Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brown & son Septic Service Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2008

Family owned & operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges apply. No service charges apply. Extra charge for after hours services apple.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(54) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 54 reviews
Christian K.
5.0
01/21/2021
Called ahead, showed up on time, and performed service as requested.
Description of Work
Pumped tank
Category
septic tank
Kathleen H.
5.0
01/18/2019
After a couple of missed signals, they set a time, arrived exactly when they said they would, did an excellent job of not creating a muddy mess in a wet yard, and cleaned the tank quickly and efficiently.
Description of Work
Our septic tank was due to be pumped.
Category
septic tank
Michael L.
5.0
07/02/2018
Very well. Congenial and professional, first rate.
Description of Work
Pump out of septic tank and inspect integrity of tank.
Category
septic tank
David E.
5.0
09/14/2016
Perfectly. They pumped the tank and helped us locate outflow pipes in preparation for landscape work that could have damage the septic system if the pipes weren't properly marked. They are a well run family business.
Description of Work
Septic tank pump out
Category
septic tank
Hillary S.
5.0
04/05/2016
They were timely and did exactly what they said they would do. I appreciated their professionalism and will definitely use them in the future. I asked for advice on what to plant on septic field (besides grass) and they gave me good advice.
Description of Work
They cleaned our our septic tank.
Category
septic tank
Anne-Marie S.
5.0
03/25/2016
Great! I could not have hoped for better service. They were punctual, professional, knowledgable and reasonably priced. They determined our septic system was operating fine, so was not the source of the odor. They inspected what they could on the inside of my house to try to identify the problem and ruled out any obvious/visible problems. This gave me the information I needed to call a plumber and isolate the problem (saving me money on the plumber bill). Wonderful people to deal with. Highly recommend them!
Description of Work
Inspected septic tank and areas inside the house to identify source of septic odor inside house. Pumped septic tank.
Category
septic tank
Stephen Z.
5.0
08/28/2015
Arrived on time. Pumped tank in about an hour. Very nice man, courteous. Not much to it. Said I should get it pump more often. I would use him again.
Description of Work
Pump out septic tank
Category
septic tank
Geoffrey B.
2.0
06/07/2015
Provider's listing says 'service area all of Virginia' but when called they said they don't service Loudon because its too far.
Description of Work
NA
Category
septic tank
Martin F.
5.0
05/06/2015
they were great. Came from spotsilvsinia to help me because I could not get any one from stafford to my house that was reputable. This is a family run busness and after speaking with the dad on the phone I would have hired them no matter what the price. They are truely a five star company who has earned my trust. If I did not already have a contract to replace my HVAC I would have used there HVAC a service. If you are looking for quality work from someone you can trust then use this company.
Description of Work
replace pump, floats, septic cover, and electric box
Category
septic tank
Clay R.
2.0
04/28/2014
I called the number provided in listing after seeing that this provider advertises that they service and quot;Entire state of Virginiaand quot;. When the person picked up the phone, I explained what was needed, and received the response and quot;To be honest, I don't really like dealing with Prince William County, and just prefer not to do that.and quot;
Description of Work
This provider "Prefers not to deal with Prince William county", so they did nothing but answer the phone.
Category
septic tank
Michael D.
2.0
04/26/2014
I was quoted a price of $350.00 to drain my septic tank. The problem is that price is $120.00 OVER any other septic service provider in my area for the same job. I'm sure Brown and Son Septic Service Inc. does a very good job. But I can't justify $120.00 difference.
Description of Work
I was quoted a price of $350.00 to drain my septic tank. The problem is that price is $120.00 OVER any other septic service provider in my area for the same job. I'm sure Brown & Son Septic Service Inc. does a very good job. But I can't justify $120.00 difference.
Category
septic tank
PAM H.
5.0
09/30/2013
Have used this company several times before for regular maintenance. You cannot do better than Wayne Brown and his son...every call is answered right away, the work is prompt and done well and the price is fair. It's a relief to know that no matter what goes wrong, help is not far away and it'll get done right.
Description of Work
Had septic tank pumped...regular maintenance.
Category
septic tank
Elizabeth R.
5.0
07/08/2013
They did a great job. I would use them again. They were very thorough.
Description of Work
They had to drain a septic tank.
Category
septic tank
Eric M.
5.0
06/18/2013
This is our first experience with a septic tank. Although it began to pour down rain, they answered all my questions with explicit detail. Two questions, I asked twice to ensure my understanding. The brouchure was also very informative. They were very professional and personable. I highly reccommend Brown and Son for efficiency and service.
Description of Work
Brown and Son check our septic tank for functionality and pumped it.
Category
septic tank
Douglas W.
4.0
06/17/2013
This is a father/son operation and not really set up for super customer service. You generally are calling one of their cell phones, and they are on a job and it possibly a poor signal so you can't hear well. The first appointment was missed. I called when they were a half hour late, and it turns out father had put me on the opposite side of the schedule page and missed it. so we had to reschedule. Son came out initially and was pretty punctual for the rescheduled appointment. Since this was the first pumping, we had to locate the septic tank. Fortunately, I had already pulled the permit from my files, so we had an idea where it was. That day, he located a turn in the pipes and the manifold, and said he would have to come back out to run a snake from the manifold to find the tank since he couldn't locate it. He said he would get back to me, which didn't happen. I had to call twice to get them back out, which happened nearly two weeks later. They did call back and leave a message the first time, and the second time, I had to call back and leave a message whether they were going to finish the job. Finally, a woman, probably one of the Brown's wife, called to find out who I was (she had to look the job up by address even though I'd left my name). That said,son Brown was out the next morning (however, without letting me know he was coming), found the tank pretty quickly, and pumped it out in under an hour. Very nice guy, put everything back the way it was, and made sure I knew where the tank, the manifold, and the drain field are. I have the feeling they handle emergencies much more quickly. I would use them again, especially now that we know where the drain field is.
Description of Work
Pumped out septic tank.
Category
septic tank
Aldin K.
2.0
06/13/2013
Ok on Septic tank pump. We wanted a visual inspection on our drain field, as was required by the buyer when we sold the house. Mr. Brown refused. He was uncooperative..
Description of Work
Septic tank pump.
Category
septic tank
Barbara G.
5.0
04/15/2013
It was a good experience!!
Description of Work
The son of the owner did my job. He was very personable and explained everything in detail and answered all my questions! I plan to hire Brown & Son for another job at a different property!!
Category
septic tank
Richard Betsy A.
5.0
04/08/2013
We moved to the 'country' four years ago for the first time. We have never been on a septic system before. Somewhere we learned we should have it pumped every 3-4 years. Since we only have 2 or 3 at home most of the time and we are very careful about what goes down the drain, we pushed it to four. Mr. made the appointment and Mrs. was here when the man arrived. He was professional all the way, and was happy to answer the questions we had. We will certainly call this aptly-named company (just had to say it) again in four more years.
Description of Work
Professional service from beginning to end. What more is there to say?
Category
septic tank
Lynn K.
5.0
04/08/2013
See details in and quot;service performedand quot; section.
Description of Work
Called Brown & Son to have septic tank pumped as we have been in our house for seven years and thought it was time to have the tank pumped. Company was very responsive and very nice. Gentleman came out; located the tank (which was not really where one would expect it to be), and pumped/cleaned out the tank. He explained how system worked, what he was doing, asking questions, i.e., any problems, etc. He was very nice and knew what he was doing. He said that if we had any questions or problems, just to call.
Category
septic tank
robin W.
5.0
03/21/2013
I called to see if they serviced my area (they do not). Mr. Brown asked what my problem/issue was and I told him that at this time I did not have any, just wanted to get the septic emptied before I had a problem. He spoke to me for several minutes to tell me things to look out for no matter which company I used and if I had any questions or concerns while the company I wind up using is working to call him back and he would be more than willing to answer any questions. Too bad they do not service Southern Maryland……..
Description of Work
None
Category
septic tank
Joe W.
5.0
03/12/2013
Excellent service. High level alarm activated, and Mr. Brown (the owner) first walked me through a step over the phone (set switch to and quot;handand quot;) to see if the situation could be corrected without a visit. When it did not, he instructed me not to run the water (dishwasher, washing machine, etc) and they added me to their schedule for later in the day (they were on a job when I called). They pumped out the pump station (to ensure that it did not back up into the basement), and determined that the pump was bad. They needed to come back the next day with the pump and one other son (the electrical expert), installed the pump, and re-wired the electrical (which was in bad shape). They were very responsive and professional, and I would recommend them to anyone as a dependable, reliable service provider.
Description of Work
Pumped out Pump Station, replaced 3 floats, the pump, and replaced wiring.
Category
septic tank
Richard F.
5.0
03/04/2013
A middle of the night toilet overflow flooded three rooms of the ground floor of our house. Fearing a septic tank failure I turned off the water and checking Angie's List called Brown and Sons. Arriving on schedule early the next morning, they pumped and checked the septic tank - which they assured us was functional and working. After confirming that our problem was in the main line to the tank they removed the ground floor toilet and cleared the line, while simultaneously seeking to determine where and how in the line the blockage had occurred - but were unable to do so at that time. They reinstalled the toilet, caulked the seam and left the bathroom clean and usable. Throughout they were informative, pleasant and professional. They listened to our questions and gave meaningful answers and advice. The work was excellent and efficiently performed. They are on my preferred list of contacts for problems relating to septic and drains.
Description of Work
Fearing a failed septic tank had caused our ground floor flooding we called Brown & Sons to pump the septic tank and examined its condition. They determined that the tank was is excellent condition, and that a blocked line between house and tank had caused the backup. Cleared line but were unable to determine exact cause.
Category
septic tank, drain cleaning
IMRAN S.
5.0
02/25/2013
I came down to my basement / den on Saturday morning to find a horrible stench. It smelled like a sewer! (or more likely a septic tank leak, since we don't have a sewer, we have septic tanks here in Clifton, VA). Fearing a septic pump failure, I got on Angie's list to try to find septic service providers. Called 4 different companies, but hit voicemail at them all. None of them seemed to have weekend service. Then I called Brown and Son, and Mr. Brown picked up. The details of how he helped me are in the and quot;Services performedand quot; section. In a nutshell: Mr. Brown is a rarity in the world of service providers. He has a wealth of knowledge and was able to help me diagnose the problem, recommend a solution, and then even called a few hours later to follow up - all this in spite of the fact that his company doesn't even service my area. To be frank, like many others on Agie's List I have been and quot;burnedand quot; by service providers in the past. Mr. Brown totally changed my perception. I would most highly recommend him and his company Brown and Son
Description of Work
Mr. Brown is a rarity - a service provider who goes well above and beyond and truly cares. I called 4 different septic service providers on a Saturday afternoon, and Mr. Brown was the only one I got through to. He picked up the call himself. Unfortunately he does not actually service my area, but when I explained what the problem was that I needed help with, he immediately started thinking about it. He asked me a couple of diagnostic questions and then suggested a fix that I could do by myself. I went ahead and tried what he suggested and it worked! Not only did he provide me some very helpful advice that actually solved my problem, he also did something that I have never had a service provider do. He took the time to call me back several hours later, to follow up! Again, he doesn't even service my neighborhood, but he still took the time to do all this. Tells me that he genuinely cares and wants to be of help. I would most highly recommend him.
Category
septic tank, drain cleaning
Wendi W.
5.0
02/17/2013
Our septic system backed up on a weekend. We called several companies and Brown's was the only one to call us back. When we explained the problem we were having, Brown's stated that they would be out within an hour. They were there on time and were so professional. They stayed until we had our system up and running. We also had a clog of soap scum which they made sure it was all cleared out before they left. We were very pleased that someone would come out on a Sunday (with an extra charge) but it was worth it! I have used Brown's before and I will definitely be calling them the next time!!
Description of Work
Our septic system backed up over the weekend. The tank needed to be pumped out as it was full.
Category
septic tank
Vance H.
5.0
01/16/2013
Arrived on time, listened to explanation of problem and solved it quickly.
Description of Work
On time and provided exceptional service
Category
septic tank

Phone

Address

19292 Clearview Ln

Culpeper, VA 22701

Other Information

Services offered

Septic tank pumping, repair, drain cleaning & portable toilets.

Services not offered

Plumbing

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Brown & son Septic Service Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Brown & son Septic Service Inc is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Brown & son Septic Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Brown & son Septic Service Inc offers free project estimates.

No, Brown & son Septic Service Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Brown & son Septic Service Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Brown & son Septic Service Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Brown & son Septic Service Inc offers warranties.

Brown & son Septic Service Inc offers the following services: Septic tank pumping, repair, drain cleaning & portable toilets.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

The Pipe Doctor Plumbing Service

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

The Pipe Doctor Plumbing Service

We are a family business that is locally owned and operated. We are able to handle the smallest of jobs to the largest of jobs. Leaking faucets to main sewer and water line excavation. We are a small family owned business which allows us to send you a master plumber on every service call at a price much lower than the large plumbing companies. Top quality work at a fair price. We proudly service all of northern and central virginia including Fairfax, Springfield, Arlington, Loudoun county, Woodbridge, Manassas, Stafford, Fredericksburg Additional phone number: 540-424-9497  

F.H. Furr Plumbing Heating AC & Electrical

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

F.H. Furr Plumbing Heating AC & Electrical

F.H. Furr provides residential products and services in the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and electrical business. They put their customers first and provide them with quality products from trained technicians. F.H. Furr has committed to the highest degree of professional development and training in the industry, to work diligently in exceeding every expectation of the client in need. Based out of Manassas, Va., the company has expanded throughout Northern Va., Rockville, Md., Fredericksburg, and Richmond, Va. Whether you need plumbing, heating, cooling, or electrical repairs or replacements, call on F.H. Furr for "Absolutely The Best" service!  

At GK Plumbing Services we are extremely passionate about the work that we do. You can depend on us to provide a high quality service at a fair and honest price. We understand that the future of our business depends upon our reputation and that is why customer service is by far our highest priority. If you are looking for a professional you can trust, please call today to schedule a no obligation estimate!