went out on February 15, 2021. I paid $115.00 to have one of their so called technicians to come out. When I called them, I spoke to someone named Maurice who asked me some very personal questions about my medical history. Maurice asked me about Covid 19 and I did not like the way I was being talked too. I wished I hung up on him TO AVOID all this aggravation. After working with him, we negotiated an appointment to have a service technician to come out. Our service technician was a GLORIFIED SALESMAN who made our equipment look defective and derelict to try and trick us into replacing the boiler. The GLORIFIED SALESMAN OOPS I UH mean the TECHNICIAN they sent basically told us that everything wrong wrong with the boiler. The technician made it look like we had a Carbon Monoxide problem. TWO OTHER CONTRACTORS CAME IN and refuted everything that was described. Your technician quoted us $4200.00 for things that were not actually wrong. He was right about the backflow valve not being current. It did not need replacing as long as it was: 1. Up to code at the time of the installation (IT WAS GRANDFATHERED) 2. Wasn't a health or safety hazard to the building or its occupants. There is also no way to properly diagnose Carbon Monoxide levels UNLESS the burner is running properly. The Steam valve and the expansion tank were functioning properly and did not need replacing. The technician didn't even open the burner cabinet properly to actually see what was wrong. I also did not like the technician to demand me to sign a danger tag to put on the boiler. It took all my strength to NOT immediately end the visit and throw him off my property. WE ENDED UP GETTING THE BOILER PROPERLY FIXED WITH AN EXPERIENCED AND REPUTABLE HVAC SERVICE. It was only $677.00 to replace the burner control module and pilot light assembly. The boiler was properly tested for Carbon Monoxide with the burner consistently working. The reading was a fraction of 1 part per billion which is the normal level in our atmosphere. I will have to admit they did put on an amazing show that ended up costing $115.00. Before I resorted to leaving a negative review. I did call the company to voice my concerns. The woman I spoke with on the phone identified herself as Kimberly. She was the only one I felt did the right thing. Following that phone call, I received a PRE WRITTEN SCRIPTED EMAIL from a Ms. Dawn Smoot. She basically IGNORED all my concerns and told me: "Our technician recommended replacement of your boiler and to call us to set up a time". It is clear to me that this company has made up its mind how it will do business and doesn't care. Once I got that response from Ms. Smoot. THAT WAS ALL I NEEDED TO KNOW. FIVE STAR SERVICE! MORE LIKE ZERO STAR SERVICE! OUT OF FAIRNESS to the technician; while he is responsible for his actions. It isn't fair to entirely blame him! I place the blame on the management of the company because I think this behavior wouldn't happen unless they condoned it.

Description of Work
Estimate to repair our boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

12/19/2020


Nadia S.

The tech recommended I have the wheel blower cleaned. He was going to clean it with a chemical solution. I brought another smaller company whom my friend recommended and he said if the wheel blower is dirty that means the coils are dirty as well. I ended up hiring the guy to take out the parts outside and wash the dirt out with water and a chemical solution. It took him over 6 hours to clean both parts and put them back together. He said the amount of dirt and build up took at least 4 yrs to accumulate. CroppMetcalf have been doing the maintenance the past 7 years and they never said anything until now and only the wheel blower. Now the system is working very well and efficiently and the tenants can feel the difference.

Description of Work
Yearly maintenance

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/07/2020


Kriston R.

service was fine, everything was good

Description of Work
regular maintenance of our air conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/28/2020


Bruce B.

They have been excellent and we would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They did electrical work and serviced our heating and ac system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/09/2020


Martha P.

They have been excellent in every way. They are efficient, back up their work, are friendly and professional. They use quality and look after me as a senior I would highly recommend them and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
They do plumbing and HVAC service for me. I have used them for decades.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this review and we hope you continue to choose CroppMetcalfe.

5.0

11/28/2019


Thomas D.

Master Plumber Giddion M. was a true professional. I will continue to use CroppMetcalfe based on my experience with Giddion last weekend.

Description of Work
Replace Garbage Disposal

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this review and we agree, Giddian is great!

5.0

06/27/2019


Laurie H.

They were good. They took care of the problem without charging me a lot of money and very honest. I called them, they came the same day and they came on time.

Description of Work
Something stick in the garbage disposal and look for the two faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this review and please let us know how we may serve you in the future.

3.0

02/21/2019


Iris M.

Salesman arrived, walked around, measured everything, then proceeded to discuss options. He wanted me to get an $11K full replacement system that had a higher SEER rating than what I had. I told him that was out of budget. The other option, to replace with a system similar to what I have now, would cost around $8K. I asked him to send me the proposals in writing, and he told me flat out he can't do that. I decided not to use this company.

Description of Work
Requested an estimate to replace the heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry you feel we let you down. As every customer has different needs, CroppMetcalfe strives to provide customized solutions for each customer. To achieve this, we follow a time proven process which requires a customer to share information about their system's operation and issues with their home's environment so we can sort through the hundreds of available options to provide specific solutions which satisfy our customer's needs. In this case, the only thing the customer would share was that she was interested in a "high SEER" system. "High SEER" can mean different things to different people and we tried to elicit a bit more information and clarification so we could provide appropriate solutions which we could stand behind. Unfortunately, the customer did not want to share any information regarding how the system had been operating and what she meant by "high SEER", which made it impossible to provide solutions. The CroppMetcalfe Representative did try to share an investment range in the hope the customer would share more information. She said the range was out of her budget and she would explore other options. However, she then asked us to send multiple proposals which were all in the price range she just rejected. We truly wish we could have helped this customer but we cannot provide proper solutions we can stand behind when we don't know what issues we are trying to solve.

5.0

02/21/2019


Stephen B.

We bought our heat pump to them way back 2008. They service what they sell. They did an excellent job and they have an excellent reputation. We have a contract with them. We were referred to them by someone 10-15 years ago.

Description of Work
They service my heat pumps.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/23/2018


Sarah C.

CroppMetcalfe has been a service provider for me for several years and for several different services. Primarily, I used Cropp for regular HVAC maintenance. I have also signed on with them for regular pest control service, as I live in a wooded area. I switched to Cropp for pest control in 2017 for two reasons: 1) I knew they would do good work based on my past experience with HVAC, and 2) when my former, locally-owned & operated pest control company was purchased by a larger, national entity, the pricing went up with no new services or amenities added. Cropp was highly competitive on cost and I like that they are headquartered in my community, Lastly, they installed a new hot water heater for me when mine gave up the ghost last year (after 20 years!). Their technicians are courteous and knowledgeable professionals, through and through. It's easy to schedule appointments, and they use technology wisely (technicians work with mobile devices not paper forms, they use auto-reminder phone calls, and so on). On occasion, they are delayed for appointments, although no more so than other service providers. I chalk this up to the awful traffic we have in the DC/NoVA area and that technicians don't always know in advance how big of a job they will encounter in any given home. They do always call if they will be late, and you can also ask for the 1st appointment of the day (assuming your need is not an emergency).

Description of Work
HVAC, plumbing, pest control

Category pest control, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this great review. We're always looking for ways to improve so we appreciate the feedback.

5.0

01/22/2018


Denise W.

It went well. They are very professional and got the immediate problem taken care of. The long term treatment seems to be working as well.

Description of Work
Pest control

Category pest control

5.0

09/25/2017


MARVIN S.

We've been using them for around 10 years. The service was fine. They call me to schedule the service. They give me a date, and if that doesn't work, they'll give me a new date. They come on time and are courteous. I ask a lot of questions. When I do, they always have an answer for me and if they don't they'll find one.

Description of Work
They provide 2 annual inspections of my heating and A/C system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this review and we're glad you have had such good experiences with CroppMetcalfe!

5.0

09/12/2017


DEBORAH D.

It took the a while to come out but they told me in advance. Since it was summertime, it would take a little while. They were trying to get me to schedule earlier so that was my fault. They are very efficient. They have knowledgeable technicians. There was just one person.

Description of Work
They did HVAC maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/16/2017


robert M.

They did not come out, so I used someone else. Stay away from them. I don't want to go into it. They try to sell you on stuff. They were out one time a long time ago. They said your heat pump is ok, but we could sell you this $300 part to help the heat pump kick on easier and last longer. It gets them in to your house where they can sell you stuff that you made not need. I used to have them when they came out twice a year to inspect the furnace. I called them after our power was out and was told I would be put it on the list and am still waiting.

Description of Work
I used CroppMetcalfe, I quite using them, they are shysters. Well they didn't do the work. It was about a $700 job a compactor broke on my heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/08/2017


GAIL M.

They have been terrific. We have had them for years. The price is reasonable. I would use them again. We have been using them for 10 years.

Description of Work
New A/C system. We had some extra stuff done with it. Probably the air filter or the humidifier. I know we had a whole bunch of stuff.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/24/2017


Katherine G.

Service was on time and professional. It was an all-day job and the guys didn't stop until done! Only "complaints" I have are that no one calls to schedule maintenance checks. I have to contact them - not right. Also the plumbing check was ridiculous. Guy came, turned things on/off, told me not to put blue in my tank and that was it. I do not think he even checked to make sure things were tightened and sealed. I will not waste my money on that one again!

Description of Work
They replaced both my furnace and A/C and cost was GREAT!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/20/2017


Sue T.

They replaced my heating and AC last summer so the servicing was included in that cost. I've used them for 20 years.

Description of Work
They did a service on my heating and AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/20/2017


JOHN G.

The monthly billing might have been $50 or $75.

Description of Work
It was a regular 6-month maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/11/2017


Constance S.

I've been using them for a real long time. I have an annual contract that is roughly $400 a year. They're efficient and punctual. They usually send one person to do the work.

Description of Work
They come twice a year and do a check up on my unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/16/2017


Ann S.

They have been very satisfactory for the time I have used them.

Description of Work
I have a service agreement with them to service my units. They put in my system 10 years ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

05/15/2017


Denis A.

I don't know where to put this, I think our only disappointment was one of the 2 people was a little hard to communicate with. It was like he had lots of ideas but , we would talk thru an option and express an interest in that and then a few minutes later its like we had to do it all over again. It was like he wasn't listening carefully and responding to what we were saying. He was not good at communication.

Description of Work
No work yet, Just an estimate.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/02/2017


Gregory A.

Anyone from this area would know them, their on TV all the time. Their a big, well known company. Their very professional and do a good job. We have a yearly contract, they come twice a year. Set up your heat in the fall and your air in the spring. We pay a yearly fee and they fix anything that is wrong and get you ready for the upcoming season. I think the fact that we have this yearly contract with them, we have had for a number of years, it includes anything that may go wrong. We have definitely gotten our money worth. They know what their doing. We've used them for a number of years now.

Description of Work
They did an air conditioner check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/27/2017


Diana B.

I usually use them and everything has been fine. I try to get it done twice a year. The guys come and they are nice but they try to sell you on stuff, and you can think about it and say, no. They come when they say they're going to come. I think they are quite professional, they take off their shoes, they're polite. They're a large company that sends out knowledgeable and professional technicians. Usually they may try to sell you something, you're never under the obligation to buy anything. They seem to be responsive and try to be helpful. The workers have been just fine.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    J Reynolds Landscaping

    J Reynolds Landscaping was created to provide the Northern Virginia area with the highest quality installation of landscaping materials possible. The Owner, Matt Meyer along with Jason Reynolds, has been installing custom designs right here in the northern Virginia area for over 18 years. With a reputation for excellence, the highest quality customer service, master craftsmanship and fair pricing. A design expert will come to your home and provide you with a free consultation and estimate for your homes unique needs. J Reynolds Landscaping will then provide you with the professional installation of the materials that you have chosen for your home. We differ from other Landscaping companies because we: - Never sub-contract any portion of the job. - A design expert is physically on every job site. - Your job is completed before any other job has been started. - We have no day laborers. - We are licensed and insured. - Estimates are always free. - All installers have at least 3 years of experience.  

    Premium Drainage & Erosion Solutions

    If you're looking for honesty and quality workmanship, you've come to the right place. Our specialty is drainage and landscaping, but whether a property needs storm drains, french drains, sump pumps, grading, leveling, excavation, patios, creative guttering for water removal or landscaping, we do all of the above with guaranteed results! Get in touch today for a consultation, and help us help you come up with the perfect drainage solution for your home or business!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    A A Action Waterproofing Inc

    AA Action offers permanent solutions to fix your leaky, moldy or flooded basement or crawlspace. Call AA Action Waterproofing, Inc to schedule your Professional Foundation Inspection 888-922-5517. What our inspection will involve is a very thorough examination of the foundation inside and out. We will explain why your foundation is leaking and what we can do to fix it permanently and provide a written estimate. This service is FREE of charge as long as we are meeting with the homeowner. We have over 30 years of experience helping homeowners in Maryland, Washington DC and Northern Virginia. We offer lifetime warranty's that are recognized and accepted as proof of a dry basement by FHA, VA, conventional lenders, and real estate professionals. Our warranty is also transferable should you sell your home. Interest Free Financing available with approved credit. We look forward to working with you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by A A Action Waterproofing Inc on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning, Heating, Plumbing, Pest Control, Home Performance, Security Systems, & Service Agreements.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CroppMetcalfe

    How is CroppMetcalfe overall rated?

    CroppMetcalfe is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are CroppMetcalfe open?

    CroppMetcalfe is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does CroppMetcalfe provide

    CroppMetcalfe accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does CroppMetcalfe offer free estimates?

    No, CroppMetcalfe does not offer free project estimates.

    Does CroppMetcalfe offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CroppMetcalfe offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CroppMetcalfe offer a senior discount?

    Yes, CroppMetcalfe offers a 0% senior discount.

    Does CroppMetcalfe offer emergency services?

    Yes, CroppMetcalfe offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CroppMetcalfe?

    Yes, CroppMetcalfe offers warranties.

    What services does CroppMetcalfe offer?

    CroppMetcalfe offers the following services: Air Conditioning, Heating, Plumbing, Pest Control, Home Performance, Security Systems, & Service Agreements.