Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Competitive Painters

Founded 2005 • With Angi since March 2011

4.8

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4762 Parkman Ct

Annandale, VA 22003

Description

**FREE Upgrade to Soft Close Door Hinges*** Owner operated with over 14 years of experience. Free estimate and consultation to show you we know exactly what you want. Quality Products and Services. Offering painting, cabinet refacing, carpentry, kitchen and Bathroom remodeling....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/11/2020


James B.

I have had Robert and his team in here before and they did a great job. So when I had another painting need, I called them first. The team leader, Lloyd, did a great job. His attention to detail and concern for getting it right was laudable. I loved his way of excitedly telling me all he had to do to get around problems. He cared about quality. He also did a lovely job on the 2 spots in another bedroom which were not even part of the project. I have had so people do work here recently and I have to point out all the problems. Then I find more problems after they leave. It was gratifying to have someone get it all right the first time.

Description of Work
They painted a bedroom, a bathroom, a hallway and 2 closets. There was a good deal of drywall repair needed and the bathroom had a bunch of mildew.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/23/2018


angela C.

I was impressed by the quality of the job and the professionalism. However, I didn’t get around to submitting a review on Angie’s List until now. I never forgot the company. I looked them up, because I am planning to contact them for more work.

Description of Work
Competitive Painters painted the interior of my home and performed some remodeling services a few years ago.

Category custom cabinets,drywall,lighting,interior painters

5.0

11/06/2017


Paul L.

They have always done a top notch, professional job and have performed on time and within the estimated costs. I have no qualms about recommending them for almost any type of work in the house. This work took place as a number of separate tasks over a two to three year period and they consistently performed high quality work at a reasonable cost.

Description of Work
We have used Competitive Painters for a number of upgrades in our townhouse including: refurbishing our kitchen including design, cabinets, marble backslash, granite counter tops and lighting; first floor powder room; two second floor bathrooms; painting the interior of the house; building special cabinets in the basement, and painting, shelves and new lighting in the laundry room.

Category custom cabinets,closet systems,drywall,lighting,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are nothing if not consistent....in a good way. You guys are great customers and friends. I always look forward to your next project. All the best.
4.0

06/23/2017


edward P.

If I wouldn't have picked the company I picked I would have picked him. The price was excellent. The price was for labor only, not materials.

Description of Work
They gave us a bid for remodeling two bathrooms.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for considering us. Enjoy those new bathrooms, they make a great difference in your home.
5.0

01/01/2017


Patricia R.

arrived 'on time', especially careful to clean up every day, some new cabinet doors were damaged in shipment, these were promptly reordered and installed about 10 days later. All work was excellent, workers were professional and did excellent work.

Description of Work
refaced kitchen cabinets, painted kitchen cabinets, built and installed pullout shelves

Category custom cabinets,home remodeling,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure for us to work with you on your kitchen.
2.0

11/12/2016


mary P.

- Our original kitchen cabinets were of a good quality, but had a dated style/appearance and a few places where the finish was worn on the cabinet doors; but otherwise, they were in good shape and functional. - We selected Competitive Painters (Robert) to do a cabinet re-facing on the basis of the good job he had done with our daughter’s kitchen. - While we were interested in getting the work done in a timely manner, we were not under a rigid timeline for completion. - We apparently caught Robert at a time when he had over-committed himself and was extremely stressed. His stress seems to have been imparted onto his employee’s and their ability to do their best. - On day four (of the four days Robert allocated for the work), we heard comments from him to his employee’s that included “What have you guys been doing?” and “We have to get this finished today!” “Hurry, I have a dinner date and can’t be late.” These were the key indicators that tipped us off that this project would end badly. - The hallmarks of this job are: 1) sloppy painting and 2) cabinets that do not properly close or align with other parts of the cabinetry. - The painters exhibited an over-reliance on masking to try to get clean lines without allowing for uneven surfaces or paint bleeding through the masking tape. There are significant amount of places that: o were primed, but did not receive a final coat of paint o had paint on them that should not have (walls, flooring, etc.), and o had excess paint on them (runs, drips) - Several cabinets do not close properly, and there was little effort made to ensure adjacent panels were installed flush with each other - Robert’s modus operandi: o If he states that the work is of the highest quality often enough, then it must be true o He continues to tout his dedication to customer satisfaction, while continuing to do nothing to rectify deficiencies o He seems willing to spend a significantly greater amount of time insisting that obvious flaws don’t exist than it would take to fix the problems o Even when faced with obvious flaws in his team’s work, he can come up with an unending list of reasons as to why the flaws are not the fault of his team (it’s a fault with the house, the existing cabinets, the customer, etc.) and why it would be impossible to foresee the issues before getting to the end of his work - If you want to be berated and subjected to a lot of heated discussion without getting satisfaction, this is your team

Description of Work
Kitchen and bath cabinet re-facing

Category custom cabinets,home remodeling,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

This review is very frustrating. I went out of my way to meet their schedule, they had tight timing in which they would allow the work done. " flying out of town and this is the only time that works for me" I think its unfortunate that continously hard working guys are described as rushing. These folks have a daughter who recommended us and she was very happy with the work we did for her. These folks did not want to communicate with me as a professional, they didn't trust what i was saying and thought they had the experience to correct me. For example they had 2 cabinets that had twisted along with the original doors, 20 years old, hard to see until you put a straight door on the cabinet box, fixable with some extra effort. When we put on new straight doors, they didn't sit flush as you went up the box towards the top. They insisted that the new doors were crooked. Even when I lay the new door flat like a pancake on their floor their response was silence. Even when i hing another door on the cabinet with the same result. I was very disrespected in their household, not typical at all. They asked me if I was proud of the work I had done? To which I responded yes very much, your kitchen is 100% nicer now. As for the 2 cabinets, I wanted to fix them but they had enough of my blaming it on the cabinets, they decided they didn't like me. It could have been fixed and the conversation about the cost of the repair never came up, we didn't get that far. They didn't want to talk about any repair because the problem was obviously the crooked brand new doors. I tried, i was patient, i was apologetic, i was professional. Anyone who knows me, who has had my company work on their home, knows that I care very much about what we do and who we do it for. I love to make people happy, and these folks would not allow me to make them happy despite my considerable effort. Its funny that you will try to help someone by doing somthing extra and they will end up complaining about it. It makes you want to stop trying to be nice to poeple, accept that I will always be that nice to poeple. It's who I am and I'm not going to be able to change that, even after headaches like this.
5.0

08/30/2016


James K.

Very well. Robert explained the work they would do and he coordinated tile, plumbing and countertop replacement. We had an early 80's kitchen that needed help but we didn't want a major renovation. They updated our cabinets with new, larger doors, painted the frames, added soft-close hinges, and constructed a new cabinet to replace a built-in desk. New backsplash, granite countertops, and hardware. Their work was a superb value and we're pleased with our new "bright" kitchen!

Description of Work
Kitchen Update

Category woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,cabinet refacing

5.0

08/18/2016


Wilbert T.

It was the smoothest paint job that I have ever experienced and will no doubt recommend Robert and his crew whenever the opportunity arises. I plan to have my cabinets redone and the basement painted and will use Competitive Painters.

Description of Work
On time every day and worked nonstop from 8:00 to 5:00 with only a half hour lunch. Covered all furniture and carpet and went out of their way to insure that I was pleased with the color and their performance. Each evening the crew would clean up the rooms and put their equipment in the garage so that we would be able to function in the rooms that were being painted.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/11/2016


Tim D.

Robert is great to work with. He is professional, friendly, knowledgable, personabale and skilled at his craft The team arrived on time, keep everything clean and did a high quality job. The cost is much lower then other companies and the cabinets were stained not veneer.

Description of Work
Refaced 14 Kitchen cabinets. Removed the doors and replaced them with Maple wood doors. Sanded and stained the boxes and stained the new doors with Cognac varathan stain.

Category custom cabinets,contractors,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,cabinet refacing

5.0

05/21/2015


Connie T.

Did an excellent job. Very neat, very punctual.

Description of Work
Painted the entire inside of a 3 level 4 bedroom townhouse

Category interior painters

5.0

02/18/2015


M Susan W.

Robert Coulter contacted me soon after I purchased the deal. He came over to preview the job, and provided me with cost estimates for the additional work I wanted. His crew was punctual, highly skilled, and professional. Robert kept in touch to update me on the progress of the job. He offered suggestions for enhancing my home, and he discouraged extraneous projects. I needed this work done because I am putting the house on the market. Robert and company did such a phenomenal job throughout the house that I almost wish I could move back in! It has never looked better. He left the property clean and clutter free.

Description of Work
Painted entire interior of 6 BR home. Also provided drywall repairs, replaced toilet, rehung closet doors, caulked and painted eaves, and a few other miscellaneous tasks.

Category closet systems,drywall,house painters,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving us a great review. It was our pleasure to assist you in getting your house ready for sale. All the best. - Robert
3.0

02/12/2015


Duncan T.

The quality of work is excellent. Unfortunately, their boss directed his crew to ignore the obvious tilt of this old house, and we had to insist that the top of the closet doors be parallel to the ceiling! He also got surly when my husband and I insisted that we both see the end result before paying him. I hope this guy reverts to the personality we saw a couple of years ago and leaves the current one behind.

Description of Work
Our 1968 floor-to-ceiling closet doors were sad. This contractor put in wall board and normal-height doors.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

We contracted for this married couple a year ago, the husband was our contact for that job and we had no issue.This last job we did for them the wife was our contact. The day I came for our estimate I was made to wait 15 minutes while she conversed on the phone. I was waiting in her foyer when she entered, put her hand directly in my face, and made a talking gesture with her hand. She was not enjoying her long phone conversation and was clueing me into that fact. Odd. I was patient and I waited for her to have time to speak with me. This was how the job started. During the job she was hyper vigilant and inspected/ openly criticized every layer of drywall compound that was applied. She wanted to stop work and have a drawing made of the one closet that had a sloped floor. Sloped floors are common in older homes and we explained that we would compensate for the floor. I had to suggest including her husband by phone and got the go ahead to continue work from him. We did not argue with either customer and we appeased their requests immediately. In contrast with the last job I would say that the husband had better understanding, manners and etiquette than his wife who made us feel uncomfortable. We did do a professional job, as she said,"... an excellent job", and her personal feelings/ rudeness towards me is her issue. We remained professional and very patient with a difficult client. By Surly she may be referring to my uncomfortable silence and shock. My crew wisely spoke very little during this job. I was glad when this project was complete. We eventually were paid the next week. I appreciate that the customer left a review this time as the first experience with us did not yield any commentary. We are here providing service with a smile for a niche clientele that is looking for a contractor they can trust. We love helping people and take pride in our work. We are so lucky to have so many wonderful customers that feel more like friends of the family. Kind and appreciative people. Thank you for taking the time to read my reply.
5.0

02/10/2015


Henry G.

Very professional and prompt service. Work was completed in a timely manner and with great results. Worked with us to complete service around weather delays and before we hosted our kids' birthday party.

Description of Work
Painted entire house and front porch; fixed loose beam on front porch; refinished and painted deck

Category interior painters

5.0

10/24/2014


STEPHEN R.

Company did a very good job. Excellent. Very Professional.

Description of Work
Painted the whole house outside. Painted our front door. Put a new bathroom door.

Category home remodeling,house painters,interior painters

5.0

10/24/2014


Bryan C.

I found out about Competitive Painters from a neighbor who uses them for home improvement projects. So I contacted them initially about some cabinet work and light electrical work. Their price was excellent compared to other quotes we received and the finish product was exactly what my wife and I were looking for. Robert was awesome to work with and was very accesible. He provided guidance and insight without being pushy. So when My wife and I purchased a new home and wanted to do some changes to it, of course we called Robert. He was able to work with us to not be intrusive, his crews kept the work areas clean during the process and we loved the finish product. I have several additional remodeling projects that I intend to use Competitive Painters again for in the near future.

Description of Work
They did a partial remodel of our kitchen as well as some drywall, electrical work and painting in other areas in the house.

Category drywall,electrician,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

10/22/2014


Christopher M.

I had need for a relatively quick turnaround for upgrading of a worn out kitchen. Called Competitive Painters and Robert Coulter came to discuss options. I should mention that I had two other companies come to provide estimates. The owner of one of them, a highly rated Angies List company, spent most of her time telling me that I should talk to a real estate agent about how my kitchen should look. She had no helpful ideas or suggestions. In contrast, Mr. Coulter explained several options - including services that his company could not provide. He pointed me to a reasonably-priced granite counter top provider and Competitive Painters prepared and painted all of the kitchen cabinets. They worked within my limited time period and coordinated their work with the countertop company. The work they did was neat and professional. I was very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Offered suggestions on cost-effective upgrade of kitchen. Cleaned, prepared, and painted kitchen cabinets.

Category custom cabinets,house painters,interior painters,cabinet refacing

5.0

09/26/2014


Brian K.

Once again from beginning to end, Robert and his crew did an excellent job. The entire process went smoothly and the work was of good quality. We are very happy with the cabinet he made for us and the bathroom cabinets which were refaced have never looked better. Painting was also done well. Finally, the new faucets, shower head and towel racks were also installed without any problems. We would gladly call Robert for any future work as he has always delivered an excellent product.

Description of Work
Refaced cabinets in master bathroom, replaced mirrors, repainted entire bathroom, built small cabinet between double vanity, also replaced stuck showerhead and changed out old faucets for new ones while adding new towel racks.

Category interior painters,cabinet refacing

5.0

09/26/2014


Marilyn G.

The bathrooms look terrific. His people started when promised and worked on a Saturday to finish up the job. We were having a hard time picking a color to match an accent tile with a speckled pattern. The automatic color match device at the paint store wasn't coming up with the right color. One of the people working the job helped pick out the perfect color.

Description of Work
Installed new toilets and painted two bathrooms. Installed new floor in one bathroom

Category flooring contractor,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

05/06/2014


Martha K.

Competitive Painters fit me in on short notice, arrived as scheduled and did a great job on the install. The recessed lights look great and they were in and out in no time. Friendly and professional service.

Description of Work
Installed recessed lights in living room with dimmer switch.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/24/2014


Cynthia F.

Each time, Robert and the crew arrived on time. Once Robert made sure all the furniture was moved and covered to protect it, and the proper paint was on site, he left the crew to do the work. The crew was very professional and good natured, filling in nail holes and repairing drywall before painting, and then putting everything back in place once finished. Robert later came back to check the work, and on one occasion, sent one of the crew back to do some minor touch-ups. I appreciated the willingness of Competitive Painters to work with me on scheduling since removing everything from the apartment was not possible, even though this would have made their job of painting much easier. Robert also provided suggestions on paint colors, which were spot on. I would not hesitate to recommend Competitive Painters.

Description of Work
I used Competitive Painters on three separate occasions, to paint most of my apartment.

Category interior painters

5.0

02/15/2014


Marilyn G.

The owner, Robert Cutter, was a pleasure to deal with as were his workers. He was punctual for both the original estimate and to start the work. He estimated the work would take three days and he completed the work on time in spite of a large snow storm on the second day. The workers were prompt and courteous. I understand from talking to Robert, that the workers are his employees and not people he picks for the job. The cabinets look new and make the kitchen look much more modern. We intend to use Competitive Painters again in the future for other home improvements. We believe we got excellent quality at a fair price.

Description of Work
Replaced kitchen cabinet doors, painted trim in kitchen and foyer.

Category woodworking,interior painters

5.0

02/10/2014


KAY L.

The service was excellent. They were prompt, and they were very kind and met the schedule they had proposed.

Description of Work
They remodeled my basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

02/04/2014


Paul L.

We will have them back to do additional updating of the townhouse. I suspect we could have had the work done for less money but the quality of the work, the relaxed customer interface and drive to finish on the agreed schedule impressed us. All of the work was done in a reasonable time and on schedule. The painting and carpentry was of a high quality. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to a friend.

Description of Work
The first job, we had them do was last Nov. The task was to paint the two top floors of the 1970's townhouse we had just bought, including smoothing the walls and redoing previous wall patches and removing blemishes. Based on the very high quality of the results and good impression left by the painters and management we had them install a second railing going from the first to the second floor. Finally, and most recently, we had them demolish the old, existing storage shelves in the basement hallway and utility room. They expanded the storage in the utility room, painting the floor and adding a section of peg-board for hanging tools, and constructed new shelves and a large closet in the basement hallway.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/02/2014


Jeff L.

Robert Coulter and his staff were on time, professional, clean and performed a lot of work to my house in preparation to put it on the market to be sold. I had also used Competitive Painters, LLC to do painting, electrical work, kitchen repair and installation of home theater wiring, so I am very comfortable and satisfied with the work this company has done for me in the past. I would not hesitate to recommend CP, LLC to anyone who needs to have renovation work done to their house.

Description of Work
Basement lighting, remodelling of three bathrooms, complete painting inside house.

Category electrician,lighting,interior painters

5.0

11/30/2013


Kristin B.

I asked for a quote on refinishing cabinets. They gave me good advice on alternatives.

Description of Work
I used Competitive Painters

Category cabinet refacing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Closet America

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    Capital Cabinet Refacing

    At Capital Cabinet Refacing, we have provided expert kitchen and bath cabinet refacing services for over 30 years in Maryland, DC, and Virginia. Whether you need to reface the cabinets in your bathroom, kitchen, or any other room in your home, we have the skills and expertise necessary to make sure project is a complete success.  

    Offers by Capital Cabinet Refacing on Angi
    Premium Painters of Arlington and DC Metro

    Premium Painters is well known for having Larger Crews to Get the Job Done FAST! We make the painting process, whether interior or exterior, residential or commercial, convenient for you. We are the company you go to for certainty. With 20 years of experience, it is worth it to have our written estimate to compare with other licensed painting contractors.  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior painting, exterior painting, Carpentry. Drywall. kitchen and bathroom Remodeling, Hardwood deck care, cedar shake staining, Venetian plaster, interior faux finishes, install kitchen cabinets, power washing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Competitive Painters

    How is Competitive Painters overall rated?

    Competitive Painters is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Competitive Painters provide

    Competitive Painters accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Competitive Painters offer free estimates?

    Yes, Competitive Painters offers free project estimates.

    Does Competitive Painters offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Competitive Painters does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Competitive Painters?

    Yes, Competitive Painters offers warranties.

    What services does Competitive Painters offer?

    Competitive Painters offers the following services: Interior painting, exterior painting, Carpentry. Drywall. kitchen and bathroom Remodeling, Hardwood deck care, cedar shake staining, Venetian plaster, interior faux finishes, install kitchen cabinets, power washing