Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CALICO CORNERS

Founded 1948 • With Angi since November 2005

4.3

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6400 Williamsburg Boulevard

Arlington, VA 22207

Description

Beautiful spaces and personal expression inspire us. Our mission is to help our customers find creative decorating solutions that express their personal style. In today's world of mass similarity, home is the place to express your unique style, show your personality and live among the things you

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jill C.
5.0
05/17/2017
The fabric was delayed but arrived in excellent condition.
Description of Work
I ordered fabric from them. No labor.
Category
upholstery
Peter B.
5.0
12/26/2016
Not applicable
Description of Work
Get fabric for chair re-upholstering. They were a little pricier than a nearby upholsterer, so only got fabric from Calico Corners.
Category
upholstery
Theodore E.
5.0
05/18/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
upholstery
Joleen M.
5.0
06/27/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Provided custom curtains, which turned out lovely; however, the trim was out of stock, so it took a little longer than expected to get the curtains.
Category
window treatments
Suzanne L.
4.0
02/07/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
window treatments
Susan S.
5.0
04/02/2012
1. Made appointment with designer, who made a house call. I had magazine photos to show her what I wanted, and she showed me several samples for fabric and design of the roman blinds. 2. Unfortunately, it takes several weeks to custom make drapes, so it was still 2 1/2 weeks after the initial order before we received our black-out blinds for the bedrooms, and several more weeks to get the roman blinds. 3. The black-out blinds were installed with a beaded chain to raise and lower, mounted in a plastic holder. The holder catches on the chain and flies off the wall if you don't depress the center and quot;catchand quot; button, which the installer didn't show me. When he came back for the roman blinds, I asked him whether the fact that the beaded chain catches easily was and quot;normal.and quot; Apparently it's not supposed to happen, but it's easy enough to avoid by depressing the center button on the plastic holder. This is my one complaint over the process. 4. Once the roman blinds were installed, the installation team told us we needed to vacuum them frequently to ensure they are clean as they cannot be taken down to dry clean without uninstalling them.
Description of Work
We just moved into a new home and needed window treatments. While waiting for our furniture to arrive from overseas, I wanted privacy without spending a lot of money, and I wasn't sure where to go. I looked at several companies on Angie's List, but none had a critical mass of reviews. I therefore chose my neighborhood Calico Corners. The designer made a house call to see our windows and hear our goals. We chose white opaque blinds for all the bedrooms with a moire finish and beaded chains to lower and raise -- much nicer than the vinyl blinds I grew up, but not much more expensive. Calico Corners was also able to make sheer roman blinds for our bathroom (need for privacy as well as light) and our family room. Now that our furniture is here, we will go back to make draperies for our front room. The process wasn't cheap, but Calico Corners measured all of our windows at the same time for one price. This gives us the flexibility of ordering more treatments at a later date. The installer and his assistant were very helpful and professional, and we were impressed by the extensive collection. For an easy experience and high quality product, I strongly recommend Calico Corners.
Category
window treatments
carolyn S.
5.0
07/01/2011
They did a good job. There was nothing I disliked about them. Everything was fine. They were prompt and courteous. The upholstery was well crafted. I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Calico Corners, three years ago. They did upholstery work for me.
Category
upholstery
MATTHEW B.
5.0
05/05/2011
They have a national reputation and they have nice fabrics and that helped. They were great.
Description of Work
I had new curtains done by Calico Corners in March and April.
Category
window treatments
Mary D.
1.0
07/24/2010
Terrible. I dropped the chair off in early October -- it was estimated for a few weeks. I started calling to check after six weeks. No one would call me back with a status - it took weeks before I learned that they had made a mistake with the fabric. When I made an appointment to choose the new fabric, the manager who said she would be there wasn't. It was again weeks before I got my new chair and no one every called me or returned my calls -- I just kept calling until I reached someone who could finally give me a status. A few weeks after I got my chair the back broke off. It was an old chair, but it should not have broken that easily, I think that it is possible the reason they had my chair so long without status was because it was broken and they were working it. The store denies that this is a possibility.
Description of Work
I had an old chair reupholstered with my fabric. Only the seat needed to be repaired, the backrest did not They workshop removed the backrest and then did not have enough fabric to do the entire chair. I had to choose a new fabric (no cost) to have it replaced. The quality of the upholstery work was excellent, the service was not.
Category
upholstery
PAMELA K.
3.0
03/14/2007
They are great when they are selling you, very responsive, but once we paid them it took forever to get our window treatments installed. They subcontract for installation, and one of my windows was forgotten. I had to wait another 2 months for the final window - and they seemed surprised that it had not come in, so they had clearly not checked the shipment. I was also unsatisfied with a chair and ottoman, and I contacted the decorator who I worked with for suggestions and I never got a call back.
Description of Work
I bought some new furniture from them and I bought some window treatments.
Category
furniture sales, window treatments
BETSY F.
5.0
11/16/2005
EXCELLENT. THEY ARE WORTH THE PRICE. THE SELECTIONS ARE WONDERFUL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE EXCELLENT. YOU CAN GET A DESIGN CONSULTANT TO COME OUT TO YOUR HOME WITH SAMPLES AND TO DO THE MEASUREMENTS. THEY INSTALL THE WINDOW TREATMENTS AS WELL. ONLY DRAWBACK IS THAT MOST TREATMENTS TAKE ABOUT 2 MONTHS TO ORDER.
Description of Work
DESIGNED WINDOW TREATMENTS FOR OUR HOME OFFICE, FAMILY ROOM AND GUEST BEDROOM.
Category
window treatments

    Other local Pros in your area

    MasterFix.Llc

    We are open and professionally ready to assist you during COVID-19 We care about your safety as well as our employees so we are practicing safe distancing and have the proper gear to use. Please call this number Today 240-305-6252 to schedule.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Kim Johnson Designs

    Kim will use her 20 years experience to assist you in creating a home that you love to be in and are proud to entertain in. She simplifies the design process and makes it fun and rewarding. Fees are by the hour with no time obligation. Decorating and design services can be minor, like a color consultation or suggesting home decorating plans for you to implement over time, or much more long term with guidance and assistance in all renovation and new construction projects. She specializes in bathroom renovations and kitchen design and can help you completely change your bathrooms and/or kitchen at a much lower cost than design build companies or even big box home improvement centers.  

    Angi Certified

    Exquisite Designs

    Whether You Need Complete Project Management, Room Design, Or Paint Selection Paulanne Gregson And The Exquisite Designs Team Can Turn Your Visions Into Reality. Exquisite Designs Has Received The Virginia Livings Magazine Top Of The Trades Award In Both 2020 2021, and 2022, The Best Of Houzz Award In 2015, 2017, 2018, And 2019, And Countless Rave Reviews On Social Media Platforms. We Are A Full Service Design Firm That Specializes In All Aspects Of Interior Design For The Home. Traditional Classic Design To Modern Chic, We Strive To Create The Spaces You Will Both Live In And Love.  

    Angi Certified

    Furniture - Sales
    Alterations/Sewing/Decorating
    Furniture - Custom Made
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Decorative fabric, designer fabric, custom furniture, sofas, sectionals, settees, chairs, chaises, ottomans, benches, upholstered headboards, slipcovers, re-upholstery, decorative trim, window treatments, draperies, curtains, valances, swags, cornices, blinds, shades, shutters, window hardware, custom bedding, bedspreads, comforters, coverlets, duvets, bed skirts, pillows, cushions, table skirts, folding screens, table toppers, table runners, measuring, installation, free design service.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CALICO CORNERS

    How is CALICO CORNERS overall rated?

    CALICO CORNERS is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are CALICO CORNERS open?

    CALICO CORNERS is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does CALICO CORNERS provide

    CALICO CORNERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does CALICO CORNERS offer free estimates?

    Yes, CALICO CORNERS offers free project estimates.

    Does CALICO CORNERS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CALICO CORNERS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CALICO CORNERS offer a senior discount?

    No, CALICO CORNERS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CALICO CORNERS?

    No, CALICO CORNERS does not offer warranties.

    What services does CALICO CORNERS offer?

    CALICO CORNERS offers the following services: Decorative fabric, designer fabric, custom furniture, sofas, sectionals, settees, chairs, chaises, ottomans, benches, upholstered headboards, slipcovers, re-upholstery, decorative trim, window treatments, draperies, curtains, valances, swags, cornices, blinds, shades, shutters, window hardware, custom bedding, bedspreads, comforters, coverlets, duvets, bed skirts, pillows, cushions, table skirts, folding screens, table toppers, table runners, measuring, installation, free design service.