Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Katchmark Construction Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since May 2005

4.7

(284) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3856 A Dulles S Ct

Chantilly, VA 20151

Description

Katchmark is a family-owned business, roofing Washington, DC area homes and businesses for 25+ years. We provide high quality products and dependable, professional installation. In addition to roofing, Katchmark replaces and installs siding, windows and doors, gutters, skylights and more. We are licensed, bonded and insured in VA, MD & DC. A proud member of the GAF Master Elite installer program, having won Angie's List Super Service Award for the last several years. Be certain to check out our high ratings on the BBB and Checkbook. Additional email - stephen@katchmark.com. Family owned. Award winning. Additional contact name - Stephen Katchmark. Additional DBA - Katchmark Construction....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/10/2020


Ellen D.

He is professional, did a good job, he finished, and he clean up. He recommended that to put in the price is good.

Description of Work
He did the window, siding, roofing, and patio doors.

Category roofing,siding,replacement windows,doors

5.0

03/30/2020


Bruce A.

This is a family owned and operated business which knows customer service that starts with the estimate process and continues through to the clean up. My construction estimator texted and called me to provide estimates on his arrival time, which was to the minute. After we signed the contract, we started receiving email updates on our project. When we had agreed a date for the project, I was told that the crew would start at 7:30. The dumpster arrived at 7:15, the first worker showed up at 7:20 and the work commenced on time. The entire crew was friendly and diligent. The field supervisor was great in providing updates. The crew did a great job in protecting the house and cleaning up. Overall a great experience.

Description of Work
installation of entire new roof

Category roofing

1.0

01/25/2020


Eric A.

DO NOT use this company. The condo association for my development hired Katchmark to redo the roofs on all the buildings (about six or seven). Work started in October, and they are STILL here in late January. Here are just some of the issues we've witnessed in that time: 1. Our development has access to the W&OD trail. Katchmark decided to dump all their roofing materials for the job right near the entrance to the trail, partially blocking the entrance and absolutely destroying the lawn without a care. They've also destroyed part of the lawn in the complex that leads to the trail. 2. Workers have tossed significant debris off the roof, which almost hit me in the head once. Sometimes, the workers toss debris off the opposite side of the roof without looking below. They can also be slow to clean it up. 3. We had a cable hooked up to an unused satellite connection on the roof. Instead of removing it right away (as they promised to do several times), the workers kept moving it to the point where it crossed right in front of our door. After some persistent bugging, they finally removed it. 4. My fiancee and I slept poorly for several nights because of a loud rumbling on the roof. Apparently, the roofers just left a disconnected satellite dish up there, and the wind was blowing it back and forth all night. 5. I passed by a worker once who was standing and hocking loogies in my neighbor's garden. That same neighbor also had a problem with her heating/cooling unit, which we believe the workers shifted or tampered with on one occasion. 6. One time, I was sitting on my couch and looked up to see a worker glancing in at me through the hole in the upstairs window curtain. Maybe it was an accidental glance, but very creepy nonetheless. 7. The work looks sloppy and shoddy. I've never seen people work so long on a job that has shown such little progress. They have a ton of workers, so, even with the occasional weather setbacks, one would think it wouldn't take this long and/or it would look better. Generally, it's just annoying to have unprofessional people working in your development for three whole months, banging on roofs, stomping, shouting, hurling debris, blocking parking spots (not ours, but many others), and more without any idea when they will finish. At this point, it seems like they'll never leave.

Description of Work
Roofing Work

Category roofing

5.0

04/03/2019


Becka L.

The two gentlemen that did the roof repairs were on time, completed the two repairs, and cleaned up the work area. We received a call from Katchmark that same evening to inquire if all went well. We did run into an issue as the work was scheduled without promised prior coordination from Katchmark. An e-mail the day before stated they would arrive the next day. That message listed a Field Supervisor name, email, but the phone contact read "EMPTY". So we had no way to call him. We then contacted the estimator. No return call. Finally, we contacted Katchmark's main number and got it rescheduled for several days later. Our concern was Katchmark would show up on the property without a resident. We have been customers for several years, and this glitch would NOT keep us from using them in the future. We were disappointed that Katchmark no longer provides interior drywall repair, patching, and painting. We used them about 2 years ago on another exterior roof patch and interior drywall patch and paint where a wood burning stove was removed. They did an excellent job on the drywall. Wish we had known their business was going this way as we would have asked the workers for contact details. They were superb. . Update to review 04/04/2019 After posting my review of Katchmark, Denise of Katchmark reached out to me regarding interior drywall. Not only did she recommend a drywall company, she also set up and coordinated an appointment with that company. Because she went above the scope of Katchmark's work, I have updated my rating to an A. Thank you!

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], for taking the additional time to update your review and to highlight the effort Denise put into helping you find a drywall company to complete your project. Our goal at Katchmark is to make sure that all our customers a fully satisfied with the service provided from beginning to completion. Thank you for your loyalty to the company, and we look forward to helping you in the future with any other construction needs.
5.0

05/20/2018


John T.

We had shingles blown off our roof during the March 2nd wind storm. When we contact Katchmark Construction, Stephen came to our house that day to apply a temporary patch. He followed up with an estimate for the permanent replacement of our roof, worked with the insurance estimate, and arranged for all the work. Workers showed up as scheduled and did a great job.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

2.0

09/13/2017


Vivina M.

We contracted with Katchmark to replace our asphalt shingle roof and install gutter guards. Later they also installed gutters and downspouts in compensation for forgetting to install roof vents that we contracted for. We were told that our job would take 2 to 3 days. It actually took about two and a half months and involved about 13 visits to our house. The shingles installed on our mansard roof were crooked and had to be replaced. Some shingles on the roof had to be replaced because a worker got caulk on them. The chimney flashing had to be replaced because it was done incorrectly. The gutters and gutter guards on our carport had to be redone because they were installed incorrectly. We were told that we would receive a no-clog guarantee for our gutters but after the work was done the company would not provide this guarantee. After the gutter guards were installed we were told that no matter what kind of gutter guard is installed the gutters still have to be cleaned. So they were happy to take our money for the gutter guards but do not believe they will work. They did try to fix many of the problems but almost every time they worked on one thing they caused damage to something else. Also, every time they came to our house they caused more damage to our bushes and lawn. The salesman blamed us for finding things they had done incorrectly or not at all. Finally they offered us some monetary compensation which we accepted since they said they were not going to do any more work even though we were not totally satisfied with their work.

Description of Work
Replace the asphalt shingles on our single family house and install gutter guards.

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

09/11/2017


Robert L.

Very good company; excellent work and easy to deal with.

Description of Work
Siding and roof replacement.

Category roofing,siding

5.0

07/10/2017


Albert M.

I have to admit I was very surprised by how responsive, and professional this team was. I had a leak from an earlier roof installment. There was heavy rain in the forecast, and the team came by on Friday afternoon before the storms and did the repair work, instead of coming on Monday when they were scheduled. I can't think of a better definition of customer service. I am very grateful, because the storms turned out to be a torrent, and there were no new leaks, and the others were repaired. Several rainstorms since that day and we are dry.

Description of Work
I had a repair to previous roof installment.

Category roofing

2.0

06/23/2017


Denis C.

They did not inspect the home for damage done during their replacement. I noticed broken windows and window screens.They replaced those because I had not paid the full balance yet. I paid them in full after they fixed them. Later a potential home buyer noticed another punctured screen and stains on the siding where shingles hit. Their representative, Terry, did not respond to my text messages. I would not risk damage to my home by using these roofers again. Once they received full payment they stopped fixing the damage they had done. I only gave them a D and not an F grade because they repaired some of the damage.

Description of Work
Roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], We apologize for your negative experience. At Katchmark, we pride ourselves on superior customer service and value our customers. Your trust is important to us. We were unaware of this situation, as the representative is no longer with our company. We ask that you give us the opportunity to correct any issues, and I assure you I will have someone out immediately, both from Katchmark and the manufacturer. We've stood by our work for 28 years, and do hope you allow us another chance to make it right. Please ask for Denise Katchmark, 703-817-0200.
5.0

05/22/2017


Randall B.

Excellent job from start to finish. They came by after a hail event. The Katchmark field rep inspected the roof, assessed the damage and participated in the call with the insurance company. The field rep came back out to meet with the insurance company inspector to walk through the damage. Four weeks later we had a brilliant new roof and Katchmark did all of the legwork. Did not cost us a penny.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

4.0

04/26/2017


John K.

Overall good job and good experience

Description of Work
New metal roof, copper gutters, siding on dormers and chimney repair

Category gutter repair,roofing,siding,chimney repair

5.0

03/27/2017


michelle N.

Excellent! Mat Williams is top notch. Worked with me and my insurance company. Punctual and very professional. Excellent feedback the whole way through. Have already referred him to my neighbor and she also had a great experience. Hard to find people who show up when they say and keep you involved in the process each step of the way. As for the roof itself Katchmark has a great reputation but if it did leak I know I wouldn't get the run around with Mat.

Description of Work
New roof, gutters and screens

Category roofing

5.0

03/26/2017


P N.

Very prompt response. Thorough initial inspection including photos. Reasonable price. Work was done timely with good cleanup. No complaints.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

4.0

03/07/2017


Lynn M.

They worked for the condominiums, not for me. I also looked into them for the man that I'm seeing, but he ended up not going with them and went with his insurance and who they use. They were fine. I had a problem after they had done the roof and they were always very receptive to any of my questions when they were doing my roof. I also had phone numbers for people higher up in the company that I could call. And they were responsive about coming out and taking a look when I had questions. They did the entire community. When I would call and ask questions, they'd get back to me. I don't know what their work schedule was suppose to be.

Description of Work
They did the roofing here for the condominiums where I live.

Category roofing

5.0

02/20/2017


David G.

They communicated with me very well before the job and afterwards stopped by to make sure I was happy. They did a great job and cleaned up very well... Considering it was the entire roof stripped and shingled, I was impressed that the next morning I only found a couple nails in the front yard. The team was great, very professional and courteous. I would hire them again for sure...

Description of Work
Katchmark stripped and replaced our roof with HD shingles.

Category roofing

1.0

11/21/2016


Connie O.

There were many code violations and contract violations, as found by a highly rated roofing inspector. Also, they damaged six of our brand new windows, our gutters, and our siding on three sides of our house, even though we were promised such damage would be avoided. They started the job long before the skylights were scheduled to arrive.

Description of Work
A new roof and two skylights.

Category roofing,skylights

5.0

10/31/2016


Ellen B.

Met with Matt Wood who arrived to our home on time for an estimate. He explained the pricing, the products and the work involved. He also discussed how to work with our insurance company USAA. Once I signed the contract, the work was done in a timely manner and Matt kept me informed of the status. Oscar and his crew replaced our roof in a little over a day. They arrived early in the morning and worked until dusk and had to come back early the next day for a few hours to finish up. The roof looks great. They cleaned up the work area and were polite and hard working. I was very impressed and happy with the work. We are waiting for final approval to install our gutters. Definitely would recommend Katchmark to others homeowners.

Description of Work
We had hail damage to our roof and gutters. We needed to have our roof and gutters replaced.

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

08/27/2016


Pamela L.

It went very well. The appraiser arrived on time. The estimate of additional slates made at that time was spot on. There were no additional charges when the work was done. The work was done in the timeframe in the contract. Everything was left clean and neat. I have used this company before as it is difficult to find anyone who works with slate roofs. When it comes to slate roof repair costs, this company is well within the normal range. I will use them again.

Description of Work
A review of the situation of my slate roof, general maintenance, and the addition of slates where needed.

Category roofing

5.0

07/29/2016


Paul G.

We were extremely pleased by the entire process. Cyril worked with our insurance to complete the claims process was a total professional. He was very responsive, answering questions by phone or text. The crew that installed our new roof arrived on time on the scheduled date. They removed all the old materials and did a super job cleaning up all the debris. All members of the crew were very polite and worked through some very hot weather. The roof looks great. We were especially pleased about the new flashing around the chimney, around the 3 skylights, and on the bay windows. I would definitely recommend Katchmark to my neighbors and friends.

Description of Work
Replace roof damaged by hail and wind

Category roofing

5.0

07/08/2016


Ritchie M.

They were fair on their price. They kept us informed leading up to and during the actual work. The crews were on time, professional, and polite. One of their trucks left a gash in my driveway which they promptly fixed. They did a great job with the cleanup. Its a family owned and run business so I like that as compared to the big companies like Home Depot. We prefer to support small and local businesses. You can't ask for more. They did an outstanding job at a fair price! I highly recommend them for roofing and gutter replacement.

Description of Work
Replaced asphalt shingles that were damaged by hail with impact resistant architectural shingles. They also replaced all of our gutters.

Category gutter repair,roofing

3.0

06/17/2016


Sharon M.

The workers were sloppy , left nails and other debris in the yard, in trees, and on patios. I wasn't told they were coming but found out when I saw a ladder near my upstairs window. I asked them before I left if I needed to do anything about covering up my stuff in the attic and I was told "no, we will put a tarp down" . I didn't think about it again until I needed to get something out of the attic a couple of weeks later. When I pulled the stairs down, I was hit with splinters, shingles, nails and dirt. When I went up to see what happened, everything was covered in the same stuff, it was in everything, I spent 2 hours cleaning what i could reach and what fell to the downstairs floor. a lot of stuff had to be thrown out or washed. I complained to my association and they gave me a contact with the company. He was quick to respond and did offer to send his crew out to clean up , however it took a few days for him to get back to me on that and by that time I had already went back up to clean more myself. I could not get the areas where there was no actual flooring though, and figured I had better not send those guys back up. They also left materials out during the whole duration of time while working on all buildings , not sure if that gets ruined by rain or not. Porta potty was there for a very long time after they were done.

Description of Work
I live in the Newberry town homes and was contracted through our home owners association. New roofs were put on each building.

Category roofing

2.0

06/08/2016


John W.

· Katchmark did a TERRIBLE job reroofing on my house in 2000 after a hail storm including new siding, gutters and downspouts. The sub-contractor they hired was not supervised nor was the work reviewed. The most important defect, failure to install the water shield in the valleys leading to a leaking roof. The owner’s brother charged me over $900 to fix their mistake. There was also another earlier roof leak by a vent pipe. The other defects were almost as bad, including siding under a bay window that sagged and was falling off, a light fixture that was not attached to the house and sagging badly and the use of screws in the downspouts that rusted almost right away. There are other issues but I'll stop there. The Katchmark "salesman" was a bully. My wife had the same independent opinion of him so I asked for another represented to finish the project. Be careful, I believe he is still with the company. Recently, in May, 2016, a Katchmark salesman made an unsolicited stop at my house to discuss recent hail damage. I showed him the remaining issues with the previous work. He made no offer to include repairs while they were on-site doing new work. When I eventually selected another roofer for the job, the Katchmark representative got nasty saying he would get the attorneys involved though no commitments had been made to Katchmark. He also had other nasty comments. I will not be using them again and can not recommend them. They had many opportunities to make good on their mistakes, including May 2016, but chose not to do so.

Description of Work
Roofing, Siding and Gutters

Category gutter repair,roofing,siding

1.0

10/28/2015


Marye Jo H.

I called Katchmark today to schedule an appt for a new roof estimate for my Clients. The representative at Katchmark told me they would not meet with me or the Purchasers because we weren't the owners (yet). I explained that we were closing soon, had already negotiated a reduction in price to cover many of the repairs, and needed estimates and contracts in place to begin the work immediately after closing next week. Not only did the representative refuse to schedule us, but had a bit of an attitude with me (I'd characterize it as over confident and cocky). What this young man failed to realize is that I've worked with the same granite supplier, attorney, surveyor, hardwood installer, painter, carpet company, window installer, electrician and plumber for over fifteen years. I am extremely loyal. I have a very small and selective list of service providers I know my Clients can trust. I've never needed a roofer for an entire install but called Katchmark because they replaced a roof for the Sellers on one of my listings last year. Katchmark has missed an excellent opportunity.

Description of Work
I called Katchmark today to schedule an appt for a new roof estimate.

Category roofing,replacement windows

5.0

08/06/2015


ernie L.

it went well. provider was easy to work with....price was right, the laborers were focused and friendly. the company was very communicative throughout the process

Description of Work
replace roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/03/2015


NATALIE B.

David Hill was exceptionally responsive and made himself available regarding all of my concerns. The job ended up costing double the original price, because after the demoed the gutter, there was some rotten wood damage that costed an addition monies doubling the initial quote.The workers were on time and worked well. However, they left without informing me and once the job was inspected, the gutter had to be redesigned. after that, their work resulted in an excellent reproduction. I will definitely refer and use them again.

Description of Work
The provider replaced an ornate gutter near the roof of a 1914 historic row house.

Category gutter repair,roofing,woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Peabody Residential

    10% OFF YOUR FIRST LISTING COMMISSION! 100% Satisfaction Guarantee offered through our 3 Guarantees Program - 1) 100% Happiness Guarantee, 2) Tenant Guarantee, 3) Elective Contracts. Quick Response Time to Client Communication, Less than a 2% annual Late Payment Rate, and Zero Evictions are some of the benefits we offer to clients! Using a team approach, clients can feel confident that there is always someone available to respond to their communications and property needs. Communication and responsible decision-making are at the core of our company and 94%+ client satisfaction rating. *Guarantees only apply to the execution of a current management agreement.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Peabody Residential on Angi
    Real Property Management PROS

    Real Property Management PROS is the market leader when it comes to residential leasing and property management services. We have leased and managed over 900 properties in Northern Virginia. There is a good reason why property owners in Northern Virginia turn to Real Property Management PROS as their first choice: we have revolutionized property management in a way that guarantees a more reliable, scalable, professional and technology-driven management platform that delivers a better return on your investment. 1. We are dedicated professionals who live and work here in the Northern Virginia area. 2. We run your rental property like a business, focused on getting the best return on your investment. 3. We are held to a higher, national standard and offer greater reliability than the competition. 4. Our proven processes are based on over 25 years of experience and technology-driven platforms. 5. We have been recognized by Inc. 500 four years running as a company who is doing things right. Put simply, we offer a committed team and a more efficient process that saves you money.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Aqua-Bright Irrigation & Illumination

    We are a veteran owned business with over 25 years of experience. We specialize in lawn irrigation maintenance, as well as, outdoor low voltage lighting and holiday lighting. We provide service to all irrigation & lighting systems and offer a variety of service options.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial property management, roofing, siding, skylights, windows, doors, gutters and insulation.

    Services Not Offered

    Interior work

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Katchmark Construction Inc

    How is Katchmark Construction Inc overall rated?

    Katchmark Construction Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Katchmark Construction Inc open?

    Katchmark Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Katchmark Construction Inc provide

    Katchmark Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Katchmark Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Katchmark Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Katchmark Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Katchmark Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Katchmark Construction Inc?

    No, Katchmark Construction Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Katchmark Construction Inc offer?

    Katchmark Construction Inc offers the following services: Residential & commercial property management, roofing, siding, skylights, windows, doors, gutters and insulation.

    Are there any services Katchmark Construction Inc does not offer?

    Interior work