Hal Co Fence and Deck

About

Founded 1981 • With Angi since August 2005

Established in 1981, we have been providing quality products and services at a reasonable cost to customers for over a quarter of a century. At HAL CO FENCE we have installed quality fences, decks, and screen porches that have added value and beauty to thousands of commercial and residential

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

COMMERCIAL DECKSCOMPOSITE DECKS

Verified Reviews

4.5

(126) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

90

4

9

3

5

2

6

1

16

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

fence company (119)decks & porches (18)driveway gate installation (11)dog fencing (3)hauling (2)general contractors (2)childproofing (1)woodworking (1)concrete repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 126 reviews
5.0

03/24/2022


Kevin C.

Very professional group. Our horizontal fence was basically done in one day. We were not 100% satisfied with the fence on a slope. They came back and fixed it at no extra cost. Would definitely use them again. I trust they will get the job done to satisfaction.

Description of Work
Fence around yard

Category fencing, driveway gates

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2022

Images

Review for Hal Co Fence and Deck - PO Box 1059, Dumfries, VA - 39672228

+1 More

5.0

06/30/2021


Lorettta F.

I can not rave enough about this company! They did a truly amazing job. The salesman Chuck, and the office crew are so nice and professional. The pricing was absolutely satisfying and the workmanship is perfect. We love everything they did for us. I highly recommend this company!!

Description of Work
A fence, deck and screened in porch

Category contractors, decks, fencing, hauling services

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2021

5.0

03/10/2021


Theana K.

The price was right, the service was impeccable, and the result is stunning. Hal Co. has given my property a stately appearance. I might add that I tend to be a detail person, looking for perfection. The professionalism of this company cannot be beat.

Description of Work
Hal Co. installed a beautiful aluminum fence surrounding my large property today.

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the outstanding review! We appreciate your business.
1.0

07/25/2020


Ted C.

Chuck came out and took measurements of the deck, made a sketch, discussed it, and told me he'd email me an estimate in two days. During the same visit, he took measurements for the 65' vinyl picket fence replacement, discussed it, and said he would check with the manufacturer and let me know something in a couple of days. It didn't happen. A week later, I called his cell phone twice and left messages. After not hearing anything for two weeks, I called the office and spoke with someone who verified it was Chuck that came out and said she'd reach out to him and have him contact me. Never heard from him. Not worth it; a paying customer shouldn't have to beg!!

Description of Work
Deck resurface or rebuild

Category decks, fencing

Work Completed On 06/19/2020

1.0

07/08/2020


Reganold T.

Not well, they stated that they cannot and do not use other vendor materials, such as Home Depot or Lowe's fencing material. I don't know how they stay in business as company's such as theirs get their material from Home Depot and Lowes. It is there way of jacking up the price .

Description of Work
Fence installed in backyard

Category dog fence

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We as a company use certain vendors/suppliers as we believe in the quality of their products. We are unwilling to compromise on a subpar product that may not hold up over time. On the contrary, this has nothing to do with raising costs, but wanting the best for our customers and the longevity of our product. If you are looking for the cheapest fence, I'm sure there is a handyman that may be able to help you. We are a professional fencing company and what we offer is great value at a responsible price.
1.0

06/30/2020


Allison K.

$5,000 fenced in backyard including 2 single gates and a double gate lasted 4 years before 7 posts rotted out completely. After calling Hal Co 5 times in 2 months and speaking with someone in the office, an associate finally returned my call and visited the property to review the issue. They gave me a quote of $1200+ to replace the 7 posts that were 4 years old. They could not provide a reason why the posts had rotted so quickly, and he said they don't warranty materials. One other associate did call me during the 2 months I had been calling and that person promised to take a look that week and he also said that the posts their company installed where the concrete is above the ground were done incorrectly; he also never showed up and never called me back. 3 months after identifying the 7 posts, another post has rotted out also.

Description of Work
Installing backyard fence with 2 single gates, 1 double gate, and wire over fence

Category fencing

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2016

Images

Review for Hal Co Fence and Deck - PO Box 1059, Dumfries, VA - 38683115

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you so much for your feedback. We are sincerely sorry that you are dissatisfied with our response time during a worldwide pandemic. We would also like to apologize for the roughly 1% of the lumber from your job that has rotted in the past few years. Unfortunately, wood is a natural product, which is why we cannot guarantee against rotting (as well as warp and decay) as stated in our contract, per industry standards. We apologize for any confusion, and that our representative wasn't given the chance to fully explain why the concrete was exposed on some posts as opposed to others. This specific representative also has a Master of Landscape Architecture, and could be a great resource to help you understand how nature may have affected your product. Additionally, while on site, our salesman noted that other than the posts that had signs of rot, the only other problem was that our sign had not been fastened tight enough, as it was no longer attached to your fence. We greatly value our customers and our work, and are saddened that your opinion of our company would change so dramatically after the repair estimate. We see that you have posted this same review on multiple sites and are eager to talk about this - please do give us a call so that we can better assist you!
4.0

06/18/2020


Nadine S.

I called this company 3 times to get them to come out and do an estimate for over 220 linear feet of fence. The receptionist was very pleasant took my info each time and said the area consultant would give me a call within 72 hours. To date I have not heard from Hal Co Fence. [UPDATE 6/26/2020 by Angie's List] - After my review, I was contacted by Chuck, one of the representatives. He explained that they were busy keeping up with demands due to closure as a result of COVID. I was able to get Chuck to come out the same day to do the estimate and I received my estimate the next day. Even though they weren't the cheapest estimate I received, I believe that they can and will deliver a quality fence. It was easy communicating with Chuck, he responded to my questions and changes via email in reasonably time. I am looking forward to the installation of my fence. I hope this process will go smoothly, and that the final product will be a true representation of high quality.

Description of Work
To build wood fence

Category fencing, dog fence

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

5.0

04/25/2020


Michelle G.

Great advice and service. They were cheaper than our other quotes but also gave us great advice. Our yard looks so much better. We love our fence!

Description of Work
Install Fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review and we hope you enjoy your new fence for many years to come!
2.0

07/30/2019


Lynn C.

I used this company to fix a small wooden backyard gate and front side of fence for a townhouse for $1400. They came out and started the work in a very timely manner. A couple of weeks after completion there was rain and some wind ( nothing severe or hurricane like) that resulted in damaging the latch to the point where it was unusable. I asked for a replacement under the 1 year warranty that came with the job. After weeks of not returning my calls and getting the run around I was told that the 1 year warranty does not cover damaged latches due to weather. I was told it would cost $250 for a replacement of the exact same type of latch because that’s the only kind they have. Of course I refused since the next rainy day will result in the same damage. They also put an advertising sign on my fence without asking for permission. I told them I did want a sign with their company name and logo on my property. They refused to remove it unless I showed them proof and documentation that it was a violation of my HOA rules. I had to email them the HOA violation letter multiple times and make multiple follow up calls once again. The sign was eventually removed several weeks later. Overall, I would not use this company again due to their poor follow up and customer service.

Description of Work
Wood Fence repair

Category fencing

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] I am sorry that you are unhappy with your requested repair and sign removal. The gate latch was working properly when the crew completed your job. The only know and usual way that your latch could have been damaged is if you left you gate open (unsecured) and the wind slammed the gate closed or someone did it in person. It is unfortunate that this happened soon after the job was completed, but it is not due to the fault of the crew. We have also had some very big storms this spring and summer with heavy winds. The fence sign, as per contract, is to remain on the fence for one year for the warranty to be valid and this is why we needed documentation to state that the sign is not allowed. Please let us know if you would like to be contacted to discuss this further.
5.0

06/10/2019


CYNTHIA C.

I was really pleased with my experience start to finish. I have a large yard and my salesperson Jeff really worked with me to come up with a solution that both looked good and was reasonable. They showed up exactly when they said they would and got the job done in less than a day.

Description of Work
Fence in a large back yard, no prior fence installed

Category fencing

Cost $5,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2019

5.0

09/21/2018


Kathleen C.

After a tree fell on our aluminum fence, I couldn't get the company who installed it to even come give us a repair estimate! After finding Hal Co on Angie's list, I got excellent service from the estimator, office, and installers. The fence and gate looked and functioned better than before! When another tree fell on a different part of the fence about six months later, I knew exactly who to call. Once again, I was thrilled with Hal Co's performance.

Description of Work
Two separate fence repair jobs during 2018

Category fencing

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2018

5.0

08/25/2018


Lee D.

Our experience with Hal Co. was excellent from the first person that came to house to give us an estimate to the crew that put in the fencing. Our response by email and phone was quick as well. Highly recommend this company..

Description of Work
Fencing backyard

Category fencing

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2018

5.0

08/24/2018


Kym H.

The job went well from start to finish. The sales representative was on time and the estimate provided was fair ($2,700). The work crew did an excellent job in replacing the fence and cleaning up afterwards. The only complaint I had was that the company did not provide a window of time when the crew would arrive to do the work and I waited all day for them. I finally had to call and make sure they were coming. The work crew did not arrive until 4:30 in the afternoon and did not finish until 7:00 pm, which made dinner hour a little uncomfortable because of the noise from the work going on.

Description of Work
Replaced a wooden fence

Category fencing

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2018

2.0

07/09/2018


Mark F.

He came and gave a verbal estimate and was to deliver a written one, but didn't follow through. We were given an excuse on two different occasions and almost 2 months later have still not heard from them.

Description of Work
We got needed an estimate for a railing job.

Category fencing

Work Completed On 05/25/2018

2.0

06/25/2018


Giovanni B.

They didn't reply to my inquiries, I didn't hire them

Description of Work
They didn't reply to my inquiries

Category fencing

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

5.0

06/25/2018


Kathleen C.

The estimator came out and met with me, and then came out a second time to double-check something. He was pleasant to deal with. My insurance covered the cost of the repair. The installers were pleasant and professional, and the new fence section and gate look and function better than the old one! I was wary of fence companies going into this, but I would use Halco again the next time I need fence work.

Description of Work
Fence repair after a storm

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2018

5.0

04/16/2018


Anthony Y.

Dave was amazing from start to finish! He gave us a tremendous quote, honest feedback and was quite punctual with the job. We were very impressed by the workmanship as well. The team was extremely professional and the work shows! The workers took care of our property as if it was their own. We were amazed that the project was completed in the time is was despite questionable weather. We would not hesitate to recommend Dave and the team at Hal Co and will definitely hire them again when the time comes.

Description of Work
New deck installation

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2018

5.0

11/16/2017


Heather M.

Great. Super product - looks fantastic.

Description of Work
Had a 6’ Fence installed.

Category fencing

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2017

5.0

11/08/2017


Charles G.

The HAL CO folks did very good work. We had a small issue with where a corner was supposed to end up but the HAL CO folks worked with me to put the fence where I actually wanted it to go with minimal issues.

Description of Work
We have a large backyard that needed new fencing (approximately 300 linear feet).

Category fencing

Cost $4,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

5.0

10/07/2017


Camille N.

Very well. The Board members of our HOA were extremely pleased with the repair work performed by HAL CO Fence and Deck. Jeff Moore, Sales representative, arrived promptly for the inspection of he fences, gave us an honest assessment of the work to be done and prepared the proposal very promptly. The work was completed as described in the proposal in a professional manner and no debris was left on the premises.

Description of Work
HOA community--Repair of 2 long fences between our community and adjacent properties.

Category fencing

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

5.0

07/30/2017


David H.

Hal Co was again awesome. Not only was the price right and they were amazing with the county and with permits and everything. They also made what I would say is the best built deck in the neighborhood. I've looked at a bunch in my neighborhood and our deck has lots of extra support and just looks like it would withstand a hurricane. Really really happy!

Description of Work
Along with a fence we had a trex deck put up on our new townhouse.

Category decks, fencing

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2017

1.0

07/28/2017


G C.

Chuck Morris, the estimator for Hal Co took the measurements for our deck incorrectly and it ended up being a foot short, with railing posts sticking out in the middle of the large window and blocking the view to the backyard, which I specifically asked him to be mindful of, and he said he's been doing this for decades an no one wants or should have the deck rails in the middle of the window for aesthetic as well as safety reasons- common sense I thought, who would purposely ask to construct something to block the window? Well, the deck did end in the middle of the window, which Chuck was notified of at the beginning of the construction because the crew (sub-contractors by the way) told Chuck that his measurements were wrong (according to the crew it wasn't the first time apparently). Chuck later came out to see it for himself, but did not stop them from continuing. After it was completed, I asked him to come out again to see it with me, and told him that was exactly what I said I didn't want, to which he replied, "I know". He added, "yea that's done not right, but I thought I measured it out to the wall between the windows". I also asked him if HE would want a deck that's blocking the view of a window at his own home, and he said "NO I wouldn't". If you don't want it in your own home, why would a paying customer want that? Chuck was apologetic and admitted that his measurements were incorrect, but blamed his crew for continuing, even though they were the ones who told Chuck it wasn't going to look right and he was right there to do something about it early on. Few days later, however, Chuck's attitude changed completely, when the owner David Sullivan was involved. Chuck blamed ME for not checking his measurements! and acted as if our conversation right after the construction never even took place. When I demanded Chuck to own up to his mistake and fix the deck, he said I needed to pay additional $1100. Of course, I had offered to pay for the extra cost that may have incurred for the additional foot, but why should I pay for extra labor for pretty much re-doing the deck because the "estimator" with decades of experiences didn't know how to take correct measurements? Isn't that his job? something he says he does on a daily basis? He doesn't go to the county to get the permit, he doesn't even show up during the construction, so I presume since his title is "estimator" he knows how to measure things correctly and estimate accordingly. And for him to blame the customer for not doing his job for him is just absurd and unprofessional. Was I supposed to undermine his ability to do his job to use a measuring tape properly and should've taken another look just in case? Why didn't he just ask me to measure it myself and email them to him? Ridiculous excuses. I have reached out to the owner as well but have not heard from him either in 3 weeks. As another review stated here, this company has no courtesy or respect for other people's time. They don't return your call or respond to emails. Chuck Morris blamed his phone, computer, internet connection and even my phone when questioned why he's not responding to text/voicemails in a timely manner. We still have not used this deck (no furniture or grill) because we don't know if (or when) Hal Co's owner would take responsibility for his employee's mistake and come to the right decision and do the ethical thing by fixing this deck. But as of today, they decided to do the worst thing, by simply avoiding my request. My neighbors have since then gone to another company because of the way Hal Co handled this situation and our HOA will not recommend this company to our community as well. Hal Co has shown no consideration or respect for my time or money whatsoever. There is no customer service, no communication and definitely no commitment or workmanship with this company.

Description of Work
building a deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2017

Images

Review for Hal Co Fence and Deck - PO Box 1059, Dumfries, VA - 36014845
4.0

07/20/2017


Ernest E.

The quality of the fence and in particular the gates were done very well. Good crew and estimator. Clean up was exceptional. However, the front office needs work. Left messages and they do not call back. Scheduling the estimate and work took more than one call. The billing for down payment was different than one listed on the estimate. Second time I have used them, believe their quality and price is more important than their lack of internal coordination and responsiveness.

Description of Work
Split rail fencing with gates.

Category fencing

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2017