Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

J WORDEN & SONS PAVING

Founded 1992 • With Angi since November 2012

4.5

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1601 Ware Bottom Spring Rd Suite 214

Chester, VA 23836

Description

Richmond Asphalt Paving is a family-owned and operated Richmond Paving Company providing paving services for over 40 years! We handle a wide variety of commercial and residential projects for clients. And, we couldn’t have done it without our dedicated staff. Our employees have spent most of their lives working in the construction business and know the in’s and out’s of everything to due with paving and hardscapes. With our attention to detail and dedication to delivering the highest quality work possible, you can rest assured knowing that your project is in the hands of an extremely talented, trustworthy, and experienced team of employees. Additional DBA - J Worden & Sons Paving LLC ....
Driveway paving  project
Driveway paving

driveway pavers

202223832

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/12/2021


Christopher M.

No call no show stop responding ask for refund have not heard back.

Description of Work
Asphalt grading

Category concrete repair, driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Not us I haven’t no one with your name in my system And we were on a project in South Carolina at that time
5.0

01/30/2017


Todd H.

Overall, very pleased.

Description of Work
Remove old asphalt driveway, cut out roots and regrade. Put down new base and lay new asphalt drive. Work was done cleanly, professionally and over a two day period which was the plan. Overall, I was very happy with the price and quality of the service

Category driveway pavers

1.0

09/20/2016


David B.

I was contacted at ~ noon and was told that the contractor would be there at 2:45 pm on that day, a Thursday. The designated time came and went. A call to the contact number resulted in a mail box full error. Even though the contractor had my contact information, I did not hear from him until Monday. The reason/excuse for missing our first appointment was an accident regarding one of the drivers. After talking with the contractor regarding the options, I had a verbal quote for both options. I provided my email address and fully expected a written quote and a scope of work within 1-2 days. It has now been 5 weeks without a call or an email so I have concluded that this contractor didn't want my business.

Description of Work
I have an asphalt driveway that is 27 years old. I wanted to consult with a contractor to clarify my options. It was a decision regarding patching problem areas or taking up the old driveway and replacing it. Obviously I was interested in the cost of either option and which would be the best long-term solution.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

We have no record of you Are you sure it wasn't WordenPaving Which is a different company We have been working for Kfc for years now And haven't done much paving around home
5.0

04/05/2016


Michael L.

I saw a sign in a driveway of a colleague and my wife and I were very impressed with the work. I called back in June of 2015 and worked with Michael from Worden and Sons Paving and he gave me the quote, however we made a decision to not go with it due to a financial emergency that did not allow us to invest in the work. March of 2016 I was looking through e-mails and found the quote and when I called about if they would honor the quote from 9 months earlier he said absolutely!! Not only did he honor the quote he scheduled and within 2 weeks of inquiring we had our BEAUTIFUL new DRIVEWAY in place. What I love the most is this is a family business and Michael was very proud of the fact that the people who are working with him worked with his grandfather. Loyalty, Responsiveness, Quality and Efficient Work. I feel we received the full value from the work provided.

Description of Work
Paved driveway with asphalt and added sealant to the coat.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, driveway pavers

3.0

01/29/2016


mark W.

Description of Work
Although the price and eventual work was performed, it took a while. The job required rework and they were not happy about it.

Category driveway pavers

4.0

07/28/2015


Stephen K.

After providing a detailed quote, Michael Worden stayed in touch and provided detailed description of proposed work. This was a modification to an existing asphalt driveway to include a new ramp and extension for a detached 2-car garage. Some excavation and patching work also had to be performed. The project was done as scheduled in one-day and we are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Installed asphalt driveway for new garage.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

04/24/2015


Jaclyn F.

We recently finished building a house so we've been through the ringer with contractors, sub contractors and even a masonry/ driveway company. Now we do our research. We had a major drainage issue in a brand new pea gravel driveway. Since November we had a pond and sometimes an ice skating rink on one side of the driveway. It was horrible. We paid a lot for the driveway but we knew we were going to have to find someone to fix it. I found reviews about Gene and his company online. I contacted him and he answered the phone, he came out and met with my husband and I late in the evening. We asked him for references and addresses to see similar work. I called every reference and we drove by the addresses, all of his consumers were happy with his work and his work had lasted with no issues. We moved forward with the project and in 4 days (one being a Saturday and the other being a total wash out due to rain) the driveway was done! It's beautiful, it drains perfectly and I couldn't have been happier with Gene's communication and his team's professionalism. They truly care about their work! I'm thankful we found them.

Description of Work
Gene and his crew created a drainage system in our driveway and paved it.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

04/16/2015


Stanley W.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

03/10/2015


matthew F.

J Warden and Sons has over 40 yrs experience and equipment to do anything. I called them based on a referral and Gene called me back that afternoon. That same evening he came over to to a site inspection and talk about what my concerns were for the project (which I had) I had just finished building a small garage in my back yard and we had to attached the new driveway to the apron, Level off several areas including one in particular. Then install 2 small retaining walls next to the home for a nice 'Finished look' I have never written a review before. Usually you get what you pay for and move on. I had a particular vision in mind when I explained the project to Gene Warden and he exceeded my expectations. (hence my first written review) Gene is a third generation paver, representing the company well. Gene's demeanor, willingness to cooperation was such a breath of fresh air. His workers were punctual, professional, demonstrating the attention to detail I requested even though it was a much smaller job than they were accustom too. They also do concrete, seal coating and Hardscapes (which they a particularity so good at it is taking his business to another level. I witnessed this. I will refer business to Gene at J Warden and Sons in the future. Dependable, Honest with great workers that care and have integrity you can see. Yes, he might be old school but where I come from a handshake goes a long way.

Description of Work
Excavate 27 yr old driveway, haul away. Place new sub stone down, realign in certain areas add a significant amount in others. Add 2 small retaining walls on right side of driveway during process and cap. Install 3" of asphalt on new surface adjoining my new garage and seal.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, driveway pavers, hardscaping

5.0

01/13/2015


Amy B.

Description of Work
Paved driveway. They were awesome to work with- very professional and completed high quality work. Cleaned up area nicely when they were finished too.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

07/09/2014


Cheryl E.

I spent about $300. They came out on time and I was pleased with the job they did. They gave me a number of different options and they did a nice job, they didn't make a mess and I liked that.

Description of Work
I used J Worden & Sons Paving to have the asphalt driveway sealed a month ago.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

04/28/2014


Cathy G.

We got him from Angie's List and he did a fine job. They did what they said they were going to do and the work looked good. The process was timely, the price was good and we were happy.

Description of Work
I used J. Worden & Sons Paving and Sealcoating for paving services.

Category concrete repair

5.0

01/17/2014


Lynwood F.

They did exactly what they said they would do and did a great job.

Description of Work
Paved the driveway, added cobblestone borders and paved a parking area in front.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business
5.0

09/15/2013


Jeff P.

After receiving four (4) bids for the work we decided to go with J. Worden and Sons. They were not the cheapest however their responsiveness and references were strong. After a delay for equipment issues the work proceeded smoothly. The removal of the concrete apron pad took longer than expected due to the thickness of the concrete. A few days after the work was completed we noticed a drainage issue with the end of the driveway. We called and the next day a team was dispatched to correct the issue. Since the repair we received two (2) follow up calls to find out if all was well with the driveway. We certainly would consider J. Worden and Sons in the future.

Description of Work
- excavate and grade entire driveway - applied weed killer to control vegetation - remove concrete apron pad at end of driveway - haul all debris to landfill - grade driveway for proper water drainage - apply 3" of 9.5 hot driveway asphalt mix compacted to 2.5" after rolled

Category pavers, gravel, driveway pavers, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the work !!!
5.0

06/03/2013


Rusty L.

The job was very good. We had an issue with Trying to use a credit card which they advertised they accepted). After that was resolved, all went well. The company is accessible and responsive. The quality of work was great They were careful and clean.

Description of Work
Resurfaced the driveway

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the work
5.0

12/04/2012


Rachel E M.

They did a wonderful job! We really appreciated their quick work as well as their willingness to work around schedules and the weather (had to reschedule several times due to rainy weather). They also provided us with care instructions pertaining to the drying time, etc. We received several quotes from different companies, but we were impressed by how knowledgeable they were.

Description of Work
Driveway was completely blown and scrubbed clean using a wire brush (we had a fair amount of moss build up). Then all cracks were filled and a thick layer of sealer was applied.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the work!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Quality Masonry Care

    Quality Masonry Care is a family and locally owned and operated business with more than 20 years of experience in masonry, paving, power washing and basement foundation work. Same-day service is available. Ask about our warranties and guarantees when you call.  

    ASAP Paving

    ASAP Paving is a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. My family has been in the Paving industry since 1965 and our crew has over 40 years of combined experience. My brother and I been doing this work since we were children and we like to take our time to make sure you're happy. Our customers look to us for great quality and incredible services. We are a family run company. My brother and myself know we provide quality work, so we decided to get together and show the public our work! We won't leave until you are satisfied! Call or click to schedule an estimate today  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Edward Smith Paving

    Keep your parking areas in top condition by working with an asphalt and pavement contractor in Chester, VA. The professionals at Edward Smith Paving know how to address all your paving jobs, and we offer maintenance services to keep these areas stable and smooth. We have competitive rates, and you’ll appreciate our great service. We’re a locally owned and operated company offering a full range of services for your asphalt areas. We work on all types of jobs, from large parking lots to single-car driveways. We offer prompt project completion, and we pay close attention to detail on every job. Family owned and operated, all work guaranteed! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Asphalt paving. Sealing. Concrete driveways. Sidewalks. Hardscapes. Natural stone & brick pavers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J WORDEN & SONS PAVING

    How is J WORDEN & SONS PAVING overall rated?

    J WORDEN & SONS PAVING is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are J WORDEN & SONS PAVING open?

    J WORDEN & SONS PAVING is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING provide

    J WORDEN & SONS PAVING accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offer free estimates?

    Yes, J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offers free project estimates.

    Does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offer a senior discount?

    No, J WORDEN & SONS PAVING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offer emergency services?

    Yes, J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by J WORDEN & SONS PAVING?

    Yes, J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offers warranties.

    What services does J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offer?

    J WORDEN & SONS PAVING offers the following services: Asphalt paving. Sealing. Concrete driveways. Sidewalks. Hardscapes. Natural stone & brick pavers.