Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2008

4.7

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12270 grimsby ln

Bristow, VA 20136

Description

HOME IMPROVEMENTS, POWER WASHING, PATIO INSTALL, FLOORING, PAINTING, PLUMBING, ROOFING, SIDING, CARPENTRY, FENCING, GUTTER CLEANING, DEBRIS REMOVAL....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/30/2013


Beverly B.

Replaced 1972 vintage wood windows, which meant taking out the sills and trim and adding foam insulation and cutting trim to fit. He also did a patch on drywall near window. Windows were a stock size so no issues there. Windows were installed perfectly. My old ones were so bad the curtains blew when the wind came from the west-so this is a huge improvement for my house. They slide open and closed like a dream=should have done this when I moved in. Also says they were done square and right. Major work was done in a day. He came later and painted and scrapped the outside trim for me. Very pleased at how it turned out. I am having a lot of projects done and have been pleased to have Roger Gill to work on them. He has done drywall work, tile and shower replacement and painting. So I have given a couple of reviews.

Description of Work
Purchased and installed 5 36/45 windows.

Category drywall, handyman service, replacement windows

5.0

07/17/2013


Mary R.

He came promptly to give estimate. We called to let him we wanted him to do the job. Slight communications mixup but in the end, he did come and perform the work when promised.

Description of Work
repaired rotted board on external window frame and painted it.

Category handyman service, woodworking, house painters

5.0

05/24/2013


Wade B.

Affordable Handyman and Services went very well. They did this about two weeks ago. They charged $169. The experience was very easy and very efficient. I called them to schedule it, it was within a week from scheduling, it was on time, very polite and professional.

Description of Work
Affordable Handyman and Services they did a couple of small things. Like some siding on the house and fixed the front door and installed a couple of outdoor lights.

Category handyman service, lighting, siding, doors

5.0

05/13/2013


Rita M.

Very well

Description of Work
Tiling "powder-room" floor.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

04/16/2013


Reggie B.

Went very well. I was at work but my daughter was at home and she informed me the gentleman was extremely courteous. The work performed was very professional and there were not trash, plastic or screws left behind. Highly, highly recommend. Sorry for the late review.

Description of Work
Installed 3 ceiling fans.

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

5.0

04/05/2013


John W.

I called Roger on Thursday afternoon and he was able to get out and take a look at the job (replace 4 shutters) Friday morning. He sized the job up and told me he'd be back in a few hours. He showed up on time with the proper tools and got the job done in about an hour. He did an excellent job and I will definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Roger replaced 4 shutters on the third floor of a 3 story townhouse.

Category contractors, handyman service

5.0

02/20/2013


Beverly B.

The master bath had had a leak which damaged the ceiling on the floor below. I thought the water issue had been resolved so I had Roger Gill of Affordable Handyman come out to repair the drywall. I realized the leak was not fixed and we did the master bath down to the studs( in fact, the studs were inadequate-so those got added to hold the cement board) House was built in 1972 with drywall behind tile. All that came out, walls were reinforced and new waterproof backing put in. He took time to make what was behind the walls right, not just a facelift to the surfaces. He put in a floor to ceiling tile surround, a pedestal sink, and new tile floor. For the second bathroom, I thought demolition was going to be the hardest part; how to get that old blue steel tub out of a very tight space, but they had that done in a day. The floor under the tile was a mess and needed redoing and releveling. The tub faucet needed to be moved since I wanted a single handle control. That worked out well but took some time. Also I picked a non-standard vanity with a drawer so he needed to move the drain. All went well and I'm very pleased with my updated baths.

Description of Work
I actually had two bathrooms redone. I was so pleased with how my small master bath turned out I went ahead and did the hall bath. Each cost under $6,000. For the master bath, demolition and repair of subfloor where tiles had leaked. A new walk in shower with tile surround and new tile floor. Installed a pedestal sink, mirror and new light fixture. Painted room. For the hall bath, tore out 1972 fixtures, cement board around tub, new tub,,grab bars,faucets and vanity. New tile floor . I keep my old medicine cabinet and light.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, home remodeling, interior painters

4.0

10/08/2012


Beverly B.

Roger Gill came out the next day after I called. The repairs needed were to repair a section of fence and to reset the gate which did not open. He was able to do the repairs without digging out the posts *which are set in concrete. He did a fine job and I would hire him again.

Description of Work
Repair a gate and one fence section.

Category fencing, handyman service

5.0

10/03/2012


CLAUDIA E.

I found Ricardo on Yelp, and he and his crew are as good as the reviews there say. He is an engaging, thoughtful and thoroughly delightful person who really listened to what we wanted done and was very patient while I obsessed over paint colors for two bedrooms. He would make recommendations when asked, but never pushed us do make a choice we didn't completely agree with. Ricardo went out of his way to be available for us in the evenings when we got home from work and he and his crew worked on the weekends to finish the job. He and his team's work is clean, thorough and all around excellent -- I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Ricardo Molina and his crew (including one woman -- great) repaired the ceilings in 3 rooms that were badly damaged due to a leak in the roof (replaced by another contractor), painted the rooms, installed new light fixtures, repaired the installation of a ceiling fan, refinished the hard wood floor in one room, sanded and painted our deck, and did a few more handyman-type things for us.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, house painters, interior painters

5.0

03/16/2012


Deborah P.

The guy showed up on time. He put in new rails and cleaned up after himself. He did exactly what we expected. There was nothing left behind; there was no mess. He did a good job and the garage door opener works just fine. We would recommend them. He was a nice young man and there were no problems whatsoever. We checked with others and the pricing was good. We would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
We used Affordable Handyman And Services to install our garage door opener when we moved into a new house.

Category garage doors, handyman service

1.0

11/16/2011


Letitia M.

Called to get an estimate and schedule garage door adjustment. Was told that the cost would be $75. When the workers arrived, they performed a quick tension adjustment to the garage door box. However, they charged me an additional $50. This was a total rip off as it took them less than 5 minutes to perform and I was told on the phone that the adjustment would be part of the overall $75 service call fee.

Description of Work
Garage door adjustment

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

I am Roger Gill owner operator of Affordable Handyman & Services This job was not performed by my company. I would appreciate it if you would review your records and or give me a call at 703 401 2206 I never have performed work on garage door tensioner's

5.0

09/09/2011


Rajiv K.

The guy was quite handy and he did a good job. The attitude was phenomenal and the cost was pretty reasonable from my standpoint. They are reliable and know what they are doing. They came on time and did a clean job.

Description of Work
Affordable Handyman and Services fixed my garage door. The spring had broken and they fixed it.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/17/2011


MARIA G.

We ended up completely replacing the pantry doors; but they gave it a good go. They were quick, but late for their appointment. They were very nice and personable. The price was reasonable. Thyey pretty much finished the job in 2 hours. The workers were very nice; one of the was on the chatty side, which, depending on how busy you are can be annoying or not. But they both were very nice and we would have them in our house again. There was not an issue.

Description of Work
I used Affordable Handyman and Services to paint a room, caulk, lay some tile and try to fix the pantry doors which really weren't fixable.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, interior painters, doors

5.0

06/06/2011


Joyce P.

Start to finish was quick, easy and everything done professionally.

Description of Work
We had home repairs that needed attention: recaulking tub, weather stripping around doors, bathroom fixtures changed, and door handles adjusted. The scheduler called promptly, arranged a convenient time, the handyman arrived on time, was professional, courteous and neat. All service was good. I would recommend and use this company again.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/04/2011


Deborah P.

It was a young man who came out and put up new rails, after taking off the old ones. We already had the garage door opener, but, just needed someone to install it. It was a very warm day and he didn?t complain anything, nor did I offer any ice water. He did a great job and stuck with the quoted price. I liked his services and will use the same in future.

Description of Work
We used the services of Affordable Handyman & Services to put in a new garage door, sometime October or November, 2010.

Category garage doors

5.0

12/02/2010


Edward W.

We used them because we had a contract with a company to take care of our heating, air-conditioning and plumbing and they sub-contracted them to do this work. We thought that they were top-notch. We spent about $5000 or $6000 on the plumbing part, but we did not pay him the amount directly, but to our contractor.

Description of Work
We used Elma from Affordable Handyman And Services in November of this year and he helped dig up our front lawn 10 feet and through our basement floor to get through the other end of the collapsed sewer line we had and repaired it.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning

5.0

11/18/2010


Kristin L.

Overall we were satisfied with his work and he was very reasonably priced. For our spigot, one handyman wanted to rip open our LR drywall to access the spigot pipes on the other side of the outside wall. There was no way we were going to do that and we were open to easier solutions. Luckily, Roger suggested a low-cost and easy fix that we went ahead with and has held up just fine. As far as the crawl space insulation and vents, because we had him researching a type of vent we saw online, we played a lot of phone tag and found him difficult to get hold of. That was our only downside to our experience with Affordable Handyman. Turns out no one around here carries the vent we heard of, so we opted to go with his suggestion to temporarily cover the vents with insulation during the cold months. He also replaced sagging and wet insulation, and increased the R-value of our insulated crawl space. Once we got him scheduled, he was here with an assistant and finished lickety split.

Description of Work
We used Roger to replace wet and sagging insulation in our crawl space; research low cost options to prevent the crawl space vents from constantly allowing cold air in (and making our room above it cold); and to repair a leaky outside spigot.

Category handyman service

2.0

10/20/2010


ARCHANA A.

I hired affordable handyman (Roger Gill) for several jobs. He was great initially but lately he has not been returning my calls, does not show on time. Last two jobs, he did a poor. He did not measure my windows properly and as a result we ended up with wrong windows. He managed to somehow install it with lot of delays. We ordered a storm door as per the specs he gave us and it turned out it did not fit either. He took some of the pieces from the storm door to get a replacement for lowes and never returned back to finish the job.

Description of Work
Fence fixing Paint Gutter cleaning carpet cleaning window replacement storm door installment lock replacement white board hanging

Category decks, drywall, gutter cleaning, handyman service, roofing, replacement windows, house painters, doors

5.0

09/07/2010


Sharon S.

Roger came and walked through all of our list of to-dos and explained the options we had to either repair or replace. He took the time to explain what was wrong and how he would fix it while keeping our small budget in mind. He was actually able to get the work done earlier then he had promised and stayed in touch with me via phone whenever he had questions or an unexpected decision needed to made during the repairs. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it looked when he was done and his crew made sure to clean everything up before they left. I will be keeping his number handy and telling others about his work.

Description of Work
Repaired or replaced and painted rotted trim around rear windows, shed and under the roof (new soffit, rake board etc). He also installed new carpet in the living room/dining room and stairs leading to 2nd level.

Category carpet installation, handyman service, house painters

5.0

07/12/2010


Melissa H.

He showed up when he said he would. He did the job quickly and safely. I had to go out and he finished the job while I was not even home. We paid him as soon as he finished and that was all.

Description of Work
Can't remember how much I paid, but it was reasonable. During the snow storm of the century our roof began to leak. He came out and cleared the snow and ice off my roof that same day.

Category handyman service

5.0

04/07/2010


Roger C.

We received a written estimate of the work that needed to be done. The washing machine was moved and the unfinished wall board was cut out for access to the pipe. Part of the trim was rotting and part of the sub-flooring had rotted away. The hardwood flooring was taken up and the sub-flooring replaced/fixed from both the family room and the basement. The owner, Roger Gill took my wife to Lowe's and she picked wout the mulch she wanted for the front flower beds. One of the workers spreed the mulch while the other two worked on the inside. We discovered the problems with the ceiling fan and the kitchen ceiling after the estimate was made and they still did the repailrs without any extra charge. I am very satisfied with the work and would use them again.

Description of Work
1) Water pipe leading to the washer was leaking and had to be replaced. Wall was cut out and replaced to get to the pipe. 2) The flooring in the family room was damaged from the water and a 2 by 3 foot area had to be replaced and matched to the rest of the floor as well as replace the trim. 3) The sub-flooring that was damaged had to be replaced. 4) To make the front door tight and the area around the lock fixed the trim had to be replaced, instillation replaced and the door realigned. 5) The banister going upstairs had to be tighten by removing the wooden plug, replacing the screws, replacing the plug. 6) Several ceiling tills in the basement needed to be replaced with one cut for the light fixture. 7) The wall in the basement had to be repainted to fix water damage. 8) The bathroom ceiling fan in the basement was falling down and that was fixed. 9) A corner of the kitchen ceiling was repaired to correct water damage. 10) The two front flower beds were mulched.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing

5.0

02/13/2009


Taran S.

I think it went fairly well. I think that the person that did the work was knowledgeable and was more adequate for what I needed done. He expertise was not in plumbing.

Description of Work
They installed some carpet and some deck work. They also repaired some drywall, did some painting, some more carpeting.

Category carpet installation, decks, drywall, handyman service, house painters, interior painters

5.0

11/29/2008


Walter E.

The bathroom renovations took 2 weeks longer than expected, but the product was very good. After the first shower there was also a water leak in the shower drain that Roger corrected same day. The soap dish came off the wall in the shower about 2 weeks after the bathroom was finished. Roger said he would come back and fix it, never did...So I did. The kitchen cabinets were installed and look nice. The countertops didn't follow the form of the cabinet at one end piece otherwise, it looks pretty good. The wall opening and laminate flooring both look good and so far no issues. There were some unfinished parts in the renovations that have yet to be completed. The bar has sides that need to be attached/glued into place, we've been waiting a month for someone to come back. I think Roger lost our phone number.... Overall, I think the quality of work for the price is very good. If we can ever get them back to our house, then we will likely hire them again.

Description of Work
Affordable Handyman was contracted to provide renovations of a master bathroom (flooring, shower, plumbing, lighting, toilet, vanity, sink, fixtures and paint). Install kitchen cabinets and countertops, install laminate flooring and create framed opening in wall for bar.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/28/2008


Mitchell C.

The job went great. After calling about 5 different handymen services and having only 3 return my calls and give me an estimate, Roger Gill was the cheapest. I found him on Craigs list and took a chance. Well I won. This guy is great. He works with his family, cousin, brother etc. He came out gave me an estimate and actually started working the next day. Roger and his crew worked non stop for like 7 hours and made a couple trips to home depot too. All included in the total estimate. This guy is a gem. Use him. You won't be sorry. One other point to mention. When it came time to buy the gravel for under my deck, I assumed Roger would go to the hardware store and load up his truck with bags of gravel (at my expense of course). But he knew better. Instead he said he was going to go to the rock quary and buy it by the ton. LOL. 3 pickup truckloads later, he was finished and it only cost me $80!!!! This guy is great. Enough said.

Description of Work
Roger and his crew repaired and replaced shingles on my roof. He repaired and fixed storm damaged vinyl siding and cleaned out my gutters. Roger also removed and hauled away debris from under my deck and poured in 1.5 tons of gravel and raked it level under the deck. I had an old DirecTV mast and antenna connected to the house. He pulled it down and hauled it off. Roger rehung a broken closet door and then installed two new ceiling lights in my covered deck.

Category handyman service, roofing, pavers, gravel

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jr leesburg painting llc

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Professional Touch LLC

    Professional Touch offers many painting and drywall repair services for home owners and businesses alike. From our highly knowledgeable workers, to our prompt, courteous service and reasonable rates, you can't go wrong with letting us tackle your "To Do" list.  

    MC Fence of Fredericksburg

    Call today for fencing services!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    HOME IMPROVEMENTS, POWER WASHING, PATIO INSTALL, FLOORING, PAINTING, PLUMBING, ROOFING, SIDING, CARPENTRY, FENCING, GUTTER CLEANING, DEBRIS REMOVAL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES

    How is AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES overall rated?

    AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES open?

    AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES is open:

    Sunday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES provide

    AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offer free estimates?

    Yes, AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offers free project estimates.

    Does AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offer emergency services?

    Yes, AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES?

    Yes, AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offers warranties.

    What services does AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offer?

    AFFORDABLE HANDYMAN AND SERVICES offers the following services: HOME IMPROVEMENTS, POWER WASHING, PATIO INSTALL, FLOORING, PAINTING, PLUMBING, ROOFING, SIDING, CARPENTRY, FENCING, GUTTER CLEANING, DEBRIS REMOVAL.