Moss Building & Design

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2005

MOSS Building & Design is a family owned home remodeling company in Northern VA that has established a reputation for excellence in remodeling additions, kitchens, bathrooms and basements. As an award winning Virginia contractor we know what it takes to transform your house into the home of your

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Gorgeous Ashburn Interior Remodel

home remodeling

202020147
An interior remodel that encompasses almost the entire home, as seen here in this Ashburn remodel, takes an experienced team and a strong relationship with both the customer and their design vision. By transforming the main floor's foyer, powder room, family room, and kitchen into more functional and modern spaces for the entire family to use and enjoy, and creating better use of space upstairs by adding an en suite bathroom, updating the master bedroom, closet, and bathroom, and installing all new flooring throughout, MOSS was able to achieve all exactly the results our customers envisioned.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.8

(801) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

671

4

55

3

26

2

22

1

27

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (272)electrician (192)home remodeling (172)plumbers (167)drywall (166)lighting (117)woodworking (111)door installation (87)interior painting (79)general contractors (56)tile installation (54)basement remodeling (48)
Showing 1-25 of 801 reviews
5.0

08/04/2022


Alison W.

We used Moss for an extensive home renovation to our Vienna, Virginia colonial in 2021/2022. The scope of the project included converting a carport / screened-in porch into a large four-season family room, reallocating space in the former family room for a laundry and mudroom, converting a bedroom into a closet and primary bathroom, and refinishing our sons' bathroom. In addition, Moss expanded our galley kitchen, reallocating space from the former dining room to expand the kitchen's footprint and create a walk-in hidden pantry. Throughout our home, Moss added thoughtful design touches such as block-and-panel millwork in our formal dining room, herringbone tile in our new fireplace, and built in bookshelves along the wall of the family room. From a customer service perspective, we worked with Team Alpha and could not have been happier with our experience. Sean was our team lead, and from our very first meeting, he was courteous, thoughtful, professional and pragmatic. Working with Sean never felt "sales-y" and we appreciated his candor while we discussed the scope of the project. Sean was always mindful of our budget, noting upfront when certain design decisions would stretch our agreed-upon number. Like any construction project of this magnitude, we exceeded our budget, but it was always at our discretion - there were no surprises, which we truly appreciated. Our design team was led by Liz and Marta. Liz was endlessly patient as we tweaked our floorplan design (and tweaked it again!) Marta went above and beyond in the selections of finishes, accommodating some pretty tricky requests (for example, we wanted a porcelain tile with a marble look in our primary bathroom) courteously and seamlessly. She even went out of her way to review fixtures we purchased from outside retailers to ensure that they would fit the design of the spaces. Sean, Liz and Marta saved us thousands of dollars by repurposing our old cabinetry in our new walk-in pantry, adding paint and other custom touches to create a flawless look. During construction, we worked with Marty to oversee the project and Jeff on day-to-day finishing. Both Marty and Jeff were extremely easy to work with, patiently accompanying us on our multiple walk-throughs to identify changes, improvements, and finishes. Marty remembered to remediate even the littles detail, and did so with a smile. I never had to ask him twice! Jeff was especially kind to our 5-year old son, who always wanted to be his special helper. I know he misses seeing "Mr. Jeff" everyday! When we embarked on this project, it was important to us to select a partner that would do beautiful work with minimal hassle. Moss certainly exceeded our expectations in terms of quality, thoughtfulness, responsiveness, and finished product. We have happily recommended Team Alpha to our neighbors and friends. Thank you Sean, Marty, Liz, Marta, Jeff, and all of your teammates for our beautiful home and our great experience.

Description of Work
Whole Home Remodeling

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2022

Images

Review for Moss Building & Design - 4125 Lafayette Center Dr, Chantilly, VA - 39823800

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for this incredible review. We strive to provide each customer with a remodeling experience that fulfills their dreams for their home while also providing expertise and communication every step of the way, from start to finish. We're so happy that you love the changes to your home - it was a pleasure working with and for your family.
5.0

09/08/2021


John O.

We contracted with Moss for the remodeling of two bathrooms, a change to partial open concept, addition of windows, a pantry and mudroom nook install in the laundry room, new flooring, paint and siding. We are very pleased with Moss’ high quality results. In the beginning, the design process was a bit frustrating with us requesting design changes and receiving them in a timely manner, but not getting concurrent pricing information. There were times when we felt our vision was not fully understood in order to take the concept in a creative direction. But once our project was underway, everything went smoothly overall. The designer was great to work with when it came time to pick out all the tile and fixtures for the bathrooms, and we are delighted with the results. She also assisted with furniture placement, which was very helpful in envisioning the end product. During the time of the actual construction, the workers were considerate and cleaned up at the end of each day. Areas were sectioned off to keep dust to a minimum. Trash was staged in our driveway and picked up regularly. Our project manager Bob K was in excellent communication with us, very organized with scheduling multiple workers and subcontractors, and kept our project moving along. He was easy to work with and fair. Overall, we’d give Moss a B+ but Bob alone rates an A+. Note that in images window treatments not yet in place.

Description of Work
Significant Home Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2021

Images

Review for Moss Building & Design - 4125 Lafayette Center Dr, Chantilly, VA - 39467004

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review, [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

05/03/2021


John W.

Moss did outstanding work on installing new stone and cabinetry around our fireplace and also opening up our main hall stairway by removing a portion of a wall. There were some unexpected structural challenges that came up along the way, but Moss proved their ability to ‘pivot’ and ensure that everything came together seamlessly. Really appreciated Moss’ ability to coordinate the work of multiple subcontractors, as much of the work required very specialized/unique expertise. Everything came together perfectly.

Description of Work
Built-in cabinetry, stone around fireplace, opening up main hall stairway

Category drywall, remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this kind review [Member Name Removed]!
2.0

04/02/2021


Maureen Q.

This review only comments on the quote process as we did not continue working with Moss. They were very responsive in setting up initial consult, but after an in-person meeting to discuss a complete kitchen remodel it took a month to get a quote on the project. The quote was also only sent after we followed up with them to get it. The quote we got was bare on any details, causing us to question why it took a month and leaving us with very little basis on which to compare with other contractors. Seemed odd they could give us a quote down to the 1's place, but not put any details on number of cabinets we discussed, granite, etc. The details it had were also wrong and opposite of discussions we specifically had (e.g., included putting pendants in over island when we said no pendants). No apology was given for lapse in time spent giving the quote (when we met they said 1-1.5 weeks for a quote, not a month). When we reached back out about the bareness of the quote giving us nothing with which to compare to others we had received, we heard nothing back. While others seem to have good experiences, we were sadly disappointed at the lack of communication, lack of detail in the quote, and lack of customer service.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category appliance repair, home remodeling

Work Completed On 03/16/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we apologize that your experience was lacking in communication and follow up. We realize this response is long overdue as well, for which we apologize. If you'd like to speak with us again about a future remodel, please reach out directly to our Director of Customer Experience, Jenn Zschunke, to discuss your project: jzschunke@mossbuildinganddesign.com. Thank you.
5.0

03/26/2021


Jonathan S.

We just wrapped up the design phase of a whole bunch of renovations, including two bathrooms, a sunroom and garage-turned-guest room for our 1885 house here in Herndon, VA. The team has been fun, thorough, available and just plain smart since day 1. We went through a lot of design iteration--ranging from wildly ambitious to purely pragmatic. Moss worked with us every step of the way and were transparent about the trade-offs and timelines. We've finally settled on a plan and are excited to see it come to life. Demolition work just started a couple of weeks ago, but the team has been meticulously clean and very thoughtful. Thanks Sean, Liz and Emily--we can't wait for next steps!

Description of Work
Bathrooms, sunroom and garage renovations

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, interior designers, remodeling, garage builders, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this review [Member Name Removed]! We're so glad your experience has been so positive thus far!
5.0

02/17/2021


Susan F.

I've been relying on Moss for at least 15 years now for home repair and new construction. I have always been happy with the results, and I just go straight to Moss now instead of talking to other companies. This time, my dishwasher leaked. The water remediation company had to take out my kitchen floor, and remove insulation and carpet in my finished basement. Moss did all of the reconstruction from laying a new kitchen floor to reassembling cabinets and fixing the drywall. Kristen has such a good eye for design, and it was easy to choose a floor that I love. Bob kept the whole project running smoothly, and was very responsive when we had questions. The online project management tool was very helpful for communication as well. We can't wait to do our next project!

Description of Work
Remediation for a leaking dishwasher.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, water damage restoration, interior painters

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2021

Images

Review for Moss Building & Design - 4125 Lafayette Center Dr, Chantilly, VA - 39199396

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

02/06/2021


Andrea Z.

My overall experience with Moss was great. Bob (project manager) and Kristen (designer) were both key to its success. We had some challenges with permits and scheduling (especially at the end), but everyone was communicative. The quality was exactly what I wanted, and they listened to my requests and did their best to make sure I was satisfied with the work that was done. I would highly recommend using Moss, especially if you have a bigger project.

Description of Work
Renovated laundry room and new half bath

Category drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

12/17/2020


Greg and Jenn Z.

We are mid-process in a kitchen remodel with MOSS. From the start, it's been a great experience. Our consultant, Nick, laid out all the details of costs for us from the start - there have been zero surprises. Our designer, William, has been amazing to work with - a true perfectionist, he has been to our house multiple times to discuss layouts, take measurements, and talk through ideas. If he had suggestions that worked for us, we implemented them - other times, we wanted to take things out, and he did so without pushing back. We have always felt that our team at MOSS is looking out for us and our budget and bottom line. We'll start the remodel early in 2021 and can't wait to see the completed space!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category countertops, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for providing this review, especially as it related to your project mid construction!
5.0

11/06/2020


Molly H.

Moss was fantastic! We hired them to finish a portion of our basement and enclose an exterior staircase leading into our basement. They stayed within our budget and were incredibly helpful during the design process. During construction, every Moss employee we encountered was professional. They kept all workspaces clean and did fabulous work. We would not hesitate to hire again!

Description of Work
Basement renovation; small addition

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this review [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

09/10/2020


Emily K.

Excellent! It was a very sucessful project!!!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]! Your remodel was so wonderful to work on!
5.0

08/20/2020


Adam D.

Moss is amazing. This is the second project I’ve done with them and couldn’t be more pleased. The quality of work was outstanding and their team’s communication was great. Their pricing is fair with no hidden costs. I plan to use Moss for all my future projects. I couldn’t recommend them more!

Description of Work
Inside staircase, railing, and tile remodel

Category appliance repair, contractors, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior designers, woodworking, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - Thank you for the great review! We can't wait to work with you again!!
5.0

07/15/2020


Joshua R.

I’ve used Moss now for several large home improvement projects. They are incredible to work with. Communication is stellar, our project manager Bob Keene is awesome, I highly recommend him. Very fair and customer focused. Work quality is very high and price is great. They are my go-to contractor for any type of renovation project these days.

Description of Work
New hardwood floors and basement repair after dishwasher flood

Category drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, insulation, lighting, woodworking

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]! What incredible feedback!
5.0

07/12/2020


Christine P.

My wife and I were very happy with our experience with Moss. From start to finish, they were extremely professional, knowledgeable and timely. All of the people we worked with exceeded our expectations. Our design consultant (Kristin) took the time to learn about what kind of building products we tend to like (we lean towards Euro-modern) and found things within our budget that we loved and worked for what we were trying to achieve. Also, our Project Manager (Bob Keene) did a fabulous job; he was always prompt, did exactly what he said he would do, made sure the workman did what they were supposed to do, and was just so easy to work with. He even suggested things that worked better that sometimes saved us money. In short, our experience with Moss was excellent and I would recommend them without hesitation. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Moss re-designed and re-built two large sections of our home -- a relatively big project.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, architect, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2020

Images

Review for Moss Building & Design - 4125 Lafayette Center Dr, Chantilly, VA - 38713187

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Wow, thank you so much for this review [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/07/2020


Paul F.

Recommend the Moss guys highly. We used Moss for a major expansion/renovation of our second floor living area last year. This project was smaller. I called our construction manager Greg Maratto when we found mold in a basement closet. Thought it would be too small a project for Moss, but Greg sent someone right away to assess the problem. They found that it was related to deterioration at the top of the chimney that was causing leaking down into the basement. Moss fixed the chimney and rebuilt the closet at a reasonable price. Greg and his guys are always easy to deal with, flexible with timing to fit into our schedules, and reliable. They show up when they promise and are professional and efficient.

Description of Work
Damage repair and reconstruction related to chimney leak

Category masonry, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/06/2020


Eric W.

We chose Moss for our kitchen remodel after speaking to a handful of design and build firms. Given the size of the project and the investment we wanted to be certain that we did our due diligence. After our initial conversation with Nick, we immediately felt comfortable with Moss, and it was clear to us that they offered best balance between process, experience, and price. The project was a complete kitchen renovation – new cabinets, countertops, appliances, and a slight redesign in floorplan. We had a vision of what we wanted, but with so many decisions to be made, being able to work with Emily and design team was invaluable. Over the course of the design sessions we were able to see the kitchen come to life in the 3D renderings and adjust things on the fly as we discussed options and ideas. With any renovation, it’s always a balance between getting exactly what you want and budget – Emily did a great job of keeping us on track, was quick to let us know the cost implications of selections we were considering, and offered suggestions, insight, and guidance throughout the process. As the design process wrapped up and the project schedule was published, the COVID lockdowns started. With so much uncertainty, we were not sure when the project would get started and obviously had concerns related to having contractors in our home during the initial months of pandemic. We spoke to Matt (Project Lead) regarding our concerns and he was extremely understanding, wanting to make sure we were comfortable before any work would begin. We decided to move forward and the project ultimately started a few weeks late (end of April) due to the cabinets being delayed as a result of the shutdown, but once things got started they moved quickly with the project being largely completed within five weeks. Our on-site project manager (Chad) did a great job of keeping on top of things, informing us of what was planned for each day/week, and was always available when we had questions. Two members (Kai and Luis) of the team were onsite pretty much every day and handled all the trades other than flooring and drywall/painting. The team put on the project was intentional as to minimize the number of people that needed to be in the house and these guys were phenomenal. Given we were stuck in the house for entire project, the guys went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable with the process and progress. The upside of being home during the project was that it afforded us the opportunity to interact with them on a more regular basis when questions arose or decisions needed to be made, and without exception, they were always accommodating and willing to go the extra mile – not sure that can be said for many other firms. Obviously, no project is perfect and ours was no exception as some unexpected items arose, but again, in every case, the team was accommodating and worked through the issue to provide the best solution in the most expeditious manner. Having a major renovation done during a pandemic is not the way we envisioned things playing out, but we could not be happier with the outcome and the team at Moss.

Description of Work
Kitchen Renovation

Category interior designers, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review [Member Name Removed]!
3.0

06/29/2020


Michael S.

My project was a major renovation of my condominium, including replacing my kitchen cabinets and island, replacing my engineered wood floors, replacing my master bathroom vanity, moving a doorway, repainting the entire unit, and some other minor things. Demolition work started just before the novel coronavirus became a pandemic. Work continued throughout the planned schedule with limited (and reasonable, under the circumstances) slippage. Among the positives was my experience working with the architect and interior designer. The latter left the company before my project work actually began, but most of my design decisions had been made by that point anyway. Both the design work and architectural drawings were collaborative and efficient. Moss handled and followed up as needed to obtain required county permits. The kitchen and bathroom cabinets are good quality and seem nicer than the high-quality cabinets I had originally. I also am very pleased with the new engineered hardwood flooring. Those materials were quite expensive and the price reflects the quality received. Also noteworthy was the meticulous effort to install my kitchen backsplash tile, which was a mosaic of metal and stone. Most (unfortunately not all) issues that arose during contracting, planning, and project execution were resolved satisfactorily. Some unsatisfactory work required multiple (three or four) efforts to improve the work product. The primary deficiencies of the project were the some of the drywall work and the painting, both of which required multiple efforts to fix. While some of the drywall work was good, the area where a door was moved was never properly fixed. While there were multiple efforts to address the unsatisfactory work, the first effort seemed to make the problem worse, while the subsequent efforts (there were at least two more tries to fix the issue) eventually improved the appearance to a point of diminishing returns for further effort. The painting was egregiously unsatisfactory overall. The painting did not meet contract specifications in that the painter never used primer as explicitly stated in the contract (and in places where clearly it would have been appropriate). The assigned painter was incapable of painting clean cut lines where the walls meet the ceiling, including areas where he made at least three attempts to do so. In addition, the painter was sloppy, missing many spots and dripping or splattering paint excessively, and extraordinarily bad with any level of detail. I am still finding places where the painting is sloppy and nail holes were never filled before the painting was done. The painting aspect of this project was probably only 3 or 4 percent of the cost, but that weighed heavily in my marking the quality of the project overall rather poorly. While I would consider hiring this company again because there are limited options, I definitely would never trust the company for painting work in the future.

Description of Work
Comprehensive condominium renovation

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $125,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review and also for sharing feedback on the painting situation. We take all feedback seriously.
5.0

06/10/2020


Maggie R.

I hired Moss Building and Design to install new doors for two closets in my finished basement. The workmen did an excellent job while keeping the mess to an absolute minimum and protecting my new carpeting. They removed the old bifold doors, installed and painted the new doors, and re-installed special “train” knobs from the old doors. The new doors look great! I highly recommend Moss for projects like this.

Description of Work
Installing new doors on closets

Category appliance repair, closet systems, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

06/10/2020


Maggie R.

I hired Moss Building and Design to add a drop ceiling as well as LED lighting to my storage room to solve the problem of particles falling from the insulation in the rafters. The two workmen did an excellent job removing everything from the storage room, adding the ceiling and lighting, and then helping me put everything back exactly as I wanted. They arrived each day on time, worked hard, and were pleasant. The storage room looks great! I highly recommend Moss for projects like this.

Description of Work
Adding drop ceiling and LED lighting to storage room

Category appliance repair, lighting, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

5.0

05/29/2020


Melinda S.

Moss building and design folks were very professional. Love working with Bob Keene the project manager. He was on top of very detail to include scheduling folks. We had a tight schedule and Bob beat it by a week. I would not hesitate to hire Moss again.

Description of Work
Remodel basement

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, garage builders, home builders, architect, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $43,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

05/27/2020


Maggie R.

I hired Moss Building & Design to do a total renovation of the 50 year-old house I purchased in McLean, Virginia, and I couldn’t be more pleased with their work. The designer helped me to achieve the look I wanted. The workers paid careful attention to the details that are so important in producing quality work. Most importantly, the project manager, Greg M., pointed out issues we had not anticipated and then offered good suggestions for resolving those issues. My “new” house is perfect for me. It is beautiful, functional, and will allow me to “age in place.” Thank you, Moss Building & Design!

Description of Work
Total renovation on a 50 year-old house

Category decks, interior designers, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

Service Provider Response

See previous response - Thank you!
5.0

05/05/2020


Pallavi S.

I hired Moss Building and Design for a second story bathroom addition and bedroom expansion. The designers Emily and Liz drew out the entire plan for us and made sure we were happy with the design. The project started on time, building materials and long leads were purchased ahead of time and the day by day schedule was posted on the customer portal. Guess what, they finished ahead of schedule, achieved professional results and were quick to address any issues we had. Wouldnt have been possible without the expertise of our on-site manager Chad Jones, who watched every detail and checked on the house daily. The entire team helped us manage our budget well and were engaged with us throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend Moss and wont hesitate to hire them again

Description of Work
Bedroom Expansion Bathroom Addition

Category interior designers, home builders, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much Pallavi!
5.0

05/01/2020


Kathi B.

I used Moss Building & Design for a complete kitchen and bath (3 total) remodel. Plus, they replaced my builder grade carpet and vinyl with a luxury laminate. I am extremely happy with the quality of the work and overall finishes. From the bespoke drop zone and benches to the out of the box flooring and cabinets - the caring attention to my home was obvious throughout the project. From my first meeting to the last - my team (Nick, Matt, William, David, Ryan and Bo) did an exemplary job. I highly recommend using Moss for your home projects.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel, Bathroom Remodel, Replace flooring throughout

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2020