Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Collins Tile & Stone

Founded 2008 • With Angi since November 2009

Collins Tile and Stone is a kitchen and bath remodeling company in Northern Virginia. We are a family owned and operated business committed to superior customer service and high quality tile and stone installations. We offer full kitchen and bathroom remodeling services including expertise with radiant heated floors, steam showers and more. We also coordinate architectural design services for large scale remodeling projects with local architects. We have referrals to the areas top tile and stone distributors where tile experts are available to assist with material selection. We work with professional tile designers who assist our clients with innovative designs and take the basic remodeling vision from a core concept to the installation phase and final renovation which exceeds the expectations of our clients and meets the highest standards within the tile industry. We achieve exceptional customer service and high quality craftsmanship by employing talented and skilled tradesman. We are one of two tile contracting companies in Northern Virginia to employ tile installers certified by the Ceramic Tile Education Foundation. Each Certified Tile Installer has completed the technical proficiency and hands-on tests of the certification program validating their skill and knowledge of tile installation. At Collins Tile and Stone we follow the TCNA (Tile Council of North America) handbook of guidelines in all installations to ensure top-quality craftsmanship. We are proud of our awards and certifications. We were recently honored with the 2015 Residential Grand Prize Winner of the Project of the Year awarded by the NTCA for technical expertise and superior craftmanship. This is the 2nd year in a row we were recognized with this distinction (2014 and 2015). In 2011, Collins Tile & Stone joined an elite group of 42 contractors from across the U.S. when we were named a Five-Star Contractor by the National Tile Contractors Association (NTCA).

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(158) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 158 reviews
John C.
5.0
08/03/2021
We were very happy with service. The workmanship was top-notch!
Description of Work
remodeled bathroom
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued business, [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed]. We are so happy you are pleased with the outcome!
Timothy M.
5.0
05/15/2019
I’m looking to renovate my master and guest bathrooms within the next year or two and I can be very particular about materials, craftsmanship, and the details of how the contractor plans to go about the job. Separately, I’ve long wanted to install a stacked-stone kitchen backsplash. I figured the best way to ensure I was choosing the right contractor for my bathrooms - given the considerable cost and time involved in such renovations – was to first hire them to install my kitchen backsplash. I searched Angie's List for an experienced tile shop that seemed customer orientated and found Collin’s Tile & Stone. I emailed Buck Collins on 18 April 2019 to ask if he could give me an email estimate based on my attached pictures, measurements, and specific materials; he said no problem and got back to me the following day with a $1,300 estimate - the one-day labor rate it would take to complete the job. Buck thoroughly answered my numerous questions about grouting and sealing stone, how his shop cuts seams and works the stone around corners, and how they extend electrical receptacles given the varying depths of the stone face. After just two emails exchanges it was abundantly clear that Buck’s shop is the very definition of a service-oriented company. I never once felt I was getting a sales pitch or being pressured to choose a particular option. Buck let me know he could schedule my job in between his larger jobs if I was okay being a little flexible. On 26 April, Buck reached out to me asking if I happened to be available 28 April for the installation since he had a last-minute opening. We coordinated the specifics and his tile master Arpad showed up on time and prepared to start. Arpad knew I had a very particular vision in mind (stone size, color, shape, texture, and seamlines); we discussed the layout I envisioned and he offered some great suggestions that noticeably improved the overall look of the backsplash. Arpad is a true craftsman who was nothing but professional, pleasant to work with, and cleaned up as if my house was his own. He didn’t hesitate to reach out for clarification or ask my preference when multiple methods of installation presented themselves. Arpad’s patience and attention to detail are evident in his work and I’m very pleased how everything turned out. When I finally got around to installing the new receptacle covers a couple days later I noticed the stone around one particular outlet had a high cut that could be seen above the cover. Arpad made the cut exactly where one would expect and it honestly wasn’t his fault; the in-wall electrical box was mounted oddly when the house was built so it through off how the cover sat. I reached out to Buck, conveyed how it looked, and asked if Arpad could come back to replace the lone piece in question; without any hesitation or questioning Buck told me “Arpad will drop by to see what we can do”. Arpad arranged a time to swing by that was convenient for me and he flawlessly cut and reinstalled a new piece. My backsplash wasn’t the largest job in the world, but you’d never know that by Buck’s consistently punctual responses to my inquiries and intimate interest in my job. In the two weeks since the project was completed two neighbors and a friend commented how “natural” and “stellar” the backsplash looked and inquired about the company that did the job. I already let Buck know when the time and funds line up for me to renovate my bathrooms I’m won’t be wasting my time seeking or comparing estimates. Go with Collin’s Tile & Stone, you won't regret it.
Description of Work
Kitchen Backsplash
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Gary H.
5.0
05/10/2019
A very professional job installing 8'X36" wood-look tile. Squeaks were addressed, a premium underlayment was used and the floor is gorgeous and has a sturdy feel to it. From start to cleanup it was a great experience. This company also did a master bathroom renovation for us several years ago and the quality of that job convinced us to use them again.
Description of Work
Porcelain tile kitchen flooring
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

We're happy you are so satisfied with our product and service. Thank you for your business.
Carole G.
5.0
03/12/2019
Collins employees showed up on time and put in a days work. They cleaned up every day, and they finished up a day early. They were always polite and respectful of our home. I find them easy and a pleasure to work with. They did an excellent job.
Description of Work
Floor tiling
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. We appreciate your kind words.
Monica E.
5.0
08/15/2018
I hired Collins Tile & Stone to install the backsplash in my kitchen because the previous contractor had done a horrific job (from reading other reviews it seems this happens a lot, ugh) and the whole thing needed to be re-done. I am so glad I found Collins! I actually pat myself on the back for taking the time to find the very best. Everything about this company is outstanding! Their fantastic customer service is a rarity in this day and age and their commitment to workmanship and customer satisfaction is unparalleled. Nothing will get done in my house from now on unless it’s done by Buck Collins, not kidding. Already planning for my bathroom reno. Thanks to everybody at Collins and a special shout-out to lovely Kristin who held my (virtual) hand through many emails and not least to the guys who did the job. Professionals thru and thru. I couldn’t be happier 💕
Description of Work
Backsplash in kitchen
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it!
Charles K.
5.0
06/30/2018
Collins was excellent. They were on time daily. They cleaned up every day when they were finished. Workmanship was excellent. Minor negatives were labor costs seemed a bit high and no one called or came by when the project was completed to see how things were and to see if we were happy.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it!
Philip C.
5.0
05/03/2018
The crew was very professional: skilled, timely, punctual, neat, responsive, honest, and very hard working. We trusted their advice on unexpected issues found during remodeling and they provided information that helped us make a decision. The remodeling came out as we expected and priced. Would definitely recommend. The guys went the extra mile-it showed.
Description of Work
Kitchen & Bathroom remodeling
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure to work with you. We hope you enjoy your new remodel for many years and will keep us in mind for any future projects. Joanne Fuller Collins Tile and Stone
Bobbie R.
5.0
03/06/2018
Everyone we dealt with was professional, knowledgeable, and clearly explained the work needed to get the job done. The estimate provided for the work and time needed was nearly perfect. The crew was respectful of our home and took great to allow us to live in our home while work was underway. We love the floors and appreciate the extra effort to get the toe kicks and scribe just right.
Description of Work
We needed to have tile replaced in kitchen and wanted to tile another room which was carpeted.
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We are so happy you loved your new floors. We enjoyed working with you. Please let us know if we can help you with any other home improvement needs. Joanne Fuller Collins Tile and Stone
turnell S.
5.0
01/01/2018
Excellent company. Buck the owner and his workers were very responsive. They left my home neat and clean as can be after each day of work. Communicated progress daily. Craftsmanship was great. Floors turned out amazing!
Description of Work
Kitchen floor tile
Category
ceramic tile
Nancy N.
5.0
10/14/2017
Buck Collins came to give me an estimate within a week of my initial call. He explained how they would do it, agreed to use 2 boxes of mosaic I had left over from the original job and called his supplier to order an additional box of the same tile. Later that day I had a detailed estimate of the work to be done, the time required and the cost. They scheduled the work within 3 weeks. His team of Ardo and Oscar were here 1 1/2 days and successfully replaced the floor. Ardo even noticed that the marble thresholds into the bedroom and closet were not properly installed and asked if he could repair them with the appropriate material that they were using on the shower. Each day the bath and driveway where the mixed grout and cut tile was left clean. Every person I spoke to in the company was wonderful, including Dana Collins who scheduled the estimate and Kristin who scheduled the work and processed the payment. I wish I had used this company from the start of the remodel. I highly recommend them for their knowledge, skill and ease of working with them. I will just add they are extremely polite and kind people.
Description of Work
My bathroom update 5 years ago was done by a lousy contractor and the floor of the shower was not sealed properly. The wrong type of grout was used and not sealed properly, water had leaked through the tile on the shower floor and was trapped between the floor tile and the waterproof barrier. In the last 3 years I had 2 tile companies come out to give me an estimate on repair. One said the entire shower had to be torn out and they would not guarantee the frameless glass enclosure and door would still fit. The second company diagnosed the problem and said the floor would have to be replaced, but they did not have the ability to do it without removing the wall time and mosaic inset. That company recommended I call Collins Tile, saying they were the only local company she would trust to remove and successfully replace only the floor tile. She was right!
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Chris W.
5.0
10/09/2017
The work was excellent. I think there are 3 areas a consumer cares about when hiring a contracting, and Collins Tile and Stone nails them all. First, communication was prompt and clear throughout the process, from the planning and initial estimate through the end of the project. Buck, Dana, and company aren't going to snow you with explanations that go over your head, and will patiently and thoroughly explain everything. Second, these guys show up every day until the work is done. When the job starts, they have a crew working full days, every day until it is done. My kitchen is a small galley kitchen in a 1 bedroom condo, and once the various supplies (cabinets, appliances, etc) arrived, it was a pretty cramped space that might have easily excused have 1 or 2 people working, yet Collins Tile and Stone had 3 people working 8 hours a day until the job was done (3 weeks in total). Third, Collins Tile and Stone does things right without being told. Most people don't know the first thing about the correct way to install tile, and they will explain to you all about, for instance, the way tiles deform slightly in the kiln and why that means you want a 1/3 tile offset. They won't cut corners just because they think you won't notice, and they will take good care of your home while they are working there. For a kitchen or bathroom remodel, I don't think I'd bother calling anyone else.
Description of Work
I had a complete kitchen remodel, tearing the old kitchen out to the proverbial studs (the old walls were plaster so there were no studs), then rebuilding the kitchen in its entirety, including rewiring the electrical.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed working with you and we value your input. We truly appreciate the time you took to detail the project and the areas that were important to you! The team at Collins Tile and Stone looks forward to working with you again in the future.
David K.
5.0
10/05/2017
No flaws or issues whatsoever. The shower came out beautifully and it was a pleasure to be able to meet and interact with Mr. Collings.
Description of Work
Job entailed building a new tile & stone in master bathroom. Professionalism and customer service were evident from the very beginning. Mr. Collins came to my residence himself and evaluated the prior tile work and described everything needed to bring it up to a quality shower. His tile personnel were very professional and did an amazing job while along the way checking with me to see if I was liking the direction they were headed (considerate). The store support were also very helpful with scheduling and questions.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed working with you and we value your input. The team at Collins Tile and Stone looks forward to working with you again in the future.
Joanne H.
5.0
09/28/2017
I had them do two different projects: Powder room- Remove tile, placed stone tile in a very intricate pattern, installed toilet and sink with plumbing Entryway- install tile in a herringbone pattern in a large entryway..
Description of Work
Tile floors in foyer and powder room,
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed working with you and we value your input. The team at Collins Tile and Stone looks forward to working with you again in the future.
Kevin B.
5.0
09/26/2017
We contracted Collins Tile & Stone to do a bathroom remodel after a previous contractor did not do the work properly. When we met with Buck Collins, we were in the process of gathering estimates; however, after meeting with Buck we were so impressed with his knowledge, professionalism, and kindness that we cancelled the other estimates and proceeded with his company. He was willing and able to dive into as much detail as I wanted -- from weep holes to surface deflection. Although Buck stated, up front, that his quotes tend to be on the higher end; we found his estimate very fair and, after seeing the finished product, well worth it. Communication was great and the crews showed up promptly every day that work was scheduled. We primarily worked with Oscar and Mike (though others were there to assist from time-to-time) and they were phenomenal. Oscar was meticulous in ensuring that the tiles were set and aligned properly. All work met or exceeded the rules and regulations defined in the VA State Residential and VA State Plumbing code. We also want to highlight that we were expecting a child within 1 month of receiving the estimate. Though there is no guarantee that the timing will work like this in the future, we were thrilled that Buck was able to work us in and complete the project with time to spare. In summary, we highly recommend Collins Tile & Stone and will definitely be using them again in the future.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel (Tile, Shower, Tub Surround)
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the very nice and detailed review. We enjoyed working with you and we value your input. The team at Collins Tile and Stone looks forward to working with you again in the future.
Frank B.
5.0
09/11/2017
Very professional job. There were a few minor issues that they took care of promptly
Description of Work
Remove existing tile and install new ceramic tile with under floor heat in master bathroom.
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the nice review for the tile work we performed. Thank you for entrusting us to remove your original floor heating and install new heating and a tile floor. We were happy to return and assist with touch up details. We appreciate your input and your business and look forward to working with you again in the future.
Ira B.
5.0
08/22/2017
Superbly!! The team was professional, competent, respectful, accommodating, They did a superb job on a VERY complex project and cleaned up daily.
Description of Work
Major bathroom remodel.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the very nice review of your bathroom remodel project. We enjoyed the opportunity to work with you. We truly value your feedback and look forward to working with you again. Lori Conroy, Director of Marketing
Carole G.
5.0
06/21/2017
Buck and his crew delivered as promised. They got thru the demolition in a couple days, and the whole project took about 4/5 weeks. They were careful around our art glass andchandelier and good about cleaning up after themselves, and they dealt with all the little unexpected problems that came up, and there always are some.
Description of Work
A complete kitchen remodel. Everything but the floors is new. It's a very small kitchen and i was clear about not changing the foot print.
Category
countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the very nice review of your kitchen project. We enjoyed the opportunity to work with you and to also photograph the beautiful final renovation. We truly value your feedback and look forward to working with you again. Lori Conroy, Director of Marketing
Barry N.
5.0
06/19/2017
We had great confidence in the outcome from the first consultation with the owner, Buck Collins, as he clearly conveyed that he knew what was involved in removing the old tiles that had been bedded on mud. He also impressed us that his people would do everything humanly possible to minimize any adverse impact on the rest of the house and so it proved. Great care was taken to protect the hardwood floors and the bedroom furniture, as well as minimize the dust from removing the old tile. The crew arranged fans to blow most of the dust out through the bathroom window and carefully cleaned up after each work day. Unlike other vendors from whom we sought estimates Buck has us visit Conestoga Tile as well as a Silestone supplier, to select the tiles and vanity top, as well as to Ferguson for the plumbing fittings, vanity, sinks, etc before providing a very detailed estimate. While this meant it took longer we then knew exactly what we were getting and we had the greatest possible choice. He also directed us to individual customer service people in whom he had well justified faith in their ability take us through what can be an overwhelming process. As his subsequent estimate showed he also supplied the tiles, plumbing fittings etc at his cost with no additional mark up. When Buck first visited us he made a significant point that he employs master craftsman to do the tiling. This is key to the final outcome as it is where the most skill is required to achieve a quality result. Oscar did our tiles and he is an absolute perfectionist. We were also most impressed by all the crew, both by their diligence and by their very pleasant personalities. While Buck's quote wasn't the cheapest we are very happy with the value and with the whole experience - something we had previously been dreading. We will definitely choose Collins Tile again as and when we need additional similar work
Description of Work
Remodeling the master bathroom - new tiles on floor, in shower, around Jacuzzi (including around wood facing), new double sink vanity with Silestone surface and under-hung sinks, new shower head and mixer valve, new high quality faucets, new 1/4 turn stop-valves, two new grab bars, a new medicine chest and an Ebbe drain in shower. Fitting of a new high quality frame-less glass door and side panel. The Existing Toto Drake high efficiency toilet was removed and replaced after completion of tiling.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed] - Thank you for your very nice review of the recent remodeling work we provided. It sounds like you did have a good experience and we are happy to hear that! We truly value your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards, Lori Conroy - Marketing Director, Collins Tile and Stone
Jason H.
5.0
06/11/2017
The experience was fantastic. The price was slightly higher than competing offers, but the quote came in with all of the details needed and was 100% accurate for what we wanted; This step appeared difficult for competitors. The workers were respectful and brought their own lockbox to keep everything simple and really made this work easy for us.
Description of Work
We needed a shower completely rebuilt, and rebuilt right. The previous owners had done some cheap tile work and we could not keep the mold growth out of our shower. There was only drywall and wood directly under all the tiling.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - thank you for your very nice review of the recent remodeling work we provided. We truly value your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards, Lori Conroy - Marketing Director, Collins Tile and Stone
Lisa M.
5.0
05/17/2017
From the moment we initially met Buck Collins until his final walk through of both remodeled bathrooms, our experience with him, Dana and his entire company was outstanding. He runs his company with smooth precision. His work force is highly talented and conscientious. Communications with everyone was excellent. Each member of the Collins team was engaged and on top of their game. Our team comprised Arpad and Oscar and field Super Steve, all gems. If you want solid craftsmanship and a tightly run ship this is the company. In fact, Buck's other company, Collins Concrete Coatings did the flooring in our garage and basement. See my review there as well.
Description of Work
Collins Tile & Stone remodeled 2 bathrooms, a hallway and ensuite bathroom. The ensuite bathroom converted a contrived tub area into a gorgeously tiled shower with glass enclosure.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]- thank you for your very nice review of the recent remodeling work we provided. We truly value your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards, Lori Conroy - Marketing Director, Collins Tile and Stone
Lori C.
5.0
02/23/2017
We worked with the owner, Buck, for almost a year on design and finishes. The experience in dealing with Buck and his team was exceptional from start to finish. We also very much enjoyed working with his preferred vendors on selection of finishes. Each one treated us like VIPs and helped us so much with making the right design choice while still staying on budget. Once the project started, the entire on site team was very thorough and pleasant to work with. The schedule was very accurate and completed on time. Any punch list items were promptly addressed and anything we felt we wanted to change, they were accommodating throughout the process. We will definitely use Collins Tile again in the future to remodel other rooms in our house. Right up to the last detail, we were constantly in touch with Buck and management. It's also worth noting how friendly and professional the entire onsite team is. When people are in your house daily for six weeks, this makes a big difference!
Description of Work
Master bath remodel - full gutting down to studs and all new fixtures.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling
William D.
5.0
02/23/2016
Excellent. Were able to review and select from a wide offering of tiles and fixtures. A detailed estimate was provided so there were no surprises about was and was not to be performed. Workers appeared every day -- included the Monday after "snowzilla" -- at 7:30 am and worked to 3-3:30 pm. Sometimes a bit longer if needed to finish a section. At no time were we without at least one working bathroom. Quality of installation is impeccable. Two issues occurred and were resolved. First, an existing non-conforming vanity/toilet arrangement was not recognized; that required a new, smaller, vanity to be ordered (and thus some delay). Second, an unopened faucet set had mismatched handles.
Description of Work
Complete remodeling of 2.5 bathrooms. Gutted existing full baths, installed ceramic tile and new fixtures.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Robert A.
5.0
01/10/2016
About 4-5 years ago I started looking to do a bathroom remodel. I met with several contractors and indicated I wanted to do ?x,y, and z? in my bathroom. All of the contractors had reasons that I should not do ?x,y, and z?. I knew ?x,y, and z? were possible and were being done elsewhere, but if I couldn?t have what I wanted, why do a remodel? Fast forward 4 years. I could no longer wait on a remodel. I started doing research and came up with several possible contractors and interviewed them. I also started researching bathroom remodels in general as well as getting more details on some of the major items that I wanted to include in the bathroom ? we have a large master bathroom; around 250 square feet. From our first interview with Buck of Collins Tile and Stone, I knew this was someone who understood what I wanted and could achieve it. He was able to explain that if I wanted ?x?, it meant ?this? and would cost ?that? and was I willing to pay that amount of money to get this one thing ? granted at this stage is was an extremely rough estimate but did help to provide clarity to make an informed decision on having ?x? or not having it. Other contractors interviewed said I could get ?x?, but not ?y? ? why did I even want ?y?, etc. Other contractors agreed way too quickly to giving me anything I wanted making me leery that they actually understood what I wanted or the technical aspects of it. Additionally, Collins Tile and Stone use their own employees for everything but the granite countertop, glass shower enclosures and electric. This made me more comfortable with using Collins as it their employees during the majority of the work. As we got deeper into the details of what was possible (and realistic), Collins had relationships with people that were able to provide the architectural/engineering drawings for the county for getting the appropriate permits. The other thing I noticed is that depending upon the contractor involved you had typically one of three ways to reach a final cost: 1) allowances, i.e. labor will cost ?$x? and you get ?$y? to pick out cabinets, hardware, tile, etc. 2) pick from what you see in our showroom and after you pick we will get you final pricing, but if we don?t have a specific item you are looking for, then you may not be able to have it, or 3) make all of your selections at various retail locations and they will inform us of your choices and we will get you the total costs. There is nothing wrong with any of these approaches and eventually you have to make all of your selections anyway. Collins Tile and Stone uses the 3rd approach. It is a LOT of decisions to make when doing a bathroom remodel. The people that Collins referred me to were first rate ? they don?t just say go to store#1; Collins says go to store#1 and speak with Mary. All of the people they referred me to were patient, had great ideas, listened to what I wanted the room to look like and then helped me to pick ?fixtures? within a price range to achieve what I wanted in a painless manner. It took a little more time going from place to place to pick out plumbing, cabinets and tile than using an ?all-in-one showroom?, but I got to see more items and be sure that what I picked was ?right? for me ? this was worth the extra time for me. Additionally, Collins had their electrician come out and listen to what I wanted; dimmers, where I wanted things switched at, type of ventilation fans, etc. This also allowed the final pricing to be completely accurate for what I had chosen, my tile design, etc. ? everything was known about what was being down prior to the pricing so it was accurate and there were no surprises. The main reason that I selected Collins was the comfort that I felt in their ability to get the job done correctly. I wanted Schulter waterproofing ? I was told by a lot of contractors: you don?t need Schulter, it is difficult to work with, etc. With Collins, they use this product, they feel comfortable with it and I got the Schulter waterproofing. I wanted an ADA compliant (curbless) shower and a linear drain in a neo-angle shower ? you would have thought I wanted to launch the space shuttle from my bathroom. With Collins ? it was a discussion of the pros and cons, additional costs, etc. and was I ok with the ?cons? and the price. With the most of the other contractors it was either 1) ?are you sure you don?t want a little curb?? questioning or 2) ?yes we can do that? with no hesitation ? in both cases the contractors never explained the pros and cons/ramifications of doing this. Pricing ? Collins was not the cheapest, nor were they the most expensive. In throwing out one of the absurdly high prices (almost twice that of the others without having the ?features? I wanted), I was left with 3 bids that were close. We went through and checked everyone?s references; went back through Angie?s reviews (again). There were 4 major items we looked at: 1) time to complete the remodel ? i.e. how long would our bathroom be unavailable. 2) How much of this is sub?d out ? granite and shower glass are such specialized tasks that we didn?t really count those, but concentrated on electrical, plumbing, carpentry, tile work being sub?d out. 3) Were we getting what we wanted: curbless shower, linear drain, Schulter system, radiant floor heat, and larger shower by securing a microlam beam differently. 4) What was our comfort level with the contractor delivering what we wanted, as well as the quality of the overall remodel. It became an easy decision at this point ? Collins Tile and Stone. Why: attention to detail, ability to give us what we wanted, comfort with their ability to do the job from a quality perspective as well as their technical ability in dealing with both Schulter and the curbless shower, unusual shower system, and dealing with the microlam beam ?anchoring?. In dealing with Collins back office I was constantly impressed with their attention to detail. I am in the computer field and I know that the ?devil is in the details?. It is way too easy for things to be forgotten or misunderstood. They didn?t miss anything ? totally on top of their game. I was also impressed with the collaboration with Collins ? i.e. you could do this or that, what that meant, exact placement of controls for the shower, orientation of the lights, granite templating, etc. I like this way of working because I think you get a better finished product at the end. You can plan for everything and then when the walls get opened up, find out that that the shower niche you were planning on putting on one wall doesn?t really fit due to the existing studs, plumbing, where you are putting your accent tile (whatever) and need to move to another wall ? Collins didn?t just blindingly follow ?the plan?. Additionally, Collins made several suggestions prior to the start of the project that added value to the overall look of the remodel (additional recessing of the toe kick of the cabinets, doing a tile wainscot on a wall, etc.). Their project lead, Steve, kept us thoroughly informed of the progress, let us know what was going to happen next, and what we might want to have a say in or be home for. As far as the remodel itself: 1) they showed up when they said they would ? which was every day. 2) Collins? workers were polite and worked full days and made progress every day. 3) Collins ?operations? lead visited daily. 4) Things were kept clean as much as possible in a ?work zone? ? they laid ramboard over the wood floors and plastic pretty much everywhere else. 5) If either Collins or we had questions, a call or text was sent and the questions answered quickly. 6) Collins did not finish on time, however, I am not upset by this and I suspect based off their references that it is very unusual for them to go over on their timeline. They had a very aggressive timeline to start ? 22 business days. It was a complex job. I would rather that they ran over by 4 days than to have shortcuts taken. Last but not least, I am impressed with the follow-up. Are we happy with everything? Did it turn out as you expected? But more importantly, what can they do better? What process improvements can they make? I think this says a lot about their business model and customer satisfaction ? they are always striving to improve. I would highly recommend Collins Tile and Stone. I love my bathroom remodel ? it exceeded my expectations.
Description of Work
Master Bathroom Remodel
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing a thorough review of our company and the experience you had working with us. We appreciate the kind words and as always, we are grateful that you selected our company to complete your bathroom remodel. We hope you are enjoying the new space and amenities. Thanks again for helping other Angie's List members by posting your review and for your support of our business.
James B.
5.0
11/16/2015
.The master bathroom remodel started out with a phone call then a scheduled visit by the owner Buck Collins. We liked him from the minute he walked in. The demolition started on time followed by delivery of all ordered tile/stone, vanity and fixtures. The tile was installed perfectly, the electrics were installed and wiring and plumbing done to code. The new shower enclosure was larger than the original so Loudoun County inspectors had to ensure it met code structurally. Everything passed. Everyone on staff was very experienced and professional and always kept our needs as their priority. I could go on forever but let me assure you, these guys are the real deal! You will not be disappointed - Buck Collins and his entire staff will not allow that to happen. There was one issue that I brought to the attention to the job Supervisor Steve, and it was resolved the next day. We are having our next smaller bathroom done by them too. What does that tell you? Call or email me anytime for questions about their work.
Description of Work
Complete remodel of master bathroom, including pulling of county permits and seamlessly ensuring other contractors involved were on duty as expected.
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We are very grateful for your words of praise and in your confidence in our team here at Collins Tile and Stone. We truly appreciate your recommendation and feel fortunate that we were able to deliver remodeling services to your full satisfaction. As you mentioned, it is our utmost priority to finish a project to the full expectation of our client. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Angie's List members.
Janet R.
5.0
10/28/2015
Where do I even begin? Collins Tile & Stone is a first class company that provides superb work! Don't let the "B" rating in price sway you in another direction. You get what you pay for. Buck Collins was upfront about them not being the cheapest, but if you spend any time talking with him, you'll understand why. He invests in his people, and they are experts in their field! That in turn gives you stunning results, which is what my bathroom looks like. Absolutely stunning! Upon selecting Collins as my contractor, I received a very detailed estimate explaining every detail of what was to be accomplished, breaking it down between each category: Demo, rough plumbing, HVAC relocation, electrical, rough carpentry, shower pan, shower wall rebuilding, underlayment, tile installation, grouting, caulking/movement joints, shower enclosure, finish carpentry, finish plumbing and drywall. My project consisted of completely gutting the bathroom, and extending it's footprint by approximately 30". The linen closet was removed and relocated, allowing it to be expanded. The HVAC needed to be redirected to allow the bathroom and linen closet expansion. The HVAC was redirected under the flooring and into the ceiling of the den on the first floor. There was already a bulkhead in the den, and they blended the additional bulkhead perfectly, making it look like it had been there all along. The bathtub was replaced with a walk-in shower, equipped with a built-in niche, bench, and a Skyline series frameless 2-panel shower door with oil-rubbed bronze hardware. The team assigned to my project were very hard-working. They showed up every morning on time, and worked endlessly all day, cleaning up before leaving. They were very good about talking to me when faced with questions or options with layout. The tile work and wainscoting was completed with perfection! The vanity and granite countertop (provided by Reico) were beautiful, and installation of all fixtures was flawless. Communicating with Buck and his team was excellent. Anytime I had a question, I could pick up the phone or send an email and receive same-day responses. Once the painting was completed (by Elegant Walls), Buck's team provided additional help with re-hanging the mirror and doing some touch-up work. I can't thank them enough for this! Through this entire project, I never had to worry about anything. They were committed to providing me with a perfect, beautifully designed guest bathroom! My profound thanks to the entire team: Buck, Diana, Dana, Steve, Jason, Kirk, John, Jamie, Mario and Oscar. Buck - you run a very good business, and you are a pleasure to work with. Kudos to all of you!
Description of Work
Complete renovation and expansion of guest bathroom and linen closet
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are most appreciative of your kind words and accolades. We could not ask for anything more than for our clients to be abundantly satisfied with our services and our hardworking team. This is of utmost importance to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Angie's List members. We sincerely appreciate your review and your trust in our business. Thank you.

Phone

Address

44642 Guilford Dr STE 113

Ashburn, VA 20147

Other Information

Services offered

Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. Custom Tile Installation - Tile Floors, Radiant Heated Floors, Backsplashes, Showers, Mud Pans & Steam Showers.

Services not offered

ask for details

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Collins Tile & Stone is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Collins Tile & Stone is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Collins Tile & Stone accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Collins Tile & Stone offers free project estimates.

Yes, Collins Tile & Stone offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Collins Tile & Stone does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Collins Tile & Stone offers warranties.

Collins Tile & Stone offers the following services: Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. Custom Tile Installation - Tile Floors, Radiant Heated Floors, Backsplashes, Showers, Mud Pans & Steam Showers.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

The Patch Boys of Ashburn & Silver Spring

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

The Patch Boys of Ashburn & Silver Spring

We specialize in drywall and sheetrock installs, repairs, finishing, textures, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

VOS Services

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

VOS Services

General contractor. Electrical, Plumbing House keeping and comercial janitorial services  

Absolute Electric LLC

Angi Certified

Absolute Electric LLC

I am passionate about and take pride in my craft. Our philosophy is to treat your home or place of business as if it were our own. If you are not satisfied with our service, please contact me or our Service Manager, Rob, because our goal is your satisfaction. We want you as a customer for life, not just to make a quick buck. Call us today at 571.525.2823, as we look forward to discussing your electrical needs. Regards, Shauwn Collins, Owner