Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Above Board Drywall & More Inc

Founded 2007 • With Angi since October 2009

4.8

(92) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

419 Gloria Dr

Chesapeake, VA 23322

Description

With FREE ESTIMATES, Above Board Drywall & More Inc is the only company you will need for all of your Drywall and Plastering needs. We enter and leave your home being curtious,clean and respectful. With owner operator and three employee's i give the estimates and complete the work. NO SUBS! The quality of repairs and insulation of drywall and plaster is the best in the area. We do any kind of texture with Drywall and Plaster....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/08/2021


Allen U.

It was going great till we had to deal with the owner Richard. We told him about his people leaving trash outside in the yard/ on the porch and all he seamed to be concerned about was getting paid not cleaning up the mess first. He harassed my fiancé at work about payment before he finished the work. We will never use this company again. Very unprofessional, unfriendly & had to work around his schedule not the customers.

Description of Work
Needed ceiling in living room gutted and redone with drywall

Category drywall

5.0

09/17/2021


Walter F.

Fabulous. The ceilings look great. Richard's crew came when they said they would. The repair was done meticulously and with the eye of a true craftsman who takes pride in his work. The plastering was exquisite. The crew cleaned everything up so that you wouldn't know that they ever came. The price was great. My name is Tom Frost and I live in Windsor Woods.

Description of Work
Repair ceilings in three bedrooms, and plaster

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

08/24/2021


Walter F.

Richard and his crew did an outstanding job of repairing and plastering my bedroom ceiling. They were punctual, efficient, professional. The price was more than fair. My wife and I were delighted. We recommend them emphatically, without reservation or equivocation.

Description of Work
Plastering: Re-secure plaster ceiling with screws, secure all ceiling cracks, apply mesh tape, apply plaster bonding agent and plaster entire ceiling with a sand finish swirl.

Category plastering

3.0

04/14/2020


Catherine B.

Excellent plastering however left huge mess on doors, moulding ,cabinets,plants and was told I needed to clean it.

Description of Work
Plaster

Category plastering

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, I really wish you would have communicated with me that you had issues that we needed to address and correct for you before leaving a negative review. I would have liked the chance to have made corrections. Just one chance.
5.0

12/20/2019


Jake N.

They had to postpone first appt - I get it. They showed early on appt day and took apart the wall. They noticed extensive damage to outer wall studs - and showed me what it needed to be done and recommended another contractor to fix the stud damage. They were honest and didn't just cover up a structural integrity situation. His secondary contractor fixed the damage within a week and Above Board Drywall & More Inc crew came back and did the interior work. Mr. White then came back two days later on to check to make sure everything dried right and I was happy with their work - Mr. White came back to check with me that the job was done to my satisfaction - can't say enough about that. Above Board Drywall & More Inc showed honesty and integrity throughout the process to include bad news. Yes I will hire them again and/or recommend them to my friends.

Description of Work
Interior water damage

Category drywall

5.0

08/05/2019


David T.

Above Board Drywall exceeded my expectations and Richard is great to work with. I met Richard last October when I had other drywall needs, and I am glad I found a local business that delivers on their promises. I highly recommend Above Board Drywall!

Description of Work
Above Board Drywall, owned by Richard White, removed my outdated, textured popcorn ceiling in the living room, foyer, and office. After sanding the textured ceiling with a machine that limits the dust, they plastered the ceiling with high-quality workmanship. The ceiling looks awesome and is paint-ready.

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

07/30/2019


John L.

Excellent! Couldn't have been any better. Workers were very polite / professional and extremely knowledgeable about their trade. The price I paid was significantly less than other estimates and the work was superior

Description of Work
Replaced a closet ceiling and painted closet / bedroom & hall

Category drywall, water damage restoration, interior painters

5.0

06/10/2019


Sherry C.

We were in need of a drywall company that could repair all our ceilings downstairs after another company botched up the job. After careful review and checking with the BBB we chose Above Board Drywall & More. The owner, Richard White and his crew were very professionaI, respectful and did a fantastic job on our ceilings. Family members and friends can not believe what a beautiful job they did. Also, I can't thank the crew enough for the outstanding job they did on the clean up. Thank you guys for a job well done. We definitely will be using Above Board in the future.

Description of Work
Repair all ceilings downstairs

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Thank You Very Much! It was a pleasure to work for you!
5.0

03/19/2019


Eugenie A.

They were able to come in, repair the drywall and patch/re-plaster the area fairly quickly. The results were great and there was not a lot of drywall dust or mess.

Description of Work
Drywall repair from roof leak

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

12/02/2018


Richard R.

It took the crew a few days to complete the rather big project and it was completed in the needed time frame. The work was professionally done and the price was very fair. I would not hesitate to hire Richard and his crew again for any future drywall repair work should the need arise.

Description of Work
Needed the whole interior of an approximate 3000 square foot house prepared for painting. The drywall and textured ceiling were in rough shape in many areas.

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

11/22/2018


Rudie S.

Totally as scheduled. Job ended up being bigger. Ceiling was still damp, as was attic insulation. Craftsmen ripped out wet and put back new. Picture of before, during and after for 2 of the areas are shown (unpainted, as agreed).

Description of Work
Ceiling plaster repair due to attic evaporator condensate line overflow. Above board estimated repairs (3 areas, I will paint) based on pictures within 24 hours, scheduled work and showed up on time. Clean up was 1st class. Craftsmen were professional.

Category drywall, plastering, water damage restoration

5.0

10/09/2018


Craig Y.

They were extremely professional throughout the job, were on time to the job and the quality of work was top notch.

Description of Work
Ceiling drywall in my garage

Category drywall, plastering

Service Provider Response

Thank You Very Much!!
4.0

05/21/2018


Mike D.

Everything went well. The work performed was top notch. The price was a little high for the small area i needed done but all in all, im satisfied.

Description of Work
Dry wall in bathroom

Category drywall

2.0

10/23/2017


Amber C.

We got a quote to have drywall competed and set up an appointment to have it done. The day came and no one ever called or showed up. My husband called and found that no one was coming as there was some sort of medical issue or weather. It was very unprofessional as we expected atleast a phone call to tell us they would be unable to make it, as we had to make arrangements for someone to be home. After this, we never heard back from them for almost a week. All of a sudden we received a text message confirming our appointment to have the drywall finished the next morning. We had never set this up as we were moving and had little time to finish this project. We actually had decided at this point it would not get due to the limited time crunch they put us in. We agreed to the appointment assuming they would not show up again, as it was to rain again this day. They did show up for the appointment and worked from 8am-6pm to drywall laundry room and paint white. The quality was done fairly well, however we were still tainted from the prior unprofessional interaction. The only thing they did was dry walled over top of the dry plug, obviously not useful, so we had them cut out a hole. Due to the unprofessional manner I would not recommend.

Description of Work
Laundry room dry wall

Category drywall, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Im sorry for lack of communication for I had knee replacement surgery and tried to for fill my obligations as best i could being owner operator. You have the wrong address under your name.
5.0

08/14/2017


Rob C.

Excellent job! New plaster coat looks great. Better than my expectations.

Description of Work
Scraped sprayed on plaster (like popcorn) from living ceiling. Made minor repairs in other rooms.

Category plastering

5.0

07/13/2017


karen W.

Richard's crew arrived each day on time, did excellent work and cleaned up before leaving. The entire job comprised 5 work days which were spread out over several weeks due to drying times. Richard and his crew are pleasant and hard working. We are very happy with the final result.

Description of Work
Popcorn ceiling was removed from family room and front hall. Damaged ceilings were repaired and replaced with plaster. Ceilings were then painted. Crown molding was installed in 3 rooms and the front hall.

Category drywall, plastering, interior painters

5.0

07/01/2017


Hollens R.

Excellent! Above board arrived on-time and completed the work in 3 hours. I would definitely hire Aboveboard Drywall for any future jobs.

Description of Work
Repair ceiling drywall in stairs area. The sagging drywall had to be cut-out replaced, and then the mud applied to the ceiling area. I was offered a cheaper option for $325.00, but I felt to get it done right the more expensive option of $675.00 was the correct course of action.

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

06/26/2017


Brad C.

Seem less. Very professional and great work!!

Description of Work
2 12x12 holesib drywall.

Category drywall

5.0

05/24/2017


Gary R.

Had several schedule changes/ delays on construction, but Richard was very flexible and worked with me. When we finally got ready for drywall, Richard and his crew knocked it out in 2 days from start to finish. They did a great job, cleaned everything up and I got a finished garage. Would definitely use again for future drywall requirements.

Description of Work
Needed new detached garage finished in drywall.

Category drywall

5.0

03/27/2017


Connie H.

Richard was awesome! He is so friendly and easy to get along with. Tom was here on time and the work was done quickly. The only reason I gave a B for quality was because I had to call them to come back because the crack on one beam was still present after the plaster dried on one area. They did come back as soon as they could and fixed it and the quality that time was great. I would use them again and recommend them to a friend.

Description of Work
We had a crack in the ceiling drywall and on the top of two beams. They replastered both and swirled it to match the rest of the ceiling.

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

03/12/2017


Brittany C.

Richard did an amazing job. He worked around our busy schedules and responded promptly to our messages on Angie's List and was out within the next week to complete the job. It was completed flawlessly, you cannot even tell where we had holes. He patched the holes and matched the texturing exactly. We will be contacting him for all our dry-wall needs in the future!

Description of Work
My husband and I had new lighting installed in our kitchen. This required us to cut into the ceiling and leave holes that needed patching up. There were about 6 holes in total.

Category drywall

5.0

01/05/2017


Lucia C.

It was very good. They did a lot of work. They were very prompt, professional, there were very nice group guys, there was good follow up, and they did all the work I needed. In fact when Richard was here, he looked at some things that I thought I need done and he said I can just do something else to it to treat it. It looks great. It's like that ad for that other company, It never even happened. We had a lot of water damage and it looks like it has never even happened.

Description of Work
I used them.

Category plastering

5.0

12/29/2016


valerie A.

I sent pictures of work that needed to be done. I received a prompt quote. When I was ready to have work done I received a prompt call to schedule work. They arrived promptly and began work promptly. They covered the work area to protect my belongings and cleaned everything up after completion. I am very pleased with work, you would never the damage had been there.

Description of Work
I needed drywall replaced due to water damage from hurricane Matthew.

Category drywall, plastering, water damage restoration

5.0

05/12/2016


Janie B.

They did a fabulous job! Richard was excellent at communicating with me from start to finish. These guys know their trade and do amazing work. Everyone showed up on time and exactly when they said they would. So nice to hire someone and have the end result turn out better than you could imagine! An additional bonus was that they were ALL truly nice people and it was pleasant having them around. What a PRO group!

Description of Work
Replaced a section of garage wall and replastered. Also repaired a few other plaster cracks in the garage wall and bathroom ceiling.

Category drywall, plastering

5.0

05/05/2016


Cara S.

He was VERY punctual and responsive. One of the best experiences with a contractor ever. He does manage a lot of people and have a lot of people show up to do the job, which I think is reflected some in the price, but it was nice to not have the hassle of dealing with an unprofessional contractor. The missed a few spots on the ceiling when painting, but offered to come back and fix it. Also he have a daughter with special needs and I think he talked and played with her for over half an hour. Which was great, only because usually people don't treat her like any other child and avoid interacting with her. You can tell Richard is a stand up guy

Description of Work
We contacted him through Angie's list to get an estimate no a damaged ceiling for repair and painting of total ceiling in that area. He was VERY punctual and responsive. One of the best experiences with a contractor ever. He does manage a lot of people and have a lot of people show up to do the job, which I think is reflected some in the price, but it was nice to not have the hassle of dealing with an unprofessional contractor. The missed a few spots on the ceiling when painting, but offered to come back and fix it.

Category drywall, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to meet and work with your family. We appreciate customers such as you who understand the full umbrella of our services and take the time to explain this to other potential customers. We treat every home/homeowner as if it were own. The best to you and your beautiful family.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Yorenos Painting LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Dominguez Painting

    Thank you for choosing Dominguez Painting, serving the 757 since 1991. Allow us to make your dream project a reality! Contact us us today for a free estimate.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Dominguez Painting on Angi
    Blowout Kidds LLC

    My name is Mr. Kidd Owner operator of blowout kids LLC ,with well over 15 years experience in the construction field We specialize in painting and property maintenance .. Here is a brief list of Other services we also provide .. lawn maintenance gutters windows doors framing decks and floors.. no job too big no job too small you call the blowoutkidds we will handle them all ..You name it we maintain it . Call today for your free estimate 7574708246  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705142458
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    10/31/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Drywall. Plastering. Stucco. Water & smoke damage. Trim. Crown molding. Carpentry.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask For Details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Above Board Drywall & More Inc

    How is Above Board Drywall & More Inc overall rated?

    Above Board Drywall & More Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Above Board Drywall & More Inc open?

    Above Board Drywall & More Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Above Board Drywall & More Inc provide

    Above Board Drywall & More Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Above Board Drywall & More Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Above Board Drywall & More Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Above Board Drywall & More Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers a 0% senior discount.

    Does Above Board Drywall & More Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Above Board Drywall & More Inc?

    Yes, Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Above Board Drywall & More Inc offer?

    Above Board Drywall & More Inc offers the following services: Drywall. Plastering. Stucco. Water & smoke damage. Trim. Crown molding. Carpentry.

    Are there any services Above Board Drywall & More Inc does not offer?

    Ask For Details