Nova Exteriors Inc

About

Founded 1995 • With Angi since August 2005

NOVA Exteriors, Inc. is a 12 time Angie's List Super Service Award Winner in several categories. We specialize in exterior remodeling and have over 50 years combined experience in the Metropolitan Area. We take pride in our work and we would appreciate the opportunity to showcase our services.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

BeforeDuringAfter

Verified Reviews

4.6

(470) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

349

4

37

3

26

2

27

1

31

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

door installation (280)window replacement (144)roofing (41)siding companies (37)decks & porches (48)woodworking (26)gutter repair (22)handyman (15)general contractors (12)home remodeling (11)drywall (10)insulation (8)
Showing 1-25 of 470 reviews
5.0

09/15/2022


Brian T.

We have had NovaExteriors replace all our gutters, windows, sliding doors and front door over the last several years from the contractor grade products that the town house was built with. We have been very pleased with everything. They installed our steel front door about 10 years ago and we started to have issues with the deadbolt not aligning with the door jam and the rubber sweep wearing out over time. I contacted NovaExteriors, made my appointment and they arrived right on time and performed the needed maintenance that was required. The door is back to being perfect. Once again, we were very pleased with NovaExteriors, their prompt arrival and the quality of work. You can't go wrong with NovaExteriors.

Description of Work
Front Door Alignment

Category appliance repair, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2022

5.0

04/06/2022


Oscar J. V.

They did a nice job and I have no complaints. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
They put up a new roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2022

5.0

04/02/2022


Monty M.

Our 7 windows were available to install much sooner than expected. The installation was professional, fast and great quality work. Excellent clean up too. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Window installation

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2022

5.0

03/17/2022


Joan C.

They did superior work and showed up on time. They cleaned up after themselves and were most professional. They even went above and beyond and did not charge me extra. I would highly recommend them as well.

Description of Work
They replaced the shingles on my roof and replaced windows and resliders.

Category roofing, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2020

1.0

09/30/2021


Mike P.

Please beware before entering a contract with Nova Exteriors. We entered an $8,500 contract to replace some siding in July 2021. The contract stated that the work was estimated to start in eight weeks, but we were told that it would actually be up to 10-12 weeks. Three weeks later, we unexpectedly found a new house. We immediately asked Nova to cancel the contract because we would be moving before the work would start, apologized for any inconvenience, and explained that our new house needed a lot of work that we would contact them about once we settled in. The owner of Nova, Peter, wrote to us demanding half the contract price ($4,250). Since no work had been done yet and we had no indication that Nova had incurred any costs, we told him that we were trying to do the right thing and not leave him in a position where he lost money, so to please tell us what his costs were, if any. He did not identify any costs, instead telling us that "$4250.00 is a lot for not doing the work, perhaps you can recoup the cost on the sale of the home." How would we recoup the cost of new siding if the siding wasn't installed? His lawyer then sent us a demand letter for almost $6,000 (the $4,250 plus interest and over $1,400 in legal fees). Whether or not Nova has the legal right based on fine print in the contract to collect almost $6,000 from us without even having a scheduled start date (let alone doing any actual work or identifying any expenses), it is a very poor way to treat your customers.

Description of Work
Replacing siding

Category siding

Work Completed On 09/30/2021

4.0

12/05/2020


Mayra R.

The gentleman came for an estimate, showed me a brochure with the type of door they offered (preferred), explained what needed to be done, etc. I wanted grids between the glass, but didn't have a brochure on hand to show that particular style. Retrieved from his car some Home magazine where the doors were advertised. After showing the magazine, offered to take off $100 advertised. Got the impression he was more interested in selling the door without the grids.

Description of Work
Replace sliding glass door.

Category appliance repair, doors

Work Completed On 11/23/2020

5.0

09/08/2020


Glen H.

Nova Exteriors recently replaced our 43-year-old patio door, which was in terrible shape, with a ProVia Endure door. Nova's representative, Sam Osta, arrived on time, gave us a thorough explanation of why ProVia's Endure door would work well in our home, stayed as long as we had questions, and didn't try to upsell us on "bells and whistles" we didn't need. Nova's crew did an excellent job of installing the door, working efficiently and cleaning up when finished. Now that we've used the door many times since the installation, we can attest to its ease of use, especially the dead-bolt safety feature at the door's bottom that operates with an easy touch of a shoe. And it looks beautiful as well. We highly recommend Sam Osta and Nova Exteriors for patio door replacement.

Description of Work
Sliding glass patio door replacement

Category doors

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2020

5.0

08/25/2020


Cali B.

I was impressed from my very first contact with Nova Exteriors. I didn’t have to wait for an in-person meeting, as Eric sent me a link with tons of storm door options, so I could look over everything with absolutely no sales pressure. Within an hour or two of our first email correspondence, I had selected my new doors and hardware. This alone put them above the other companies I reached out to. Beyond that, though, the actual door installation was prompt and efficient. The installers were friendly and knowledgeable with great pride in their work. I’m thrilled with absolutely everything, and I am completely in love with my new storm doors. I highly recommend these guys!! A++++

Description of Work
2 storm doors manufactured and installed

Category appliance repair, doors

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind regards and taking the time to leave us a review. Very glad to hear you are happy with the work. It was our pleasure, NOVA Exteriors
5.0

08/19/2020


Edward W.

Every aspect of NOVA Exteriors service and work on replacing our weather-beaten, 15-year old wooden 9-window pane garage entry door with a nearly identical beautiful weather-proof 9-window pane ProVia door was simply OUTSTANDING. Having spent 35 years involved with the design/construction/renovation of hundreds of apartment buildings and residential projects, I don't give out such compliments lightly. Unlike some of our other home improvement projects, NOVA's attention to detail, quality of work, professionalism (including its COVID-19 "cleanliness"), and the finished product were spectacular; its price was just slightly less than what I had guess-estimated in advance. From our only meeting to discuss door design selection, their color-matching process, initial measurement-taking, and contract execution to their subsequent door and door frame weather-stripping installation, caulking, sealing, punch-list completion and debris removal (which work took about 3 hours all on the same day), our project unfolded perfectly and on time; their courteous phone and on-site personnel were also always very professional. After our initial meeting, NOVA's 3-step process was meticulous with excellent attention to detail at each stage. When our project was completed, I was VERY happy that I had used them. NOVA’s highly detailed 3-step process for door replacements for us was as follows: (1) at the initially meeting, you start with door design selection, color scheme matching of the door, trim, casing, door hardware, and doorway frame weatherstripping, and the initial "taking" of the door and doorway-related measurements followed by an on-site cost contract proposal; (2) after contract execution, on a follow-up visit, a different NOVA Exteriors person subsequently re-measures every dimension to ensure the initial measurements’ accuracy; and (3) then a month later, the actual ProVia door was installed along with the perfectly color-matching door frame weatherstripping, casing, caulking, sealant, rubber gaskets, etc. Upon completion, unasked, NOVA gave me a small bottle of matching lacquer or paint in case our door needs a touch-up due to wear and tear. The door itself is beautiful!! Before I chose NOVA Exteriors, a non-Angie's List company and one of NOVA's competitors from Angie’s List came out to do estimates and give me their sales pitches - the difference between NOVA's cost-estimating, door selection and color-matching process, and sale pitch versus those 2 other companies was like watching the Patriots' Tom Brady play against a (bad) high school football team. From the minute that NOVA's highly-professional cost estimator (Rob, that’s you!) arrived with his big box of door-related hardware and weather-stripping options and color matching choices and his catalog of ProVia door choices, I felt very comfortable that our home's door replacement project would unfold perfectly - and it did. Because I found NOVA Exteriors on Angie’s List, and had authorized Angie’s List to give NOVA my cell #, NOVA did leave me several polite voicemails trying to schedule their initial project meeting with me. If you use Angie's List to get cost proposals from different companies including NOVA, please do NOT feel pestered by NOVA's multiple phone calls to you trying to reach you to schedule that initial meeting (but I never felt like that - I knew it was my fault for not returning their polite messages and in hindsight really appreciated their persistence). Due to how Angie's List’s business "works," NOVA just wants to make sure that, before you might meet/select someone else, they at least get a “fair shot” to meet with you to evaluate your project and to provide you with their proposed cost contract. I’m extremely happy that I eventually returned their calls and totally pleased with myself for selecting NOVA for our garage entry door replacement project. NOVA's work product, professional service, pricing, timeliness, and attention to detail are simply the best.

Description of Work
Replacement of Garage Exterior Entry Door

Category doors

Cost $4,587

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2020

5.0

08/17/2020


Sarah H.

They explained exactly what they would do, including the timeframe, and then delivered exactly what they promised. All their folks who worked on my home were professional and competent. We love the new doors.

Description of Work
Replace deck doors and front screen door

Category appliance repair, doors

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

5.0

08/16/2020


Laila B.

they worked with me to find the size panels I most wanted at reasonable cost and installers were true pros. Price was the best I could find after meeting with several siding companies. Siding looks picture perfect!

Description of Work
Vinyl siding for house

Category appliance repair, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2020

5.0

06/30/2020


Maria M.

Sam was very informative, quick and gave me great suggestions about colors and took the time to explain the whys about venting, covering up an attic fan, gutter sizing, guards etc.

Description of Work
Would like to replace the siding, but I am budgeting the cost. Part of my house is brick.

Category lawn service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the consideration and kind regards. It was our pleasure!
5.0

04/15/2020


Cheri R.

My experience with Nova Exteriors was great. I needed new storm doors installed on two sets of French doors leading to a patio. Each set of doors has a total width of 48", so a custom solution was needed. Nova works with Provia, which manufactured the doors. The job was intricate and the Nova team needed a fair bit of creativity to make the new doors work on my 1976 row house. Near the end of the 9-hour install, they made a couple of small measurement errors and cut a couple of pieces of trim a bit short. They made it work as best as possible at the time, and then worked with me to replace the short pieces as soon as they could get new ones from Provia. The last step happened yesterday, and their guy showed up in a mask and gloves and was careful and respectful of social distancing and wiped surfaces down before he left. I am very happy with the service I received, the quality of the work, and the doors themselves. I would not hesitate to use Nova again or recommend them. I used them because of their relationship with Provia and the good reviews on Angie's List, so thanks to previous reviewers.

Description of Work
Installed two sets of custom French storm doors

Category doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2020

5.0

03/17/2020


Stephen R.

We started with a new roof (thank you Insurance company!) and we liked the work done and the thorough explanation by David the salesman that we thought we could trust them with other projects. Glad we did! Great job on everything, we did every job separately over time as we were able to afford it and very happy with the results! would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Roof, gutters, door, windows

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2020

2.0

01/30/2020


Ali J.

Not well. I was asking about provia doors and remarked that the response given was confusing and then the agent hung up on me.

Description of Work
Calling about provia doors.

Category doors

Work Completed On 01/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Good day. I believe the line disconnected. We appreciate every opportunity and would not purposely hang up on a prospective customer. If you are still interested please do reach back out
5.0

11/14/2019


CAROL B.

The whole procedure went very well. A company representative came to the house to show us what the company offered. He gave us information to answer questions we had about what would be involved and the differences in materials that could be used. There was no pressure exerted on us for anything but the info given guided us in the best direction for what we wanted. Measurements were taken at a later date, and the work went smoothly. We have been very satisfied with the quality of the products, the efficiency that the guys had in doing their job, the attitude shown by the workers, and the total clean up of the work site when done. We will definitely use this company for the next two doors we will replace.Dave McSherry. Dave was a great person to speak with....no pressure for anything but lots of objective information for us to consider. We felt very much at ease in speaking with him and appreciated his honesty.

Description of Work
We wanted to have the entire front entry door and framework around the door replaced. We also wanted to replace the shutters on the outside front of the house.

Category doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time and the kind regards. It was a pleasure doing work for you.
5.0

09/12/2019


Jackie W.

We recently had most of the windows in our house replaced & I can’t say enough good things about my experience with Nova Exteriors. 👍🏼👍🏼 The process of the estimate with David was fantastic. Not only was he great with communication for the initial meet, but he made us feel comfortable and not pressured about the project. He made suggestions without being pushy, which was so refreshing after meeting with some sales people from other companies. The quote came back fast and transparent. The pricing was fair and honest. The installers were professional and efficient. We loved that they cleaned and vacuumed each area as they went along. What could make my experience even better? The owner, Pete, called within 24 hours to check on how everything went and our satisfaction with the products and service. THAT is why we support local business. We will definetly use NOVA Exteriors in the future when we need work done!

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category egress windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2019

Images

Review for Nova Exteriors Inc - 5568 General Washington Dr, Alexandria, VA - 38103715

+2 More

5.0

09/07/2019


Michelle F.

Getting new windows and a sliding glass door was a daunting process, mostly because of the number of companies out there and not really knowing the difference between window types and if it’s worth the expense. We had a positive experience with Kenny at Nova Exteriors when he came to our house for an estimate. He wasn’t “salesy” (especially compared to reps from places like Window Nation that used annoying pressure sales tactics). The options were straight-forward, and we liked the company history & products/labor warranties. The negative would be cost (on the higher end of estimates compared to others we received) but at the end of the day we went with the company we liked and decided to pay more for overall quality. It’s hard to know if we get up-charged for location (the same windows in a different county are probably a certain % cheaper) but that’s out of our control. The installation went smoothly, and the team was friendly, efficient, and did a nice job. We hope to enjoy our new windows and sliding glass door for many years to come!

Description of Work
Replace windows and sliding glass door

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $7,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

Images

Review for Nova Exteriors Inc - 5568 General Washington Dr, Alexandria, VA - 38096405

+2 More

5.0

06/18/2019


Carolyn T.

In my quest to purchase a door for my basement, I tried to use a company that I was referred to. I was very pleased with the door that was shown to me and was told that I would be contacted about the price when their system was available. However, after waiting for almost two weeks without a response, I researched the door online and was able to find companies that could provide the same door that I was interested in. Since Nova Exteriors was in my area and an Angie’s List participant, I contacted the company and spoke with Eric. He was very helpful in answering my questions, very knowledgeable about the door and told me that I could build my door online. Eric also exceeded my customer service expectations by going above and beyond what is normally expected. I would email questions to him late at night while at work, thinking that he would respond to me in the morning hours, but to my surprise, I would receive my answers shortly after sending my email(s). I knew at that moment that I had made the right decision in choosing his company for my door. Once I had completed the process of building my door, Nova sent a representative out to take measurements to ensure that my door would fit. My door was ordered and arrived well before the estimated 4-5 weeks. Nova arranged an appointment time for the installation that was convenient with my work schedule. The workers arrived within the window of time that I was given and began work. They were very pleasant and professional and did not waste any time installing my door. Once the job was completed, they cleaned up the work area and I could not tell anyone had been there working. Now, I have a very strong and well-insulated door. I am very, very happy with the services I received from Nova Exteriors and if I need any of their other products and services anytime in the future, I will not hesitate to use this company again.

Description of Work
Had an exterior basement door replaced that did not have adequate insulation along with other problems with the door.

Category doors

Cost $2,880

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2017

2.0

04/29/2019


Chris M.

I didn't get any farther than scheduling the estimate since the contractor flaked the morning he was to come by. They called saying they wanted to come later in the day but I had l already planned the Friday morning off and had other estimators coming on by. If they wanted my business they should have been on time. The guy on the phone was very courteous despite.

Description of Work
Door Installed

Category doors

Work Completed On 04/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Appreciate the feedback. Apologies for the inconvenience. We had our representative Sam scheduled to stop by at 900am and requested a 9:30am arrival as he was running late. We do our very best to be right on time but traffic sometimes prohibits. We appreciated the consideration.
5.0

02/26/2019


Jeff L.

Perfect, timely, professional,, good price. They communicated well through the whole process.

Description of Work
Roof, Gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity and kind regards. It was our pleasure.
5.0

02/11/2019


Paul A.

The company sent out a representative to look over project and give us a quote. After doors were ordered and received, the company replaced and did a great job. Excellent workmanship and responsiveness.

Description of Work
New front door deck screen door

Category doors

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018