Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH

Founded 1962 • With Angi since October 2006

3.2

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12507 LEE HWY

Fairfax, VA 22030

Description

Betty's Azalea Ranch is a 16-acre garden center that offers complete landscape and hardscape design and installation services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/01/2016


Patricia S.

.

Description of Work
.

Category firewood

5.0

04/24/2015


Linda B.

This review is to modify the poor review we previously filed regarding the workmanship and longevity of our stone stairway and retaining walls. The construction crew, under new management, admitted that the job that had been previously done was faulty and after some negotiation, agreed to replace the stairs and walls for a small portion of the total cost of the job. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! Everything about the job and the crew was highly professional. Within a little over a week's time (including a day or two of rain), the job was completed. The stonework was superb - 100% better than it was the first time.Virtually no plants and/or shrubs were destroyed; the flowerbeds were cleaned, as was the front walkways; debris was carted away, and even the lawn and driveway was cleaned up. We are extremely pleased with all the work that was done, and would highly recommend Betty's to do stone work. A friend, when seeing the job Betty's had done, decided to follow up with them to do some work for her.

Description of Work
Replaced the crumbling and cracked stone stairs and retaining walls they had installed for us in 2000.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

05/18/2014


Linda B.

In July 2000, Betty's installed 5 slate-veneer stone retaining walls in our front yard and a 8-stepped stone staircase from our driveway to back yard totaling $7,260; and provided a landscape plan and executed the plan with trees and plants totaling $6,391 for a total of $13,651. Our sense was that Betty's used their staff for the landscaping portion, but jobbed out the hardscape portion to another contractor. Initially we were pleased with the landscaping, although our major requirement was that the plantings be no to low maintenance was not followed. In fact, the extensive use of carpet roses, for example, require a significant amount of maintenance throughout the spring and summer. Per the contract agreement, the plants that died within the first year were satisfactorily replaced. The major issue we have is with the quality of the work and the lack of quality of the materials used for the hardscapes. Problems emerged within the first year with major cracks developing in the retaining walls that required major excavation and replacement of portions, yet, the walls have again cracked (see photos). Additionally, the top capped slates of the walls have razor-sharp edges and many of them have fallen off (see photos). The worst problem has been with the most expensive part of the hardscape job - the staircase, (see photos). Within the first year, water seepage from an unknown source started leaving lime traces all over the lower stairs. Apparently, no drainage was ever provided for any accumulated water under the stairs. Also, the concrete mixed on site was apparently poorly done. According to 5 other hardscape contractors (which have reviewed the job over the years, the consensus is that the mortar that was used was mixed improperly and has not been able to provide adequate adhesion of the stones on the steps and fascia. At this time, the stairway is totally a hazard and can't be safely used. We have sought estimates from other contractors, as well as Betty's Azalea Ranch over the last few months. Betty's sent a new management employee on April 16 to our home to review the hardscape problems and to give us an estimate of the repair/replacement costs.. He said that he was visiting a number of jobs previously done by Betty's that were in need of repair or replacement. He promised us an estimate within a week, and stated that Betty's "Welcomed the opportunity to make the job right and to do it correctly", which we were glad to hear. We understood that there would likely be costs to us that we were willing to pay, so we weren't looking for a free job. What really amazed us, is after several additional calls and promises that an estimate would be provided, yet to receive any response. Based on our latest experience with Betty's, they seem to lack any desire to deliver a quality product.

Description of Work
Installed hardscape and landscaping.

Category landscaping

1.0

12/02/2013


Robert P.

I would not recommend Bettys Azalea Ranch. Sadly, they did a job for us about 6 years ago that went very well so we decided to not even bid out this project we simply went right back to Betty's. The hardscape did go well but the landscape did not. The plants were not of a good quality and, in fact, they replaced many of them because they put dying plants in that looked horrible. They planted the wrong size bushes and had to take them out and then put dead ones in their place (in the front of my home). Then they told me they couldn't get any more of that bush so I would have to wait until spring. I felt like I was the foreman on the job. I had to call multiple times to have three different people come out to my home. Not only did I invest money but lots of my time. Their prices are too high, too. It is insulting to see your price list and on a trip out to the nursery realize they are on sale much cheaper. I am really sad that it did not work out and after spending a lot of time and money I still have to go to another landscaper to finish the work. At least one person at Betty's did acknowledge that the job was done poorly - when I asked how they might make it up to me they kindly drew up additional plans to improve my yard for an additional $1,700 - seriously???? No effort to keep me as a customer. I am done with them.

Description of Work
Complete re-landscape of front yard addition to back patio and backyard landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

09/10/2013


Dennis K.

They focus more as a local garden center, and I would recommend them to others. They have a a very nice selection and are very nice folks. I definitely prefer them over other competitors in the local area. Betty’s has everything that you would need.

Description of Work
They have done landscaping work for me. They have planted 4 trees and 3 bushes. I have also used them for design work.

Category landscaping, greenhouses

2.0

08/02/2013


Simon H.

If you want to be laughed at, derided, be subjected to derisive snorts and unprofessional conduct...please go there. Plants elsewhere may be more expensive, but at least you will receive courteous help from ALL of the workers.

Description of Work
People behind counter were rude and unprofessional for someone in retail sales, unresponsive, unhelpful.....shall I say more...I won't do business here again.

Category landscaping

1.0

07/08/2013


Lillie H.

The sales person in the lawn care department was rude and condesending. As I was standing at the checkout desk he imediately walked away and did not return for several minutes, despite his acknowledgement that I was ready to checkout. After he returned I proceeded to explain some issues I was having in a small portion of my lawn. He never asked any questions when he didn't understand what I was saying. He only replied with a rude comment. He acted as though I was incompetent as I explained and asked him questions. His only responses to my inquiries were snyde insults. He not only insulted me, but almost everyone else that shops at Betty's. The saddest part is that I had done everything that the Betty's associates had previously recommended and the sales person attacked me saying I had lied about the condition of my yard and that was why my lawn was in poor shape. The truth is that most of my lawn is in great shape, my only concern was the small patch. Instead of kindly requesting that I bring in a sample of the problematic lawn area he insulted me and condecendently demanded that without the sample no one could tell me what the issue was. After he completed the transaction he did not ask if I needed any assistence taking my purchase to my car, he merely stormed away. I had purchased a large bag of fertilizer and have health issues that prevent me from carrying heavy things. Once I put all the products into my car I imediately went to go talk to the people at the front desk and told them that they had a very rude person in lawn care and that I would never return. They're response was very disappointing and almost as if they were simply shrugging it off as though my business did not matter. The lack of customer service was unimaginable considering I had built a good relationship with Betty's and knew many of the employees including the owners. I am a small business supporter and have been shopping there for 10 years, but after this kind of treatment I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Description of Work
I have been going to Betty's for over ten years. They usually provide excellent advice on lawn care and lawn care products.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/18/2013


Wendey W.

Betty's Azaela Ranch was GREAT! Renata was our designer and managed our project. She did a terrific job planning our space and working with our budget. The cost for the plan was only $75, and she came to our house, listened to us, and in less than a week she presented a design layout that was detailed, to scale, and looked great. Renata was warm and personable and definitely knew her stuff (great knowledge of plants and landscaping!). She gave us the low-maintenance terrific looking landscaping we wanted at a price we could afford. After meeting Renata at Betty's and looking at the plan, she took us through the nursery and showed us each of the proposed plants-- and she was very flexible in letting us pick from various options, explaining the pros and cons of each. She was terrific to work with, and answered my ongoing questions over the next couple of weeks, and gave us all the guidance and information we needed (as non-plant people). The workers were on time, and despite inclement weather during the days they worked, they still finished as expected, even working in light rain at times. They left our yard looking terrific! When we noticed that a bush wasn't at just the right distance from the others in the front, they promptly returned and moved the bush. The plants are also guaranteed for a year, so if any die they come and replace them. The outcome was amazing and was quite a transformation to the front and side of our house. We've had many positive comments, and we couldn't be happier with the outcome ourselves. We felt we got a lot of terrific landscaping and a beautiful retaining wall for the price we paid, and would go back to Betty's in a heartbeat when we have another area to do (maybe the back yard and a new patio will be next!). It's funny; we looked at Angie's list AFTER we had already started working with Betty's and noticed some negative reviews --but the complaints were about different things than the type of work we had Betty's do for us. My brother had recommended Betty's to us-- he had used them several years back and had a great experience at a very good price ---which is why we chose them before even checking Angie's list. We are really pleased that we used Betty's and definitely recommend them!

Description of Work
Betty's planned and landscaped about 50 feet along front and side of our house, including building about 25 feet of 18-24 inch high retaining wall (Versa-Lok) around part of the landscaping. They also dug around and mulched a large existing tree, and put in a stepping stone area near our hose access. Plants they put in included a tree, 13 bushes of varying kinds, and several other smaller plantings as well as mulching.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/13/2013


Richard B.

We were pleased with them. For plant materials, the quality is good and their prices are reasonable. Their staff is very helpful. We are going to go back to them.

Description of Work
We went to Betty's Azalea Ranch to get some plant materials from them.

Category greenhouses

3.0

03/14/2013


Jason K.

The job took several weeks to complete when they stated 3-4 days and they left all of the plants out in pots in the weather for 3 weeks. Over 40 plants are now dead and the company wants to wait until spring to see what lived before they will address the issue. On a positive note, they did design a great plan....just very poorly executed.

Description of Work
Landscaping including stone wall, shaping of beds and planting of plants and trees.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/02/2012


rob H.

This summer the tree started dropping needles. We contacted Betty's to come look at the tree since it was still under warranty. They did not return our repeated calls. We finally contacted someone live at the front desk of the retail store and explained that we were being avoided by their landscaping department and wanted a return call from the manager. The woman who runs the landscaping department finally called us back. We asked for someone to come look at the tree. We then received a call indicating that they came to look at the tree and since the tree wasn't dead -- the wouldn't help. Due to the expense of the tree and its poor condition we asked that a manager come out or speak with us. We received another call back indicating that another person had come to our house to look at the tree, yes the tree was sick -- no they couldn't tell us what was wrong -- and no they would not help us any further. So now I have a very expensive sick tree in my front yard. Please don't purchase any products of any significant value from Betty's or you will be as sorry as we are for ever shopping there.

Description of Work
Late last year we invested in an ornamental Blue Spruce. We spent $269 for the tree and $175 dollars for the installation.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/01/2012


Michael M.

THE COMPANY DID NOT STAND BEHIND WHAT THEIR EMPLOYEES TOLD US REGARDING THE DELIVERY. SPECIFICALLY, during the purchase/s - three different employees volunteered that the trees if we prepared holes they would be put the trees in the holes since it was a "2 man delivery." However on the morning of the delivery I were told that they do not put the trees in the holes. Thus, I immediately contacted the company to explain the situation. Upon contact, we were told by "Patty" that Steve Cockerham, the President of Betty's, said there would be NO EXCEPTION and they would NOT put any tree in a hole without an additional charge. IT WAS INSINUATED THAT WE MISUNDERSTOOD. There was NO misunderstanding on our part - three different employees volunteered the information when we asked about delivery. We were a little surprised at this but very pleased as the weight of the trees were probably about 200-400 pounds each (as estimated by their employees). It amazes me that the company would not have an exception after I explained what were told. ***THE ABOVE CONFIRMS A PREVIOUS REVIEW BY ANOTHER ANGIE MEMBER ABOUT THE RUDENESS OF THIS COMPANY. Following is the sequence of events from the sale to the morning of the delivery. PLEASE NOTE THE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IN THE SECOND PARAGRAPH THAT FOLLOWS: We initially purchased 1 crepe myrtle tree at 30 percent off. At the time we selected the tree, we asked about delivery charges and what that included. We were told that since it is a 2-man delivery for the tree we selected that if we had a hole dug, they would put the tree directly in the hole for us. So we purchased the tree at the sale price and agreed to a $90 delivery charge. We were also quite pleased that they would put the tree in the hole if we had it prepared. After additional consideration and upon finding out that the delivery charge ($90) was for a full truck load, we decided to purchase two additional crepe myrtles. We returned about a week later following the initial purchase and politely asked if they would be willing to give us the sale price on 2 additional crepe myrtles. Rather than replying in a courteous manner, the manager replied very curtly "NO! WE DON'T DO THAT." We were completely taken back by the rudeness and just left. We wanted to purchase the additional trees from another nursery but really did not want to incur another delivery charge. So we decided to wait until spring. However,a short time late and before our delivery the trees did go on sale. Thus, we decided to purchase the additional 2 in order get the sale price and no additional charge for deliver. (The additional events of this morning is conveyed in the opening paragraph). We will give the company credit for being flexible about the delivery date. We explained that we were having work done in our yard that would have interfered with the delivery so they said we could call when we were ready. Thereafter, we set a date, but changed it when we purchased the 2 additional trees, mentioning to the cashier that we would like to have the holes prepared. There was no comment on the part of the employee regarding our statement about having the holes ready. *** WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY - THE MANAGEMENT IS RUDE AND CLEARLY NOT INTERESTED IN MAINTAINING GOOD RELATIONS WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS ***

Description of Work
Purchase and delivery of three (3) 8 to 9 foot crepe myrtle trees . PLEASE READ BELOW.

Category greenhouses

2.0

05/18/2012


Jane F.

Waste of gasoline and a great deal of time.

Description of Work
I called on May 17 after the manufacturer of a product I need informed me that Betty's carries it. The woman at Betty's said they were out of it, but getting a shipment so to call back the next day to be sure they had it before making the 20 mile trip. When I called the next afternoon, the woman said the product was in. I made the trip only to be informed they did NOT have it. Forty miles worth of gasoline wasted.

Category pest control, landscaping

Service Provider Response

Member, I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience. I would appreciate it if you could call me in our business office. The number is 703-803-8687, extension 225. I would like the opportunity to make this right. Please ask for Karen.
5.0

01/23/2012


Carolyn H.

Kevin, their landscape architect, is a true professional with many years of experience. He came up with an innovative and beautiful landscaping plan for us that enhanced our outdoor living space. The Sidewalk and stonewalls turned out beautiful. The french drain is a real life saver and successfully keeps the water out of our yard. It took us two years to complete the plan as we opted to do it in increments. We had a few plants die in last summers long drought but this year Betty's replenished those plants and we are very pleased with the outcome. Both yards are real eye catchers and the plants are thriving. The head of the crew that performed the work was very professional and coordinated everything with Kevin. If things needed to be changed or redone they were very cooperative and did so without any extra expense to us. We are very satisfied with Betty's and would not hesitate to recommend them to our friends.

Description of Work
We contacted Kevin, the landscape architect at Betty's to come up with a plan for our front and back yards. We decided to have extensive landscaping done in both areas that included pouring and laying of a new flagstone and concrete sidewalk, stone walls around 3 trees, raised garden beds, a french drain in the back and numerous changes to shrubs and flowers. We were so impressed with Kevin's plan we opted to hire Betty's to do all of the work.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor kitchens

2.0

09/07/2011


Gibney R.

The entire delivery was full of pieces of torn up plastic bags and other refuse. We had paid top dollar for good quality mulch and received garbage. I called Betty's and was told that there was nothing they could do. I drove to the store and was told that there was nothing that could be done, but they appreciated that I let them know. HUH? "Oh, our product stinks and you're unhappy? Well, we're not going to resolve your problem, but we do appreciate you letting us know..." I won't spend another dime with this company and I would warn anyone that is thinking about Betty's to RUN! RUN! RUN! Merrifields is only a mile down the road.

Description of Work
We had a large mulch delivery from Betty's.

Category landscaping, greenhouses

5.0

10/25/2010


Bonnie H.

We had a Betty's design person come to the house to design a front yard plan. He has something like 25 years of experience and provided a plan that my husband and I both liked. He helped us figure out what items would be best for Betty's to carry our and which we could do on our own to save us money. We had Betty's plant 11 trees and shrubs. They outlined the beds and laid down mulch. And then they did a dry stream bed. I was a little worried that Betty's selected all the plants. But they were all in terrific shape. And they picked the bloom colors we had agreed upon I really liked how they worked with us. It rained the day the workers came out and my husband and I could clearly see that the bed would not be long enough. The workers called the designer and on the spot he instructed them to lengthen the bed at the cost of the stones, which was about $75. I think we had already paid for the labor for the day. That's my guess. They didn't mess with us to double the cost of the bed. They had maybe 5 guys do the work. The supervisor had been with Betty's for something like 15 years. They were pros. We had one mishap. The big truck moved into the mailbox and twisted the wood connections. They went to Home Depot, got the right wood, cut it. And fixed the mailbox good as new. I never said anything to Betty's because the crew took care of it and made sure I was satisfied. One of the 12 items they planted died. I called them and they put the replacement on their schedule. I also asked for advice as to whether we should select a different plant. The landscape office gave me the designer's cell phone number and in a minute he was giving me advice. I didn't need to be home for the new shrub. One day it just appeared and AT NO COST TO ME.. I trust Betty's. They are pros. I like their prices. They are definitely my nursery.

Description of Work
landscape design, plants and bedding installation, dry stream bed installation

Category landscaping, greenhouses

1.0

06/04/2010


Paul L.

2 of the trees had a fair number of leaves - the other 2 did not. One of the staff said that this was not a problem and that they should leaf out soon. By June 1, 2 trees are OK - the other 2 trees never put out any leaves and are dead. Betty's has a "Shared Responsibility" guarantee that limits their responsibility to 50%. This is fine assuming the plants were in good shape when sold. However, since the 2 trees were apparently dead/dying when sold, I felt that they should replace the trees. I emailed them about this problem and never got a reply. I called them and they said they would get back to be the next day - they never did. On the phone I was told that I must have killed the trees. I was also asked why I would buy dead trees. I was told that they would leaf out shortly by a member of Betty's staff. My question is why does Betty's sell dead trees?

Description of Work
On 4/30/10, I bought 4 trees from Betty's.

Category greenhouses

1.0

04/13/2010


Georgii D D.

They planted the wrong color azaleas and the replacement dogwood tree that did not look healthy ultimately died. They replaced one azalea and reneged on responsibility for the dead tree. We contacted the company over 15 times about the tree and followed their instructions. When the tree died, they were rude and hung up on me. It will cost us over $1000 to repair the damage.

Description of Work
Repairs to damaged landscape from a car accident. Replacement of a twelve foot dogwood tree and four azaleas.

Category landscaping

4.0

09/04/2009


Peter K.

My experiences were not bad but they were a little weak on holding to a schedule. They had good workmanship and I am satisfied overall. Their prices were medium to high.

Description of Work
I hired them to do my landscaping. The last time they installed stone walls and plants.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/29/2006


BRUCE W.

Beety's does a great job of providing plants for our local area and weather. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.

Description of Work
Beety's can always be counted on for high quality and healthy outdoor plants. They specialize in azaleas, and their selection is amazing.

Category greenhouses

    Other local Pros in your area

    Metro Drainage Pros LLP

    Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

    Angi Certified

    Yard Enhancement Services LLC

    Locally owned and operated full-service landscaping company  

    Angi Certified

    Premium Drainage & Erosion Solutions

    If you're looking for honesty and quality workmanship, you've come to the right place. Our specialty is drainage and landscaping, but whether a property needs storm drains, french drains, sump pumps, grading, leveling, excavation, patios, creative guttering for water removal or landscaping, we do all of the above with guaranteed results! Get in touch today for a consultation, and help us help you come up with the perfect drainage solution for your home or business!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    TREES, SHRUBS, PERENNIALS, ANNUALS, BULBS, TURF & GARDEN SUPPLIES & WATER GARDENING MATERIALS. DESIGN SERVICE, INSTALLATION OF PATIOS, WALKWAYS, walls, WATER GARDENS, & PLANTINGS.

    Services Not Offered

    MAINTENANCE, OUTDOOR LIGHTING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH

    How is BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH overall rated?

    BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH open?

    BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH provide

    BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offer free estimates?

    No, BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH does not offer free project estimates.

    Does BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offer a senior discount?

    No, BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH?

    Yes, BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offers warranties.

    What services does BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offer?

    BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH offers the following services: TREES, SHRUBS, PERENNIALS, ANNUALS, BULBS, TURF & GARDEN SUPPLIES & WATER GARDENING MATERIALS. DESIGN SERVICE, INSTALLATION OF PATIOS, WALKWAYS, walls, WATER GARDENS, & PLANTINGS.

    Are there any services BETTY'S AZALEA RANCH does not offer?

    MAINTENANCE, OUTDOOR LIGHTING.