Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc

Founded 2006 • With Angi since November 2009

4.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8624 Ellesmere Way

Bristow, VA 20136

Description

Richardson & Ward Mech., Inc. is a family owned business. We currently have two employees. Sub-contractors are not used. All work is supervised or done by the owner. Contractors Lic.# 2705 107209. Masters Lic. # 2710 005383 (Christopher J. Ward). Reg. residential rate:$105.00/hr. No driving time charges. Angie's list members rate:$95.00/hr., 5% discount on installations. Company objective is to drive down energy costs for our clients. Additional contact name - Chris Ward. Additional email - info@richardsonward.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/09/2019


Vince P.

Everything went great and better than expected !Of course when it just started to get HOT out side in the spring,the A/C stopped. I was concerned and called Chris the owner and he came out and quickly checked it. He asked me some basic questions first over the phone to get a idea of what was going on( Thermostat clicking on inside,fan motor coming on down stairs ect). When he came out,it was a simple fuse in the unit outside. He also showed me the "blown fuse" and it was the incorrect one and was smaller than original and that someone had cut a corner many years before I moved in. I appreciate Chris to educate me, and not treat me like " service call or number ". Because of service he provided, he has installed 2 new units in other family member homes.I recommend there company ! Thank you Chris

Description of Work
My A/C stopped working and was not blowing at all or coming on

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/25/2017


Ellen P.

They are very knowledgeable and very nice people. It's a father and son business and they are just great.

Description of Work
AC Tune Up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/29/2016


Susan H.

Once again, this team showed up and fixed our problem. They educate us about the problem, and told us what to do, re. routine, preventative maintenance which will eliminate this recurring problem. They are super!

Description of Work
We had clogged condensation pipes inside the house, on the floor, that we had worked on quite a bit over several weeks with a shop vac, but could not clear the pipes.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/22/2015


Tracy S.

Father/son small business. Prompt call back to schedule an appointment; arrived exactly as scheduled. Charged up both air conditioning zones without upselling. (Although Freon is very expensive and will continue to rise until it is phased out in 5-10 years. Thanks for nothing EPA.) Our units are 15 years old and at its median useful life. Richardson & Ward offered a useful rule of thumb, if a homeowner has to recharge their unit more than once a year, it's time to replace. This is how you build trust and customer loyalty. We will certainly give R&W a call-out when our units need to be replaced.

Description of Work
HVAC inspection and repair (2 zones)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/17/2014


RIchard E.

They were very professional and thorough. The work was performed on time. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Removed a radiator and capped off the pipes.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/29/2014


steve S.

He was the epitome of professionalism, not only did he recommend a highly efficient furnace (our old one was on its last leg) but he recommended some changes to our vents that have made a remarkable difference in both the airflow and comfort level of our home. I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Chris Ward of Richardson and Ward installed our new furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/14/2014


erik M.

Chris came in evaluated the system did a service and system is back up and running. he is one of the few HVAC guys who will tell you how it is. the big box company guys come in and all they want to do is sell you new system. Chris has kept my friends system running for 3 years after two others said it was done. We are going to convert our system to gas and the others said I needed new everything chris came in and said that there are many things that can be used for m existing system since all of it was new in 2010. I refer chris to everyone I know. He installed entire new system at my boss's house last year

Description of Work
Inspected system at new home after several others said needed to be replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/15/2013


Cecil R.

Chris inspected my Heat Pump.

Description of Work
Chris inspected my Heat Pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/08/2012


Lisa B.

We loved working with Chris. He made sure we understood the Unico system and the new refrigerant he used. He worked really hard to make sure the new system and ducts would cool the entire house, even areas that had neve been cooled before like our foyer and downstairs bath. Even though he was dealing with plaster and lath walls (very tough to work with) the house was always clean and neat. We love the new systems. We love being comfortable here even in the horrilbe heat waves we've been having (temps of 105 for several days in a row). We will never use anyone else for our mechanical systems. Thank you, Chris.

Description of Work
We have been in our house in Falls Church since 1994, but we were never comfortable here in the summer until this year, when Chris Ward and his son solved our longstanding AC problems. Chris recommended and installed new AC/heat pump systems upstairs (a Unico system) and downstairs (a more traditional heat pump and AC). Because our home is older (built 1910) there was really no room upstairs for either ductwork or the mechanical system, but Chris made it work. The old system was a patched together, botched job, and we had had many contractors come who either refused to give us an estimate for a new system because it was such a difficult situation, or gave us ridiculous suggestions. We were pretty worried when the existing system completely failed, but it was a blessing in disguise.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/23/2012


Alannah B.

We have been using Chris Ward and his company for years and all I can say is that he is very honest, has fair pricing and does great work. His workmanship is very clean and he is a good communicator also. Chris really cares about his customers. We will continue to use Chris and would highly recommend him to our friends and family.

Description of Work
Chris Ward gave me a proposal to install 2 mini split systems at our home with 2 outside units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    BRIGGS HEATING & COOLING

    Briggs Heating & Air - The Heating and Cooling Company. Offering service to residential and commercial customers for heating, cooling and venting. Preventative Maintenance, one time servicing , repair and replacement.  

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling Co

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling, a family owned business and now Best Selling author on Amazon of the following self-help book: Insider Secrets Of The HVAC Experts. They have been servicing the Northern Virginia area since it was founded in 1986 by Constantis “Gus” Christofi. The one man operation thrived through unending dedication, commitment to quality, and honest hard work. For the past 7 years, with his son George at his side, the family-owned heritage continues to afford its customers with unmatched service, excellence and skilled quality work. We Are Licensed & Insured and Service All Unit Brands. Additional contact name - George Christofi. Award winning.  

    Chandler's Plumbing and Heating Co Inc

    Family owned and operated business servicing all residential properties in Northern Virginia. Recent winner of the National Business Ethics Award for 2015. Rated #1 in Washingtonian Magazine and Arlington Magazine.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential heating & A/C repair, installation, water heaters, ductless split heat pumps. Tankless Water heaters, standard water heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    Duct cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc

    How is Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc overall rated?

    Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc open?

    Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc provide

    Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc?

    No, Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offer?

    Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc offers the following services: Residential heating & A/C repair, installation, water heaters, ductless split heat pumps. Tankless Water heaters, standard water heaters.

    Are there any services Richardson & Ward Mechanical Inc does not offer?

    Duct cleaning.