Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services

Founded 1983 • With Angi since January 2012

Home Improvement Services. We have been serving Washington DC for the past 38 years and we know all the codes / DC regulation, And we do have all the experience, all the equipment, references and Best Quality in the area. BASEMENT EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING (DC /VA) Specializing in EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING in the capital hill area Wash,. DC ADD AN APARTMENT TO YOUR OWN HOUSE. ADD UP TO 10 ft. HEIGHT TO YOUR BASEMENT, Best Quality & References in the Area. We have been serving Washington DC for the past 35 years and we know all the codes and DC regulation, And we do have all the experience, all the equipment and references in the area. Reasonable Payments Plan. Licensed, Insured and bonded So Please Call Al 202-369-5111 (we do solve any Mold treatment, Water flooding and leaks problem as well) Reasonable Payments Plan. Licensed, Insured and bonded

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
20%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(10) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews
George D.
3.0
04/14/2019
Elkot was nice, however the completed job was mediocre. They did the bare minimum. The workers were messy and did not cover my floors when painting so I had paint stains everywhere. Even after scrubbing some are still there. They reused the insulation, drywall screws, and existing drywall. They reused my years old paint instead of getting fresh paint. They even used my containers to mix the drywall mud. The waffle board was attached to the wall with metallic insulation tape??? Again messy and poor workmanship. Not a happy customer. Very unsure how long this repair job will last.
Description of Work
Waterproofing
Category
concrete repair, drywall, masonry, basement waterproofing
Alan S.
5.0
02/01/2018
WOW! All I can say is that Al is a super guy to work with. We live in Florida and had to rely solely on Mr. Elkot's superior skills from afar. He went to task, drew up the plans, submitted them for approval and completed the job to my satisfaction. He kept us informed all the way through the process and completed the job with zeal and enthusiasm. I too am a contractor and have made my living in the area flipping houses. My standards are extremely high (having 40 plus years in the business) and Al Elkot exceeded my expectations on every level. Not only did he complete this job for us, but noticed a few other issues that partially contributed to the situation and offered to correct them at a reasonable price. We give Elkot's General Services an overall "A" rating and highly recommend this firm to anyone who desires to be treated fairly. The most important item in any job outside of doing it correcty is completing it 100% which he did. He left no stone unturned and it looks great. In addition, he has givin us a warranty which I doubt we will ever need to exercise since the job was done correctly the first time. WELL DONE AL!
Description of Work
We own a home in SE DC that had an underground spring in the rear yard. The spring ran through the walls of our basement exterior stairwell and into the drain causing all kinds of water damage. From time to time, the drain would back up and water would pour into the basement. There was only one way to repair the job - with plans and permits and finding a contractor who knew how to repair it was no easy task. When we interviewed contractors, we found that Al Elkot, of Elkot's General Services to be well informed, intelligent and willing to take on this endeavor. The job entailed creating a set of plans, removing the slab, installing the required waterproofing materials, drain pipe, getting the inspections and repouring the slab and passing the final inspection.
Category
concrete repair, electrician, excavators, hauling services, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

It was a challenge to complete this job despite of the fact that obstacle we have to face. but with the Determination of reaching out to our goal to get it Done correctly without doubt we got the job done with A+ Thank you Steve for trusting us.
Alan S.
5.0
02/01/2018
Al Elkot and team noticed that someone had stolen (yes stolen) the copper gutters right off the front of our home while we were traveling. He immediately gave us a price for the gutters and replaced both gutter and down spouts. They did a first class job.
Description of Work
Gutters installed and connected to the drains in the front of my home.
Category
gutter repair, handyman service, hauling services, drain pipe
Dean S.
5.0
01/04/2018
Job well done! Came recommended from work colleague and did amazing work!!
Description of Work
Major basement work.
Category
contractors, electrician, excavators, lighting, remodeling
Sam M.
5.0
01/03/2018
All went well, as planned and agreed. Even followed up after completing project. Thank you for great service!
Description of Work
A rare find in today's world! Great customer service! Excellent work! Timely completion. Good rates.
Category
contractors, drywall, electrician, excavators, lighting
Sam M.
5.0
01/03/2018
Great! The owner came out himself to oversee the work. Completed project within agreed upon timeframe and budget. Very impressive! Thank you!
Description of Work
Thank you so much for excellent work! It was not an easy job, but you did amazing work!
Category
contractors, drywall, electrician, excavators, lighting
Maria C.
5.0
10/23/2017
Outstanding work. Mr. Elkot came over on a Sunday and gave me various options on how to fix my driveway, which was in pretty bad conditions, a lot of cracks and holes. Also, he scheduled the work for the next day, and arrived on schedule. He was very professional and provided quality work. He came over various times during that week to ensure that the cracks were all gone and the job was performed to my satisfaction. He also removed my old mailbox post and installed the new post with new mailbox. Great job on that too. He paid attention to details, and was fair with the price. It was obvious he had a lot of experience because he knew what to do right away. Overall, I am very happy with the job he performed.
Description of Work
Driveway Paving and mailbox with post replacement.
Category
contractors, concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, handyman service, interior designers, remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was my pleasure
Pam J.
5.0
08/18/2017
Very professional and he often performs the work himself or oversees the work crew by visiting the job site usually more than once a day. I often was not at home when the work was performed, and I felt comfortable with him and his work crew.
Description of Work
Mr. Elkot worked on my 1870 and 1890 period homes. He maintained the 1870 house for a number of years and completed jobs ranging from reinforcing/replacing, structural wood post and beams in an attic; addressing foundation water leaks requiring water barrier installation and mold remediation; replacing frozen water pipes; installing new electrical wiring; rebuilding concrete stairway; to painting interior and exteriors requiring attention to detail as homes have architectural adornments in many colors.
Category
contractors, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, excavators, handyman service, lighting, masonry, plumbing, roofing, water damage restoration, water heater repair, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with a such perfectionist person for almost 18 years with a Victorian house in the Capital area in [Member Information Removed] DC
Robert D.
5.0
08/14/2017
It was a very technologically challenging project and the team did a great job!
Description of Work
Elkot lowered my basement floor 2 ft and rerouted the building support and plumbing. Pour a new floor including sump pump system and drywall repair and paint to complete the project
Category
contractors, concrete repair, plumbing, remodeling, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Yes it was a challenge. but i would say we did Thank you for your trust in us.
Geoffrey B.
5.0
08/12/2017
All of the work was timely completed as specified and as requested.
Description of Work
Elkot General Services assisted me with several historical renovation and maintenance projects for a commercial building in Georgetown. He did a very good job on all the work that was performed and I would recommend him for his services. He is very knowledgeable and easy to work with while responding to various building maintenance issues.
Category
contractors, closet systems, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, excavators, handyman service, hauling services, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, water damage restoration, water heater repair, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, drain cleaning, mold removal

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure and honor to do business with you

Phone

Address

1509 s. george mason dr

Arlington, VA 22204

Other Information

Services offered

BASEMENT EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING (DC /VA) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Specializing in EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING in the capital hill area Wash,. DC ADD AN APARTMENT TO YOUR OWN HOUSE. ADD UP TO 30" IN HEIGHT TO YOUR BASEMENT, Best Quality & References in the Area. We have been serving

Covid-19 update

We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Wearing mask, using safety Equipment.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Financing Available

FAQ

Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services is open:

Sunday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Financing Available

No, Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services does not offer free project estimates.

No, Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services offers emergency services.

Yes, Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services offers warranties.

Excavation/Underpinning Elkot's General Services offers the following services: BASEMENT EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING (DC /VA) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Specializing in EXCAVATION UNDERPINNING in the capital hill area Wash,. DC ADD AN APARTMENT TO YOUR OWN HOUSE. ADD UP TO 30" IN HEIGHT TO YOUR BASEMENT, Best Quality & References in the Area. We have been serving

Other Local Pros In Your Area

J Reynolds Landscaping

Angi Certified

J Reynolds Landscaping

J Reynolds Landscaping was created to provide the Northern Virginia area with the highest quality installation of landscaping materials possible. The Owner, Matt Meyer along with Jason Reynolds, has been installing custom designs right here in the northern Virginia area for over 18 years. With a reputation for excellence, the highest quality customer service, master craftsmanship and fair pricing. A design expert will come to your home and provide you with a free consultation and estimate for your homes unique needs. J Reynolds Landscaping will then provide you with the professional installation of the materials that you have chosen for your home. We differ from other Landscaping companies because we: - Never sub-contract any portion of the job. - A design expert is physically on every job site. - Your job is completed before any other job has been started. - We have no day laborers. - We are licensed and insured. - Estimates are always free. - All installers have at least 3 years of experience.  

Closet America, LLC

Angi Certified

Closet America, LLC

Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

Drainage & Erosion Solutions (DES) is an award-winning company that provides assessment and repair of all drainage and erosion problems for residential and commercial properties. We are a design-build firm, with both engineering and contracting divisions; offering aesthetically pleasing and professionally engineered solutions to drainage and erosion problems. Our team members are year-round, full-time employees with a strong reputation for technical knowledge, attention to detail, great customer service and general excellence. All DES consultations, assessments, and installations are performed by a licensed professional soils engineer, or landscape and drainage systems designer. These professionals have several decades of combined design and contracting experience. Clients like working with us - much of our business comes from referrals and from our top rankings among the most popular contractor ratings services.