Select Kitchen & Bath

About

Founded 1994 • With Angi since July 2007

SELECT Kitchen & Bath is a leading design and remodel company specializing in kitchens and bathrooms, working in the Northern VA and Washington DC area for the past twenty years. We’ll create your custom gourmet kitchen or replace your galley kitchen; we’ll create your master bath spa or re-do the

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Contemporary Bathroom in Springfield, VA

home remodeling

202222152
We converted a builder grade master bathroom from the 1980s to a contemporary bathroom with a larger shower, tub and increased storage. We used luxurious body jets and waterfall showerhead. The vanity area was enlarged with additional storage and raised off the floor. The tub was transitioned from a traditional corner tub to one with a unique design and shape to create a more contemporary feel.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.9

(172) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

153

4

13

3

4

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (169)electrician (58)plumbers (56)tile installation (56)lighting (54)flooring (52)interior painting (49)countertop installation (44)cabinet makers (37)drywall (31)marble & granite (25)woodworking (23)
Showing 1-25 of 172 reviews
5.0

10/29/2021


Clement A.

Excellent job. Completed on time and on budget. We had hired them years ago to remodel our three bathrooms and were please with that, so hired them for our six-week total kitchen remodeling which required all new wiring (old was not to code) and replacing and repositioning all our appliances. Their design doubled our previous counter space and added 50% more cabinet space. We love our new kitchen!

Description of Work
Total kitchen remodeling. Took walls down to the studs.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, interior designers, lighting, plastering, plumbing, wallpaper removal, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2021

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 39526094

+2 More

5.0

10/29/2021


Leonard W.

Select Kitchen and Bath did amazing work remodeling our bathroom. The team was professional, talented and reliable. It was easy to communicate with them and they listened to our needs. They took our 1950s bathroom and upgraded it to the 21st century. The results exceeded our expectations and we could not me happier.

Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2021

5.0

10/21/2021


Jonathan P.

They were great. Worked with us every step of the way! We had to take out a wall and completely redo plumbing and hvac. Other companies tried to talk us into changing what we wanted to make it easier. Not them. They took on our “ambitious” project. The designer met with us multiple times. He helped us cut cost when needed. Once we had it set up everyone was very professional and efficient. Highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2021

5.0

10/13/2021


Katharine C.

We chose Select Kitchen and Bath to do our bathroom based on their existing reviews. As we are so happy with our experience we decided to leave a review ourselves. We liked Select Kitchen and Bath from the beginning of working with them. Derek listened to what we wanted for our future bathroom. The work and cost involved to create the bathroom of our dreams was clearly itemized on the contract prior to us signing on the dotted line. At the start of our project, John and Scott walked us through what we wanted and made sure that the contract did reflect where our project was going. As with every project John and Scott warned us there could be a few surprises when the old bathroom was removed. Indeed we did have a small amount of extra work required based on original construction issues that could not have been identified prior to the project starting. The extra scope of work was outlined clearly and the additional extra costs (which were minimal) were also clearly explained. Scott did a great job of building our shower and floor. Of installing our cabinets and of meeting our unusual requests regarding the remaining untiled wall space. We originally did not have drywall installed as we intended to do our own art project on the walls completed by us personally. When due to our own personal circumstances the scope of our art project had to change, Select Kitchen and Bath were very accommodating and returned to drywall our bathroom. Again the contract clearly delineated the scope of work and the cost involved. We understood that installing drywall at the beginning of a project is much easier than doing it at the end. Even so Bill did a fantastic job of making it look like it had been there right from the beginning. We are very happy with our bathroom. It is such a pleasure to use and it has met the requirements we set at the very beginning: it is easy to clean, functional and looks absolutely gorgeous. So Thank you Select Kitchen and Bath.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, ceiling fans, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2022

5.0

10/27/2020


Ken M.

Select Kitchen and Bath was great to work with from day 1. They were responsive and quickly developed a good relationship. The design team led Claudia helped our vision become reality and worked with us through colors, patterns, and materials. She searched through available sources and always communicated. We gave them a budget and they stayed within it eventhough we ran into some additional work requirements. The renovation team that was in our home for a month was respectful and careful, especially during COVID. They were on time, reliable and they repeatedly checked with us through each decision point. I highly recommend them and won't hesitate to use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Remodel two (2) bathrooms

Category appliance repair, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2020

5.0

09/09/2020


Monica M.

Derek looked at the job on 5/5/2020, and provided a detailed drawing, scope of work and contract price, which he willingly modified at least 3 times based on conversations with my husband and me and my "long-distance" designer. He also agreed to undertake a few unrelated repairs in the house (prices not specified up-front). The job started ahead-of-schedule on 7/2/2020, and was completed on-time 6 weeks later, save for installation of glass partition in shower stall, which was done also-sooner-than-promised, the following week. My husband was particularly stunned by the efficiency with which the job was completed...we'd never had a home improvement completed on-time! And quality was not sacrificed for speed; for the most part (except the plumbing), one guy ("Mark") worked alone, and he was a dream to work with...punctual, hard-working, skilled, meticulous, pleasant, tidy...some days we were hardly aware he was in the house. The project manager ("John") wd often stop-by briefly to survey the work, advise us of any unforeseen issues (old plumbing lines had to be replaced), and was immediately responsive not only in person but via email/phone when we had questions. We chose to source all the finish materials ourselves (through our designer), except for the glass shower partition, but Derek gave me the impression that he wd have been willing to be helpful in that regard (he sent me the link for right radiator paint). Select was a bit pricey, but by no means outrageous...and worth every penny for the superbly professional service rendered at every step of the job.

Description of Work
Gut renovation of small "Jack and Jill" bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

5.0

05/07/2020


Joseph L.

We interviewed several contractors for our kitchen and master bath remodel and could not have been happier with our choice of Select Kitchen and Bath. All three individuals that worked with us in design (Derek), project management (John) and construction (Bill) were outstanding. Select completed a total remodel of our kitchen and master bathroom. The work was performed over several months and communications regarding progress, tasks to be completed, next steps, etc. throughout the entire process were excellent. The final work product in both the kitchen and bathroom exceeded our expectations. It's also noteworthy that despite the significant work involved Select did not deviate from their originally quoted price. The only significant change in price (approximately $2,000) was a result of a design change we made after the work started and Select clearly explained the rationale for the price. We will work with Select again on our next project.

Description of Work
Kitchen and Master Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2020

5.0

05/06/2020


Steve P.

We used Select Kitchen & Bath to remodel our kitchen. We basically did a full gut renovation, and we couldn’t be happier with the new space. Derek took all of our preferences into account in his design, which transformed our space from a constant traffic jam to a free flow that allows everyone to move around each other. We also have small kids, so the combined two-level island and table in the middle makes dinner prep and dining much easier. Joe was our main builder, and he was fantastic. He paid close attention to the design and suggested minor adjustments to make everything work well. His attention to detail definitely made our lives easier. While we initially had some slight issues with a section of the tile floor being level, Rick (our project manager) volunteered to replace the problematic tile at no extra cost. They also finished ahead of schedule, which we always appreciate. Overall, we are very happy with the way things turned out.

Description of Work
Full Kitchen Remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2020

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 38546750

+3 More

5.0

05/03/2020


Deborah S.

We hired Select Kitchen and Bath after interviewing several businesses for our master bath remodel. We worked with one of their designers, Claudia, who walked us through the entire design process and was incredibly detail oriented. She really understood the look we were going for, and she had helpful suggestions for every aspect of the project, from colors to types of tile to bathroom and light fixtures. She spent hours with us before the work ever began. We appreciated the specificity of Select's contract, which detailed exactly which expenses were standard in a project like this, and which ones were based on our specific selections (like cabinetry and tile) so we always knew where we could cut back if needed. Claudia's work was so thorough up front that there were no surprises once the remodel work started. She estimated that it would take six weeks and it did, with no surprise costs added to our bill. During the project, the work was overseen by one of Select's managers, John, who was in constant contact with us and came to the house regularly. He made sure the project kept moving even with some COVID-related disruptions, he was present for various city inspections, and we felt confident the work was being done correctly and according to plan. At multiple stages throughout the project, we met with John to review the overall plan and make decisions on specific elements like tile placement and outlet locations. John and his staff were patient with us and did an excellent job explaining the current stage of construction and what would be coming next. We liked their work so much we hired them for some small additional maintenance needs around our house. We had two workers on the project, one with expertise in demolition and electrical, and the other a tile expert. They never missed a day and we felt they were very respectful of our house and outdoor space. The project was expensive – Select had the highest estimate of the contractors we interviewed, but we wanted everything to be done to the highest standards, and we felt that it was. Everyone told us to expect delays and surprise costs during a remodel. Select completed the job exactly on schedule with no additional costs even during a global pandemic. Our new bathroom has totally surpassed our expectations and we absolutely love it. The tile work in the shower is particularly amazing. I would highly recommend Select to anyone considering a major renovation.

Description of Work
remodel of master bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

5.0

04/18/2020


Zen & El C.

Outstanding team of professionals – John-project manager, Derek-designer, Scott-Lead remodeling crew. They delivered high quality, professional work products in accordance to our functional as well as aesthetic specifications. Outstanding work ethics – crew strictly practiced safety - always cleaned up daily before leaving for the day and details of the design were meticulously followed. Project manager ensured all punch list concerns were addressed and resolved to our utmost satisfaction.

Description of Work
Full remodeling of master bathroom

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $46,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2020

5.0

04/14/2020


Sandra Y.

Despite the pandemic, my bath renovation was completed last week and I am extremely pleased with all aspects of my Select experience. From the beginning planning to the end last week, my Select team made this an easy and, surprisingly, pleasant process. They all made me feel like my work, and getting it done just right, was as important to them as it was to me. They all went above & beyond to add a personal touch to their part of my bath puzzle. (Old house + tiny bath = many puzzle pieces). The end result is just the bath I wanted. The work began and was completed on time with A+ workmanship and within my budget. I highly recommend Select as the best way to go for a bath remodel. Even during these difficult times they kept up their professional high standards and have the protocols in place to keep us clients safe. It was an excellent experience with an excellent company.

Description of Work
Bath renovation with walk-in shower to replace tub

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2020

5.0

04/10/2020


Howard B.

This is the 2nd bathroom remodeling that Select Kitchen and Bath has done for us. Because we were so pleased with the first remodeling we contracted with them again. Their workmanship is excellent and they stand behind their work. From the start of the project we found them to be professional. They promptly answered all questions and concerns that arose during the project. They began and completed the project on schedule. We would certainly hire them for any future projects.

Description of Work
Remodeling of bathroom

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2020

5.0

12/12/2019


Susan B.

SKB did a fantastic job! This is the third job I hired SKB to complete - the two full baths were so amazing that I decided to hire them for the kitchen. Rick Kimmel was extremely responsive, and his foreman kept me informed on all aspects of the remodel. He worked closely with me to design the kitchen remodel and did not try to upsell me on any aspect of the job. I am going to hire them to redo the last full bath in the house.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2019

5.0

11/06/2019


Ann Marie B.

They did a very good job. It was very professionally done and looks fantastic. The workers were very professional. It did take longer than they estimated and it seemed that every change that required more work cost more money, but changes that required less work rarely saved money (and only did when we explicitly asked why it wasn't), but the bathroom looks beautiful and functions great. Overall very satisfied.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

5.0

10/17/2019


JL S.

John, Orlando and Rick were great! Professional and informative. They worked with us on the design and build of a bathroom remodel and building out a walk-in closet in our Master suite. Would highly recommend! They have the knowledge skills and abilities to finish the job. Even when faced with hidden obstacles in 90 year old town home which had been modified more than once in the past. Great at correcting building errors from past renovations and bringing everything up to code and minimizing any additional costs.

Description of Work
Remodel Master Bath and Master Closet

Category custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2019

5.0

10/17/2019


MAURA K.

We had a great experience with Select Kitchen and Bath when we remodeled our kitchen in 2013, so it was a no-brainer to hire them again for the master bath renovation. They provided good advice during the planning phase, improving on some of the ideas I had going in. Once the project began, the workers were on the job on time, every day, and were respectful of us and our property. (No issues even when we returned from a week out of town.) The lead installer, Tur, provided excellent workmanship and attention to detail. Company president Rick Kimmel, who managed the project, stopped in daily to track progress and deal with any questions or issues that arose. The job took about six weeks from demolition to finish, as scheduled. We are delighted with the results and without hesitation would hire Select again.

Description of Work
Remodel master bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2019

5.0

09/18/2019


Currie R.

Excellent job with great prices, skilled craftsmen, and fantastic work. They are wonderful people with whom to work.

Description of Work
Remodeling of kitchen

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2019

5.0

03/05/2019


Kathy H.

About 8 years ago, Select remodeled our kitchen, and we were extremely happy with the results. When we decided to remodel all 3 of our bathrooms (1 half-bath and 2 full-baths), we contacted Rick, and a few contractors for comparison. Rick was extremely responsive, and gave advice throughout the bidding process, which the others did not. We picked Select again because we knew his team would not only do an excellent job, but also provide guidance along the way with this overwhelming project. All 3 bathrooms were completely re-done, and while the project took awhile (as expected, since they weren't done concurrently), Rick and his team managed every detail, and helped us focus on making decisions at appropriate times. In addition, all 3 bathrooms are small, and Rick provided practical advice on how to maximize storage and layout, while keeping our budget and "wish list" in mind. His tile and fixture teams were also very attentive to our requests, and helped simplify the overwhelming tasks of selecting items. Throughout all projects, Rick and I stayed in touch daily, and worked very well together brainstorming ideas and talking through suggestions. He was very helpful responding to my "what do you think about...." questions throughout the entire time. And Tur, who did the work on all bathrooms, had a tremendous attention to detail, was reliable, personable, patient, and respectful. His workmanship is beautiful. Select's bids were comparable to other contractors, but he and his team went above and beyond providing ideas and suggestions about the project even before we signed with them. Their work once again far exceeded my expectations, not only with the finished product, but throughout the remodeling experience.

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of 3 bathrooms (1 half-bath and 2 full-baths).

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2019

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 37744696

+7 More

5.0

02/11/2019


Jack F.

Superb job! We had an overall great experience with Select Kitchen & Bath that produced a beautiful kitchen we absolutely love. They listened to our design requirements, made helpful suggestions for areas we were undecided on and worked with us to develop a detailed kitchen design. Professional and personable throughout, their communications with us were outstanding to include regular communications once the project got started. Their suggestions for detailed finishing ideas (something we hadn’t completely thought through) were very helpful and further enhanced our design. For the most part we were very happy with the workmanship. In areas where we expressed concerns, they addressed them to our satisfaction. The end result was a complete kitchen renovation with a beautiful result. We will definitely use Select for future renovations.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2018

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 37706336
5.0

10/17/2018


Liz C.

After buying our townhouse in Old Town the only thing we wanted to change was the two-tier kitchen counter. Had the original builder left it level it would have provided much more prep space in an already small kitchen. After receiving 6-7 estimates from various kitchen remodelers to level the countertop, and being less than enthused with any of them, enter Select Kitchen & Bath represented by Rick Kimmel. Rick spent more time with us than all of the others combined. He offered suggestions and alternative choices and was always responsive to emails. Not only did we level the countertop but took the opportunity to replace dark busy granite with light clean quartzite. The project couldn't have gone more smoothly and I honestly can't think of anything I would have changed. The kitchen is bright and clean and so much more space efficient. No question who I will call for future projects.

Description of Work
small kitchen redo

Category home remodeling

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2018

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 37481110

+3 More

5.0

10/03/2018


Lloyd D.

When we moved to a condo a year ago, we asked Select Kitchens to work with us on a redesign and remodeling to brighten our kitchen, maximize storage and modernize cooking appliances. Select remodeled the kitchen in our previous home with superb results that helped us greatly during the sale of that home. Rick worked with us patiently and extensively through many variations (over weekends and holidays), and we finally agreed on the best design and selection of materials for our new “dream kitchen”. The result is highly pleasing. We are now proud owners of a bright and cheerful kitchen which has an efficient induction cooktop and exhaust system, side door opening oven and drawer microwave. Better yet, we have more storage to keep all dishes, pots and pans and especially appliances away and off the counter. We especially appreciate Rick’s experience and candid, straight forward opinions. Rick didn’t just want to do what we asked, he advised and guided us to make better choices in design and materials to spend our money wisely. We highly recommend Select, particularly if customized work is needed.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodeling

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2018

Images

Review for Select Kitchen & Bath - 5515 Cherokee Ave, Alexandria, VA - 37444340
5.0

09/27/2018


Susan B.

The remodel went so well, I'm definitely going to use them for the master bathroom, basement full bathroom, and the half bath on the main floor. They were always on time, carefully covered all of the floors, kept the site very clean so nothing was tracked around the house, gave a fair estimate and stuck to it, good design recommendations, gorgeous outcome. The workers were polite and professional at all times. they found the source of a leak that I'd been looking for a while. The owner did not try to upsell me on design elements or what was required to fix the leak. I cannot speak highly enough about this company.

Description of Work
Complete Remodel of Bathroom

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2018