The Pipe Doctor Plumbing Service

About

Founded 1984 • With Angi since April 2015

We are a family business that is locally owned and operated. We are able to handle the smallest of jobs to the largest of jobs. Leaking faucets to main sewer and water line excavation. We are a small family owned business which allows us to send you a master plumber on every service call at a price

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(221) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

203

4

6

3

4

2

2

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

plumbers (208)drain cleaning (31)water heaters (31)excavating (7)drain pipe installation (4)sewer cleaning (3)well & water pump repair (3)gas leak repair (2)home remodeling (2)interior painting (1)septic tank service (1)
Showing 1-25 of 221 reviews
5.0

12/01/2022


Mike S.

They were remarkable. First, they excavated the minimum needed to repair our drain and install the CIPP liner. They saved our front cement and brick staircase (directly over the main house sewer line). They only removed one section of the sidewalk that was over the main house sewer line. When done, they filled and compacted the dirt, covered the lawn with straw (i.e., ready for me to add seed and to avoid erosion) and replaced the damaged sidewalk section. The workers were polite and respectful of both us and our property. There was truly minimal disruption to the household. We could not flush toilets or run water down the drains for about 3 hours each day they worked on the line. We contracted for repair of the pipe that was on our property. They completed this work in two days. We then added re-lining the pipe under the road to the county connection. The team added people for and worked late on the second day. Job done on day 3. The job took 3 days (as promised).

Description of Work
A camera inspection revealed a broken main house drain. Pipe Doctor located the break under our cement and brick front staircase to the house. They were the only respondent who both offered CIPP pipe lining and said they would do their best to work around the staircase.

Category plumbing

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/08/2022


Natalie M.

Adam and his partner came the same day I called as my sewer was backing up into my shower and over-flowing my toilet. They were professional, kind to our dogs and overall were a pleasure to work with. Very thankful at how efficient this company was from start to finish!

Description of Work
Sewer needed snaked

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2022

3.0

05/11/2022


Robert B.

The work was fine, we were happy with the quality, so no complaints, although it was a very straight forward job for a trained plumber. But the pricing lacked any transparency. We agreed to the price despite the lack of transparency, so we accept that we had made a signed agreement. But once the work was finished we felt the price was excessive and we paid US$ 440 for a job that should have been around US$ 250. I would add that the 10% discount offered did not really make sense as we didnt really understand how the price was estimated. For this reason we would not hire "The Pipe Doctor" again and we would recommend caution in regard to their pricing model.

Description of Work
Unblocked a kitchen sink drain

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2022

5.0

04/30/2022


Darin O.

Called the Pipe Doctors on the 25th, and Owen showed up that day. Very professional. Fixed the problem for quite a lot less than the other plumber quoted us. I like that they want to do a great job, and work with the customers for the long haul. There was no pressure, price gouging etc. Such a pleasure to see honest professionalism. We have to replace our PRV, and guess who already gave us an estimate? Yep, looking at our calendar for a good time to complete the replacement.

Description of Work
cracked outdoor copper pipe, and faucet replacement.

Category plumbing

Cost $463

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2022

5.0

04/15/2022


Fran D.

Gary from The Pipe Doctor was amazing. As soon as he walked in the front door and I told him the bath shower faucet was leaking he said the cartridge in the shower handle needed to be cleaned. He knew exactly what the problem was and was very patient with me while I asked about other possibilities I had found on Google (which obviously makes me an expert). He just knew without a doubt what the problem was. He said if he could just clean the cartridge the price would be about half the cost of replacing the cartridge with a new one. I agreed to both options in case the new cartridge had somehow become damaged. Once in the bathroom, he was surprised that the faucet handle was brand new, it had just been installed within the last month. The plumber who installed the shower handle was not able to find the cause of the leak, I had called him when water leaked through the ceiling below after a shower. He just caulked around the chrome plate. Gary found the newly installed cartridge was clogged with pieces of pipe liner used by Fairfax Water. He pulled pieces out of the cartridge and then asked me to turn on the main water line for about 1 second to flush the line, I did this four times. After each of the first 3 flushes, he pulled liner out of the pipe. It ran clear after the fourth flush. The pieces measure from 1/2 inch to 2.5 inches long. He did not need to replace the cartridge as it had not been damaged. He suggested I contact Fairfax Water, ask if they had installed pipe liner recently in my neighborhood, and ask if they planned to flush the lines. He also suggested I ask Fairfax Water to reimburse me for the repair, which did but I would be very surprised if they agree to that. Gary said liner could still end up clogging other plumbing in my house, and this could be a problem for me and my neighbors for months, you just never know when the liner pieces will make their way through the pipes. Gary is a very upbeat, friendly, positive person. He explained to me every step of the way what he was doing, why, and what he found, as well as the cause. He said the problem was not due to something the last plumber did. I did send that plumber an email just so he would know what to look for if another customer called with a leaking faucet. I had called The Pipe Doctor several times before and once after Gary's visit. I am so forgetful, wish I remembered her name, because she was always friendly, courteous, and answered all my questions. I would like to thank her for all her help and patience. The Pipe Doctor is now my plumber, they are experts. Below is a link to a Fairfax County article on the installation of pipe liners throughout the county. [*** Link removed ***]

Description of Work
Bath shower faucet leaking

Category plumbing

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2022

1.0

03/17/2022


William S.

I was having age related difficulties installing two drains and P traps for our bathroom remodeling project. I had already purchased, and had on hand, two quality push button drains from Lowes along with the necessary PVC connections for the P trap install. At 77 years of age, the work was more difficult than the many similar installs I performed when younger. (I was also misled by terrible installation instructions from the drain suppliers and conflicting recommendations on YouTube.) The plumber said he’d prepare a bid in his truck. About half an hour later he came back (maybe after lunch) with the outrageous bid of $1,120 for the two sinks. I declined and he knocked $120 off the bid. I declined the work again and paid their $25 dispatch fee.I received helpful advice from a worker at Lowes and was told that a number of customers had complained to them about wildly inflated estimates. The excuse was “inflation”. Anyway, I returned home, took two Advil, and completed the installs for both sinks in less than 40 minutes.I have previously been warned of vendors taking advantage of the “elderly”…I suspect this was the case here.

Description of Work
Connect bathroom sink drains and p traps on two sinks.

Category excavators, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2022

5.0

10/19/2021


Ashley P.

Adam was fantastic! He went above and beyond when he came to replace our kitchen faucet. He recommended that he check the old faucet to see if it was salvageable before we spend extra money to replace it. Then he noticed there was a leak at our main shut-off valve and gave us some options for getting it fixed. He even popped up to our shower to check on a heat/cold issue. He was super professional, friendly and we’ll definitely call him again. He also has a really dope beard that my husband is super jealous of!

Description of Work
Replace faucet, fix leak

Category plumbing

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2021

5.0

10/01/2021


Roberta M.

What a great experience! Scheduling was a breeze; and the plumber, Owen, arrived on time, well within the window after a call that he was on his way. I originally scheduled them to install a touchless kitchen faucet I had purchased; when he was here, I inquired about replacing the garbage disposal and then he noted some issues with my current kitchen sink traps (which were clear to see when he pointed them out). Owen was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional; and he immediately flexed from my initial faucet installation request to add the other two items to the scope. Overall, I couldn't be more pleased with the service... Owen did a great job and I'll definitely reach back out to The Pipe Doctor for future plumbing needs!

Description of Work
Kitchen faucet and garbage disposal installation / replacement; kitchen sink trap replacement

Category plumbing

Cost $1,782

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2021

5.0

07/15/2021


Elena H.

Excellent. They are a great company and I highly recommend them. They are very professional, knowledgeable, honest and customer-oriented. Owen was fantastic - super diligent and attentive to detail. Explained everything as he worked on issues one by one. He pointed out an existing problem we had not noticed, as well as flagged some potential issues to watch down the road. He did not "up-sell" or overcharge. Prices were comparable with other companies, but we felt a lot more confident in the quality of work with this company.

Description of Work
Find a leak in the shower; fix leaks in a bathroom sink faucet and replace a shower spout

Category plumbing

Cost $1,260

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2021

1.0

07/12/2021


Peter L.

The worst customer service I have had.

Description of Work
Pipe repair

Category excavators

Work Completed On 07/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed], I have looked into our system and cannot find any records of any estimates or work performed under your name. If we have done any work for you under a different name and can help rectify the situation please call in and ask to speak to me directly. Otherwise this may be a case of mistaken identity. Thank you Gary K
5.0

05/03/2021


Edward K.

Professional, quick to respond, fixed the issue. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Unclog toilet

Category plumbing

Cost $187

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2021

5.0

04/26/2021


Donald B.

Our outside faucet was damaged and needed replacement. Adam and his partner arrived promptly and provided a very reasonable estimate to replace the faucet. They kept us informed every step of the way, were quick and efficient with the repairs and left the workplace spotless. We chose The Pipe Doctor because they are a locally owned company with a spotless service record. We were completely satisfied with their service and would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Replace Outside Faucet

Category plumbing

Cost $475

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2021

5.0

03/19/2021


Lilian S.

Owen and Adam arrived within the agreed time frame. They explained what needs to be done before having me signed the agreement. After cutting a portion of the ceiling it was found that the toilet above is leaking—video tape of the leak was shown to me. They then explained what needs to be done to fix the leak—I.e., the commode will need to be taken out, replace the wax and re-seal the toilet. The work was clean and efficient. Owen also gladly took out the bidet that I requested to be taken out and even replace the waterline with a new one. I was also glad that they gave me a senior discount when I presented my AARP card.

Description of Work
Water leaking on the ceiling

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2021

5.0

03/19/2021


Mike R.

Adam was the technician who did the work and he was excellent. Though the source of a leak (that has not happened again) could not be found, he was extremely knowledgeable and thorough, taking time to explain how potential trouble spots should be repaired to prevent leaks in the future. He also was very honest and helped me understand that what I thought was a faulty faucet was simply water splashing up and did not need repair or replacement. The cut and cap that he did on the old laundry tub was very neatly and professionally done. I would definitely recommend and will contact them again when I need plumbing work done.

Description of Work
Check for leak, remove old laundry tub

Category plumbing

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2021

5.0

03/02/2021


Christine F.

We had a leak somewhere in our bathroom that was causing water to drip from the dining room ceiling when the shower was used. Jacob found the problem quickly and replaced the rotted gasket. We also had him replace the tub spout and shower head since he was here. Additionally, we discovered the night before our appointment that one of our sump pumps appeared to be broken. Jacob replaced it with one from his truck. All in all, the service was OUTSTANDING! He took the time to explain everything and demonstrate that the issues were resolved. Pricing was reasonable and service was quick, professional and personable. Cannot rate Pipe Doctor highly enough! Definitely recommend!

Description of Work
Leak Search and Repair; Sump Pump Replacement

Category plumbing

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

5.0

01/18/2021


Suzanne B.

The job went beautifully as expected. (Adam had unstopped our clogged drain the week prior.) We happily agreed to have our kitchen drain system hydro-jetted to cleanse it entirely. Though the drain had cleared to allow water to run freely, residue within the pipes meant the clog would return in a matter of months. (And this indeed has been our experience in recent years. Thrilled to have 33 year old pipes thoroughly cleaned. Adam is professional, clear in what he’s doing and why, excellent at immediately assessing and then remedying the problem. I cannot recommend him highly enough..

Description of Work
Hydro-jetting of kitchen drain.

Category drain cleaning

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2021

5.0

01/16/2021


Robert K.

Pipe Doctor did a great job. Adam was very knowledgeable in advising us about options for the toilet and in installing the water heater. Especially appreciated was his flexibility to review options even while he was buying the fixture, and also willingness to stop by one evening on short notice when we had an urgent time that needed attention.

Description of Work
We have had Pipe Doctor help us with two projects thus far: replacement of a toilet and replacement of a water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2021

5.0

01/06/2021


Suzanne B.

Great! The appointment was scheduled with ease and the technician (Adam) arrived within the projected window. Our under-sink piping had also failed, so we were extremely happy to not only have a successful snaking of our drain but an excellent repair and correction to our under-sink piping. We could not be more pleased with the expertise and application of same. The price was very fair for the work performed: snaking the branch line, replacing drain piping under the sink, and replacing the under sink trap.. We would use PipE Doctor again in a heartbeat. We are thrilled to have found a contractor with exceptional expertise. We highly recommend Pipe Doctor in general and Adam in particular.

Description of Work
Kitchen drain stoppage cleared.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $988

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2021

5.0

12/16/2020


Joann M.

They came and was sure to cover their shoes and was also wearing masks, I explained the problem, they explained everything to me about what needed to be done, then fixed the problem (one piece had to be replaced and the other needed a repair) and made sure to double check the work and walked me through it. Very professional, very clean, very courteous and 5% discount for seniors!

Description of Work
Both toilets did not flush correctly

Category excavators, plumbing

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2020

5.0

12/03/2020


Mike F.

Owen and Adam did a great job unclogging my old kitchen pipes today - I was very pleased. They were pro's in every sense of the word. The came with appropriate COVID gear, were clean and professional, offered touchless contract and payment, and most importantly - got the job done! I would definitely call this company again if/when the need arises.

Description of Work
Kitchen Sink Clog

Category drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

5.0

11/30/2020


Linda S.

I called them on a Saturday and scheduled a Monday visit. They were very good about calling ahead so I had an accurate ETA. Adam and Owen were on the call. They were both very polite, knowledgeable and pleasant. They wrote up an electronic estimate and completed the work that day. They also confirmed that the old washer does indeed need replaced. They were professional and respectful. I appreciated the timely response and receipt of the invoice by email. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
I needed to replace the hot and cold laundry bibs that connect to the washer hose. They were corroded and needed to be replaced prior to installing a new washer.

Category drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2020

5.0

11/23/2020


David K.

Our tub and sink backed up on a Sunday. When I called Sunday afternoon, the office was available to take the call, and set me up with an appointment for Monday morning. Jacob was prompt, and called before he arrived to give us a heads-up that he was on the way. He was knowledgable, personable, professional and efficient. He explained what he expected the blockage to be, then snaked it out effectively and left a clean work area. The price was very reasonable. From start to finish, these guys were excellent.

Description of Work
Removal of blockage to tub and sink

Category drain cleaning

Cost $238

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2020