Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Quality Concrete & Masonry

Founded 1978 • With Angi since July 2008

5.0

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1705 CHILLY HOLLOW RD

Berryville, VA 22611

Description

Additional contact: Tavis Newman...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/10/2016


Samuel G.

Went very well. It was slow going because of the heat, but it was done in a timely manner, and we were satisfied.

Description of Work
Needed to have damaged patio taken out an graveled in; also some bricks needed replacing.

Category masonry

5.0

09/04/2016


Andrew M.

So like a number of other house, we had sinking front concrete steps. Our sizable front stairs had sunk about 6 inches and pull the attached walk with it. It got to the point we just had to have them replaced. I checked out various options for having them mud-jacked, but my concern was that that would not really fix the issue for the long term and they would just end up sinking again. After getting several bids we went with Tavis at Quality Concrete and Masonry. They weren't the cheapest bid but seemed the most trustworthy and had the best plan to make sure the problem did not re-occur. Tavis started on a Tuesday and was essentially work complete by Saturday. His work was very high quality. Because of the site, amount of concrete, etc. he used 1.5" rebar instead of the standard 0.5" rebar to tie the steps to the house. ( I've never even seen 1.5" rebar before.) Site was left clean each day and the final product exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
Removal and full replacement of front concrete stairs and walk.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/28/2016


JIM B.

We have an in-ground pool and deck. We wanted a concrete patio next to the existing deck on which we will build a gazebo. It hard to find someone to do a smaller job quickly. We wanted to enjoy the gazebo before summer was over. Tavis worked my job in between his other jobs. The patio was finished quickly and looks great.

Description of Work
Poured a concrete patio

Category concrete repair

5.0

12/28/2015


Mark Phillip K.

Tavis was prompt, courteous, and professional. He came out several hours after I made the initial call and started the job the next day. He completely removed and replaced the broken bricks on our brick patio, and re-tiled the entrance way to our basement. The final outcome was fantastic! He did a great job.

Description of Work
Replaced tile and brick that had been damaged due to a sump pump installation

Category ceramic tile,concrete repair,masonry

5.0

05/21/2015


Lynne L.

We have employed Tavis on 3 separate occasions now, and would totally recommend him; his work is exceptional. Tavis is a perfectionist and this quality reflects in his work. He is extremely easy to communicate with; I am a creative person who likes to be able to bounces ideas off contractors to see what feedback/guidance they can provide to help carve out your project and reach your final goal. Tavis worked with me and helped in the design of the project every step of the way and turned our very plain rear garden space into our very own oasis. He helped solve drainage issues we had, which was the initial reason we started the project. Tavis is a very hard worker and the quality is in the detail, he learned the trade as a kid from his father and has been doing this for a very long time now. The only down side I would say he is a little pricey, but you also get what you pay for and his work is excellent. I can attest to his concrete work also because the first job Tavis completed for us was to pour a concrete base for our backup generator which I think we did in 2011 (if memory serves me right). He made sure to provide a detail that stopped the generator vibrating up the wall because it was attached to the wall/foundation of the house and the pour was industrial strength concrete. My husband and I joke all the time about Tavis's work because I swear our house will fall down before any of Tavis's work does, because it is built so well. He always goes that extra mile, if he thinks something could be a problem in future and by doing a little something extra in the prep work he can prevent it, he will try his best to plan for those events and build it a little deeper or a little stronger to start.

Description of Work
Build a walkway from pavers with stairs and a small wall (built from block) that connected onto a retaining wall and stairs that Tavis had previously installed for us. Additionally, he extended the front of our patio with pavers.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

07/30/2014


Boyd D.

Tavis does an excellent job. His up-front estimate to complete the work was 2 weeks and it ended up at 9 days. He and his assistant were very consistent in their day-day schedule and once they started the job, you knew they were focused on your project and making sure you were happy with the results. You can tell Tavis cares about the quality of his work by doing the little extras. The project site was kept neat and cleaned up at the end of each day, and Tavis and his assistant were always very professional and polite. We're very happy with the results and highly recommend Quality Concrete and Masonry.

Description of Work
Tavis built a raised (6") poured concrete patio with flagstone paver top on the location of a recently removed deck (roughly 12'x12'). The work included the addition of 3 matching steps (also concrete with paver top). Tavis and his assistant also refinished an outdoor concrete stairwell and did some minor mortar patching.

Category concrete repair,hardscaping,patios

5.0

06/16/2014


Donald K.

It was a great experience working with Tavis and we highly recommend him and his work.

Description of Work
Tavis resurfaced the front entry to our villa. The original concrete work was done poorly and it completely broke apart. Tavis came to the house, provide a written estimate, and did the work as stated. His work was professional and of the highest quality. He was courteous and prompt. He completed the work and cleaned up all of the mess as though he were not here. We would highly recommend him and his work.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/12/2014


Tim P.

They showed up exactly when they said they would and did a top notch job. They stayed much longer than they planned on due to a delay at the concrete plant and then some unexpected rain. Great, honest guys who know their trade and do it at a very fair price.

Description of Work
Brian and company formed up and poured a monolithic slab/footers for a mudroom addition.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/16/2012


Anthony R.

Smooth. Some weather related challenges and course adjustments based on ground conditions. Contractor explained everything and offered suggestions as we got into it. Really good experience. Second generation local business.

Description of Work
Installed below ground waterproofing, drainage tiles and runoff system, installed concrete pad for HVAC unit, installed patio concrete pad, insured correct drainage on all of the above.

Category concrete repair,irrigation systems,basement waterproofing,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the good words and great review. Your project was unique . I'm happy that I was able to resolve the drainage issues you where having. Thank you for your business and feel free to call if you need anything else. ~Tavis Newman
5.0

10/08/2011


Charles K.

Had him come out and look at job, got an est. digging footers, laying up blocks and finish with smooth concrete over half the job. ( Hand digging since mobile home was already in place) After checking him out and 2 others I hired him to do the job, Total time on job was 7 days. 3 days hand digging the footers and laying them out for concrete, 2 hr's for pouring concrete (166 feet) with 2 helpers (could not get truck real close) 3 days laying up block with one helper and 4 hr's putting smooth concrete finish over front and one side of Home, All work was done as good as any I have seen. The owner did most the work by himself including hand digging the footers. When checking him out I looked at some of his stone work and it was again done as good as any I have seen. would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Replace skirting around mobile home with 8 inch blocks

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways,masonry,foundation repair,stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

Thank you! What a great review! It was a tough job but well worth it in the end . I enjoyed your company and hope you are doing great these days. Call me any time if you need anything :)

    Other local Pros in your area

    VM Drainage & Erosion Solution LLC

    VM Drainage & Erosion Solutions will solve your drainage or landscape problems. Now is the best time to take the first step, contact VM Drainage & Erosion Solutions about our practical and permanent drainage and erosion solutions. We are also experts in house cleaning, lawn/yard care, and tree service. We offer good prices for everyone and we are very flexible with what we do. We are proud to offer one of the best warranties in the Virginia, Maryland and Washington Area because our goal as a company is to perform the best quality work, we enjoy providing our customers with a trustworthy and transparent warranty that sets a high standard among other competitors and confidently represents the faith put in our work.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by VM Drainage & Erosion Solution LLC on Angi
    Stampcrete of Maryland, Inc.

    I am on every one of my jobs. We hold the old time values of quality work and customer satisfaction. We only use quality products. After 25 years of experience in concrete and construction we became the Maryland distributor and stamp contractor trainer for Stampcrete products. We provide free estimates. We except cash, checks and major credit cards.  

    David Ricard Masonry, LLC

    If you're looking for high quality and personal service, you've come to the right place. At David Ricard Masonry we’ll take your ideas and turn them into beautiful artwork that always pleases our customers. Honest family business that has been serving the Washington DC area for over 12 years. Please call (571) 437-8957 24/7 to contact us for a free estimate now!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Custom construction, concrete, brick, block, stone, & ceramic tile. footings, foundations, patios, pool decks, walkways, retaining walls, driveways, chimneys, interior hearth, fireplace fronts, ceramic tile floors, bathrooms, showers & kitchens.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Quality Concrete & Masonry

    How is Quality Concrete & Masonry overall rated?

    Quality Concrete & Masonry is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Quality Concrete & Masonry open?

    Quality Concrete & Masonry is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Quality Concrete & Masonry provide

    Quality Concrete & Masonry accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Quality Concrete & Masonry offer free estimates?

    Yes, Quality Concrete & Masonry offers free project estimates.

    Does Quality Concrete & Masonry offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Quality Concrete & Masonry offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Quality Concrete & Masonry offer a senior discount?

    No, Quality Concrete & Masonry does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Quality Concrete & Masonry offer emergency services?

    Yes, Quality Concrete & Masonry offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Quality Concrete & Masonry?

    No, Quality Concrete & Masonry does not offer warranties.

    What services does Quality Concrete & Masonry offer?

    Quality Concrete & Masonry offers the following services: Custom construction, concrete, brick, block, stone, & ceramic tile. footings, foundations, patios, pool decks, walkways, retaining walls, driveways, chimneys, interior hearth, fireplace fronts, ceramic tile floors, bathrooms, showers & kitchens.