Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Atlantic Craftsman Co

Founded 1974 • With Angi since January 2007

4.5

(50) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

908 Business Park Dr Ste B

Chesapeake, VA 23320

Description

Atlantic Craftsman is committed to using only top quality roofing materials from national brand names including GAF and CertainTeed. We're the roofers you can count on for quality and reliability.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/31/2019


Jody H.

We have nothing but GREAT things to say about our experience with Atlantic Craftsman. Mike was our project lead and he was absolutely amazing. Mike is extremely knowledgeable with dealing with insurance companies and the roofing industry in general. He guided us through the entire claims process and was responsive to us from start to finish. Joe, the owner, was very friendly and proactive from the start. Both of these gentlemen are very professional, honest, have excellent customer service and do quality work. Our roof was installed a couple of weeks ago and we love it! It looks amazing and the crew cleaned up so well leaving our yard free of debris and nails. Our transactions were seamless and now we are very happy with our new roof!

Description of Work
Complete Roof Replacement (Hail Damage)

Category roofing

1.0

07/26/2018


Tony M.

I had a partial roof replaced about 1.5 years ago.After it rained water would come down the side of my entry way of the front door.Atlantic craftsman came out actually it was the owner.I explained in full detail what was going on and that the roof had been recently replaced and what was happening now.I also explained that the prior roofer claimed it wasn’t the roof he put on wasn’t the problem it was the construction.He recommended replacing the roof.I signed off on the work because it hadn’t rained since the work was completed.Then it rained and not only was the problem still there but it was now leaking on the other side.I called them and they sent a repairman over.He said it wasn’t the roof but the siding from the construction.I made several calls although they claim that I never called about this issue except when I hung up on their receptionist.Then they tell me they also do siding and would be happy to send their siding guy out to give me an estimate.I paid them 2600.00 for a roof now they want to sell me siding.Why didn’t the owner with the prior information say lets look at the siding?He either doesn’t know his business or he took advantage of me.He has now accused me of slander because of a review I wrote on google.All I want is my roof not leak and not get ripped off.

Description of Work
Roofing partial roof

Category roofing

5.0

06/19/2017


Mark W.

I was extremely pleased with the quality, value and professionalism of the work.

Description of Work
Replace roof and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/07/2017


Randy P.

I hired Atlantic Craftsman Co. because my roof had developed two leaks and I called them to have the leaks repaired. All the local roofing companies were swamped due to massive storm damage and could not schedule repair work. Joe from Atlantic called, and spent two hours repairing the roof. We talked about the condition of my roof and my knowing it had severe problems from previous work that was poorly performed, I received a quote from Joe. No sales pressure just a quote. We scheduled for a roofing replacement, also allowing for replacement of bad plywood which did not add much to the original quote. All told, the job took two days and the workmanship is nicely reflected in the finished product. They have a great team.

Description of Work
Old roof removed and new roof installed, including garden shed.

Category roofing

2.0

10/17/2016


Miguel G.

In a hurry to get repair done and move on. Repair worked in one area (easy), completely failed in the other(more difficult). It was easy to get them to come out to do the repair...it is proving difficult to get them to come back out since money was already collected.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/01/2016


Darrin C.

This was an excellent experience. I first called and talked with a gentleman who took my number and said, "I'm going to have James give you a call. It may be this afternoon but he will call." About 15 minutes later, James called. We set up a time for him to come by and scope the job. He showed on time and gave me a quote. We talked a little bit and he came down 10% on the price. We set up an appointment for James and his partner to return the next afternoon to complete the work. The following afternoon, they showed up as agreed and immediately went to work. As they were working the detached garage, James noticed that two of the plumbing vent pipe collars on the house were deteriorated. He pointed them out and asked if we wanted them replaced. I was a bit hesitant to say yes because of the price he quoted. We talked back and forth and he came down 25%. After agreeing to that, I inspected two other plumbing vent pipe collars and could see that they too both needed to replaced. James and I talked some more and came up with what I thought was a more than fair price. They accomplished the work and cleaned up the work site. They did a final sweep of the yard looking for shingles and pieces of the collars that they may have first missed. These guys were awesome and as my luck would have it, about an hour after they left, it began to rain. Fortunately, I had them complete the work in order to keep inside my house and garage dry. If you're looking for a fair price with quality work and professional personality, call James at Atlantic Craftsman.

Description of Work
Atlantic Craftsman replaced 12 shingles on my detached garage and replaced 4 plumbing vent pipe collars that had deteriorated.

Category roofing

1.0

05/21/2016


Peter W.

It is unfortunate that I have to post a negative review about this business because all of this could have been EASILY avoided if they would have honored their 5 year warranty back when we hired this company in 2013 to repair our bump out copper roof in our formal dinning room. When we started with Atlantic Craftsmen, the owner [Mr. Joe ****** ] was very instrumental in the proposal process, as he was on site and directly provided the quote. Furthermore, after the project was completed, he assured me that we were in "great shape" and would not have to worry about a leak again. Now, I understand things happen and we are all a work in progress, but, to completely avoid the situation, not to return my calls, and just display a lack of professionalism is not acceptable. The primary reason for hiring this company was due to their professionalism, competence, & warranty. Furthermore, they do not honor their own core values on the landing page of their website... In closing, during their months of neglect, we have experienced further water damage to our chair rail, wainscoting, shoe molding, & crown molding...During their months of neglect, I have interviewed about 7 roofing companies and 1 Master Brick Mason, consequently, they are all in agreement that the job was not competed correctly. Bottom line, and from my personal experience I would not rehire Atlantic Craftsman

Description of Work
Replace Copper Roof Flashing and fix leak.

Category roofing

5.0

09/11/2015


George B.

Transform my house by adding new GAF Gold Pledge shingles 50 years plus , siding and Trim Sofit into a brand new looking house. The Trim crew Michael Senn and Rick Dalton did a outstanding job, master craftsman Professional and took pride in there work. Responsible and respective of property. When it comes to the roof make sure you go with a Company that is a master elite installers and you get the Gold Pledge Warranty with Warranty Registration certificate from the manufacturer of the shingles. The lowest price does not guarantee you have a warranty, lifetime on shingles if it is not done by a Master Elite Installer. They are many companies that are Gold Pledge but only a few that are Master Elite Installer and can offer you the best warranty.

Description of Work
New Gold Pledge Shingles and Trim Sofit and Siding

Category roofing

4.0

08/17/2015


Zachary M.

The work was second to none. Based purely on how nice of a job they did, I'd use them again in a heartbeat. Responsiveness overall was poor. Getting scheduled took a long time, but they were grateful that I was patient. They took a little off the price in the end due to the extended time I waited to get the work done.

Description of Work
Replaced all gutters and downspouts on the house with new seamless gutter and replace rotted fascia in two places. New gutters are the type that do not need cleaned out, as they are covered with a mesh.

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

06/24/2015


allen L.

I wasn't impressed. They showed up but didn't do any repairs. My roof was in a rough state so I expected them to do a lot. They were supposed to take pictures and then come up with an estimate for a new roof. I never heard back from them.

Description of Work
They were supposed to do a roof inspection and minor repair.

Category photographers

5.0

04/22/2015


James M.

It was good. I wasn't there when they came out.

Description of Work
They inspected the roof to make sure there were no leaks and caulked up the chimney.

Category roofing

5.0

04/10/2015


Matthew L.

After three quotes, Atlantic had the best price, and offered the best product/warranty of the companies I reviewed (GAF Timberline HD with 50-year material, 10-year labor warranty). They were the only company to actually go on the roof to do the estimate, and were able to identify places where previous repairs were not done correctly or not done at all as specified by another roofer. I felt more than comfortable that I was hiring a competent company that took pride in doing the job right with the best materials. Installers were promptly on site at 7AM on two work days, taking care to secure the site during a rain day in the middle of the project. We have a fairly large roof with a steep pitch, but there was a large crew on site (no subcontractors) appropriate to the size of the job. The end result is a really great looking roof. Post-job cleanup was good; we found a few nails here and there but really not too bad considering the amount of material involved. Our site had an uncovered pool in the mix and they even managed to fish out the larger pieces of paper that blew in. I would hire Atlantic again for a roofing job, but with a 50-year warranty I shouldn't have to!

Description of Work
Replaced roof and boots and installed ridgeline venting

Category roofing

5.0

04/07/2015


Tommy C.

They did a fabulous job. They gave me an ultimate solution to the dead valley in my roofing structure. So they came up with a solution to take care of some leaking issues that I had in the dead valley on my roof. Initially there was a leak shortly there after, so we called the owner, he sent his technician out, they found the issue, fixed it and from that point on, which again has been almost 3 years now, I've had no issues with any leakage or any problems with any of the work they did. It ended up taking 3 days to finish the roof, mother nature caused a break in one of the days otherwise they would have done it in 2 days. They have proved to be the best choice for us and we've been extremely pleased with the services provided. They completed the work within the time frame that was expected. The gutters have worked fabulously compared to the type of gutter that I had on previously. That was also part of the reason why we chose this company, the type of gutters that I wanted to use. They were one of the select few that had that type and could not only do the roof but also the gutters at the same time. They were rhino guard gutters. It is not the toppers that you normally see, its a mesh screen type that keeps the granules of the roof and other stuff from falling into the gutters clogging them but its porous well enough to allow any and all water to flush down the roof and go out your down spouts as the gutters are designed to do. I've had them there for 3 years now and I've yet to call him back to do any cleaning whatsoever and that was part of the warranty. We've been extremely pleased with the work they did.

Description of Work
I had a complete roof done. They removed the existing shingles and installed all new shingles and venting. We had new gutters installed and I also had siding wrap done along the wood portion of the house.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

4.0

11/20/2014


Mike O.

The service went very well. The crew completed the work in a full day and came back out for some follow up work. They also replaced some flashing and repaired a leak. My only concern is that they did not clean up well. I found nails in the yard and gutters. They did a nice job repairing an issue with the chimney. I had no problem scheduling the service.

Description of Work
I hired the company to put new shingles on the roof.

Category roofing

5.0

10/07/2014


David C.

During the process of replacing my roof, I received several bids. Although I did not choice this company, I was very impressed with the no pressure sales, his expert evaluation, and the choice of materials. I requested several references and drove past these homes. The roofs look great. Just before our decision on a contractor, a house in our neighborhood was roofed by Atlantic Craftsman. The homeowner had great praises for the work. Atlantic Craftsman came in a very close second and I would recommend his services.

Description of Work
Bid for a full roof repalcement

Category roofing

5.0

07/01/2014


Jerry W.

Everything turned out well, and I was happy with the service. They showed up on time, did good work, and acted professionally when dealing with me.

Description of Work
They provided roof maintenance services as part of a Big Deal.

Category roofing

5.0

06/18/2014


Michael P.

It went great! Joe did a great job managing the job, his crew was very polite.

Description of Work
They put on a new roof and did the gutters and trim wrap.

Category gutter repair, roofing

4.0

06/05/2014


Jack K.

There were no issues. There were no additional fees associated with the Big Deal either.

Description of Work
I purchased a $149 Big Deal for a Winter Roof Maintenance Package. They did an inspection and touched up the flashing and fixed holes as necessary.

Category roofing

5.0

05/28/2014


James B.

I met with Joe Glazebrook, the owner, and he was able to prepare and print a quote on the spot from the computer installed in his truck. I had gotten quotes from a couple of other Vendors and had looked at doing the job myself. After talking with Joe, it was very evident that he knows his stuff about roofing. So, very quickly I decided against attempting this myself. Joe is very professional in his dealings, upfront about what you do and don't need to do, and just an all- around great guy to work with. His pricing was reasonable for the work that needed to be done. And, on a project of this size, price is not the main consideration. Quality and the reliability of the work are more important than who has the lowest price. I hired them for the job and a full crew showed up early on the install day. By noon, they had stripped the roof and were making repairs to the roof deck. Soon after, the underlayment and other parts of the GAF system were being installed. When I came back at the end of the day, I was amazed. These guys had reroofed the entire house in a single workday, picked up all the trash, and were getting ready to call it a day! The roof looks great and I am no longer worried about water leaks. A few days later, Joe’s guttering crew came by and installed the new gutters and down spouts I ordered. The roof on my 50+ year old house has never looked better. Since my install, they have reroofed two of my neighbors homes as well. I watched those jobs and they went pretty much the same as mine. Full crew shows up early, does a tear-off before lunch, makes any repairs, and the new roof is on by the end of the day. If you are looking for a company that has their stuff together, works quickly and quietly, picks up their trash, and can get the job done, you need to stop putzing around and call these guys today.

Description of Work
Remove existing asphalt shingles and underlayment Make repairs to roof deck Install drip edge Install new GAF underlayment system Install new GAF Timberline architectural shingles

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

03/31/2014


Shawn M.

His products are GOOD - he gave me a price for siding ( .o44 thickness, no backing) and that he would wrap the house with TYVEK vapor barrier which is the industry standard from my understanding and seal all windows and doors with "Quad" premium caulk. Siding was Crane Market Square product and offerred both plain and Dutch Lap siding. Available colors are pretty standard throughout the industry. Trim was "Certainteed Invisavent premium vinyl for soffet. All wood and exterior trim would be wrapped with "Cutting Edge premium PVC trim coil. Siding comes with a 10 year workmanship warranty. I had 4 contractors stop by for estimates and I would suggest a minimum of three. It is difficult to compare contractors unless you do you homework on their products. Backed siding is more expensive and I also had one extimate for Hardiplank (cement) siding but this was even more expensive, If you are looking for a "BETTER" grade siding - better than builder's grade - but maybe not the top of the line - and installed by someone who knows how to "build" a house, I would recommend considering American Crafstman. Though I went with another contractor, one that was a little more expensive than American Craftsman, I felt their offer was honest and gave me a very fair and reasonable price for this job. I simply wanted a backed, insulated vinyl and had I not - I would have went with American Craftsman. This company is NOT pushy and were easy to communicate with. If you are doing siding - get an estimate from these guys. Always ask for addresses and jobs completed to see their work.

Description of Work
I called and ask for an estimate for siding and trim - 2 story single home. The owner came by and gave me an estimate - printed out in detail and was not pushy at all. He is a certified builder and knows what he is doing. He gave more detail of his estimated work and specific items he would perform. The price was for siding, trim and gutters was a very reasonable price in my opinion.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

03/24/2014


Jack S.

I got several proposals from roofing companies and was most impressed with Atlantic Craftsman's presentation and explanation of what they proposed. They used quality GAF materials and they were all parts of the manufacturer's system. They were very interested in my understanding of the proposal and followed up once to see if I was ready to contract. Their price for the same system was compatible but the lowest that I received. Their enthusiasm was superior. They stayed in touch as we awaited and window in the rainy weather and came on the first available day. They arrived on time with a large crew that seemed to work well together. They covered my deck and shrubbery with tarps to protect them from falling pieces of shingles. They were considerate and polite and performed in a workmanship like manner assisting each other as the work demanded. They worked together as a team. One of the owners visited soon after they got started and checked on the progress. They completed my roofing needs in the same day and cleaned up expertly. My house has never looked as well as it does with its new roof. I am totally satisfied with their and think I was fortunate to have engaged them to do the work.

Description of Work
They removed my existing roofing shingles and underlay on my house and replaced it with new underlay and new shingles. They removed my old attic vents and replaced them with a new continuous ridge vent. They replaced some deteriorated plywood roof deck and carefully fitted new deck in its place. They re-nailed the remaining roof deck. They replaced all flashing at plumbing vents, chimney and around the fireplace chimney. They also put mew underlay, shingles and roof vent to match, on my garden shed .

Category roofing

5.0

12/25/2013


Stephen W.

They were not the least expensive but were professional and used better materials than a competitor. The work was done well and they cleaned up well afterwards. They also give a better work warranty ( 10 years on workmanship) than a competitor.

Description of Work
I needed all new shingles on my home.

Category roofing

5.0

10/28/2013


Joyce B.

My parents had a leak in their roof and they fixed it. They were great and had a reasonable price. They came when they said they would.

Description of Work
They came for the Big Deal coupon of $169 Winter Roof Maintenance Package.

Category roofing

5.0

08/19/2013


Paul H.

We had purchased a big deal for the service. This was my first time using them.

Description of Work
We used Atlantic Craftsman Co. They did a quick maintenance, and that was it.

Category roofing

5.0

03/25/2013


Nilothpaul D.

Individual came in - asked for instructions if any, and performed per our needs.

Description of Work
Polite professional - understood and performed as expected and directed.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Genius Exteriors

     

    Angi Certified

    The Drying Co

    The Drying Co. has been serving Greater Richmond & the Virginia Peninsulas since 2002. We are a Home Performance Contractor specializing in Attics, Basements, Crawl Spaces, Foundations, and Gutters. Our goal is to deliver comfortable, energy-efficient, durable, and healthy home & building environments for all of our customers. We understand that no home is exactly like another, so we take all the time you need to discuss your concerns and goals. We then perform a thorough inspection of your home and develop a plan to achieve your goals. We want to make sure our customers are comfortable with the recommendations we make, so we will spend all the time you need to answer your questions. Our services include; Attic & Home insulation, Basement Waterproofing, Crawl Space Repair & Encapsulation, Foundation Repair, Duct Insulation, Dehumidifiers & Sump Pumps, and Seamless Metal Gutters with Leaf Protection Options.  

    Angi Certified

    7 City Exteriors

    Specializing in custom made, on site seamless gutters and gutter guards. Call us for all of your gutter needs! We have the very best gutter systems in virginia! With over 20 years in the industry you can rest assure your home is in the right hands with our family owned business.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial roofing, siding, windows, gutters repair & replacement.

    Services Not Offered

    Product Sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Atlantic Craftsman Co

    How is Atlantic Craftsman Co overall rated?

    Atlantic Craftsman Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Atlantic Craftsman Co open?

    Atlantic Craftsman Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Atlantic Craftsman Co provide

    Atlantic Craftsman Co accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Atlantic Craftsman Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Atlantic Craftsman Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Atlantic Craftsman Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Atlantic Craftsman Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Atlantic Craftsman Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Atlantic Craftsman Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Atlantic Craftsman Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Atlantic Craftsman Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Atlantic Craftsman Co?

    Yes, Atlantic Craftsman Co offers warranties.

    What services does Atlantic Craftsman Co offer?

    Atlantic Craftsman Co offers the following services: Commercial roofing, siding, windows, gutters repair & replacement.

    Are there any services Atlantic Craftsman Co does not offer?

    Product Sales.