Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping

Founded 1985 • With Angi since May 2006

3.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

225 Sign Pine Rd

Chesapeake, VA 23322

Description

Additional contact names - Jon Lucas, Robert Nye. Additional e-mails - jonl@basnightlandandlawn.com, robertn@basnightlandandlawn.com.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Lori W.
4.0
07/18/2017
Looks beautiful!
Description of Work
Hardscape and landscaping.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Jimmy D.
5.0
03/30/2017
It hasn't. I have not gotten any warm fuzzies from these folks but I'm going by their physical facilty shortly and will not post this review if there is any difference.
Description of Work
They have the contract in Riverwalk. It's so hard to find good lawn service. They do a good job here so thought I would find out if they would take over my townhome lawn. Unfortunately, they are not taking on clients my size but the office staff person was very courteous and deserves an A for professionalism.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Anita D.
1.0
03/11/2016
unknown
Category
concrete repair, landscaping

Service Provider Response

Your project was completed back in 2008 and all your concerns were handled during the final stages and walk through. Do you have us confused with another contractor who worked in your yard recently? I personally walked the yard with you when completed and collected the final payment upon your satisfaction. You even had us back in 2010 to do a clean-up & re-mulch, but that was our last project together.
David P.
4.0
11/11/2015
Generally all went well. Occasionally I had to point out areas of concern but they always took care of anything I mentioned.
Description of Work
All landscaping services.
Category
landscaping
Peter S.
2.0
10/19/2015
Felt like my service request was too little for there workload. Never felt like a valued customer.
Description of Work
Sprinkler service repair. When I requested additional service, and after waiting six weeks for a response, I abandon there service for a better provider.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
Melissa K.
3.0
10/06/2015
Called to get someone to our house for an estimate on establishing a new lawn and finally after 2+ weeks got an appointment for them to come out. In that time I was able to get several estimates from other lawn care providers and decided to go with Agronomic Lawn Management instead. I know Basnight does excellent work but they just don't seem to care much about new business. I called ALM on a Friday and they were here on Monday. That's how you get new business.
Description of Work
New lawn
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Carol C.
1.0
06/23/2015
So Basnight did come out, and turned the well back on, and because my irrigation co had come and gone, i asked them to also turn the irrigation controls on. Then there appeared to be a leak near the front sidewalk, and I asked them to look at it, since it WAS Not leaking before they had put in the new zone. The guy told me my heads in the very front of my yard were faulty and needed to be replaced, pretty expensive, he said, I said, no, they have never leaked, or caused problems. I called my old company and asked them to schedule a trip, they came, I had to pay them again, the heads were not broken, they needed to be adjusted. They said winterizing twice the previous fall caused the issue. I had to winterize twice, because the HOA's company, Basnight. was behind, and didn't get to my house until after chances of cold temps. Then Basnight kept billing me alot for the minuscule amount of work they had done, which shocked me, because they were the ones that had caused the situation. I called them twice before they stopped billlng me. they should have billed the HOA, if anyone!! By the way, there was a one year guarantee from Basnight for any work that stemmed from the addition of zones to my system, and since we had NO CHOICE from the HOA over adding the zone, I held Basnight responsible to help restart the system, they are the last ones that shut it down. I have found a new company, since my old company is no longer making the trip from Richmond to VB.
Description of Work
They originally installed a new zone in the common area in front of my house paid for by the HOA. The next spring my regular irrigation co came out to start up the system, and couldn't because Basnight had disconnected the well, and they didn't want to fool with it. So I called Basnight to come and turn the well back on. While there, I asked them to start the irrigation system as well. I already had paid my previous co to come out, wasn't their fault Basnight had turned off the well. I was unaware the well had been turned off. AGAIN, I didn't hire this company, The HOA did.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Timothy M.
5.0
05/04/2015
They were thorough and did exactly what I wanted. They got the exact plan that we requested and I had no problems with them.
Description of Work
We had landscaping and pavers put in. They planted shrubbery and did a paver walkway.
Category
hardscaping
Patrick G.
5.0
04/07/2015
Basnight did an excellent job. We had several problems and improvements to accommodate in one project, including a need to replace back steps and a back door stoop or landing, new walkways to our house and pool, and a bad drainage problem behind our house. Chris Basnight designed a patio and walkways built out of permeable pavers with a large drainage field underneath, that appears to have solved the drainage issue while giving us beautiful walkways and a nice entrance to the back of the house. Basnight's paver crew was headed by Brandol. They worked very hard through very cold weather in February. Brandol is a craftsman. He was very meticulous about getting the project done right and hand-cut and fit the pavers so that they all fit together tightly. Brandol also came up with several very good suggestions on how to make the project better. Basnight also replaced large sections of wooden yard fence that was badly deteriorated. The new fence came out very nice as well. We had a couple of minor issues that I thought needed correction, and they came out and fixed them, and did a couple of other "tune up" items on the fence that I hadn't even asked for. I would recommend Basnight without hesitation.
Description of Work
Paver walkways, patio, ramp to pool deck; paver back porch, fence replacement.
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. (member name removed), we appreciate the kind words.
Philippina W.
1.0
06/09/2014
unknown
Description of Work
After initial contact they asked me for pictures and more details, I submitted those and they never responded back to me.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Our records show you called back in September 2013, our company made several attempts to contact you by phone and also followed up with an email on September 15, 2013. Our calls and email went un-answered, I do apologize that we were not able to make a connection, but I would hope you'd understand we tried.
Steve R.
1.0
05/27/2014
I have contacted Basnight Land and Lawn Inc. three different times over the past two years. Each time I was promised that someone would get back with me in a week. Not being responsive up front is bad enough but when you never get a return call ...that is just absolutely horrible customer service. Each time I was told a REP would call me within a week to set up an appointment. I don't know who you have to be or what you need done to get a response. I found more customer oriented vendors who are great at what they do and treat customers with respect.
Description of Work
Absolutely nothing because they never followed up with me like they told me they would.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Our records show you contacted our company in October of 2007, but nothing since that date. When a call comes into our front desk, the homeowner's information is entered into our system and a file is created. That way we can follow up on the file once all pertinent information is collected. Not sure if you are contacting us during normal business hours, or you may have gotten to our answering service. Either way we show no record of your contact attempts. I do sincerely apologize for your experience and hope you will call us for any future work at 757-436-9617.
Martin S.
5.0
04/17/2014
Christian Basnight contacted me, visited my home, inspected the landscaping, and made suggestions to correct problems noticed. Because of critical family stress, he apologized for his previous lack of response to my requests. I accepted his apologies and can certainly understand his situation. Using his suggestions, we decided to replace the diseased knock-out roses with and quot;red ladyand quot; hydrangeas, and add and quot;stella doraand quot; day lilies as borders in specific locations. Following his visit and inspection, Chris worked up a contract detailing the detailed items and process. The job was completed on April 16, 2014. From Chris' initial contact to completed project, the process took about 1 month. Thank you Christian Basnight for the beautifully installed addition to our landscaping.
Description of Work
remove diseased knock-out roses and replace with "red lady hydrangeas", plant "stella dora" day lilies.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Amber P.
3.0
03/27/2014
First of all, I do want to say that the hardscape job was wonderful and everything I expected!!! Also, my salesman was very responsive to my phone calls. BUT.... The landscaping job was horrible!! 4 of my palm trees died when they moved them over 6 foot. Several bushes died as they replanted them along back side of fence (which they weren't even supposed to do) The weeding was non existent. They just sprayed weed killer and mulched over....never removing the dead brown grass or weeds they killed. I complained about the weeds and grass that sprouted up almost just a week after they mulched newer areas in my yard and they came and sprayed again-and again leaving the dead brown grass and weeds there. They placed mulch in the front of my yard at two different times, so with the rain and/or sunshine on the first half made the second half look like a completely different color. I complained several times with no real satisfaction or improvement. I saw Mr. Basnight out in the community during the late fall/winter and we discussed my concerns. I am to call this spring for them to come out and transplant other palms in my yard to replace the dead ones. That is the only thing I will ask from them, as I am not impressed with their landscaping skills at all. Wish me luck!
Description of Work
Hardcape: Basnight put in new pavers (pool deck) around my pool, built a stone firepit, built new round paver staricase to back door, and extended the pavers out from the existing concrete. Landscape: mulching, weeding, bush trimming, removal and replanting of palm trees to extend patio deck, and landscape rocks.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service, hardscaping, patios
Holly P.
5.0
03/05/2014
The work was done quickly and to a very high quality. The beds that were rehab'd look better than they have since owning the house, and the expansion of the bed in front of the house looks wonderful. They even offered to move and replant a few viable plants from one area's redo to a nice spot in the back yard, which was a nice addition. We plan to have them come back in the spring to refresh the areas and potentially take care of a few more spots.
Description of Work
Replacement and renovation of existing flower/shrub beds; expansion of flower bed on front of house.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
John C.
4.0
08/23/2013
After Robert came back to our residence with a sketch showing the plantings, transplants and other work to be done, he went over the questions we had and we were satisfied we were all on the same page. We decided to allow Basnight to do the job.
Description of Work
We walked the property with Robert and explained what we wanted removed, transplanted and planted. He lstened to what we wanted, explained what they would do and was very attentive to our concerns. When we called with questions he as always available,
Category
landscaping
Raymond D.
5.0
04/16/2013
unknown
Description of Work
Basnight installed our soft and hard landscape and did a fantastic job. They are very professional, timely and responsive.
Category
landscaping
FARHANA K.
3.0
06/17/2012
They are my current landscapers. I like their quality of work, as a result I am keeping them
Description of Work
Their work quality is good. They are professional. When a problem occurs, that is when trouble starts is it takes longer and response may not be adequate. They are also pricy. I would prefer a self owned businessman where I can deal with the person directly. However, Greg Thompson is probably the best person in the company to work with. He is professional.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
John W.
5.0
05/29/2012
The free consultation and preliminary budget proposal allowed us to realize we would need to complete in phases. Christian listened to our desires and provided solutions to concerns while providing a beautiful landscape plan and paver patio, he provided photos of all the items, and helped us understand to overall design. He broke the final plan and proposal into multiple phases to allow us to complete things in order of importance. Weather delayed the original install date but we were keep informed. They were on time, very professional and crew installed the project just as it was explained by the designer. We could not be happier and will be calling them for the next phase in the near future.
Description of Work
Basnight completed an overall design for a multi-phase plan. Landscape installation, irrigation system, paver patio, drainage system and a new rear lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping
MAUREEN O.
5.0
04/13/2012
I have been through so many different lawn services. I could write a book on the horrors of lawn service. These people are reliable, expert, and hardworking. They put such care and pride into what they do. They are excellent with customer service. The pricing is a little bit on the high end, but they do more than most services do.
Description of Work
I use them for monthly lawn care.
Category
lawn service
Jennifer W.
5.0
03/30/2012
They give excellent service and are very good at what they do. We would definitely use again.
Description of Work
Put in alumni edging on the much edging and seeding aeration.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
Art L.
5.0
08/11/2010
I thought that they were really good and that they did a great job. They knew what they were doing and knowledgeable in all aspects of landscaping and irrigation. They solved the problems that we had. They were very conscientious in their work.
Description of Work
Basnight Land and Lawn Inc put in a new drainage system in the yard to get rid of all the water in the foundation. They also put in a new irrigation system and other usual landscaping stuff.
Category
landscaping
JILL W.
2.0
11/04/2009
Not well. Delayed after repeated phone calls. We would like to keep good relations with Basnight. We also would like to keep our good credit. We haven't paid for Aug through Oct because we're disputing their service. If needed, we have digital pictures that show current state of landscaping.
Description of Work
We signed a bi-monthly a yearly grounds maintenance contract on 6/15/09 for $275.00 per month. Once finalized, Basnight conducted a site survey 7/28/09 and concluded a more extensive "front yard landscape summer cleanup" was required before monthly service began. Cost estimated at $1817.49, work completed 8/4/09 and paid in full. Grounds Maintenance contract scope of work included bi-monthly clean up of: all trash and debris removed from property every visit. Falling leaves removed each visit during fall and winter. All beds and hard surfaces will be maintained throughout the year thru use of pre- and post-emergence herbicide and hand-pulling. Shrubs within landscape beds will be pruned as needed during growing season or to enhance beauty. All beds will be re-mulched using shredded hardwood mulch one time per year. Core aerate and overseed in fall at 3-7 lbs er 1000 square feet using certificed hybrid fescue.Seasonal color will be planted bi-annually at areas designated. At total of 80 six-inch annuals will be planted per year (60 per season). tree and Shrub Application included: Integrated pest management program. Insecticide, Fungicide and Miticide applications are done on an "as needed" basis. However, no work was completed in either Aug or Sept. Called Bob Gurkin who was main POC. He handed our account to Brent Carter who would promise to come out in next two weeks in Sept. Did not arrive. Called last week in Sept to confirm appt. Arrived 2 Oct. Conducted weeding of landscape beds in front yard. Recent conversation last week with Brent Carter indicated he was told that plants were not part of the contract. 15.
Category
landscaping
LEONOR M.
4.0
02/12/2007
I decided at the last minute during middle of landscaping job to remove a huge tree. Basnight was able to work in the tree removal without delaying the rest of the work. They gave a wrong estimate of $800 at first but turned out that it cost $1,125 once they measured the actual height of the tree I guess. Regardless, the tree had to go and we ended up spending that much to get it removed. They did a good job and I'd trust their tree removal service again. You'd never know there was ever a tree there. I was hoping we'd get to keep some wood for our fireplace but they were too quick to remove the tree that it was too late to ask. I kind of wish they made that option available beforehand.
Description of Work
Basnight removed a huge 65 foot tree and ground the stump from our yard in only two days. The first day was to remove the tree, the second day was to grind the stump. They did a wonderful job and left the area perfectly clean and ready for its next step of landscaping.
Category
tree service
CHRISTOPHER J.
2.0
09/29/2006
Were very prompt when meeting regarding design, started the work following Isabell, and did what I thought was good job. However, when time came to replace plant, and/or complete terms of contract in the spring, it was repeatedly ignored. The topper came when they contracted to replace a fence gate and took 3 months to get work done. Then the credit card was billed $700 more than the contract. AMEX was unable to get response either, they eventually removed the total charge (not just the overcharge) from the account. I would NOT recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Did design and installation of landscaping; repaired fence following Isabell.
Category
landscaping
5.0
05/25/2006
We were very satisfied with the work they did. I felt they did a top notch job. The plants and tree are healthy and doing well. They didn't leave any mess behind them. They are not the cheapest in town but they are better than others by my experience. They used very healthy plants and they were a professional crew.
Description of Work
They planted our maple tree; put a few plants around our tree. They also put down some mulch for us. They edged another flowerbed and pruned our existing shrubs.
Category
landscaping, tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    GUARANTEED GREENER GRASS & SECOND NATURE LANDSCAPE

    Providing the Hampton Roads area with the finest In landscaping, and turf management needs. Whether you live in Chesapeake or Virginia Beach we can Beautify your lawn, landscape and home. Whether you need lawn mowing, landscape design, fescue, bermuda, zoysia or st. augustine sod, we can help. Whether you have drainage problems, standing water in the yard, more weeds than grass or a paver walkway, driveway, patio or pool deck, we can help. Annual turf management, core aeration, slit seeding, landscape renovation and more..  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Stateline Irrigation

    Maybe you need your irrigation system design revised... or maybe you need an expert to inspect your faulty system and repair it before your grass starts turning brown. Either way, Stateline Irrigation is the right company for the job. We offer all the irrigation services you'll need to keep your lawn well-watered year-round.  

    Angi Certified

    Vaughan's Excavating and Grading, Inc.

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, installation and maintenance, irrigation, lake/pond management, fountains, water features, design and installation of concrete and paver walks & driveways, retaining walls, decks, gazebos, trellis, outdoor kitchens, fire pits, drainage control, mowing, edging, pruning, blowing, debris and trash removal, storm clean-up & snow removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping

    How is Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping overall rated?

    Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping open?

    Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping provide

    Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping?

    Yes, Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offer?

    Basnight Land & Lawn Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape design, installation and maintenance, irrigation, lake/pond management, fountains, water features, design and installation of concrete and paver walks & driveways, retaining walls, decks, gazebos, trellis, outdoor kitchens, fire pits, drainage control, mowing, edging, pruning, blowing, debris and trash removal, storm clean-up & snow removal.