Groff Landscape Design LLC

About

Founded 2007 • With Angi since November 2010

* Groff is currently booking into January/February 2023 for all installation work. * Groff projects are from $30,000 up. We specialize in crafting beautiful residential properties with a low-stress process for busy families. Most of our clients are in North Arlington & Vienna, McLean & Great Falls, but we service most of Northern Virginia. We customize plans for your specific functional, aesthetic and budgetary needs. You can expect the highest level of communication, honesty, organization and dependability. Please read our reviews and visit our website to see how much our clients rave about working with us....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

3D Example 2

+26 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(85) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

79

4

4

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (82)hardscaping (53)Patios (32)landscape lighting (23)drain pipe installation (20)stone & gravel (16)mulch delivering (15)decks & porches (14)masonry (13)lighting (13)excavating (12)irrigation system (10)
Showing 1-25 of 85 reviews
5.0

11/20/2021


Heather J.

We contacted Groff back in November 2021 wanting to completely overhaul our backyard. We didn't have a ton of space but it was completely unapproachable and always flooded. I told them I wanted a backyard that was low maintenance and something I was happy to actually spend time in. Additionally, we needed the water issue dealt with. They worked with us through multiple design iterations and about 7 months later we started construction in the back. We have been extremely happy with the results. When there were issues, they were quick to address and loop the right people in. We now have a backyard that is definitely the envy of the neighborhood and is something we absolutely love to be in.

Description of Work
Complete Overhaul of Backyard

Category decks, excavators, fencing, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for the glowing review. Praise from our clients is the best compliment we can ask for! It was a pleasure working with you and we are so happy you are enjoying the end product. Thank you again!
5.0

11/02/2020


J. Michael D.

We have worked with Groff Landscape Design on several occasions to make various improvements to the landscaping in our yard. Groff always provided excellent service and workmanship. They worked with us closely during the design phase, communicated clearly about the process and the schedule, and adhered to the schedule they set. The work involved a variety of different types, from getting the driveway repaved to replacing a stone retaining wall to replacing the patio, to putting in new plant landscaping along a fence in our yard. They handled each type well. We certainly recommend working with Groff based on our experience.

Description of Work
Replacing our patio, rebuilding stone steps, replacing a stone retaining wall, landscaping along a fence, outdoor lighting, repaving the driveway

Category landscaping, lighting, masonry, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the praise. We value our customer relationships and satisfaction. Having such a great recommendation and continued relationship is exactly why we do what we do, the way we do it. We know their are options and we truly appreciate being entrusted to bring your visions to life! Thanks for being so great to work with!
5.0

10/29/2020


ann M.

This is the best company for all your outdoor needs. I have been using them for over 10 years and there isn't a challenge they have not met and exceeded. They are polite, on time, knowledgeable, and most of all the quality of their work is outstanding.

Description of Work
Everything from planning, to hardscaping, to planting

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], as always, it was such a pleasure to work with you on your beautiful property! We are thrilled to have such wonderful long term clients and partners. We look forward to a continuing relationship and can’t wait for the next project! Thank you for the kind words!
5.0

10/27/2020


JUSTIN P.

The work was excellent. The customer support and responsiveness was the best we’ve ever experienced. The company understood our goals and our budget and really worked with us to be able to achieve those goals and stay on budget.

Description of Work
Backyard and pool deck renovations

Category decks, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $165,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

Images

Review for Groff Landscape Design LLC - 3100 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA - 38982463
5.0

10/27/2020


David B.

This is a very professional firm and personnel. The designer listened to my wife and I about what we wanted in a new landscape design. Developed a plan and thoroughly address our questions and comments regarding the proposed plan and cost proposal. Their installation team arrived on time and finished ahead of schedule despite rain delay days. Their team came back in the fall to monitor the plantings and sod and replaced plants that did not grow-in well. I highly recommend Sean and Robert and the Groff Landscape Team!

Description of Work
Redesign and change in landscaping around my home

Category decks, landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for fantastic review! It was a pleasure working with you and bringing your project to life. We are thrilled that you are so pleased and look forward to working with you again.
5.0

10/27/2020


Stephen M.

Outstanding service!! Every step of the process was well done - their team was very communicative, knowledgeable, and professional. They used top-notch materials and completed high-quality installations. We couldn't be happier! Most strongly recommended.

Description of Work
Groff installed both a back patio with sitting walls as well as landscape lighting around the entire house.

Category hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! Having happy, satisfied clients is our goal! Your praise is the highest compliment! Please let us know if there is anything more we can do for you!
5.0

10/27/2020


Joy R.

Groff and team are excellent to work with. They took our ideas and pulled together a design concept that the we loved. They executed the concept exactly and even adjusted for the tweaks we wanted once the work was in progress. We love the additional backyard ‘room’ and the wonderful garden landscaping.

Description of Work
Deck, patio and landscaping

Category decks, excavators, hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2020

5.0

10/27/2020


Charles H.

Customer service is the best! Rob and his team were punctual, professional -- fun to work with. Rob listened to what we wanted and brought back a great plan. We really appreciated the many money saving tips he provided as we discussed the plan design. From start to finish was about two weeks. They compacted soil and laid a solid foundation for pavers. Survived rain, and the heat of August. The sod stayed green and pretty, and the patio looks great. The lighting adds so much for sitting out in the evening. Overall, completely satisfied with the job!

Description of Work
On-ground stone (paver) patio and walkway with lighting, plantings, grading and sod. Needed 4 sets of entry/exit steps (one 2-step, one 3-step, two 4-step), and 4 ground drain pipes across yard from roof. Installed hook-ups and clean-outs on each. Separate retaining wall and ramp to shed.

Category excavators, hauling services, landscaping, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2019

Images

Review for Groff Landscape Design LLC - 3100 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA - 38979809

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review! We enjoy working with wonderful clients! They make doing what we love all the better! We appreciate your trust and look forward to being your partner in the future!
5.0

10/27/2019


Colleen W.

Groff was communicative with us every step of the process. Not only did we get our yard drainage problems handled in this, we got a great outdoor space to enjoy! They helped us with decision making when there were many options available to us select from, they made sure they told us immediately when there was a reason to deviate from the plan, and they finished a WEEK ahead of schedule. They were absolute professionals. I highly, highly recommend.

Description of Work
Drainage and patio installation

Category hauling services, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you so much for the stellar review. Our client’s praise is always the best review of our work. We appreciate your business and your trust. Please let us know if we can do anything else for you, and enjoy your beautiful yard!
5.0

09/04/2019


Bob C.

Groff Landscape performed in a superior fashion as they have always done for us. The replacement shrubbery specimens were of excellent quality and the pressure washing and grout installation was completed in a timely fashion and the finished product looks as good as when they originally installed the stone patio 4 years ago.

Description of Work
Replace shrubbery and re-grout stone patio

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $4,420

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2019

5.0

12/12/2018


Monica T.

I hired Groff Landscape Design to design and install a landscape plan for the entire front and back yard. Robert and Sean were amazing to work with. They were able to design and execute the project in two phases to keep it both as cost effective and aesthetically pleasing as possible. We started with phase one - which included a large deck and shade structure, extensive trees/plantings, lighting, irrigation, drainage, and a vegetable garden. From start to finish, it was a wonderful experience. During the installation I was always made aware of the schedule and the work to be completed. The installation crew was incredibly professional and experienced, and did an excellent job keeping the job site clean each and every day. Overall Robert Groff and his entire team take tremendous pride in their work and their customer service, and really go above and beyond. I am so thrilled with how phase one turned out. I can't wait to work on phase two of the project!

Description of Work
Landscape Design & Installation for Front & Back yard

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, lighting, mulch, drain pipe, outdoor lighting

Cost $170,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2018

5.0

10/10/2018


karen M.

Groff Landscaping did an incredible job. Very professional and kept in touch with updates on work. Robert is such an incredible person to work with and very attentive in every detail. I would recommend hiring them to everyone. Planting staff was also terrific.

Description of Work
Landscape front yard - removal of old landscaping, planting of new trees, grasses and assorted plants. Installation of new beds.

Category irrigation systems, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - It was such a pleasure working with you on this project. Thank you so much for the opportunity and please let us know if you need anything! Thanks so much!
5.0

08/02/2018


Anna A.

Rob and his team were hired to redo our swampy backyard. Sean (the designer) took the rough ideas I had and designed a beautiful space beyond what I could have imagined. The team built a beautiful patio, with fantastic drainage. They also incorporated a fence and landscape to finish the design. The beautiful backyard has enhanced our home and outdoor living space. We love Rob and his team! They did an amazing job.

Description of Work
Backyard Remodel

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and for choosing Groff Landscape Design to make your property all the things you wanted it to be. We enjoyed working with you and appreciate your business. Please let us know if you need anything!
5.0

07/22/2018


Christine M.

Robert and his team were very easy to work with and very responsive, revising the design to meet our budget while keeping the most important requirements and features. The project had some unforeseen complications, and they were very patient as we worked through them. The work crew was skilled and professional, and handled a complicated bridge removal expertly. The end result is beautiful, and we are very happy with it.

Description of Work
Deck and patio design and patio construction

Category decks, hauling services, landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2018

5.0

07/15/2018


Jim M.

On time, ahead of schedule, beautifully done.

Description of Work
Expansion of garden and planting new plants

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! We really enjoyed working with you!
5.0

11/09/2017


joe K.

Robert and his crew did an excellent job in all aspects of our project. He gave us ideas regarding what plantings would work in our deer infested area and had a landscaping design completed. They started as scheduled in July, finished within 1 week, and even added some extras with trimming existing tree branches without charge. They coordinated changes in our irrigation system with our irrigation company and provided daily email updates during the project to keep us informed. We were extremely satisfied with our final result, recommend their company highly, and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We contracted with Groff to have our backyard updated with new landscaping, which included new plantings, creating a dry creek bed to handle an irrigation problem, and backyard lighting.

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, outdoor lighting

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your review! We really enjoyed working with you. Please let us know how that drainage is doing for you when you have a chance!
5.0

09/21/2017


STEPHEN D.

They did a great job. Once we approved the design, they worked with us to adjust it to fit our budget. When the work started, Robert Groff came out and met with us, and then was in nearly daily communication with us to make sure everything went well. As with all projects, there were a few adjustments needed before it was finished, and he made sure they were done as we wanted.

Description of Work
We had our entire front yard re-landscaped, with new lawn, beds and plants. Groff did the design and installation, as well as putting us in touch with trusted contractors to install irrigation and upgrade our front porch.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]- Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with our team. We really enjoyed working with you guys over the past several months. Please know if you ever have questions or concerns about the landscape or the hardscape, we are here to help you. Also, I don't think we've had a huge rainfall since we installed the drainage work. Once we do, please let us know how it's working for you if you get a chance. Thank you!
5.0

09/14/2017


Deborah M.

Sean Ryan did the design and was patient with us through the design process. We were really impressed with his design and appreciate all the time he put in. He really listened to our needs and wants, and came up with a plan that is far better than what we would have imagined. We decided to add 3D modeling of the finished plans, which really helped my family visualize the completed project. The plan itself was close to $1K, and was a finished product in itself. We received several full size copies of the detailed plan with no obligation to go further. The guys showed up and were working by 8 am every morning, and the project took about two weeks to complete. During the project we made a few changes, including removing concrete steps on a slope in the back yard, extending the grass area with the plantings around it, and adding an irrigation system (once we realized the entire yard would need be resodded). Groff Design were very responsive and able to easily accommodate these changes. Robert Groff handled the installation and stopped by the site every morning. Everyone has been very responsive as well as flexible during install and we've been really pleased with both the process and the final product. We can't be more thrilled with everything -- especially the new hardscaping -- and it's a joy to walk up to the front door now or spend time in the backyard. We plan to have Groff Design back to complete the remainder of the plan, which includes a deck, adding exterior doors and a paver sidewalk in the back yard in the next year or two.

Description of Work
We approached Groff Design to design a landscape plan for our entire yard, including replacing the front stoop and sidewalk, replacing a builder's slab with a pacer patio, and adding a deck. We decided to add 3D modeling of the finished plans, which was an extra cost. We decided to do about 3/4 of the plan this year: replacing front stoop and walkway and landscaping the front yard; removing rotting landscape timbers on a side yard and replacing with terraced paver beds; removing a concrete slab patio and replacing with a larger pacer patio including seat wall; removing four trees (two of which were 80'+ tall oaks); landscaping around the patio and new grass area; resodding the yard and extending the sod area; adding an irrigation system; drainage systems - extending, burying or adding; adding electrical outlet and and lighting in both front and back. The tree work and irrigation were subcontracted out.

Category decks, excavators, hauling services, landscaping, irrigation systems, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $64,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2017

Images

Review for Groff Landscape Design LLC - 3100 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA - 36238384

+2 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed working with our team. Please know that the feeling is mutual. Our team is very thankful to have had the opportunity to work with you and we would be thrilled to continue working with you on the future phases of the plan. Please let us know if you ever have any questions or challenges with the new landscape! We are always here to support you. Thank you again!
5.0

06/22/2017


Philip S.

High quality design that is customized to what I wanted. Adjust-ability built in for both price and future plans. Installation was excellent and exactly per design.

Description of Work
1 acre landscape design and installation.

Category landscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2017

5.0

06/22/2017


Frank H.

Robert Groff and team provide high-quality work from initial design to final cleanup. They show up on time, work hard, and finish on time. Rob carefully oversees his crew's work every day and stays in constant communication with homeowners to ensure they are getting everything they envisaged for their home upgrades. In fact, they provide creative solutions for landscaping and hardscaping that are better than the owners could imagine. The company is expensive but you get excellent professional work in exchange, and there are always options to add or delete design types or features. We highly recommend them to our neighbors in Virginia.

Description of Work
New deck, landscape design and installation, home hardscaping (stonework), new driveway (pavers), patio and decorative stone wall.

Category decks, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $110,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

01/02/2017


Don L.

Extremely well. They are expensive but you get what you pay for and then some with Groff. Mr. Groff, the planners, and other employees are extremely responsive. The work looks great and after three months, a small snow and several hard rains our back yard is mud free. The installed plants and ground cover survived and I anticipate they will look good in the spring once they emerge from winter dormancy. I complained about a plant I thought was poorly installed (broken branches) as well as some minor damage to my front lawn from their ditch digging machine. The repair work was done immediately, even though the damaged bush turned out to be the fault of my dog- Bad Seanie Boy! They consistently exceeded the terms of the contract to make sure the job was done right without hitting us with extra costs. Our back yard no longer looks like a quagmire in the wet season and anticipate that it will NOT look like a desert during the Virginia summer dry season. Again, they were very responsive to my questions, complaints, and concerns, even though I suspect our job was sort of at the small end of their spectrum. The crews were always on time and were professional. They wore Groff uniforms! I could go on and on. If you have a dog and plan to do landscaping on "their" backyard make sure to take the impact the dog will have on the landscaping, and the landscaping's impact on the dog.

Description of Work
Landscape planning and installation in back yard to address a drainage issue.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Brian M.

Rob and his team were the absolute best! The planning phase with Rob was excellent, he helped problem solve our situation and gave honest insight on how we should proceed, with plenty of quick and detailed feedback. During the install he was present with his team the day of and everything went exactly according to plan and budget. The team was a delight to work with, they were friendly, clean and professional. I couldn't be happier with the end result and will definitely be using Rob and Groff for all future projects.

Description of Work
Landscaping, planting and lighting

Category landscaping, lawn service, lighting, masonry, mulch, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2016