Windows on Washington

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2006

Simply put - we believe that improving your home should be enjoyable. That is why we spent years designing our consultations, installations, and customer care experiences to minimize stress and provide every client with a fair and honest home improvement experience. Founded in 2005, Windows on Washington has become one of the area’s most respected home improvement companies because we make our clients' homes more beautiful, comfortable, and energy efficient. We are proud Angie’s Super Service Award winners, which we’ve now earned for seven consecutive years. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and have never had one filed complaint. In addition, we have hundreds of positive customer reviews on Angie’s List, Customer Lobby, Home Advisor, Guild Quality, Houzz, and Yelp....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Window Projects

+13 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(277) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

257

4

8

3

5

2

2

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

window replacement (244)door installation (51)roofing (34)insulation (20)siding companies (14)gutter repair (13)woodworking (8)egress window (6)home energy audit (4)skylight installation (2)chimney repair (1)handyman (1)
Showing 1-25 of 277 reviews
5.0

02/11/2022


Mike or Jan N.

Our experienced with Windows on Washington from first needing the salesman to our contractor foreman through coordination with the administrative staff. Culminating and extraordinary installation of custom windows - each facet of service provided was professional, high quality, and a pleasure at each steps. I thoroughly recommend Windows on Washington for all who require new windows. The windows are beautiful in appearance, are weather proof, and significantly reduce outdoor noises.

Description of Work
We had fabrication and installation of the custom made windows.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2022

5.0

01/03/2021


James B.

WOW did a fine job. We chose them because of their excellent reviews and because the offered a lower priced door (HGI) that was of equivalent quality to the industry standard door (PROVIA). Because they were short handed and in demand, when we signed with them in at the end of August, they told us to expect a 10-12 week wait for installation. They came out in the first week of November. With the wrong door. The re-scheduled for 2 weeks later; at that time I had recently been exposed to COVID and was under quarantine. The crew declined to come that day even if I offered to stay away from them--fair enough. The next time the were scheduled our installer got sick. Finally the 1st week in December my door was installed. The door looks great. The quality of the work is excellent except for a small problem with the screen door not quite closing right. It looks like they had to door some drilling work on the strike to get it to work, which is a bit unsightly. I was disappointed that the new interior door frame they installed was left raw--no paint. When I called them, the pointed to the section of my contract that said they would leave this in this condition. OK. They met their minimum. If I am paying $6000 for a door from a top quality vendor, I expect them to go above the minimum. So they cannot be expected to bring every possible paint color, but they could have offered to slap on a coat of my paint if I provided it. Note to Angie's list: there needs to be a middle choice for would you hire again. In this case I would not totally rule out WOW. But I would look for another contractor to see if I could get better service than what I experienced.

Description of Work
Replace the front door and storm door for my home

Category egress windows, doors

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

5.0

12/21/2020


William S.

So this is going to be my first review online and I’ve decided to provide it because of both the size of the projects involved and the quality of service that I received. My family and I recently purchased a 45-year old fixer-upper in Northern Virginia, and the home needed major updates throughout. Two things that needed immediate attention were the original wood windows and the 30+ year old asphalt roof. After a referral from a co-worker, I reached out to Windows on Washington and spoke with Greg for help on the windows. He was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions, without any pressure to commit on the spot. The windows they use are very well-reviewed (Okna) and offered all of the features we were looking for. His quote for the 40+ windows and one new door was incredibly reasonable and less than other quotes I received. Based on the stellar feedback I’d already received about the company, I agreed to enlist them for the project. Their crew arrived on-time and spent two days doing an exceptional job installing everything. I watched them do the installations and everything was top notch. The windows dramatically improved the look and energy efficiency of the house, and the entire team could not have been more professional. I would HIGHLY recommend this company to anyone if you need replacement windows. During the discussion with Greg about windows, I mentioned the need for a new roof, specifically a new metal roof. He indicated that their company could also handle that project since the president of the company (Eric Novotny) was very knowledgeable about those. I spoke with Eric a couple of days later and discovered that he is part of an expert industry panel for the Metal Roofing Alliance. We went over all the options for installing a metal roof and he came out to our house to talk at length about what we could do. He provided a quote for the project a couple of days later which was very reasonable based on the research I had done and I signed up for that as well. Interestingly, the roof project was completed first (before the windows) and his team spent three days completing everything. The crews worked 12+ hour days to get things done and the work was all top notch. It was beautiful when it was finished and our family couldn’t be happier. As a follow up, two weeks after the roof was completed, I had a chimney cleaning / repair company come out to do some minor work. They ended up severely scratching all of the panels around the chimney in the process and I needed Eric’s team to fix it. He sent two guys out and they spent 12+ hours carefully removing what they had just installed and replacing everything exactly the way it was. I expected the cost for the repair to be significant, but I was very surprised that not only was the cost reasonable, but some of the same crew that did the initial installation were available to come out and do the repairs. It was a very confidence-inspiring extra step and further reassures me that we went with the right company. Overall, I can’t endorse this company and the people I interacted with enough. I didn’t have a single bad experience and I feel like the money we spent was an investment we will enjoy for decades to come. I also know that if something comes up down the road, Eric and his team will be there to help us out. Bill S.

Description of Work
New Windows / New Door / Metal Roof Installation

Category egress windows, roofing, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

1.0

09/29/2020


Mark D.

Not well :( . The old basement window needs to be replaced and egress functionality added to it. This contractor isn't interested to perform services on anything less than 5 windows.

Description of Work
Replacement window adding egress

Category egress windows

Work Completed On 09/29/2020

Service Provider Response

We specialize in full home window replacements, but have always been happy to serve the needs of our clients that have smaller projects. Due to Covid-19 changes to our business, we require all crews to work as a 4-5 person non-interchangeable pod to maintain their own health and safety, as well as their families and the families of our clients. From a cost perspective, it is not feasible to have a five man crew attend to the installation of one window. Like many small businesses, we have had to adapt and make changes and sacrifices in order to work through the pandemic, and this is one example. We apologize we were unable to accommodate your project request. In the post-pandemic future when our business can be more flexible, we hope to be able to once again take on projects such as yours.
5.0

09/02/2020


Paul J.

I began my windows replacement project by contacting two bidders, both highly rated on Angie’s List. Windows on Washington helped me learn the terminology and, especially, what to look for in quality windows. I subsequently submitted a draft Statement of Work specifying the models and colors for the 17 windows. Their ensuing proposal captured all that I was after, and its price (with an Angie’s List discount) was comparable to that of their competitor. Both WoW and their competitor offer high quality windows, but not identical ones. Each window has its advantages over the other, and I ended up selecting WoW’s windows based on small differences that were important to me. (Other customers could easily come to the opposite decision depending on what’s important to them.) While there was some recurring pressure to set up a site visit, this was easily deflected until I had made my decision on which windows to purchase. Having selected the windows and thereby the provider, the site visit and consummating a contract were merely procedural steps. Installation was uneventful and took about six hours. The team members were courteous and professional throughout the day, and the team leader was personally invested in providing quality service. I would highly recommend Windows on Washington to others considering replacing their windows.

Description of Work
Windows Replacement

Category replacement windows

Cost $19,383.3

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2020

1.0

08/17/2020


Heather N.

Consultant came out to provide estimates on multiple projects. I informed that the priority was to replace my sliding glass door and picture window, however I was looking to budget for the other items. He came out on a Friday, August 7th. I reached out to him on on Monday to find out when I could expect a quote and received no response. I then called the office later that day and they pretty much dismissed me stating the consultant doesn't work in the office and that was it. He then texted me on Tuesday informing me there were a couple guys out and he was working from the home office. Again, did not provide me a date of when to expect a quote. Today is 8/17 and I have heard nothing nor do I have a quote. I'm surprised about the lack of response considering this company has good reviews. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience from the start and would not recommend or entertain any other work by this company.

Description of Work
Replace sliding glass door and picture window; replace garage door; wrap exposed wood

Category garage doors, replacement windows, woodworking

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

5.0

07/30/2020


Tim G.

Installation of replacement windows

Description of Work
Our neighbors recommended Windows on Washington (WOW) because they were very pleased with the job the company did for them. We chose WOW as a result, and we couldn’t be happier. The windows are beautiful, solid, and well sealed against heat/cold. The crew was meticulous and quickly resolved any minor issues that arose. They were polite, friendly, and professional. Cleanup at the end was amazing. The salesman was also great and stayed in touch throughout. We’re very happy with our choice and the end results. We highly recommend WOW.

Category replacement windows

Cost $37,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

04/22/2020


MARY S.

Terrific experience. At the salesman's recommendation, I purchased a product different (and much less expensive) than the one I had been shopping and which has turned out to be exactly what I needed. The front office kept me informed of each upcoming step in the process, the installer was expert, prompt, and did a perfect job. I couldn't be more pleased with my experience. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replace door to deck

Category doors

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2020

Images

Review for Windows on Washington - 23465 Rock Haven Way, Dulles, VA - 38514388

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks for sharing your experience with WoW. We are thrilled to have been able to complete your project on time and under budget! The door looks great, and will perform beautifully for years to come. I will be sure to share your compliments with the installation Team!
5.0

01/29/2020


Susan B.

Nice folks to work with. They were professional and thorough. The work men were quick and skillful. We were completely satisfied with the job.

Description of Work
We replaced our front door

Category doors

Cost $10,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2020

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure to complete your project. We are glad you are pleased with your new door. Thank you for putting your trust in WoW!
5.0

11/28/2019


Christopher B.

Overall I give an A because the install crew is excellent, the product is high quality, and they have a great warranty. Two nits however--we had a custom sliding door and it wasn't initially made clear to us that this would add 4 extra weeks for delivery beyond the normal 6-8 weeks which put our install later than expected. It would have been helpful if this was more clearly communicated upfront. Second, the SDLs on the door cause the screen to catch somewhat. It would have been helpful if this had been noted when were deciding between SDL and GBG for the door. It might have landed us on GBG, which also would have been about $500 cheaper.

Description of Work
Replace several windows, a bay window, and install a sliding door

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience and for the feedback on product timing. We will be sure to incorporate additional notifications into the door lead time discussions when things return to some level of normalcy. Thank you again.
5.0

11/21/2019


Joseph C.

It went excellent! The quality of the work and the installation itself was amazing. We have special window quilts on our windows and they worked carefully around them to ensure they weren't damaged. I would highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Replaced all the windows on our home

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2017

5.0

11/14/2019


Gary A.

I highly recommend WoW for window replacement services - although I did not end up choosing them for my project. I called several companies to receive estimates for window replacement. Zach from WoW came out to review my project and provide an estimate for the job. He was totally professional and knowledgeable about all aspects of what I needed. He spent time thoroughly reviewing the windows and frames, answered all my questions, and provided very valuable information and advice on types and brands of windows. He did not talk other brands down but gave an informed comparison about what other brands offered vs. what his brand provided all without any pressure. His estimate was very competitive and for a very high quality window. After conducting exhaustive research on many different brands and types of windows, I found his product to be one of the best on the market. I did not choose it as I simply liked the appearance of a competitor's window. But it was a very close call as I traded off a higher quality window (what Zach was offering) for the appearance of a competitor's window. I also want to add that WoW has a great web site with such valuable information and its President, Eric Novotny actively participates in informational blogs as well. Whether or not you choose WoW for your windows, I highly recommend you contact them as one of your top resources for consideration of their product and their knowledge/information.

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Steven G.

WOW provided excellent service. From start to finish the project went smoothly and the final result was a much needed upgrade to our front and back patio doors. The installation crew really aimed at perfection and the attention to detail showed.

Description of Work
Double front door and five panel sliding glass patio door.

Category doors

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2019

5.0

09/15/2019


Grady H.

I was very pleased with your representative, Zach. He was professional, friendly, knowledgeable and straightforward. He was able to determine that we only needed to replace the window and not the window including the frame. He suggested contacting a glass company that specializes in just replacing the window as his company only does windows with framing. Zach's patience was exemplary in explaining our options so we completely understood the situation. Thank You.

Description of Work
Evaluate Broken Seal in Large Bathroom Window

Category replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to share your WoW experience. We proudly give the best advice possible when it comes to home improvement projects - even when it means we don't get the business! Hopefully, you were able to take care of the glass replacement in a cost effective way. Please keep us in mind if and when you're ready for new windows!
4.0

09/11/2019


M P.

So the front door is *spectacular*. It's the door I wanted for years, a Provia, and while I would've liked to have seen it before buying --the company's "showroom" is really, really basic ---I am very pleased with it. The garage entry door is certified fire rated, and while that is another one I would've like to have seen in person in advance--it is, for example, very heavy and the automatic close mechanism almost knocked us off our feet the first month or two until we figured out how to manage it (key: always keep one arm free and braced), again we are very pleased. A couple things: the sweep on the fire door tore within the first 3 months, even though it was only touching tile (no matter). The installer replaced it, though not without argument, saying it was "just going to happen again" and it was additionally "unneccessary." Someone should have discussed or mentioned this ahead of time. one door lockwas so loose it rattled. The threshold on the front door didn't match the trim when delivered on installation day and it isn't appropriate to ask someone already paying almost $10k for a door to accept this; when things go wrong (and any reasonable homeowner knows they inevitably DO go wrong, and it isn't necessarily someone's fault) just apologize to the customer, instead of blowing it off. A simple "we're sorry" goes a long way. Some equally-simple communication changes-- like when an order is a month late, just call the customer and own it right off -- would have changed a couple B ratings to A's. A year out, and I am still pleased with the result. I would recommend WOW and I would buy from again.

Description of Work
New exterior doors

Category doors

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2018

5.0

07/26/2019


JAMES Y.

Bottom line - Amazing - I'm so glad I went with WoW - Don't waste your time shopping around. Let's be honest - replacing 36 windows and a patio door isn't going to be fun. Its expensive and a huge pain. The worst part is probably shopping around and meeting with one sales guy after another who spends a ton of time measuring and talking to you about windows until your eyes roll back into your head. Windows on Washington made this process easy - from sales, to support to install. It was as easy as it gets. Sales - no pressure. Honest assessment - no one trying to rip you off or upsell you. Brandon from WoW actually downsold me and told me what I needed and what I didn't need. Talk about earning trust. What's more we completed the visit in 45 minutes - compare that to the large box store that spent 3 hours in my house while he clicked through a million options on his tablet and tried to upsell me again and again. Not to mention WoW had solutions for me - not problems. "Can you do this? Yes, we can do that." That's what I like to hear. Most importantly - it was less expensive and higher quality than that big box store. Ordering/Support - very communicative, very responsive and kept me updated throughout the process. Scheduling the install was easy. Thanks again for making this process painless. Installation - this is the part everyone dreads - almost as much as the sales call. I was told the installers would arrive between 8.30-9.30am. They arrived at 8.31 am and literally attacked my house laying down floor coverings and removing windows and getting the job done. At the end of Day 1 all the windows and the patio door were installed and the house was buttoned up. Day 2 was the final capping and trim work. These guys were amazing. I inspected everything and the work was impeccable. Would I use them again? In a heartbeat.

Description of Work
36 Windows Installed and Patio Door

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your start-to-finish review of our Team members, products and project management style. We work hard everyday to make sure that our clients have a great experience from the time our consultants come on site to provide a quote, to the office processing your order and communicating with you on next steps, and finally to the installers coming out for the main event. It was our pleasure to complete this project and we hope you enjoy the windows and doors for years to come!
5.0

06/19/2019


Chris E.

I was so pleasantly surprised on installation day - the installation team showed up right on time and went to work immediately. I've never seen a harder working, better organized work crew on any other project. There was no confusion ... everyone knew exactly what to do and they went about doing it in the most professional manner. Will absolutely hire again for any future needs.

Description of Work
We had 29 windows replaced, including two sliding glass doors.

Category replacement windows

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the glowing remarks about our installation team. They love hearing client feedback about their work - and very much appreciate your compliments! It was our pleasure to complete this project for you and we look forward to working together again on a future home improvement project.
5.0

05/18/2019


William H.

We are very pleased with our overall experience dealing with Windows on Washington. The salespeople were very knowledgeable and helpful, clearly explaining product line differences, the installation process, and differences in replacement window technology. After receiving quotes from three companies who offered different brands of replacement windows we chose Windows on Washington based on the quality of the replacement window they offered and their reputation. On installation day the Windows on Washington crew did an excellent job installing the windows. I was impressed with their attention to detail and the overall quality of their work. One of the primary reasons we selected Windows on Washington was the reviews citing the quality of the work and I was not disappointed. The 19 dual-pane Okna 800 windows they installed look very nice and we are happy with the overall quality of the windows. Compared to the original builder grade 1990 era windows they replaced we noticed an immediate drop in air leakage and solar heating. The windows were installed in the Aug/Sept of 2018, we are very happy with both their warm and cold weather performance.

Description of Work
Install replacement windows

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your WoW experience. We are thrilled that you've enjoyed your windows in both the cold and warm months and that their performance has made a noticeable difference in your home. We appreciate you placing your trust in our Team, and it was our pleasure to complete this project for you.
5.0

02/09/2019


Sandra O.

I had multiple quotes from different companies and decided to use Windows on Washington. I feel the installers are highly competent and allowed me to ask multiple questions during the install. The salesman was not pushy and highly responsive. Their back office is very responsive as well. I’ve had the windows over one year and we have had zero problems. Great experience!

Description of Work
Replacement windows entire house

Category replacement windows

Cost $1

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business - we appreciate you choosing WoW for your window, air sealing and gutter projects! The best compliment we can receive is our happy clients calling us back to complete another project on their home. We hope you enjoy your windows for years to come!
5.0

02/07/2019


David F.

Great job to the folks at WOW. Zach came in and was extremely friendly and helpful. He knew everything there was about the options available. (Sliding glass versus hinged, color options, levels of doors, etc). The installers (Young?)- I know I spelled that wrong.. they were exceptional and very friendly. They came in that afternoon and were gone in a day. If I have any other projects I will be using the company. Well done!

Description of Work
Installed a new hinged Kitchen Door.

Category doors

Cost $6,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2019

Images

Review for Windows on Washington - 23465 Rock Haven Way, Dulles, VA - 37703006

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with WoW - from initial consultation to final installation, our entire Team strives to exceed expectations. We appreciate the trust you placed in us to work on your home and will look forward to the opportunity to working together again on another home improvement project in the future!
5.0

02/05/2019


Arlen M.

Amazing all throughout the whole process, sales person was knowledgeable and nice. Had a small issue which was resolved quickly and communicating was always easy to do. Every single person responded to emails which was refreshing too. Windows are great and the install went smooth as well-actually ahead of schedule since it only took about 5-6 hours.

Description of Work
replacing 4 windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $3,468

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your WoW experience. It was our pleasure to complete your project and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your new windows!
5.0

11/11/2018


Mark L.

The salesperson was a bit late because he had been overscheduled, hence the B for punctuality, but he called before the scheduled time so it wasn't all that bad. Otherwise things went very well. They provided what I needed for approval from my HOA. (The cost reflects the paint job needed to get a color that would satisfy the HOA.) The installer was punctual and did a very good job.

Description of Work
two large (71 inch by 74 inch) windows, each with a transom and two sliders

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2018